DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, and 19 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 9 - page 10 (all), filed September 30, 2025, with respect to claims 1-5 and 7-20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9 and 19 have been considered but are
moot because the arguments do not apply to the reference being used in the current rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further presented in view of Shan et al (US Pub. No.:2019/0174449).
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN (CN 110945943A), in view of Das et al (US Pub. No.:2023/0050403) further in view of Shan et al (US Pub. No.:2019/0174449).
As per claim 1, CN disclose A data edge protocol-based communication method (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description: signaling exchange for data processing between respective edge computing modules in the low-level terminal devices, terminals and access network devices respectively), comprising:
sending, by a first communication apparatus, a data edge protocol (DEP) session establishment request message (see "Summary of invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description: first communication apparatus= "lower-level terminal device", session establishment request message= "data processing request'', see also page 11) to a second communication apparatus (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description:: second communication apparatus="terminal''), wherein the DEP session establishment request message is used to request to establish a DEP session between the first communication apparatus and a computing power (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description: computing power= "access network device", "the connection instruction is used to instruct the lower-layer terminal device to establish an independent communication [to the access network device]''), the DEP session is used to transmit data of a first application, the first communication apparatus, the second communication apparatus, and the computing power all have a function of a DEP layer (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description:: data processing establishment using the lower-level terminal device, the terminal and the access network device), the DEP layer is located below a third layer of a wireless network protocol layer, the DEP session is located at the DEP layer (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description: "the configuration signaling includes at least one of radio resource control signaling, media access control MAC CE or physical layer signaling), and the DEP comprises a field indicating a priority of the DEP (data) session (see Fig. 10, page 21-22, the edge calculation module is arranged in the terminal with higher integration level with the lower-layer terminal device and serves as an edge calculation node, and the terminal with data processing capability is connected with the lower-layer terminal device through the direct connection communication connection with lower communication requirement, so that redundant communication modes are reduced, the efficiency of the edge node is improved, and the efficiency of processing data by the lower-· layer terminal device is further improved. Through tile communication connection between the terminal and the access network equipment, the terminal can send the data which cannot be processed by the edge computing module to the access network equipment, and the data is processed by the access network equipment, so that the success rate of data processing of the lower-layer terminal equipment is further improved); and
receiving, by the first communication apparatus, configuration information of the DEP session from the second communication apparatus (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description:: configuration information= "configuration signaling'').
Although CN disclose a field indicating a priority of the DEP data;
Cn however does not explicitly disclose a priority of the DEP session and selecting a bearer based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement;
Das however disclose a priority of the DEP session (see para. 0237-0238, 0275-0279, once detection has been performed, the cognizant MECx entity (e.g., 440, 442) will advise the DUe 406 to initiate a request to create a dedicated bearer for this session via signaling between the entities. In some variants, the cognizant MECx may alternatively or additionally be present in other nodes such as the CUe and the network core. In one exemplary variant, the MECx may advise the DUe to flag the detection to the core network (e.g., 5GC or EPC) 403, after which the 5GC or EPC creates a dedicated bearer. Once a dedicated bearer has been created, all OTT voice traffic will be mapped and transported on the new dedicated bearer. The dedicated bearer is then treated with a given scheduling (and/or other) priority over other “best effort” traffic (traversing on their own dedicated bearer) to mitigate the impact of congestion and to guarantee a high Mean Opinion Score (MOS, see also 0333, 0340-0346); and selecting a bearer based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement (see Fig.9, para. 0279, when a voice packet transmitted through the default bearer 902a is detected by a MECx module 442 (residing in DUe 406, for example) via one or more of the aforementioned detection mechanisms, the MECx 442 instructs, e.g., the DUe to create a dedicated bearer (e.g., bearer 904a), if one has not been created already. The dedicated bearer 904a is logically attached to the default bearer 902a and have enhanced QoS parameters (e.g., higher priority for detected voice data, higher or wider bandwidth, lower packet delay budget), which in turn enhance the QoE of users who are utilizing OTT voice applications)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a priority of the DEP session and selecting a bearer based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement, as taught by Das, in the system of CN, so as to use a detection rule to identify received packets as voice traffic, and cause a dedicated bearer to attach to the default bearer, thereby enabling delivery of high-quality voice traffic by at least prioritizing the identified packets thereafter and sustaining the delivery even in a congested network environment, and improving the quality of service (QoS) and QoE for the user(s), see Das, paragraphs 0115-0118.
