DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. No IDS filed.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-10 and 21 in the reply filed on 11/3/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 11-16 and 18-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The term “and the like” renders the claim indefinite, which should be removed from the claim. It is improper to have a closed group open to equivalents not present in the claim, which causes confusion of what is “like” and therefore claimed range is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2022/0105487 A1) to Strobel et al. (hereinafter Strobel).
Strobel is directed toward the spray drying encapsulation of oil based cargos. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0005] that the field is directed toward use of cross-linked alginate microcapsules. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0014] that hydrophobically functionalized starch is included in the formulations to increase shelf life of unsaturated fats. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0016] that calcium is used to crosslink the polymer. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0019] that OSA-starch (or other hydrophobically-modified starch is good at extending shelf life. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0035] that a hydrophilic polymer of n-octenyl succinic anhydride modified starch is added to the starch mixture to form the microcapsule, which reads on Applicants structure I, II or III, having at least one group of structure Ia attached as an R group. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0049] that the structure was in a 1:1 ratio with divalent calcium ions. Strobel discloses each and every element as arranged in claims 1-6 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2022/0105487 A1) to Strobel et al. (hereinafter Strobel) in view of the teachings of Luz et al, Synthesis and Characterization of octenyl succinic anhydride modified starches for food Applications. A review of recent literature. Food Hydrocolloids 80 (2018) 97-100 (hereinafter Luz).
Strobel is directed toward the spray drying encapsulation of oil based cargos. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0005] that the field is directed toward use of cross-linked alginate microcapsules. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0014] that hydrophobically functionalized starch is included in the formulations to increase shelf life of unsaturated fats. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0016] that calcium is used to crosslink the polymer. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0019] that OSA-starch (or other hydrophobically-modified starch is good at extending shelf life. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0035] that a hydrophilic polymer of n-octenyl succinic anhydride modified starch is added to the starch mixture to form the microcapsule, which reads on Applicants structure I, II or III, having at least one group of structure Ia attached as an R group. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0049] that the structure was in a 1:1 ratio with divalent calcium ions. Strobel discloses the amphiphilic polymer, but is silent regarding the level of OSA substitution of the starch.
Luz is directed toward OSA modified starches that are used in microencapsulation. Strobel and Luz are both directed toward OSA modified starches that are used in microencapsulation and therefore are analogous art. Luz teaches at page 99 in Fig 1:
Luz teaches at page 108 that OS starch can be used as an encapsulate have a degree of substitution of up to 1.5, which reads on Applicants 0.2-1.5. One skilled in the art would be motivated to use the teachings of Luz a review of the state of the art for encapsulation using the degree of substitution that was indicated to have desirable properties for encapsulation.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Strobel in view of the teachings of Luz form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 10 and 21.
14. Claims 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2022/0105487 A1) to Strobel et al. (hereinafter Strobel) in view of the teachings of (US 2022/0211092 A1) to Arafat Arafat (hereinafter Arafat).
Strobel is directed toward the spray drying encapsulation of oil based cargos. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0005] that the field is directed toward use of cross-linked alginate microcapsules. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0014] that hydrophobically functionalized starch is included in the formulations to increase shelf life of unsaturated fats. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0016] that calcium is used to crosslink the polymer. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0019] that OSA-starch (or other hydrophobically-modified starch is good at extending shelf life. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0035] that a hydrophilic polymer of n-octenyl succinic anhydride modified starch is added to the starch mixture to form the microcapsule, which reads on Applicants structure I, II or III, having at least one group of structure Ia attached as an R group. Strobel discloses at paragraph [0049] that the structure was in a 1:1 ratio with divalent calcium ions. Strobel discloses the amphiphilic polymer, but is silent regarding the specific types of oils encapsulated.
Arafat is directed toward OSA modified starches that are used in microencapsulation of oils. Strobel and Luz are both directed toward OSA modified starches that are used in microencapsulation and therefore are analogous art. One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Strobel to use embodiments of Arafat that teaches desirable commercial embodiments for cargo encapsulate by OSA modified starches. Arafat teaches at paragraph [0031] that alginate beads encapsulates an oil. Arafat teaches at paragraph [0083] that the oil may be a fragrance oil. Arafat teaches at paragraph [0035] that the shell to oil ratio is up to 1:5, which reads on Applicants range of 1:1 to 1:5.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Strobel in view of the teachings of Arafat form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 3-9.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766