DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 13, 14, 21, & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucchini (DE102014200821A1, see Machine Translations for citations) in view of Hood (US20240136552).
Regarding Claim 1, Zucchini disclose a system for managing dehumidification (drying unit for reducing humidity inside the housing, [001]) in a battery pack having a plurality of battery modules (housing with at least one battery module, [001]), the system comprising:
A casing adapted to house a plurality of battery modules the casing having at least one cavity (housing-1 acts as casing, holding battery system-2 with plurality of battery cells-10, [0032], Fig. 1);
A dehumidification unit at least partially positioned with the at least one cavity, the dehumidification unit including a desiccant (drying unit-3 acts as dehumidification unit, with desiccant-4, [0033]);
A heating element positioned in proximity to and adapted to selectively heat the desiccant (heating film-5 acts as heating element, [0033]);
A control unit having a processor and tangible, non-transitory memory on which instructions are recorded, the control unit being adapted to control operation of the heating element and actuation of the internal external louvers (temperature control unit is used to control heating film, [0039], control device that includes at least one sensor for detecting a parameter influencing regeneration of the desiccant, [0021], control device makes humidity measurements, [0022], then regenerates the desiccant, [0027]).
Zucchini discloses wherein the desiccant is adapted to collect moisture within the casing during a collection phase of dehumidification and the heating element is adapted to dry the desiccant during a reconditioning phase of the dehumidification (desiccant collects moisture and then is dried by heating film, the collection and reconditioning phases are determined by humidity measurements from the control unit, [0027]).
The examiner notes that Zucchini discloses wherein the desiccant absorbs moisture in a collection phase, and is heated to release moisture in a reconditioning phase ([0027]).
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein an interior vent cover and exterior vent cover positioned at an interior end and an exterior end, respectively, of the at least one cavity; an internal louver positioned between the desiccant and the interior vent cover; and external louver positioned between the desiccant and the exterior vent cover, the internal louver and the external louver each being movable between a respective closed states and a respective open state.
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein during a collection phase, the internal louver is in the respective open state such that the desiccant absorbs moisture from within the casing, and the external louver is in the respective closed stated; and wherein, during a reconditioning phase, the heating element is adapted to heat the desiccant to release the moisture, the internal louver is in the respective closed state to inhibit the moisture from re-entering the casing, and the external louver is in the respective open state to enable the moisture to exit to an external environment.
Hood discloses a temperature control system of a fuel cell structure that controls airflow ([008]). Hood discloses louvre that can be in an open or closed state that is controlled by a controller ([0016]). Hood further discloses wherein sensors are employed to detect the temperature of the cell stacks ([0023]). Hood further discloses that during a high temperature operation the louvers are placed in an open state ([0052]). Hood further discloses that during a low temperature operation mode the louvers are placed in a closed state ([0055]). Hood further discloses wherein the sensors used can be configured to measure humidity values ([0048]). Hood discloses wherein the louver doors can be opened and closed due to a variety of measurements including temperature, pressure, humidity, hydrogen concentration in the exhaust and purging ([0048]). Hood discloses wherein the louvers are configured to be moved by a motor control through a signal communicating the with the system controller, which adjusts the louvre door to respond to measurements of the system or conditions of the system ([0048]). Hood discloses wherein a magnetic catch can be used to close the louvers, wherein the magnetic catch is connected to the overall motor control ([0016]). Hood teaches that this structure provides improved temperature control ([004]).