The combination of Cn and Das however does not explicitly disclose selecting the DEP session from a plurality of DEP sessions based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement;
Shan however disclose selecting a DEP session from a plurality of DEP sessions based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement (see para. 0218, these requests and indications communicated via SDAP-SAP 949 comprises one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 947 maps QoS flows to DRBs, and vice versa, and may also mark QFIs in DL and UL packets. A single SDAP entity 947 may be configured for an individual PDU session. In the UL direction, the NG-RAN 110 may control the mapping of QoS Flows to DRB(s) in two different ways, reflective mapping or explicit mapping. For a DRB, the SDAP 947 of the UE 101 may map the UL packets belonging to the QoS flows(s) corresponding to the QoS flow ID(s) and PDU session observed in the DL packets for that DRB / selecting a DEP session, see also para. 0374-0376, 0458).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of selecting a DEP session from a plurality of DEP sessions based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement, as taught by Shan, in the system of CN and Das, so as to map QoS flows to DRBs and the SDAP of the UE map the UL packets belonging to the QoS flows(s) corresponding to the QoS flow ID(s) and PDU session observed in the DL packets for that DRB, see Shan, paragraphs 0115-0118.
As per claim 2, the combination of CN, Das and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 1.
CN further disclose wherein the third layer of the radio network protocol layer comprises a radio resource control (RRC) layer (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1, page 6, the lower--layer terminal equipment is used for receiving the configuration signaling sent by the terminal through the direct connection communication connection; wherein the configuration signaling comprises: at least one of radio resource control, RRC, signaling, medium access control, MAC, CE, or physical layer signaling, see also page 11).
As per claim 3, the combination of CN, Das and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 1.
CN further disclose wherein the DEP layer is located above a media access control (MAC) layer or a physical (PHY) layer (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1, page 6, the lower--layer terminal equipment is used for receiving the configuration signaling sent by the terminal through the direct connection communication connection; wherein the configuration signaling comprises: at least one of radio resource control, RRC, signaling, medium access control, MAC, CE, or physical layer signaling, see also page 11).
As per claim 4, the combination of CN, Das and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 1.
CN further disclose wherein the data edge protocol comprises a unique identifier of the DEP session (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1, page 16, the transmission of the direct communication is addressed by a source identifier and a target identifier of the media access control layer / a unique identifier of a DEP session, when the direct communication is connected, the terminal and the lower layer terminal device do not need to establish a connection in advance, see also page 10, The Sidelink communication mode implements addressing by a source identifier and a target identifier of a Media Access Control (MAC) layer / a unique identifier of a DEP session).
As per claim 5, the combination of CN, Das and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 4.
CN further disclose sending, by the first communication apparatus, uplink DEP data to the second communication apparatus, wherein the uplink DEP data comprises the unique identifier of the DEP session (see Fig.1, page 11, a data processing request / a unique identifier of the DEP session, that requires the gNB to process and send a processing result, and optionally, the data processing request includes a request for data calculation or a request for sending data stored in a cloud of the server, see also figure 1, page 16, since the transmission of the direct communication is addressed by the source identifier and the target identifier of the media access control layer / unique identifier, when the direct communication is connected, the terminal and the lower layer terminal device do not need to establish a connection in advance, see also page 10, The Sidelink communication mode implements addressing by a source identifier and a target identifier of a Media Access Control (MAC) layer)).
As per claim 7, the combination of CN, Das and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 1.
