DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. The following is a non-final office action in response to the applicant’s arguments/remarks received 11/20/2025.
2. Claims 1 and 3 – 5, 7 - 19, 21 - 30 are currently pending and have been examined.
3. Claims 1,12, 17 and 26 have been amended.
4. Claims 2, 6 and 20 have been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The arguments/remarks presented by the applicant/applicant’s representative on 11/20/2025 with respect to the independent claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous grounds of rejection is withdrawn, see new claim rejection that follows.
Claim interpretation
1. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim should not be read into the claim. E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (claims must be interpreted "in view of the specification" without importing limitations from the specification into the claims unnecessarily) [MPEP 2106 Sec I, C]. “Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). [MPEP 2111.01 Sec II]. Thus, the Examiner interprets Applicant’s claims "in view of the specification" and does not “import into a claim limitation that are not part of the claim”.
2. When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations does not have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 5, 7 - 19, 21 - 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2020/0314778 A1, the foreign priority date is relied on) in view of Nokia (R1-2212397, “support for below 5 MHz BW”, 14 – 18 November, 2022) and Baker et al. (US 2024/0291613 A1).
The independent claims are rejected in view of figure 6 of this application (upper diagram) of the drawings submitted on 02/08/2023 see replication below:
The second row (3000-24250 MHZ) is considered the first subset of bandwidths and the first row (0 – 3000 MHZ) above is considered the second subset of bandwidth.
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses: A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (the method is disclosed in ¶002 which entails a UE as seen in figure 9), the method comprising:
scanning one or more of a plurality of bandwidths to identify a synchronization bandwidth via which a synchronization signal block (SSB) is wirelessly communicated [table 14 under ¶ 0119 in view of ¶ 0116: the various bands that entails various bandwidth are being scanned/searched by the UE to locate SS at predefined frequency locations], the plurality of bandwidths including a first subset of bandwidths [the first subset of bandwidths are seen in the second row of table 14 and is label as “3000-24250 MHz”] and a second subset of bandwidths [the second subset of bandwidths are in the first row of table 14 and is label as “0 - 3000 MHz”], wherein reference frequencies of consecutive bandwidths of the first subset of bandwidths are separated by a first frequency step value [¶0119, table 14:the reference frequencies are seen in the second column of table 14 and is label “SS block frequency position SSREF”, for the first subset of bandwidths by a frequency step value is seen in the second row second column and is label “3000 MHz + N* 1.44 MHz N=0:14756”, as N takes on various value from 1 – 14756 a frequency step size is being computed that results consecutive bandwidth ] and reference frequencies of consecutive bandwidths of the second subset of bandwidths are separated by a second frequency step value [¶ 0119: the reference frequencies are seen in the second column of table 14 and is label “SS block frequency position SSREF”, for the second subset of bandwidths by a frequency step value is seen in the first row and second column and is label “N*1200KHZ”, as N takes on various value from 1 – 2499 a frequency step size is being computed that results consecutive bandwidth ] that is less than the first frequency step value; [ “N*1200KHZ” < “N* 1.44 MHz”, for any integer of N being selected]
receiving the SSB via the synchronization bandwidth. [¶ 0116].
Jung discloses every aspect of claim 1 except: determining based on whether the synchronization bandwidth is in a first subset of bandwidths or a second subset of bandwidths, a channel bandwidth of a communication channel that includes the SSB, the first subset of bandwidths corresponding to channel bandwidths that are 5 megahertz (MHz) or greater and the second subset of bandwidths corresponding to channel bandwidths that are less than 5 MHz.
In the same field of endeavor Nokia discloses the above missing feature: see the second page which recites the following excerpts:
“When the the available BW is between 4MHz and 5MHz (i.e. from 20 to 25 RBs), the NR design with e.g. 20 RB SSBs works as such. That is, the system will just occupy a fraction of the 5 MHz channel BW.
On the other hand, when the available BW is between 3 MHz and less than 4 MHz (i.e. from 15 to 19 RBs), the UE may assume 3 MHz / 15 RB BW prior to SIB1 acquisition. In other words, 15-RB SSB and CORESET#0 options would be used in such cases.”