The examiner notes that the reconditioning phase of Zucchini can be configured to a low temperature condition, as the measurements taken to start the regeneration phase of the desiccant can be configured to be a low temperature condition. The examiner further notes that the teachings of having a louvre close-open mechanism can be configured to respond to a variety of measurement stimuli, and therefore it is the examiner’s position that Zucchini in view of Hood discloses a humidity structure where the louver can be opened in a collection phase and closed in a reconditioning phase.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zucchini with the teachings of Hood to have wherein wherein an interior vent cover and exterior vent cover positioned at an interior end and an exterior end, respectively, of the at least one cavity; an internal louver positioned between the desiccant and the interior vent cover; and external louver positioned between the desiccant and the exterior vent cover, the internal louver and the external louver each being movable between a respective closed states and a respective open state and wherein during a collection phase, the internal louver is in the respective open state such that the desiccant absorbs moisture from within the casing, and the external louver is in the respective closed stated; and wherein, during a reconditioning phase, the heating element is adapted to heat the desiccant to release the moisture, the internal louver is in the respective closed state to inhibit the moisture from re-entering the casing, and the external louver is in the respective open state to enable the moisture to exit to an external environment.
Regarding Claim 2, Zucchini in view of Hood discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zucchini further discloses wherein the moisture-absorbing desiccant is preferably a silica gel ([0033]).
Regarding Claim 3, Zucchini in view of Hood discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zucchini further discloses an internal hygrometer adapted to obtain hygrometer data pertaining to humidity level inside the casing (relative humidity inside the housing is determined by hygrometer, [0036]); and
Wherein the control unit is adapted to activate the heating element when a plurality of conditions is met, including the hygrometer data being at or above a respective threshold (control device follows two conditions to activate the regeneration of the desiccant, including a mass measurement of the desiccant, and a humidity measurement from the hygrometer, [0022], [0036]).
Regarding Claim 6, Zucchini in view of Hood discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zucchini further discloses an external hygrometer (hygrometer outside the housing determines humidity outside the casing, [0036]); and
Wherein the control unit is adapted to adjust respective parameters of the heating element based on data obtained by the external hygrometer (relative humidity value outside the housing is a parameter used in the regeneration process, [0036]).
Regarding Claim 13, Zucchini disclose a method of managing dehumidification (drying unit for reducing humidity inside the housing, [001]) in a battery pack having a plurality of battery modules (housing with at least one battery module, [001]), a control unit with a processor and tangible, nontransitory memory on which instruction are recorded (temperature control unit is used to control heating film, [0039], control device that includes at least one sensor for detecting a parameter influencing regeneration of the desiccant, [0021], control device makes humidity measurements, [0022], then regenerates the desiccant, [0027]), the method comprising:
Positioning a dehumidification unit at least partially positioned with the at least one cavity, and a dehumidification unit including a desiccant (drying unit-3 acts as dehumidification unit, with desiccant-4, [0033]);
A heating element positioned in proximity to the desiccant, the heating element being adjustable via the control unit (heating film-5 acts as heating element, [0033], control device makes humidity measurements, [0022], then regenerates the desiccant, [0027]); and
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein an interior vent cover and exterior vent cover positioned at an interior end and an exterior end, respectively, of the at least one cavity; an internal louver positioned between the desiccant and the interior vent cover; and external louver positioned between the desiccant and the exterior vent cover, the internal louver and the external louver each being movable between a respective closed states and a respective open state.
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein during a collection phase, the internal louver is in the respective open state such that the desiccant absorbs moisture from within the casing, and the external louver is in the respective closed stated; and wherein, during a reconditioning phase, the heating element is adapted to heat the desiccant to release the moisture, the internal louver is in the respective closed state to inhibit the moisture from re-entering the casing, and the external louver is in the respective open state to enable the moisture to exit to an external environment.
Hood discloses a temperature control system of a battery structure that controls airflow ([008]). Hood discloses louvre that can be in an open or closed state that is controlled by a controller ([0016]). Hood further discloses wherein sensors are employed to detect the temperature of the cell stacks ([0023]). Hood further discloses that during a high temperature operation the louvers are placed in an open state ([0052]). Hood further discloses that during a low temperature operation mode the louvers are placed in a closed state ([0055]). Hood further discloses wherein the sensors used can be configured to measure humidity values ([0048]). Hood discloses wherein the louver doors can be opened and closed due to a variety of measurements including temperature, pressure, humidity, hydrogen concentration in the exhaust and purging ([0048]). Hood discloses wherein the louvers are configured to be moved by a motor control through a signal communicating the with the system controller, which adjusts the louvre door to respond to measurements of the system or conditions of the system ([0048]). Hood discloses wherein a magnetic catch can be used to close the louvers, wherein the magnetic catch is connected to the overall motor control ([0016]). Hood teaches that this structure provides improved temperature control ([004]).