CN further disclose sending, by the first communication apparatus, a first message to the second communication apparatus, wherein the first message is used to request to perform DEP registration for the first application (see Fig.1, page 12, the lower layer terminal device 211 transmits the data processing request to the UE by means of Bluetooth transmission, and after receiving the data processing, the UE sends the data processing request to the gNB through a protocol with the gNB after performing format processing on the data processing request through a connection with the gNB. When receiving the data processing request, the gNB performs data processing through the edge node or the central server, and sends the processing result to the UE, and the UE sends the processing result to the lower layer terminal device 2.11 after performing format processing).
As per claim 8, the combination of CN, Das and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 1.
CN further disclose wherein the configuration information of the DEP session comprises the unique identifier of the DEP session (see page 10, the Sidelink communication mode implements addressing by a source identifier and a target identifier of a Media Access Control (MAC) layer /the unique identifier of the DEP session, page 16, since the transmission of the direct communication is addressed by the source identifier and the target identifier of the media access control layer, when the direct communication is connected, the terminal and the lower layer terminal device do not need to establish a connection in advance).
Claims 9 -13, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN (CN 110945943A) and further in view of Shan et al (US Pub. No.:2019/0174449).
As per claim 9, CN disclose A data edge protocol-based communication method (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description: signaling exchange for data processing between respective edge computing modules in the low-level terminal devices, terminals and access network devices respectively), comprising:
receiving, by a second communication apparatus, a data edge protocol (DEP) session establishment request message (see "Summary of invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description: first communication apparatus= "lower-level terminal device", session establishment request message= "data processing request'', see also page 11) from a first communication apparatus (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description:: second communication apparatus="terminal''), wherein the DEP session establishment request message is used to request to establish a DEP session between the first communication apparatus and a computing power (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description: computing power= "access network device", "the connection instruction is used to instruct the lower-layer terminal device to establish an independent communication [to the access network device]''), the DEP session is used to transmit data of a first application, the first communication apparatus, the second communication apparatus, and the computing power all have a function of a DEP layer (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description:: data processing establishment using the lower-level terminal device, the terminal and the access network device), the DEP layer is located below a third layer of a wireless network protocol layer (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description: "the configuration signaling includes at least one of radio resource control signaling, media access control MAC CE or physical layer signaling), and
the DEP session is located at the DEP layer; and sending, by the second communication apparatus, configuration information of the DEP session to the first communication apparatus (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1 and the corresponding parts of the description:: configuration information= "configuration signaling''/sending).
CN however does not explicitly disclose selecting the DEP session from a plurality of DEP sessions based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement;
Shan however disclose selecting a DEP session from a plurality of DEP sessions based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement (see para. 0218, these requests and indications communicated via SDAP-SAP 949 comprises one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 947 maps QoS flows to DRBs, and vice versa, and may also mark QFIs in DL and UL packets. A single SDAP entity 947 may be configured for an individual PDU session. In the UL direction, the NG-RAN 110 may control the mapping of QoS Flows to DRB(s) in two different ways, reflective mapping or explicit mapping. For a DRB, the SDAP 947 of the UE 101 may map the UL packets belonging to the QoS flows(s) corresponding to the QoS flow ID(s) and PDU session observed in the DL packets for that DRB / selecting a DEP session, see also para. 0374-0376, 0458).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of selecting a DEP session from a plurality of DEP sessions based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement, as taught by Shan, in the system of CN, so as to map QoS flows to DRBs and the SDAP of the UE map the UL packets belonging to the QoS flows(s) corresponding to the QoS flow ID(s) and PDU session observed in the DL packets for that DRB, see Shan, paragraphs 0115-0118.
As per claim 10, the combination of CN and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 9.
CN further disclose wherein the third layer of the radio network protocol layer comprises a radio resource control (RRC) layer (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1, page 6, the lower--layer terminal equipment is used for receiving the configuration signaling sent by the terminal through the direct connection communication connection; wherein the configuration signaling comprises: at least one of radio resource control, RRC, signaling, medium access control, MAC, CE, or physical layer signaling, see also page 11).
As per claim 11, the combination of CN and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 9.