The two statements above have to be with bandwidths below 5MHZ [between 4MHz and 5MHz and between 3 MHz and less than 4 MHz], which can be refer to a subset of bandwidth below 5MHZ. below the 5MHZ (threshold) which possess subsets of bandwidth the UE will look for the SSB in their respective resource blocks. For bandwidth that are greater than 5MHZ is implied in the reference of Nokia, since Nokia deals with bandwidths that are below 5MHZ. In other words, bandwidths greater than 5MHZ whereby UE searches for its SSBs are well known in the art [see the specification of this application submitted on 02/08/2023, the last half of ¶ 0036 label 9/60]. Such assertion is seen in the reference of Baker see: last sentence in ¶ 0031 (5G was designed to operate with a minimum bandwidth of 5 MHz for the transmission of SS/PBCH) in addition to ¶ 0032 and ¶ 0037: channel raster was developed for the transmission of SSB pertaining to NR 5G above 5MHz this is refer to as the default raster that pertains to 5G and entails different frequency positions/step size. The reference of Baker is now developing a synchronization raster (“…multiple candidate frequency positions for applying the synchronization signal in narrower band…”) for narrowband SSB transmission which are below 5MHZ. At the same time Baker discloses in ¶ 0037 5G NR will be able to operate in narrower bandwidth than 5MHZ (minimum bandwidth that has been defined for NR) and in view of ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038 each synchronization raster below and above the 5 MHZ involves different step sizes. Hence the 5MHz frequency is herein refer to as the threshold frequency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung’s system in view of Nokia. The motivation would have been beneficial to so called specialized networks, which are used to provide mission critical communications for industry verticals such as smart energy and infrastructure, public safety, and railway communications. These networks would benefit not only from the high spectral efficiency of 5G NR, but also from its ultra-reliability and low latency. [see first ¶ on the first page of the introduction section of Nokia].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung’s system in view of Nokia and Baker. The motivation for making the above modification would have been to develop a new synchronization raster that is applicable to narrower bands in which different parts of the one raster may be applied to the narrow band and the NR bands [¶ 0038 of Baker].
Claims 12, 17 and 26 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 1. For claims 12 and 26, such elements as a memory and processor are seen in figure 10 of Jung.
Claim 3, Jung and Baker further disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein the first frequency step value is approximately 1200 kilohertz (kHz) [see table 14 under ¶ 0119; “N*1200KHZ”] and the second frequency step value is 100 kHz. [Although not present in table 14, this is configuration that is easily conceivable to a person having ordinary skill in the art, such assertion can be seen in ¶ 0037 of Baker: “The new synchronization raster may have a finer frequency step size(s) than the default synchronization raster. For example, the new synchronization raster may have a smaller multiplier of N and/or a smaller multiplier of M”]. [see also the first paragraph on page 5/16 of Nokia]
Claims 21 and 30 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 3.
Claim 4, Jung further discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the UE stores preconfigured mapping data that indicates a mapping between a group of operating bands (table 15 under ¶ 0120, “NR operating band”, see also page 1 of Nokia) and reference frequencies of candidate synchronization bandwidths, and wherein the mapping is defined by a wireless communication standard. [see table 15 under ¶ 0120, the reference frequencies are in the third column. See ¶ 0189 for such standard as 5G; See baker ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038. See also first paragraph on the first page of Nokia].
Claim 5, Jung and baker further discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein first index values corresponding to reference frequencies of the first subset of bandwidths are less than second index values corresponding to reference frequencies of the second subset of bandwidths, and wherein consecutive index values of the first index values and consecutive index values of the second index values are separated by a same step size. [Jung: see table 14, the range of GSCN provides the index value for each band the first set of index value 2-7498 < 7499 - 22255, second set of index value, the step size being the same that is “1”, N=1:2499 for band 0 – 3000 MHZ and N=0:14756 for 3000 – 24250 MHz, see table 15 in ¶ 0120 for step size being 1; See baker ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038].
Claim 23 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 5.
Claim 7, Jung and Baker further discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein second index values corresponding to reference frequencies of the second subset of bandwidths comprise a subset of channel index values corresponding to globally defined radio frequency (RF) channels, wherein consecutive index values of first index values corresponding to reference frequencies of the first subset of bandwidths are separated by a first step size and consecutive index values of second index values corresponding to reference frequencies of the second subset of bandwidths are separated by a second step size that is different than the first step size. [Jung: see table 14, the range of GSCN provides the index value for each band the first set of index value 2-7498 and a second set of index value 7499-22255. The different step size is seen in table 12 under ¶ 0115 (last column, step size can be 20, 1, 2) and table 15 (last column, step size can be 1, 3) under ¶ 0119; See baker ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038].