The examiner notes that the reconditioning phase of Zucchini can be configured to a low temperature condition, as the measurements taken to start the regeneration phase of the desiccant can be configured to be a low temperature condition.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zucchini with the teachings of Hood to have wherein an interior vent cover and exterior vent cover positioned at an interior end and an exterior end, respectively, of the at least one cavity; an internal louver positioned between the desiccant and the interior vent cover; and external louver positioned between the desiccant and the exterior vent cover, the internal louver and the external louver each being movable between a respective closed states and a respective open state and wherein during a collection phase, the internal louver is in the respective open state such that the desiccant absorbs moisture from within the casing, and the external louver is in the respective closed stated; and wherein, during a reconditioning phase, the heating element is adapted to heat the desiccant to release the moisture, the internal louver is in the respective closed state to inhibit the moisture from re-entering the casing, and the external louver is in the respective open state to enable the moisture to exit to an external environment.
Regarding Claim 14, Zucchini in view of Hood discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zucchini further discloses positioning an internal hygrometer inside the casing and obtaining hygrometer data pertaining to humidity level inside the casing, via the internal hygrometer (relative humidity inside the housing is determined by hygrometer, [0036]); and
Activating the heating element when a plurality of conditions is met, including the hygrometer data being at or above a respective threshold (control device follows two conditions to activate the regeneration of the desiccant, including a mass measurement of the desiccant, and a humidity measurement from the hygrometer, [0022], [0036]).
Regarding Claim 21, Zucchini in view of Hood discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein the internal louver and the external louver are dome shaped when in the respective open state.
Hood discloses wherein the internal louver and the external louver are dome shaped when in the respective open state (aperture louver doors-320 in open state, [0048], [0052]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zucchini with the teachings of Hood to have wherein the internal louver and the external louver are dome shaped when in the respective open state.
Regarding Claim 22, Zucchini in view of Hood discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Zucchini does not directly disclose when actuated to the respective open state, each of the internal louver and the external louver assumed a dome shaped configuration.
Hood discloses wherein the internal louver and the external louver are dome shaped when in the respective open state (aperture louver doors-320 in open state, [0048], [0052]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zucchini with the teachings of Hood to have wherein when actuated to the respective open state, each of the internal louver and the external louver assumed a dome shaped configuration.
Claim(s) 4 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucchini (DE102014200821A1, see Machine Translations for citations) in view of Hood (US20240136552) further in view of Guo (CN216085109(U), see US National Stage Entry, US20240014492A1, for citations).
Regarding Claim 4, Zucchini discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein the plurality of conditions includes an ambient temperature being above the respective threshold.
Guo discloses a humidity control system that includes a desiccant and heating element ([0014]). Guo further discloses wherein the humidity and temperature of the of the battery box is measured to activate the humidity control module ([0013]). Guo further discloses wherein that there are two conditions high temperature and low temperature that determine the behavior of the desiccant in the humidity control system and the heating element ([0013]). Guo teaches that this measurement system provides improved humidity and temperature control within the battery ([0013]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Zucchini with the teachings of Guo to have wherein the plurality of conditions includes an ambient temperature being above the respective threshold. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved humidity and temperature control within the battery.
Regarding Claim 5, Zucchini discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein the plurality of conditions includes a temperature of the battery pack being above a respective threshold and/or a state of charge of the battery pack being below the respective threshold.
The examiner notes that the claim language “and/or” only requires one of the elements in the claim language to be met.