CN further disclose wherein the DEP layer is located above a media access control (MAC) layer or a physical (PHY) layer (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1, page 6, the lower--layer terminal equipment is used for receiving the configuration signaling sent by the terminal through the direct connection communication connection; wherein the configuration signaling comprises: at least one of radio resource control, RRC, signaling, medium access control, MAC, CE, or physical layer signaling, see also page 11).
As per claim 12, the combination of CN and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 9.
CN further disclose wherein the data edge protocol further comprises wherein the data edge protocol further comprises a unique identifier of the DEP session (see "Summary of the invention" as well as figure 1, page 16, since the transmission of the direct communication is addressed by the source identifier and the target identifier of the media access control layer / a unique identifier, when the direct communication is connected, the terminal and the lower layer terminal device do not need to establish a connection in advance, see also page 10, The Sidelink communication mode implements addressing by a source identifier and a target identifier of a Media Access Control (MAC) layer).
As per claim 13, the combination of CN and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 12.
CN further disclose sending, by the first communication apparatus, uplink DEP data to the second communication apparatus, wherein the uplink DEP data comprises the unique identifier of the DEP session (see Fig.1, page 11, a data processing request that requires the gNB to process and send a
processing result, and optionally, the data processing request includes a request for data
calculation or a request for sending data stored in a cloud of the server, see also page 10, The Sidelink communication mode implements addressing by a source identifier and a target identifier of a Media Access Control (MAC) layer /the uplink DEP data comprises the unique identifier of the DEP session).
As per claim15, CN disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 9.
CN further disclose wherein the configuration information of the DEP session comprises the unique identifier of the DEP session (see page 10, the Sidelink communication mode implements addressing by a source identifier and a target identifier of a Media Access Control (MAC) layer / a unique identifier, page 16, since the transmission of the direct communication is addressed by the source identifier and the target identifier of the media access control layer, when the direct communication is connected, the terminal and the lower layer terminal device do not need to establish a connection in advance).
As per claim 18, the combination of CN and Das disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 9.
CN further disclose receiving, by the second communication apparatus, the configuration information of the DEP session from a DEP control unit (see page 6, the terminal is used for sending a configuration signaling to t 1e lower-layer terminal equipment through the direct connection communication connection according to the scheduling information, and the configuration signaling comprises an information field for indicating tile sending format of the data processing request; the lower--layer terminal equipment is used for receiving the configuration signaling sent by the terminal through the direct connection communication connection; wherein the configuration signaling comprises: at least one of radio resource control, RRC,
signaling, medium access control, MAC, CE, or physical layer signaling).
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 9. CN also disclose A communication apparatus, applied to a first communication apparatus (see Fig.1. Fig.2, Fig.13, a terminal/a data processing terminal), comprising: at least one non-transitory memory (see Fig.13, memory 1304), configured to store instructions; and at least one processor (see Fig.13, processor 1301), wherein when executing the instructions (see page 24, Fig.14, the processor 1301 includes one or more processing cores, and the processor 1301 executes various functional applications and data processing by running software programs and modules").
As per claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same way as claim 9.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN (CN 110945943A), in view of Shan et al (US Pub. No.:2019/0174449) and further in view of Salam et al. (US Pub. No.: 2010/0293233).
As per claim 16, the combination of CN and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 9.
The combination of CN and Shan disclose however does not explicitly disclose wherein the data edge protocol-based communication method further comprises: sending, by the second communication apparatus, an authorization request based on the DEP session establishment request.
Salam however disclose wherein the data edge protocol-based communication method further comprises: sending, by the second communication apparatus, an authorization request based on the DEP session establishment request (see Fig.2, para. 0033, FIG. 2 shows an example method for configuring a CE device in a network, such as the network 11 configured as a MEN or a different network. The method may include an act 100 of requesting CE configuration data via an Ethernet-layer OAM&P protocol. In one example, the act 100 may be performed by a CE device, such as the CE device CE1 transmitting a configuration data request to the PE device PE1 through an E-LMI protocol. The method may also include an act 102 of authenticating and authorizing a presence of a CE device on a network based on the request for configuration data. In one example, the act 102 may be performed by a PE device, such as PE device PE1, authenticating and authorizing presence of the CE device CE1 on the network 11 based on the request for CE configuration data sent by the CE1 device in a manner similar to that described with regard to FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the data edge protocol-based communication method further comprises: sending, by the second communication apparatus, an authorization request based on the DEP session establishment request, as taught by Salam, in the system of CN and Shan, so as to enable a PE device to execute an authentication/authorization application to authenticate and authorize the presence of a CE device on a network, see Salam, paragraphs 24-25.
