DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/19/2025 regarding claims 1-8 and 12-15 in the remarks are fully considered but moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xing (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0371056).
As per claim 13:
Xing teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see abstract: teaches a method for frequency band configuration comprising terminal sending first indication information to a network), the method comprising:
transmitting first information to a network entity (see paragraph [0005], disclose the terminal device sending first indication information to a network device), wherein the first information comprises information related to actual maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD) of the UE for a band combination (see paragraph [0006], the first indication information may be configured to indicate interference information of a first frequency band combination and the interference information may be configured to indicate the network device to perform a configuration operation for the first band combination . Note: Paragraph [0069], disclose said interference for the frequency band combination corresponds to the defined MSD. Likewise, second order interference for the same band combination correspond to a higher MSD index. Thus, there is a correlation between the interference for the given band width and the MSD );
and in case that the UE supports a second MSD lower than a first MSD is identified based on the information related to actual MSD of the UE (see paragraph [0069], discloses as long as the sensitivity deterioration value of the terminal is less than the MSD, it is considered that the communication requirements are met. Paragraph [0107], disclose, in response the first interference value is less than the second preset value, the network device determines to configure the first frequency band combination for the terminal device), receiving, from the network entity, information for configuring the band combination (see paragraph [0090], after the network device determines whether to configure or not to configure the first frequency band combination, the network device sends a second indication indicating the frequency band combination configured for the terminal device. The second indication is sent to the terminal device, please see paragraph [0090]),
wherein whether the UE supports the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination is identified based on whether the actual MSD of the UE is lower than a MSD threshold for the band combination or the band in the band combination (as explained earlier, paragraph [0107], disclose, in response the first interference value is less than the second preset value, the network device determines to configure the first frequency band combination for the terminal device).
As per claim 15:
Xing teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see Figure 13, paragraph [0239], communication device 600 may be terminal device), comprising:
a transceiver (see Figure 13, transceiver 630);
and at least one processor, coupled to the transceiver (see Figure 13, processor 610 coupled to transceiver 630) and configured to:
transmit first information to a network entity (see paragraph [0005], disclose the terminal device sending first indication information to a network device), wherein the first information comprises information related to actual maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD) of the UE for a band combination (see paragraph [0006], the first indication information may be configured to indicate interference information of a first frequency band combination and the interference information may be configured to indicate the network device to perform a configuration operation for the first band combination. . Note: Paragraph [0069], disclose said interference for the frequency band combination corresponds to the defined MSD. Likewise, second order interference for the same band combination correspond to a higher MSD index. Thus, there is a correlation between the interference for the given band width and the MSD);
and in case that the UE supports a second MSD lower than a first MSD is identified based on the information related to actual MSD of the UE (see paragraph [0069], discloses as long as the sensitivity deterioration value of the terminal is less than the MSD, it is considered that the communication requirements are met. Paragraph [0107], disclose, in response the first interference value is less than the second preset value, the network device determines to configure the first frequency band combination for the terminal device), receive, from the network entity, information for configuring the band combination (see paragraph [0090], after the network device determines whether to configure or not to configure the first frequency band combination, the network device sends a second indication indicating the frequency band combination configured for the terminal device. The second indication is sent to the terminal device, please see paragraph [0090]),
wherein whether the UE supports the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination is identified based on whether the actual MSD of the UE is lower than a MSD threshold for the band combination or the band in the band combination (as explained earlier, paragraph [0107], disclose, in response the first interference value is less than the second preset value, the network device determines to configure the first frequency band combination for the terminal device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda (US PG Pub. No. 2025/0081173) in view of Xing (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0371056).