Claim 24 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 7.
Claim 8, Jung further discloses: The method of claim 7, wherein the first step size is one and the second step size is twenty. [Jung: The different step size is seen in table 12 (last column, step size can be 20, 1, 2) under ¶ 0115 and table 15 (last column, step size can be 1, 3) under ¶ 0119; See baker ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038].
Claim 9, Jung and Baker further disclose: The method of claim 7, wherein reference frequencies for the second subset of bandwidths are equal to the corresponding index value multiplied by 5 kilohertz (kHz), and wherein the channel index values are New Radio Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Numbers (NR-ARFCNs). [Jung:¶ 0149, table 16 for ARFCN and as explained in claim 3 with regards to table 14, this is configuration that is easily conceivable to a person having ordinary skill in the art, such assertion can be seen in ¶ 0037 of Baker: “The new synchronization raster may have a finer frequency step size(s) than the default synchronization raster. For example, the new synchronization raster may have a smaller multiplier of N and/or a smaller multiplier of M” in combination with See baker ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038].
Claim 25 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 9.
Claim 10, Jung and Baker further disclose: The method of claim 4, further comprising accessing the preconfigured mapping data based on an operating band of the UE to select the plurality of bandwidths from the candidate synchronization bandwidths. [see table 15 under ¶ 0120, the operating bands are mapped to candidate bandwidths as seen in the last column of table 15, the UE has the ability to access this mapping to select the plurality of bandwidth from the candidate set; Baker: ¶ 0038, the channel raster must be stored and preconfigured (implied) since it must be accessible to the devices based on the different scenarios, that is, bands above and below 5 MHz that entails groups of operating bands and reference frequencies see ¶ 0037].
Claim 22, recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 4 and 10.
Claim 11, Jung further discloses: The method of claim 10, wherein the operating band comprises band n8, band n26, band n28, or band n100 [see table 12 under ¶ 0115, first column. See page 1 of Nokia].
Claim 13, Jung further discloses: The UE of claim 12, wherein the synchronization bandwidth is located within a radio frequency (RF) channel having a reference frequency located at one of a plurality of channel reference frequencies, and wherein consecutive channel reference frequencies of the plurality of channel reference frequencies are separated by the second frequency step value. [see ¶ 0104 and ¶ 0115 for different step size; See baker ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038].
Claim 27 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 13.
Claim 14, Jung further discloses: The UE of claim 13, wherein execution of the processor-readable code further causes the at least one processor to monitor the RF channel after identifying the synchronization bandwidth, and wherein receipt of the SSB via the synchronization bandwidth is responsive to monitoring the RF channel. [see ¶ 0104 and ¶ 0115 in view of ¶ 0107; See baker ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038]
Claim 15, Jung further discloses: The UE of claim 13, wherein the reference frequency of the RF channel is the same as a reference frequency of the synchronization bandwidth. [see table 15 under ¶ 0115].
Claim 28 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 15.
Claim 16, Jung further discloses: The UE of claim 13, wherein a reference frequency of the synchronization bandwidth and the reference frequency of the RF channel are separated by one or two physical resource blocks (PRBs). [¶ 0108, ¶ 0111 and ¶ 0115].
Claim 29 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 16.
Claim(s) 17 – 19 and 21 - 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2020/0314778 A1, the foreign priority date is relied on) in view of Nokia (R1-2212397, “support for below 5 MHz BW”, 14 – 18 November, 2022) and Baker et al. (US 2024/0291613 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Jung discloses: A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, the method comprising: (the method is disclosed in ¶002 which entails a UE as seen in figure 9), the method comprising:
selecting a synchronization bandwidth from one of a first subset of a plurality of bandwidths [table 14 under ¶ 0119 in view of ¶ 0116: the various bands that entails various bandwidth are being scanned/searched by the UE to locate SS at predefined frequency locations, the first subset of bandwidths are seen in the second row of table 14 and is label as “3000-24250 MHz”] and a second subset of bandwidths [the second subset of bandwidths are in the first row of table 14 and is label as “0 - 3000 MHz”], and a second subset of the plurality of bandwidths wherein reference frequencies of consecutive bandwidths of the first subset of bandwidths are separated by a first frequency step value [¶0119, table 14:the reference frequencies are seen in the second column of table 14 and is label “SS block frequency position SSREF”, for the first subset of bandwidths by a frequency step value is seen in the second row second column and is label “3000 MHz + N* 1.44 MHz N=0:14756”, as N takes on various value from 1 – 14756 a frequency step size is being computed that results consecutive bandwidth. The threshold being 3000 MHZ ] and reference frequencies of consecutive bandwidths of the second subset of bandwidths are separated by a second frequency step value that is less than the first frequency step value; [¶ 0119: the reference frequencies are seen in the second column of table 14 and is label “SS block frequency position SSREF”, for the second subset of bandwidths by a frequency step value is seen in the first row and second column and is label “N*1200KHZ”, as N takes on various value from 1 – 2499 a frequency step size is being computed that results consecutive bandwidth ] that is less than the first frequency step value; [ “N*1200KHZ” < “N* 1.44 MHz”, for any integer of N being selected]
and transmitting a synchronization signal block (SSB) via the synchronization bandwidth. [¶ 0116].