As per claim 17, the combination of CN and Shan disclose the data edge protocol-based communication method according to claim 9.
The combination of CN and Shan disclose however does not however disclose receiving, by the first communication apparatus, a first message from the second communication apparatus, wherein the first message is used to request to perform DEP registration for the first application; and sending, by the second communication apparatus, a DEP authentication request to a DEP control unit based on the first message, wherein the DEP authentication request is used to request to obtain authentication information of the first communication apparatus, and the authentication information comprises information about whether the first communication apparatus is qualified to use the first application.
Salam however disclose receiving, by the first communication apparatus, a first message from the second communication apparatus, wherein the first message is used to request to perform DEP registration for the first application (see para. 0024, the CE device CE1 may be initially connected to the system 10 and request configuration via an Ethernet-based OAM&P protocol, as indicated by an arrow 27 through the connection 13. For example, this CE device CE1 may transmit a request for configuration data according to the E-LMI protocol through a "status enquiry" message as defined by the MEF 16 Specification. The status enquiry message may request a "full status" report, which provides the CE device CE1 information allowing the CE device CE1 to be auto-configured. In an alternative example, the PE device PE1 may trigger the CE device CE1 to request configuration data as indicated by an arrow 21. In one example, the PE device may transmit an asynchronous status message to the CE device CE1, which may cause the CE device to transmit a configuration request, such as a status enquiry message); and sending, by the second communication apparatus, a DEP authentication request to a DEP control unit based on the first message, wherein the DEP authentication request is used to request to obtain authentication information of the first communication apparatus, and the authentication information comprises information about whether the first communication apparatus is qualified to use the first application (see para. 0025, upon receiving the E-LMI protocol status enquiry, the PE device PE1 may execute a CE-identification scheme, which may be stored in a memory 28 of PE device PE1 and executed on a processor 26 of the PE device PE1. This allows identification of a particular CE device requesting configuration data to ensure the CE device is authorized to be part of the network. The PE device may also execute an authentication/authorization application to authenticate and authorize the presence of a CE device on the network 11. In one example, the PE device may authenticate and authorize a CE device based on an identification of the CE device, such as a media access control (MAC) address, previously stored by the PE device upon initial connection of the CE device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of receiving, by the first communication apparatus, a first message from the second communication apparatus, wherein the first message is used to request to perform DEP registration for the first application; and sending, by the second communication apparatus, a DEP authentication request to a DEP control unit based on the first message, wherein the DEP authentication request is used to request to obtain authentication information of the first communication apparatus, and the authentication information comprises information about whether the first communication apparatus is qualified to use the first application, as taught by Salam, in the system of CN and Shan, so as to enable a PE device to execute an authentication/authorization application to authenticate and authorize the presence of a CE device on a network, see Salam, paragraphs 24-25.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection:
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Salam (US Pub. No.:2010/293233) and further in view of Shan et al (US Pub. No.:2019/0174449).