Guo discloses a humidity control system that includes a desiccant and heating element ([0014]). Guo further discloses wherein the humidity and temperature of the of the battery box is measured to activate the humidity control module ([0013]). Guo further discloses wherein that there are two conditions high temperature and low temperature that determine the behavior of the desiccant in the humidity control system and the heating element ([0013]). Guo teaches that this measurement system provides improved humidity and temperature control within the battery ([0013]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Zucchini with the teachings of Guo to have wherein the plurality of conditions includes a temperature of the battery pack being above a respective threshold and/or a state of charge of the battery pack being below the respective threshold. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved humidity and temperature control within the battery.
Claim(s) 7 & 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucchini (DE102014200821A1, see Machine Translations for citations) in view of Hood (US20240136552) further in view of Hayakawa (US20200006729).
Regarding Claim 7, Zucchini in view of Hood discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zucchini further discloses wherein a valve cover is configured to cover the cavity of the housing ([0035]).
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein the interior vent cover and the exterior vent cover respectively include a plurality of spaced apart gaps.
The examiner notes the Claim 7 112(b) rejection above as the examiner’s interpretation of the claim 7 language.
Hayakawa discloses a box structured battery module with a plurality of battery cells (frame structure with plurality of battery units, [0036]). Hayakawa further discloses wherein the frame structure includes several top vents and bottom vents (top vent-28, bottom vent-18, [0051]). Hayakawa further disclose these vents are used to enhance heat dissipation between the battery units ([0051]). Hayakawa teaches that this structure provides improved cooling efficiency ([0051]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zucchini with the teachings of Hayakawa to have wherein the interior vent cover and the exterior vent cover respectively include a plurality of spaced apart gaps. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved cooling efficiency.
Regarding Claim 9, Zucchini in view of Hood further in view of Hayakawa discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Zucchini further discloses a breathable membrane position between the exterior vent cover and the desiccant; and wherein the breathable membrane is configured to permit water vapor to escape from the casing and prevent liquid from entering the casing (moisture-permeable membrane placed in container opening, [0012], [0039]).
Regarding Claim 10, Zucchini in view of Hood further in view of Hayakawa discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein the external louver and the internal louver are configured to be actuated through a diffusion gradient.
Hood discloses wherein the louver doors can be opened and closed due to a variety of measurements including temperature, pressure, humidity, hydrogen concentration in the exhaust and purging ([0048]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zucchini with the teachings of Hayakawa and Hood to have wherein the external louver and the internal louver are configured to be actuated through a diffusion gradient. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved temperature control.
Regarding Claim 11, Zucchini in view of Hood further in view of Hayakawa discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein the external louvers and the internal louver are driven by a single actuator, the external louver and the internal louver being configured to move in unison.
Hood discloses wherein the louvers are configured to be moved by a motor control through a signal communicating the with the system controller, which adjusts the louvre door to respond to measurements of the system or conditions of the system ([0048]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zucchini with the teachings of Hayakawa and Hood to have wherein the external louvers and the internal louver are driven by a single actuator, the external louver and the internal louver being configured to move in unison. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved temperature control.
Regarding Claim 12, Zucchini in view of Hood further in view of Hayakawa discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Zucchini discloses wherein the valve for the housing opening can be a solenoid valve ([0035]). However, Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein the single actuator includes a piezo-electric actuated diaphragm or an active solenoid.
Hood discloses wherein a magnetic catch can be used to close the louvers, wherein the magnetic catch is connected to the overall motor control ([0016]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zucchini with the teachings of Hayakawa and Hood to have wherein the single actuator includes a piezo-electric actuated diaphragm or an active solenoid.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucchini (DE102014200821A1, see Machine Translations for citations) in view of Hood (US20240136552) further in view of Guo (CN216085109(U), see US National Stage Entry, US20240014492A1, for citations) further in view of Allison (US20130252043).