As per claims 1:
Umeda teaches a method performed by a network entity in a wireless communication system (see Figure 6, paragraph [0095], depicts an example method performed by network node such as gNB 110), the method comprising:
receiving first information from a user equipment (UE), wherein the first information comprises information related to actual maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD) of the UE for a band combination (see Figure 5, paragraph [0095], the gNB 110 receives low MSD information associated with band combination (BC) from UE 120. Paragraph [0097] disclose the UE 120 may signal low MSD information in different embodiments. One embodiment, the MSD source as indicated via respective index in a bit may represent one low MSD BC entry for indicating multiple MS sources for which the UE supports lower MSD than currently specified, see paragraph [0100]);
identifying, based on the received information related to actual MSD of the UE for the band combination, whether the UE supports a second MSD, which is lower than a first MSD, for the band combination or a band in the band combination (as explained earlier in paragraph [0100], the MSD source as indicated via respective index in a bit may represent one low MSD BC entry for indicating multiple MS sources for which the UE supports lower MSD than currently specified. Therefore, it is evident that in response to receiving the signaling from the UE, the gNB will be able to determine an MSD lower than a currently specified value for the BC. Paragraph [0146], disclose the network node receives indication of a first band combination associated with low MSD. The low MSD, according to paragraph [0146], is determined to be lower than a predetermined MSD threshold value);
and in case that the UE supports the second MSD, configuring the band combination for the UE (see paragraph [0146], discloses determining that the UE supports low MSD for each of the supported band combinations which comprises the bands of the indicated first band information and that the low MSD information is valid also for each of the supported band combinations).
Umeda does not clearly teach wherein the identifying of whether the UE supports the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination comprises:
identifying whether the actual MSD of the UE is lower than a MSD threshold for the band combination or the band in the band combination,
in case that the actual MSD of the UE is lower than the MSD threshold, identifying that the UE supports the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination,
and in case that the actual MSD of the UE is not lower than the MSD threshold, identifying that the UE does not support the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination.
Xing teaches wherein the identifying of whether the UE supports the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination (see paragraph [0069], discloses as long as the sensitivity deterioration value of the terminal is less than the MSD, it is considered that the communication requirements are met. Paragraph [0107], disclose, in response the first interference value is less than the second preset value, the network device determines to configure the first frequency band combination for the terminal device) comprises:
identifying whether the actual MSD of the UE is lower than a MSD threshold for the band combination or the band in the band combination (as explained earlier, paragraph [0107], disclose, in response the first interference value is less than the second preset value, the network device determines to configure the first frequency band combination for the terminal device),
in case that the actual MSD of the UE is lower than the MSD threshold, identifying that the UE supports the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination (Paragraph [0107], disclose, in response the first interference value is less than the second preset value, the network device determines to configure the first frequency band combination for the terminal device),
and in case that the actual MSD of the UE is not lower than the MSD threshold, identifying that the UE does not support the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination (see paragraph [0069], if the interference is too large or serious, the network device may not use the frequency band at all).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the configured frequency band for the according to the interference information (as disclosed in Xing) into Umeda as a way of effectively utilizing each frequency band combination (please see paragraph [0081] of Xing).
As per claim 3:
Umeda in view of Xing teaches the method according to claim 1.
Umeda does not teach wherein the configuring of the band combination for the UE or not configuring of the band combination for the UE based on the first information comprises:
in a case that the first MSD is unacceptable by the network entity, configuring the band combination for the UE or not configuring the band combination for the UE based on the first information.
Xing teaches wherein the configuring of the band combination for the UE or not configuring of the band combination for the UE based on the first information comprises:
in a case that the first MSD is unacceptable by the network entity, configuring the band combination for the UE (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art) or not configuring the band combination for the UE based on the first information (see paragraph [0069], if the interference is too large or serious, the network device may not use the frequency band at all).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the configured frequency band for the according to the interference information (as disclosed in Xing) into Umeda as a way of effectively utilizing each frequency band combination (please see paragraph [0081] of Xing).