As per claim 9, Salam disclose A data edge protocol-based communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a second communication apparatus, a data edge protocol (DEP) session establishment request message from a first communication apparatus, wherein the DEP session establishment request message is used to request to establish a DEP session between the first communication apparatus and a computing power, the DEP session is used to transmit data of a first application, the first communication apparatus, the second communication apparatus, and the computing power all have a function of a DEP layer, the DEP layer is located below a third layer of a wireless network protocol layer, and the DEP session is located at the DEP layer (see para. 0002-0016, transmitting a customer edge device configuration data request via an Ethernet-layer OAM&P protocol. The method may further include relaying the customer edge device configuration data request from an Ethernet-layer OAM&P protocol to a configuration protocol. The method may further include transmitting customer edge device configuration data via the configuration protocol. The method may further include relaying the customer edge device configuration data from the configuration protocol to the Ethernet-layer protocol. The method may further include transmitting the customer edge device configuration data via the Ethernet-layer OAM&P protocol. The method may further include performing a customer edge device configuration with the customer edge device configuration data, see also Fig.1, para. 0013, a provider edge device may transmit the request to a server via the configuration protocol. The server transmits customer edge device configuration data via the configuration protocol based on the request. The provider edge device transmits the configuration data to the customer edge device via the Ethernet-layer OAM&P protocol. The customer edge device automatically configures itself using the configuration data); and
sending, by the second communication apparatus, configuration information of the DEP session to the first communication apparatus (see para. 0002-0016, 0025, Upon receiving the E-LMI protocol status enquiry, the PE device PE1 may execute a CE-identification scheme, which may be stored in a memory 28 of PE device PE1 and executed on a processor 26 of the PE device PE1. This allows identification of a particular CE device requesting configuration data to ensure the CE device is authorized to be part of the network).
Salman however does not explicitly disclose selecting the DEP session from a plurality of DEP sessions based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement;
Shan however disclose selecting a DEP session from a plurality of DEP sessions based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement (see para. 0218, these requests and indications communicated via SDAP-SAP 949 comprises one or more QoS flows. The SDAP 947 maps QoS flows to DRBs, and vice versa, and may also mark QFIs in DL and UL packets. A single SDAP entity 947 may be configured for an individual PDU session. In the UL direction, the NG-RAN 110 may control the mapping of QoS Flows to DRB(s) in two different ways, reflective mapping or explicit mapping. For a DRB, the SDAP 947 of the UE 101 may map the UL packets belonging to the QoS flows(s) corresponding to the QoS flow ID(s) and PDU session observed in the DL packets for that DRB / selecting a DEP session, see also para. 0374-0376, 0458).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of selecting a DEP session from a plurality of DEP sessions based on a quality of service (QoS) requirement, as taught by Shan, in the system of Salman, so as to map QoS flows to DRBs and the SDAP of the UE map the UL packets belonging to the QoS flows(s) corresponding to the QoS flow ID(s) and PDU session observed in the DL packets for that DRB, see Shan, paragraphs 0115-0118.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chun (US Patent No.:11,297,171) – see para. 361, “…the electronic apparatus 110 may include at least one application for an MEC service (hereinafter, referred to as a client application 1810), service agent for an MEC service (hereinafter, referred to as MSA 1820), and a service enabler for an MEC service (hereinafter, referred to as MSE 1830). According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the electronic apparatus 110 may include a network interface (for example, the wireless communication module 1792 of FIG. 17) for establishment of a protocol data unit (PDU) session related to data transmission, and although not shown, may include a network driver (for example, software) controlling driving of the network interface. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the client application 1810, the MSA 1820, and the MSE 1830 may be configured to be mounted on the electronic apparatus 110 as software or to have a physical configuration”.
Kim et al (US Pub. No.:2022/0191100) – see Fig.2, para. 0049, Fig.3, para. 0054-0059, “In operation 310, the terminal (UE) 120 may configure a PDU session establishment request corresponding to an SM NAS message and transmit the same to the AMF 112 (through the RAN 111) in order to establish a PDU session. The UE 120 may insert a Data Network Name (DNN) which the UE desires to use into the PDU session establishment message, transmit the PDU session establishment message to the AMF 112, and configure the DNN to have a DNN value for MEC. Alternatively, a default DNN which the UE 120 should use in the 5G system may be a DNN which can use MEC. DNN information may be used when the SMF 113 or the PCF 114 determines whether the corresponding DNN is a DNN for MEC allowed to be used by the UE 120. The DNN value for MEC may be based on a value preset in the UE 120. Alternatively, the UE 120 may include an indicator indicating that a PDU session which the UE requests in the PDU session establishment message is a PDU session to use the MEC service”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469