Jung discloses every aspect of claim 17 except: selecting, based on whether a channel bandwidth of one or more communication channels to be used for wireless communication is greater than or equal to 5 megahertz (MHz) or less than 5 megahertz (MHz),
In the same field of endeavor Nokia discloses the above feature: see the second page which recites the following excerpts:
“When the the available BW is between 4MHz and 5MHz (i.e. from 20 to 25 RBs), the NR design with e.g. 20 RB SSBs works as such. That is, the system will just occupy a fraction of the 5 MHz channel BW.
On the other hand, when the available BW is between 3 MHz and less than 4 MHz (i.e. from 15 to 19 RBs), the UE may assume 3 MHz / 15 RB BW prior to SIB1 acquisition. In other words, 15-RB SSB and CORESET#0 options would be used in such cases.”
The two statements above have to be with bandwidths below 5MHZ [between 4MHz and 5MHz and between 3 MHz and less than 4 MHz], which can be refer to a subset of bandwidth below 5MHZ. below the 5MHZ (threshold) which possess subset of bandwidth the UE will look for the SSB in their respective resource blocks. For bandwidth that are greater than 5MHZ is implied since the reference of Nokia is trying to deal with bandwidths that are below 5MHZ directly implies that bandwidths greater than 5MHZ is well known in the art. Such assertion is seen in the reference of Baker et al. (US 2024/0291613 A1) which discloses last sentence in ¶ 0031 in addition to ¶ 0032 and ¶ 0037: channel raster was developed for the transmission of SSB pertaining to NR 5G above 5MHz this is refer to as the default raster that pertains to 5G and entails different frequency positions/step size. The reference of Baker is now developing a synchronization raster (“…multiple candidate frequency positions for applying the synchronization signal in narrower band…”) for narrowband SSB transmission which is below 5MHZ. At the same time Baker discloses in ¶ 0037 5G NR will be able to operate in narrower bandwidth than 5MHZ (minimum bandwidth that has been defined for NR) and in view of ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038 each synchronization raster below and above the 5 MHZ involves different step sizes. Hence the 5MHz frequency is herein refer to as the threshold frequency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung’s system in view of Nokia. The motivation would have been beneficial to so called specialized networks, which are used to provide mission critical communications for industry verticals such as smart energy and infrastructure, public safety, and railway communications. These networks would benefit not only from the high spectral efficiency of 5G NR, but also from its ultra-reliability and low latency. [see first ¶ on the first page of the introduction section of Nokia].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung’s system in view of Nokia and Baker. The motivation for making the above modification would have been to develop a new synchronization raster that is applicable to narrower bands in which different parts of the one raster may be applied to the narrow band and the NR bands [¶ 0038 of Baker].
Claims 26 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 7. For claim 26, such elements as a memory and processor are seen in figure 10 of Jung.
Claim 18, Baker further discloses: The method of claim 17, wherein selecting the synchronization bandwidth comprises selecting the synchronization bandwidth from the first subset of bandwidths based on the channel bandwidth being greater than or equal to the threshold. [¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038, because NR 5G and narrowband works together different parts of the raster is applied to different scenarios, that is below and above 5MHZ (minimum bandwidth that has been defined for NR)].
Claim 19, Baker further discloses: The method of claim 17, wherein selecting the synchronization bandwidth comprises selecting the synchronization bandwidth from the second subset of bandwidths based on the channel bandwidth being less than the threshold. [¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038, because NR 5G and narrowband works together different parts of the raster is applied to different scenarios, that is below and above 5MHZ (minimum bandwidth that has been defined for NR)].
Claim 21, Jung in view of Baker further discloses: The method of claim 17, wherein the first frequency step value is approximately 1200 kilohertz (kHz) [see table 14 under ¶ 0119; “N*1200KHZ”] and the second frequency step value is 100 kHz. [Although not present in table 14, this is configuration that is easily conceivable to a person having ordinary skill in the art, such assertion can be seen in ¶ 0037 of baker: “The new synchronization raster may have a finer frequency step size(s) than the default synchronization raster. For example, the new synchronization raster may have a smaller multiplier of N and/or a smaller multiplier of M”. See Baker: ¶ 0037]
Claim 30 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 21.
Claim 22, Baker further discloses: The method of claim 17, further comprising accessing preconfigured mapping data based on an operating band of the network entity to select the plurality of bandwidths from candidate synchronization bandwidths, wherein the preconfigured mapping data indicates a mapping between a group of operating bands and reference frequencies of the candidate synchronization bandwidths, and wherein the mapping is defined by a wireless communication standard. [¶ 0038, the channel raster must be stored and preconfigured (implied) since it must be accessible to the devices based on the different scenarios, that is, bands above and below 5 MHz that entails groups of operating bands and reference frequencies see ¶ 0037].
Claim 23, Jung and Baker further disclose: The method of claim 22, wherein first index values corresponding to reference frequencies of the first subset of bandwidths are less than second index values corresponding to reference frequencies of the second subset of bandwidths, and wherein consecutive index values of the first index values and consecutive index values of the second index values are separated by a same step size. [see table 14, the range of GSCN provides the index value for each band the first set of index value 2-7498 < 7499 - 22255, second set of index value, the step size being the same that is “1”, N=1:2499 for band 0 – 3000 MHZ and N=0:14756 for 3000 – 24250 MHz, see table 15 in ¶ 0120 for step size being 1. See baker ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038].
Claim 24, Jung and Baker further discloses: The method of claim 22, wherein second index values corresponding to reference frequencies of the second subset of bandwidths comprise a subset of channel index values corresponding to globally defined radio frequency (RF) channels, wherein consecutive index values of first index values corresponding to reference frequencies of the first subset of bandwidths are separated by a first step size and consecutive index values of second index values corresponding to reference frequencies of the second subset of bandwidths are separated by a second step size that is different than the first step size. [see table 14, the range of GSCN provides the index value for each band the first set of index value 2-7498 < 7499 - 22255, second set of index value, the step size being the same that is “1”, N=1:2499 for band 0 – 3000 MHZ and N=0:14756 for 3000 – 24250 MHz, see table 15 in ¶ 0120 for step size being 1. See baker ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038].
Claim 25, Jung further discloses: The method of claim 24, wherein reference frequencies for the second subset of bandwidths are equal to the corresponding index value multiplied by 5 kilohertz (kHz), and wherein the channel index values are New Radio Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Numbers (NR-ARFCNs). [¶ 0149, table 16 for ARFCN and as explained in claim 3 with regards to table 14, this is configuration that is easily conceivable to a person having ordinary skill in the art, such assertion can be seen in ¶ 0037 of application US 2024/0291613 A1: “The new synchronization raster may have a finer frequency step size(s) than the default synchronization raster. For example, the new synchronization raster may have a smaller multiplier of N and/or a smaller multiplier of M”].
Claim 27, Jung further discloses: The network entity of claim 26, wherein at least a portion of the SSB is transmitted within a radio frequency (RF) channel having a reference frequency located at one of a plurality of channel reference frequencies, and wherein consecutive channel reference frequencies of the plurality of channel reference frequencies are separated by the second frequency step value. [see ¶ 0104 and ¶ 0115 for different step size. See baker ¶ 0037 - ¶ 0038].
Claim 28, Jung further discloses: The network entity of claim 27, wherein the reference frequency of the RF channel is the same as a reference frequency of the synchronization bandwidth. [see table 15 under ¶ 0115].
Claim 29, Jung further discloses: The network entity of claim 27, wherein a reference frequency of the synchronization bandwidth and the reference frequency of the RF channel are separated by one or two physical resource blocks (PRBs). [¶ 0108, ¶ 0111 and ¶ 0115].
Conclusion
MAHARISHI V. KHIRODHAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MAHARISHI V KHIRODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463