DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, and 23-24 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new rejection under 103 is made based on Chen et al. (US 2020/0359425 A1) in view of new reference Stern-Berkowitz et al. (US 2017/0280481 A1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10 and 21 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-14, 19, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2020/0359425 A1) in view of Stern-Berkowitz et al. (US 2017/0280481 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses A method for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising (Fig. 13: network device 130):
receiving at least one physical random access channel (PRACH) repetition, of a group of PRACH repetitions ([0067], [0073]: network device receives a number of repetitions of random access from the UE);
determining a number of PRACH repetitions in the group, based on at least one resource associated with the at least one PRACH repetition ([0067], [0073]-[0074]: network device determines the number of repetitions of random access based on a PRACH resource used to perform the repetition of random access, i.e., a preamble group where the preamble used is located);
processing the group of PRACH repetitions, in accordance with the determination ([0066]-[0067], [0073]: based on the synchronization of the number of repetitions between the network device and the UE, the network device does not need to blind decode the uplink control signal or the uplink data which provides a solution to the unclear RACH procedure with repetition mechanism disclosed in [0007]-[0008], where the RACH procedure includes the network device providing message 2 and message 4);
transmitting a RAR within the RAR window ([0007]: UE monitors a RAR in a RAR window).
Chen does not disclose, but Stern-Berkowitz discloses determining a random access response (RAR) window based on the determined number of PRACH repetitions in the group ([0141]: The start and/or length of the RA response window may be a function of at least one or more of the number of repetitions ... of the preamble (or PRACH transmission). [0142]: the repetitions ... of the preamble ... may be ... understood by the eNB from the PRACH resource used by the WTRU for the random access. [0100]-[0101]: WTRU may transmit the preamble with repetitions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the network device, as taught by Chen, to determine the length of the RA response window based on at least a number of repetitions of the preamble/PRACH transmissions understood by the eNB from the PRACH resource used by the WTRU for the random access, as taught by Stern-Berkowitz.
Doing so allows the eNB to transmit RAR in a coverage enhanced manner when responding to receipt of PRACH preambles that may have been transmitted by a coverage limited WTRU and/or that may be considered or determined by the eNB to have been transmitted by a coverage limited WTRU (Stern-Berkowitz: [0140]-[0142], [0100]-[0101]).
Regarding claim 23, Chen discloses An apparatus, comprising: memory comprising executable instructions; and one or more processors configured, individually or collectively, to execute the executable instructions and cause the apparatus to (Fig. 13, [0173]: network device 130 comprises a memory 136 storing a computer program executable by a processor 135):
receive at least one physical random access channel (PRACH) repetition, of a group of PRACH repetitions ([0067], [0073]: network device receives a number of repetitions of random access from the UE);
determine a number of PRACH repetitions in the group, based on at least one resource associated with the at least one PRACH repetition ([0067], [0073]-[0074]: network device determines the number of repetitions of random access based on a PRACH resource used to perform the repetition of random access, i.e., a preamble group where the preamble used is located);
process the group of PRACH repetitions, in accordance with the determination ([0066]-[0067], [0073]: based on the synchronization of the number of repetitions between the network device and the UE, the network device does not need to blind decode the uplink control signal or the uplink data which provides a solution to the unclear RACH procedure with repetition mechanism disclosed in [0007]-[0008], where the RACH procedure includes the network device providing message 2 and message 4);
transmit a RAR within the RAR window ([0007]: UE monitors a RAR in a RAR window).
Chen does not disclose, but Stern-Berkowitz discloses determining a random access response (RAR) window based on the determined number of PRACH repetitions in the group ([0141]: The start and/or length of the RA response window may be a function of at least one or more of the number of repetitions ... of the preamble (or PRACH transmission). [0142]: the repetitions ... of the preamble ... may be ... understood by the eNB from the PRACH resource used by the WTRU for the random access. [0100]-[0101]: WTRU may transmit the preamble with repetitions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the network device, as taught by Chen, to determine the length of the RA response window based on at least a number of repetitions of the preamble/PRACH transmissions understood by the eNB from the PRACH resource used by the WTRU for the random access, as taught by Stern-Berkowitz.
Doing so allows the eNB to transmit RAR in a coverage enhanced manner when responding to receipt of PRACH preambles that may have been transmitted by a coverage limited WTRU and/or that may be considered or determined by the eNB to have been transmitted by a coverage limited WTRU (Stern-Berkowitz: [0140]-[0142], [0100]-[0101]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses A method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising (Fig. 12: UE 1200):
selecting at least one resource for at least one physical random access channel (PRACH) repetition of a group of PRACH repetitions, wherein the selection is based on a number of PRACH repetitions in the group ([0067], [0073]: UE selects a PRACH resource, i.e., a preamble from a preamble group, for performing repetition of random access based on a number of repetitions of random access);
transmitting the PRACH repetitions, in accordance with the selection ([0067], [0073]: UE transmits the number of repetitions of random access to the network device);
monitoring for a RAR within the RAR window ([0007]: UE monitors a RAR in a RAR window).