As per claim 14:
Umeda teaches a network entity in a wireless communication system (see Figure 9, apparatus 50. Said apparatus 50 could be network node 110 such as gNB, please see paragraph [0121]), comprising:
a transceiver (see Figure 9, radio interface 56);
and at least one processor (see Figure 9, ctrl 52), coupled to the transceiver (see Figure 9, ctrl 52 coupled to radio interface 56) and configured to:
receive first information from a user equipment (UE), wherein the first information comprises information related to actual maximum sensitivity degradation (MSD) of the UE for a band combination (see Figure 5, paragraph [0095], the gNB 110 receives low MSD information associated with band combination (BC) from UE 120. Paragraph [0097] disclose the UE 120 may signal low MSD information in different embodiments. One embodiment, the MSD source as indicated via respective index in a bit may represent one low MSD BC entry for indicating multiple MS sources for which the UE supports lower MSD than currently specified, see paragraph [0100]);
identify, based on the received information related to actual MSD of the UE for the band combination, whether the UE supports a second MSD, which is lower than a first MSD, for the band combination or a band in the band combination (as explained earlier in paragraph [0100], the MSD source as indicated via respective index in a bit may represent one low MSD BC entry for indicating multiple MS sources for which the UE supports lower MSD than currently specified. Therefore, it is evident that in response to receiving the signaling from the UE, the gNB will be able to determine an MSD lower than a currently specified value for the BC. Paragraph [0146], disclose the network node receives indication of a first band combination associated with low MSD. The low MSD, according to paragraph [0146], is determined to be lower than a predetermined MSD threshold value);
and in case that the UE supports the second MSD, configure the band combination for the UE (see paragraph [0146], discloses determining that the UE supports low MSD for each of the supported band combinations which comprises the bands of the indicated first band information and that the low MSD information is valid also for each of the supported band combinations).
Umeda does not clearly teach wherein the identify of whether the UE supports the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination comprises:
identify whether the actual MSD of the UE is lower than a MSD threshold for the band combination or the band in the band combination,
in case that the actual MSD of the UE is lower than the MSD threshold, identify that the UE supports the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination,
and in case that the actual MSD of the UE is not lower than the MSD threshold, identify that the UE does not support the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination.
Xing teaches wherein the identify of whether the UE supports the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination (see paragraph [0069], discloses as long as the sensitivity deterioration value of the terminal is less than the MSD, it is considered that the communication requirements are met. Paragraph [0107], disclose, in response the first interference value is less than the second preset value, the network device determines to configure the first frequency band combination for the terminal device) comprises:
identify whether the actual MSD of the UE is lower than a MSD threshold for the band combination or the band in the band combination (as explained earlier, paragraph [0107], disclose, in response the first interference value is less than the second preset value, the network device determines to configure the first frequency band combination for the terminal device),
in case that the actual MSD of the UE is lower than the MSD threshold, identify that the UE supports the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination (Paragraph [0107], disclose, in response the first interference value is less than the second preset value, the network device determines to configure the first frequency band combination for the terminal device),
and in case that the actual MSD of the UE is not lower than the MSD threshold, identify that the UE does not support the second MSD for the band combination or the band in the band combination (see paragraph [0069], if the interference is too large or serious, the network device may not use the frequency band at all).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the configured frequency band for the according to the interference information (as disclosed in Xing) into Umeda as a way of effectively utilizing each frequency band combination (please see paragraph [0081] of Xing).
6. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda in view of Xing and further in view of Wang (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0100287).
As per claim 4:
Umeda in view of Xing teaches the method according to claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the configuring of the band combination for the UE or not configuring of the band combination for the UE based on the first information comprises:
identifying channel quality of a secondary cell based on a result of an inter-band measurement and the first information;
in case that the channel quality of the secondary cell is acceptable, configuring the band combination for the UE;
and in case that the channel quality of the secondary cell is unacceptable, not configuring the band combination for the UE.
Wang teaches wherein the configuring of the band combination for the UE or not configuring of the band combination for the UE based on the first information comprises:
identifying channel quality of a secondary cell based on a result of an inter-band measurement and the first information (see paragraphs [0067]-[0068], disclose measuring the signal quality for downlink signal demodulation. In case where the SIR is acceptable (e.g., greater than a threshold value), the network may schedule normal operation for the frequency band combination. In case the SIR is unacceptable for the downlink signal demodulation (e.g., le3ss than or equal to a threshold value), the network may perform mitigation action such as only scheduling primary cell (PCell), disabling secondary cell (SCell) or even not scheduling any operation for the UE 10);
in case that the channel quality of the secondary cell is acceptable, configuring the band combination for the UE (see paragraphs [0067]-[0068], disclose measuring the signal quality for downlink signal demodulation. In case where the SIR is acceptable (e.g., greater than a threshold value), the network may schedule normal operation for the frequency band combination. In case the SIR is unacceptable for the downlink signal demodulation (e.g., less than or equal to a threshold value), the network may perform mitigation action such as only scheduling primary cell (PCell), disabling secondary cell (SCell) or even not scheduling any operation for the UE 10);
and in case that the channel quality of the secondary cell is unacceptable, not configuring the band combination for the UE (see paragraphs [0067]-[0068], disclose measuring the signal quality for downlink signal demodulation. In case where the SIR is acceptable (e.g., greater than a threshold value), the network may schedule normal operation for the frequency band combination. In case the SIR is unacceptable for the downlink signal demodulation (e.g., less than or equal to a threshold value), the network may perform mitigation action such as only scheduling primary cell (PCell), disabling secondary cell (SCell) or even not scheduling any operation for the UE 10).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to restrict the usage of frequency combinations associated with maximum sensitivity degradation (as disclosed in Wang) into both Umeda and Xing especially since high MSD values may not be sufficiently useful (please see paragraph [0033] of Wang). Therefore, restricting the usage of a bandwidth combination based on MSD value(s) and other factors is an efficient way of scheduling uplink and/or downlink communication with the user equipment (please see paragraph [0003] of Wang).
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda in view of Xing and further in view of Liu (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0365250).
As per claim 5:
Umeda in view of Xing teaches the method according to claim 1 with the exception of:
further comprising:
in case that the UE supports the second MSD, activating the band combination for the UE;
and in case that the UE does not support the second MSD, not activating the band combination for the UE based on the first information.
Liu teaches further comprising:
in case that the UE supports the second MSD, activating the band combination for the UE; and in case that the UE does not support the second MSD, not activating the band combination for the UE based on the first information (see paragraph [0026], when MSD is severe or the uplink channel bandwidth is large, in the uplink channel bandwidth, the BWP whose bandwidth is the smallest and/or the BWP that is farthest from the receive band may be activated).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the activation of a receive band based on one of or more conditions (as disclosed in Liu) into Umeda and Xing as a way of reducing the impact of transmitting on receiving, and further reduce the impact of the sensitivity degradation on the network performance (please see paragraph [0026] of Liu).
8. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda in view of Xing and further in view of Liu and Mochizuki (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0126753).
As per claim 6:
Umeda in view of Xing and further in view of Liu teaches the method according to claim 5 with the exception of:
further comprising:
deactivating a secondary cell based on channel quality measurement information about at least one of the band combination or the first information.
Mochizuki teaches further comprising:
deactivating a secondary cell based on channel quality measurement information about at least one of the band combination or the first information (see paragraph [0800], own base station and secondary base station may activate the SCell when the value of the SD and/or MSD is higher in a combination of the SCell and a cell which is being operated between the base station and the UE. The base station may also transmit a notification instructing the activation/deactivation of the SCell. This enables the base station to select a cell with superior quality under the SCell control).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the activation/deactivation of a secondary cell (as disclosed in Mochizuki) into Umeda, Xing and Liu as a way of enabling a base station to select w cell with a better quality under the SCell control (please see paragraph [0800] of Mochizuki).
9. Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda in view of Xing and further in view of Takahashi (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0359398).
As per claim 7:
Umeda in view of Xing teaches the method according to claim 1 with the exception of:
further comprising:
transmitting a message to the UE for inquiring whether the UE supports the second MSD, wherein the receiving of the first information from the UE comprises:
receiving, from the UE, a response including the first information in response to the message.
Takahashi teaches further comprising:
transmitting a message to the UE for inquiring whether the UE supports the second MSD (see paragraph [0112], the base station requests terminal capability information including information indicating whether simultaneous transmissions are allowed in an uplink band combination and information indicating maximum sensitivity degradation when the simultaneous transmissions are executed in the uplink band combination), wherein the receiving of the first information from the UE comprises:
receiving, from the UE, a response including the first information in response to the message (see paragraph [0112], the base station receives the requested terminal capability information from the user equipment).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the exchange of request and response of terminal capability information (as disclosed in Takahashi) into Umeda and Xing as a way of enabling the base station to execute simultaneous receptions in the uplink band combination based on the uplink scheduling allocation (please see paragraph [0112] of Takahashi).