Regarding Claim 15, Zucchini in view of Hood discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein the plurality of conditions includes an ambient temperature being above the respective threshold, a temperature of the battery pack being above the respective threshold and a state of charge of the battery pack being below the respective threshold.
Guo discloses a humidity control system that includes a desiccant and heating element ([0014]). Guo further discloses wherein the humidity and temperature of the of the battery box is measured to activate the humidity control module ([0013]). Guo further discloses wherein that there are two conditions high temperature and low temperature that determine the behavior of the desiccant in the humidity control system and the heating element ([0013]). Guo teaches that this measurement system provides improved humidity and temperature control within the battery ([0013]).
Guo does not directly disclose wherein the state of charge of the battery pack being below a respective threshold is a condition.
Allison discloses a humidity control system that control the humidity of the battery ([0050]). Allison further discloses wherein the state of battery charge is used to supply power to the humidity controller of the battery ([0050]). Allision further discloses wherein the humidity controller can also take in temperature measurements ([0052]). Allision teaches that this structure provides improved battery cell life ([005]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Zucchini with the teachings of Guo and Allision to have wherein the plurality of conditions includes an ambient temperature being above the respective threshold, a temperature of the battery pack being above the respective threshold and a state of charge of the battery pack being below the respective threshold. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved humidity and temperature control within the battery and improved battery cell life.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucchini (DE102014200821A1, see Machine Translations for citations) in view of Hood (US20240136552) further in view of Guo (CN216085109(U), see US National Stage Entry, US20240014492A1, for citations) further in view of Allison (US20130252043) further in view of Hayakawa (US20200006729).
Regarding Claim 16, Zucchini in view of Hood further in view of Guo further in view of Allison discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Zucchini further discloses placing a breathable membrane position between the vent cover and the desiccant; and wherein the breathable membrane is configured to permit water vapor to escape from the casing and prevent liquid from entering the casing (moisture-permeable membrane placed in container opening, [0012], [0039]).
Zucchini does not directly disclose wherein an interior vent cover and an exterior vent cover located at an interior end and an exterior end, respectively, of the at least one cavity; and wherein the interior vent cover and the exterior vent cover respectively include a plurality of spaced apart gaps.
The examiner notes the Claim 16 112(b) rejection above as the examiner’s interpretation of the claim 7 language.
Hayakawa discloses a box structured battery module with a plurality of battery cells (frame structure with plurality of battery units, [0036]). Hayakawa further discloses wherein the frame structure includes several top vents and bottom vents (top vent-28, bottom vent-18, [0051]). Hayakawa further disclose these vents are used to enhance heat dissipation between the battery units ([0051]). Hayakawa teaches that this structure provides improved cooling efficiency ([0051]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zucchini with the teachings of Hayakawa to have wherein an interior vent cover and an exterior vent cover located at an interior end and an exterior end, respectively, of the at least one cavity; and wherein the interior vent cover and the exterior vent cover respectively include a plurality of spaced apart gaps. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved cooling efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Amendments, filed February 13th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 & 13 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zucchini in view of Hood under 35 USC 103.
Applicant's arguments filed February 13th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hood does not teach distinct external and internal louvers and instead teaches a louvre door assembly with connected plates and not separate external and internal louvers.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, “an interior vent cover and an exterior vent cover positioned at an interior end and an exterior end, respectively, of the at least one cavity; and internal louver positioned between the desiccant and the interior vent cover; and external louver positioned between the desiccant and the exterior vent cover, the internal louver and the external louver each being movable between a respective closed states and a respective open state” can be interpreted to be any structure that has an interior vent and exterior vent cover wherein the internal louver is positioned between the desiccant and the interior vent cover and an external louver positioned between the desiccant and the exterior vent cover wherein the internal louver and external louver are movable between a closed state and open state. The examiner notes that Hood discloses distinct louvre structures that can be interpreted to be external and internal louvres. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope of the claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728