Chen does not disclose, but Stern-Berkowitz discloses determining a random access response (RAR) window based on the determined number of PRACH repetitions in the group ([0141]: The start and/or length of the RA response window may be a function of at least one or more of the number of repetitions ... of the preamble (or PRACH transmission). [0142]: the repetitions ... of the preamble ... may be ... understood by the eNB from the PRACH resource used by the WTRU for the random access. [0100]-[0101]: WTRU may transmit the preamble with repetitions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Chen, to determine the length of the RA response window based on at least a number of repetitions of the preamble/PRACH transmissions understood by the eNB from the PRACH resource used by the WTRU for the random access, as taught by Stern-Berkowitz.
Doing so allows the eNB to transmit RAR in a coverage enhanced manner when responding to receipt of PRACH preambles that may have been transmitted by a coverage limited WTRU and/or that may be considered or determined by the eNB to have been transmitted by a coverage limited WTRU (Stern-Berkowitz: [0140]-[0142], [0100]-[0101]).
Regarding claim 24, Chen discloses An apparatus, comprising: memory comprising executable instructions; and one or more processors configured, individually or collectively, to execute the executable instructions and cause the apparatus to (Fig. 12, [0168]: UE 1200 comprises a memory 1209 storing software programs executable by a processor 1210):
select at least one resource for at least one physical random access channel (PRACH) repetition of a group of PRACH repetitions, wherein the selection is based on a number of PRACH repetitions in the group ([0067], [0073]: UE selects a PRACH resource, i.e., a preamble from a preamble group, for performing repetition of random access based on a number of repetitions of random access);
transmit the PRACH repetitions, in accordance with the selection ([0067], [0073]: UE transmits the number of repetitions of random access to the network device);
monitor for a RAR within the RAR window ([0007]: UE monitors a RAR in a RAR window).
Chen does not disclose, but Stern-Berkowitz discloses determining a random access response (RAR) window based on the determined number of PRACH repetitions in the group ([0141]: The start and/or length of the RA response window may be a function of at least one or more of the number of repetitions ... of the preamble (or PRACH transmission). [0142]: the repetitions ... of the preamble ... may be ... understood by the eNB from the PRACH resource used by the WTRU for the random access. [0100]-[0101]: WTRU may transmit the preamble with repetitions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Chen, to determine the length of the RA response window based on at least a number of repetitions of the preamble/PRACH transmissions understood by the eNB from the PRACH resource used by the WTRU for the random access, as taught by Stern-Berkowitz.
Doing so allows the eNB to transmit RAR in a coverage enhanced manner when responding to receipt of PRACH preambles that may have been transmitted by a coverage limited WTRU and/or that may be considered or determined by the eNB to have been transmitted by a coverage limited WTRU (Stern-Berkowitz: [0140]-[0142], [0100]-[0101]).
Regarding claim(s) 2 and 13, Chen in view of Stern-Berkowitz discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 12 as outlined above.
Chen discloses wherein the at least one resource comprises at least one of a PRACH preamble or a PRACH preamble subset ([0074]: PRACH resource includes preamble codeword resource. [0067]-[0068]: there may be preamble groups A and B. [0058]: each preamble group may have up to 8 repetitions).
Regarding claim(s) 3 and 14, Chen in view of Stern-Berkowitz discloses all features of claim(s) 2 and 13 as outlined above.
Chen discloses wherein different PRACH preamble subsets, associated with different numbers of PRACH repetitions, are partitioned from a larger set of PRACH preambles associated with PRACH repetitions ([0055]: preamble groups A and B are associated with a number of repetitions of random access. [0058]: there are 8 types of repetitions: 1&1, 1&2, 2&2, 2&4, 2&8, 4&4, 4&8, and 8&8 (where the part before “&” corresponds to the number of repetitions for the uplink and downlink channels of the user equipment using the preamble in the preamble group A, and the part after “&” corresponds to the number of repetitions for the uplink and downlink channels of the user equipment using the preamble in the preamble group B). Each preamble group may have up to 8 different repetitions).
Regarding claim(s) 19, Chen in view of Stern-Berkowitz discloses all features of claim(s) 12 as outlined above.
Chen discloses determining a random access response (RAR) window ([0007]: UE monitors a RAR in a RAR window); and
monitoring a RAR within the RAR window ([0007]: UE monitors the RAR in the RAR window).