As per claim 8:
Umeda in view of Xing teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the response further comprises second information related to the band combination,
and wherein the configuring of the band combination for the UE or not configuring of the band combination for the UE based on the first information comprises configuring the band combination for the UE or not configuring the band combination for the UE based on the first information and the second information.
Takahashi wherein the response further comprises second information related to the band combination (paragraph [0112], as explained earlier, the requested terminal capability information indicates (1) whether simultaneous transmissions are allowed in an uplink band combination and (2) information indicating maximum sensitivity degradation when the simultaneous transmissions are executed in the uplink band combination),
and wherein the configuring of the band combination for the UE or not configuring of the band combination for the UE based on the first information comprises configuring the band combination for the UE or not configuring the band combination for the UE based on the first information and the second information (see paragraph [0106], terminal generates and sends terminal capability information indicating uplink band combination, information indicating whether simultaneous transmissions in the uplink band combination are allowed and information indicating maximum sensitivity degradation when the simultaneous transmissions are executed in the uplink band combination. The terminal receiving uplink scheduling allocation from the base station apparatus, wherein the user equipment executes the simultaneous transmissions in the uplink band combination based on the uplink scheduling allocation).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the exchange of request and response of terminal capability information (as disclosed in Takahashi) into Umeda and Xing as a way of enabling the base station to execute simultaneous receptions in the uplink band combination based on the uplink scheduling allocation (please see paragraph [0112] of Takahashi).
10. Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeda in view of Xing and further in view of Abdel Shahid (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0045720), hereinafter referred to as Abdel.
As per claim 2:
Umeda in view of Xing teaches the method according to claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein information related to actual MSD of the UE for the band combination comprises at least one of information related to relative actual MSD which indicates a relative value of the actual MSD with respect to the first MSD information related to absolute actual MSD which indicates actual MSD value of the UE caused by at least one interference source in a band within the band combination.
Abdel teaches wherein information related to actual MSD of the UE for the band combination comprises at least one of information related to relative actual MSD which indicates a relative value of the actual MSD with respect to the first MSD information related to absolute actual MSD which indicates actual MSD value of the UE caused by at least one interference source in a band within the band combination (see paragraph [0093], indexing into the conflict data 212 based on the respective frequencies 316 of DL transmission to retrieve a conflict flag 416. Conflict flag 416 can indicate whether or not the respective DL frequencies 316 are recorded in associated with each other in conflict data 212. Conflict flag 416 can include an expected level of MSD (in any desired units, absolute or relative) or an expected power (in any desired units, absolute or relative) of a predetermined IMD term (e.g., IMD3 or IMD5)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the expected MSD and IMD (as disclosed in Abdel) into Umeda and Xing as a way of prioritizing uplink transmission based on UL packet loss measures based on MSD (please see paragraph [0017] of Abdel).
As per claim 12:
Umeda in view of Xing and further in view of Abdel teaches the method according to claim 2 with the exception of:
wherein, the information related to the relative actual MSD is obtained based on the absolute actual MSD and the first MSD.
Abdel teaches wherein, the information related to the relative actual MSD is obtained based on the absolute actual MSD and the first MSD (see paragraph [0093], indexing into the conflict data 212 based on the respective frequencies 316 of DL transmission to retrieve a conflict flag 416. Conflict flag 416 can indicate whether or not the respective DL frequencies 316 are recorded in associated with each other in conflict data 212. Conflict flag 416 can include an expected level of MSD (in any desired units, absolute or relative) or an expected power (in any desired units, absolute or relative) of a predetermined IMD term (e.g., IMD3 or IMD5)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the expected MSD and IMD (as disclosed in Abdel) into Umeda and Xing as a way of prioritizing uplink transmission based on UL packet loss measures based on MSD (please see paragraph [0017] of Abdel)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474