This is the non-final Office Action for the serial number 18/166,254, ANTENNA MOUNT EXTENSION BRACKET WITH A RETENTION AND ALIGNMENT CLIP, filed on 2/8/23.
The final office action mailed on 9/8/25 has been withdrawn in view of new ground rejection, any inconvenience is regretted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 6,546,684 to Waalkes et al., in view of US Patent # 6,023,249 to Fujita et al and in further view of US Patent Application Publication # 2023/0411842 to Kim et al.
Waalkes et al. teaches a mounting bracket comprising a base bracket (8) comprising a slot (16, 71) and an extension bracket (11) comprising a retention clip (13, 48) configured to be inserted into the slot. The retention clip and the slot forming a retention mechanism that engaging using a forward weight of an object. The retention clip is configured to be released when the extension bracket is pushed forward and then raised. The retention clip is configured to slide to different positions within the slot. The extension bracket is configured to be locked to the base bracket at each of the different positions of the retention clip within the slot. The extension bracket is configured to be mounted to the base bracket through a one hand operation. The retention clip is configured to engage a back side of the slot. The retention clip is formed integrally with the extension bracket. The retention clip is attached to the extension bracket.
Waalkes et al. teaches the mounting bracket but fails to teach the mounting bracket for mounting an antenna alignment device being configured to measure at least one of a roll, tilt or azumith of the antenna. Fujita et al. teaches the antenna alignment device (4) installed in the office partitions (column 1, lines 30-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the antenna alignment device in Waalkes et al.’s office partitions as taught by Fujita et al. to improve the appearance of the office partition (column 1, lines 30-42 in Fujita’s invention).
Waalkes et al in view of Fujita et al. teaches the antenna alignment device but fails to teach the antenna alignment device is configured to measure at least one of a roll, tilt , or azimuth of the antenna. Kim et al. teaches the antenna alignment device (section 0007) is being configured to measure roll, tilt and azimuth of antenna. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Waalkes et al. in view of Fugita et al.’s antenna alignment device with measuring the roll, tilt and azimuth of antenna as taught by Kim et al. “without putting a worker in a field of a mobile communication base station, and to adjust a tilting angle and an orientation angle of the antenna so that the antenna has a target spatial orientation” (section 0007 in Kim et al.’s invention).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waalkes et al. in view of Fujita et al., Kim et al. and in further view of US Patent Application Publication # 2018/0116427 to Gupta et al.
Waalkes et al. teaches the base bracket and the extension bracket but fails to teach the base bracket and the extension bracket are made of aluminum. Gupta et al. teaches the aluminum (section 0081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Waalkes et al.’s base bracket and extension bracket with aluminum as taught by Gupta et al. to reduce weight in the base bracket and the extension bracket.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waalkes et al. in view of Fujita et al., Kim et al. in further view of US Patent Application Publication # 2024/0218966 to Xu et al.
Waalkes et al. teaches the slot but fails to teach the slot has an oblique front side. Xu et al. teaches the slot (166) having the oblique (section 0031). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Waalkes et al.’s slot with oblique as taught by Xu et al. to allow the extension bracket to rotate with respect to the base bracket (see section 0031 in Xu et al.’s invention).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK
Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636 2/27/26