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2020/0359425 A1) in view of Stern-Berkowitz et al. (US 2017/0280481 A1) and Park et al. (US 2016/0309507 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 15, Chen in view of Stern-Berkowitz discloses all features of claim(s) 2 and 13 as outlined above.
Chen does not disclose, but Park discloses wherein a number of PRACH repetitions associated with a given PRACH preamble subset is based, at least in part, on a number of PRACH preambles in that PRACH preamble subset ([0083]-[0084]: parameters pertinent to the RACH for a terminal include number of preambles dedicated to contention-based RA, repetition level, and maximum number of preamble transmission, and where the preambles are divided into three groups).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE and the network device, as taught by Chen, to receive and transmit parameters pertinent to the RACH for a terminal include number of preambles dedicated to contention-based RA, repetition level, and maximum number of preamble transmission, and where the preambles are divided into three groups, as taught by Park.
Doing so allows the terminal to perform contention-based RA (Park: [0081]).
Claim(s) 5-7 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2020/0359425 A1) in view of Stern-Berkowitz et al. (US 2017/0280481 A1) and Cozzo et al. (US 2024/0032107 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 5 and 16, Chen in view of Stern-Berkowitz discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 12 as outlined above.
Chen does not disclose, but Cozzo discloses wherein the at least one resource comprises at least one of a time domain location or a frequency domain location of a random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) or a RO group, in which the at least one PRACH repetition was received ([0096], [0099]: gNB partitions PRACH resources, i.e., ROs, for PRACH transmission with repetitions by the UE. Figs. 8-9, [0111], [0113], [0122]: PRACH transmission with repetitions in ROs are transmitted in time resources and frequency resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE and the network device, as taught by Chen, to perform the recited functions of the UE and gNB, as taught by Cozzo.
Doing so provides a determination of time and frequency resources for multiple PRACH transmissions (Cozzo: [0095]).
Regarding claim(s) 6 and similar claim 17, Chen in view of Stern-Berkowitz and Cozzo discloses all features of claim(s) 5 and 16 as outlined above.
Chen does not disclose, but Cozzo discloses wherein the determination is based on at least one of a time domain location or a frequency domain location of a starting RO or an ending RO of the RO group ([0096], [0099]: gNB partitions PRACH resources, i.e., ROs, for PRACH transmission with repetitions by the UE. [0122]: UE is provided with index i indicating time resources and index j indicating frequency resources for ROs that can be used for PRACH repetitions. Figs. 8-9, [0111], [0113]: different start and end RO for different repetition types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE and the network device, as taught by Chen, to perform the recited functions of the UE and gNB, as taught by Cozzo.
Doing so provides a determination of time and frequency resources for multiple PRACH transmissions (Cozzo: [0095]).
Regarding claim(s) 7 and similar claim 18, Chen in view of Stern-Berkowitz and Cozzo discloses all features of claim(s) 5 and 16 as outlined above.
Chen does not disclose, but Cozzo discloses one or more RO groups are nested within a larger RO group ([0096]-[0097], [0099]: gNB partitions PRACH resources to be used by the UE. For example, a first partition includes ROs for PRACH transmission without repetitions, and a second partition includes ROs for PRACH transmission with repetitions); and
the determination (claim 18: selection) is based on whether the at least one PRACH repetition was received in a nested RO group or the larger RO group ([0096]-[0097], [0099]: gNB partitions PRACH resources to be used by the UE, i.e., the second partition includes ROs for PRACH transmission with repetitions. Both the first and second partitions include ROs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE and the network device, as taught by Chen, to perform the recited functions of the UE and gNB, as taught by Cozzo.
Doing so provides a determination of time and frequency resources for multiple PRACH transmissions (Cozzo: [0095]).
Claim(s) 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2020/0359425 A1) in view of Stern-Berkowitz et al. (US 2017/0280481 A1) and Yang et al. (US 2016/0165640 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 11 and similar claim 22, Chen in view of Stern-Berkowitz discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 12 as outlined above.
Chen discloses (claim 22: the UE monitors for an) the RAR conveys a Random Access Response Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI) ([0007]: UE monitors RAR of corresponding RA-RNTI);
Chen does not disclose, but Yang discloses the RA-RNTI is determined based on the number of PRACH repetitions in the group ([0165]: determining an RA-RNTI value according to a PRACH repetition number of times Np).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE and/or the network device, as taught by Chen, to determine the RA-RNTI value according to a PRACH repetition number of times Np, as taught by Yang.
Doing so provides a method for determining RA-RNTI in consideration of a repetition number of times of a PRACH (Yang: [0163]-[0164]).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov