DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 7 are amended
Claim 5 is cancelled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekiguchi (US 20170345558 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Sekiguchi teaches that a multilayer coil component comprising:
an element body (1100, Fig. 12A; para 0152-0172) that includes a pair of
end surfaces opposite each other in a first direction (Y ), a mounting surface (bottom surface of 1100 in Fig. 12A) and a main surface (upper surface of 1100 in Fig. 12A) opposite each other in a second direction (Z), and a pair of side surfaces opposite each
other in a third direction (X);
a pair of terminal electrodes (1031-1032) disposed on the element body;
a coil (1020) that is disposed in the element body, is electrically connected
to the pair of terminal electrodes, and has a coil (not labeled; center axis of the
coil 1020 in Fig. 12A) axis extending in the third direction; and
connecting conductors connecting each of one end portion and another end portion of the coil to one of the pair of terminal electrodes,
wherein the coil includes first wiring portions (10221) disposed on the main surface side, second wiring portions (10222) disposed on the mounting surface side, and connecting portions (10211) that extend in the second direction and connect the first wiring portions to the second wiring portions, and lengths of the connecting portions (35 μm; see para 0105) in the first direction are longer than lengths of the connecting portions in the third direction (10 μm; see para 0105; i.e. 35 μm> 10 μm ), {and/or lengths of the first wiring portions and the second wiring portions in the second direction are longer than lengths of the first wiring portions and the second wiring portions in the third direction} and
cross-sections of the connecting portions in a plane orthogonal to the second direction have rectangular shapes of which a length (i.e. length of 1020L in Fig. 14) in the first direction is longer than a length (i.e. width of 1020L in Fig. 14) in the third direction when viewed in the second direction (construed from Fig. 14).
Note: In line 17 of claim 1 indicate that the limitations are an “OR” limitations. In this Office Action the prior art teaches “lengths of the connecting portions in the first direction are longer than lengths of the connecting portions in the third direction”)
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, Sekiguchi teaches that the lengths (i.e. length of 10221 in Fig. 12A) of the connecting portions in the first direction are longer than the lengths of the first wiring portions (i.e. width of 10221) and the second wiring portions in the second direction (construed from Fig. 12A).
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 1, Sekiguchi teaches that lengths (i.e. length of 10211 in Fig. 12A) of the connecting conductors in the second direction are longer than lengths of the terminal electrodes in the second direction (i.e. thickness of 1031; construed from Fig. 12A).
Regarding Claim 4:
As applied to claim 1, Sekiguchi teaches that the lengths of the connecting conductors (i.e. height of 10211 in Fig. 12A) in the second direction are longer than the lengths of each of the first wiring portions and the second wiring portions in the second direction (i.e. width of 10221 or 10222 in Fig. 12A; construed from Fig. 12A).
Regarding Claim 6:
As applied to claim 1, Sekiguchi teaches that wherein the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed on the mounting surface of the element body (see Fig. 12A).
Regarding Claim 7:
Sekiguchi teaches that a multilayer coil component comprising:
an element body (1100, Fig. 12A; para 0152-0172) that includes a pair of
end surfaces opposite each
other in a first direction (Y ), a mounting surface (bottom surface of 1100 in Fig. 12A) and a main surface (upper surface of 1100 in Fig. 12A) opposite
each other in a second direction (Z), and a pair of side surfaces opposite each
other in a third direction (X);
a pair of terminal electrodes (1031-1032) disposed on the element body;
a coil (1020) that is disposed in the element body, is electrically connected
to the pair of terminal electrodes, and has a coil (not labeled; center axis of the 1020 in Fig. 12A) axis extending in the third direction; and includes first wiring portions disposed on the main surface side, second wiring portions disposed on the mounting surface side, and connecting portions extending in the second direction and connecting the
first wiring portions to the second wiring portions; and
connecting conductors connecting each of one end portion and another end portion of the coil to one of the pair of terminal electrodes, cross-sections of the connecting portions in a plane orthogonal to the second direction have rectangular shapes and
lengths of the connecting portions (35 μm; see para 0105) in the first direction are longer than lengths of the connecting portions in the third direction (10 μm; see para 0105; 35 μm> 10 μm ) and for each of the rectangular shapes making a length (i.e. length of 1020L in Fig. 14) in the first direction is longer than a length (i.e. width of 1020L in Fig. 14) in the third direction when viewed in the second direction (construed from Fig. 14).
Sekiguchi does not teach the method comprising making lengths of the connecting portions in the first direction longer than lengths of the connecting portions in the third direction, and/or lengths of the first wiring portions and the second wiring portions in the second direction longer than lengths of the first wiring portions and the second wiring portions in the third direction, as claimed.
The process limitations “the method comprising making lengths of the connecting portions in the first direction longer than lengths of the connecting portions in the third direction, and/or lengths of the first wiring portions and the second wiring portions in the second direction longer than lengths of the first wiring portions and the second wiring portions in the third direction” in claim (7), do not carry weight in a claim drawn to structure. MPEP 2113 states, “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). However this process limitation implied a structure i.e., connecting portions, first wiring portions and the second which has been disclosed by Sekiguchi in fig. 12A. Therefore, this limitations are not patentable over Sekiguchi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that the columnar conductors 1021, which correspond to the connecting portions of the claimed invention, have a circular shape. Sekiguchi does not disclose connection portions that have a rectangular shape. Thus, contrary to the Office Action assertions, Sekiguchi does not disclose the "rectangular shape" feature previously recited in claim 5 and now incorporated into claims 1 and 7.” First of all, the claim does not requires that connection portion is in rectangular shapes when it look from top view or in 3D view. In this case, Sekiguchi clearly shows in Fig. 13A that cross section of connection portion 1021 is in rectangular shape. Based on the above, given the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim interpretation, the Examiner believes that Sekiguchi reads on the claims 1 and 7 limitations.
Second, It is noted that in the instant publish application, paragraphs 0010 and 0021, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Third, the rectangular shape of connecting conductors are very well known in the art. Therefore, an general ordinary skill of the art can easily change the shape of connection portion into rectangular shapes, since it has been held that change of shape of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) See MPEP 2144.04
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837