DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Goldring et al. (US 20220011162 A1, 2022-01-13) (hereinafter “Goldring”) does not teach “second optical component located at an output of the aiming light source emitter to prefilter the second signal as it is emitted from the aiming light source emitter toward the target to remove at least one source of noise from the second signal before it reaches the target.” See Remarks at 6-11
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but it is not persuasive.
Goldring discloses the following (emphases added):
[0105] The sensor or detector of the spectrometer module 160 may comprise one or more filters configured to transmit the measurement beam 30 but inhibit transmission of the aiming beam 20. In many configurations, the spectrometer module comprises one filter configured to inhibit transmission of visible light, thereby inhibiting transmission of portions of the aiming beam 20 and measurement beam 30 reflected from the sample that comprise visible light. In some configurations, the spectrometer module 160 may comprise a plurality of optical filters configured to inhibit transmission of a portion of the aiming beam 20 reflected the sample material S, and to transmit a portion of the measurement beam 30 reflected from the sample. In configurations of the spectrometer module comprising a plurality of optical channels, the spectrometer module may comprise a plurality of filters wherein each optical filter corresponds to an optical channel. Each filter may be configured to inhibit transmission of light within a specific range and/or within a specific angle of incidence, wherein the filtered specific range or specific angle of incidence may be specific to the corresponding channel. In some configurations, each optical channel of the spectrometer module may comprise a field of view. The field of view 40 of the spectrometer module may comprise a plurality of overlapping fields of view of a plurality of optical channels. The aiming beam and the measurement beam may overlap with the plurality of overlapping fields of view on the sample S. In many configurations, a diffuser may be disposed between the plurality of optical filters and the incident light from the sample, in which each optical filter corresponds to an optical channel. In such configurations, the plurality of optical channels may comprise similar fields of view through the diffuser, with each field of view at least partially overlapping with the fields of view of other optical channels. With the diffuser, the spectrometer may comprise a wide field of view, for example ±90°.
Note that the above-quoted passage describes the embodiment that comprises combined optical channels (with the aiming light being filtered after it has reflected from the target): “In many configurations, the spectrometer module comprises one filter configured to inhibit transmission of visible light, thereby inhibiting transmission of portions of the aiming beam 20 and measurement beam 30 reflected from the sample that comprise visible light.” Applicant focuses on this embodiment in their Remarks.
However, above-quoted passage also teaches an alternative embodiment: (1) The spectrometer may comprise different optical channels with overlapping fields of view. (2) The aiming beam and measurement beam may overlap and may comprise different optical channels. (3) Each optical channel may have its corresponding optical filter. So, from (1), (2), and (3), we conclude that the aiming beam may have its own corresponding optical filter. Accordingly, teaches second optical component (construed as the optical filter corresponding to the aiming beam as its own optical channel) located at an output of the aiming light source emitter to prefilter the second signal as it is emitted from the aiming light source emitter toward the target to remove at least one source of noise from the second signal before it reaches the target.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brinkmann et al. (WO 2016201092 A1, 2016-12-15) (hereinafter “Brinkmann”) in view of Goldring et al. (US 20220011162 A1, 2022-01-13) (hereinafter “Goldring”).
Regarding claims 1-12, as discussed above (Response to Arguments incorporated by reference herein), Brinkmann teaches a system for spectroscopic signal detection, the system comprising: a spectrometer (e.g., 404); a light source emitter (e.g., 501) configurable to emit a first signal toward a target; an aiming light source emitter (e.g., 401) configurable to emit a second signal having a visible spectrum toward the target; and a first optical component (e.g., 408) for attenuating or removing noise associated with the second signal from a third signal, in response to the first signal, from the target back to the spectrometer (as recited in claim 1); wherein the spectrometer is coupled to a surgical fiber (e.g., 403), and wherein the first optical component includes at least one of a filter or a polarizer located in a first signal pathway between the surgical fiber and the spectrometer (e.g., [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], Fig. 5) (as recited in claim 2); wherein the first optical component includes at least one of a filter or a polarizer located in a second signal pathway between the aiming light source emitter and at least one of the surgical fiber or the spectrometer (e.g., [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182] and Figs. 4, 5) (as recited in claim 3); further comprising: a third optical component (e.g., 406) for attenuating or removing noise associated with at least one of the second signal or the third signal, wherein the second optical component is located in at least one of a first signal pathway between the surgical fiber and the spectrometer or a second signal pathway between the aiming light source emitter and at least one of the surgical fiber or the spectrometer (e.g., [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], Figs. 4-6 and associated text) (as recited in claim 4); wherein the second optical component includes a filter or a polarizer (as recited in claim 5); wherein the first optical component includes at least one of filter or a polarizer located in an optical path between the target and the spectrometer (as recited in claim 6); wherein the aiming light source emitter includes a laser diode (e.g., [0153], [0169]) (as recited in claim 7); wherein the light source emitter includes a Light Emitting Diode (LED) (e.g., [0105], [0169]) (as recited in claim 8); wherein a rejection frequency of the first optical component is based on a wavelength of light emitted from the aiming light source emitter (as recited in claim 9); wherein the system is configured to be coupled to an in-vivo-insertable therapeutic or diagnostic endoscopic system (e.g., [0171]-[0173]) (as recited in claim 10); further comprising: a controller, coupled to the aiming light source emitter, configurable to pulse the aiming light source emitter on and off, wherein the spectrometer is configured to collect or analyze at least one of the first signal or the third signal when the aiming light source is pulsed off (e.g., [0116], [0153], [0175]) (as recited in claim 11); wherein the spectrometer is configured to pulse the aiming light source emitter for allowing a change in a wavelength of light emitted from the aiming light source emitter to a different wavelength (e.g., [0012]-[0015]) (as recited in claim 12). See, e.g., [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], Figs. 4-6 and associated text.
Brinkmann does not expressly teach a second optical component located at an output of the aiming light source emitter to prefilter the second signal as it is emitted from the aiming light source emitter to remove at least one source of noise from the second signal before it reaches the target.
Goldring teaches filtering of aiming light and the motivation of improving signal-to-noise ratio. See, e.g., [0015], [0100]-[0105]; [0100] (“The visible aiming beam 20 and the optical beam 30 may be partially or completely overlapping, aligned, and/or coaxial.”); [0105] (“In some configurations, the spectrometer module 160 may comprise a plurality of optical filters configured to inhibit transmission of a portion of the aiming beam 20 reflected the sample material S . . .”); [0220]-[0221] (disclosing improving signal-to-noise ratio by inhibiting stray light); [0229]-[0232] (disclosing avoiding sources of noise in the measurement beam).
Note that Goldring also teaches an alternative embodiment: (1) The spectrometer may comprise different optical channels with overlapping fields of view. (2) The aiming beam and measurement beam may overlap and may comprise different optical channels. (3) Each optical channel may have its corresponding optical filter. So, from (1), (2), and (3), we conclude that the aiming beam may have its own corresponding optical filter. Accordingly, teaches second optical component (construed as the optical filter corresponding to the aiming beam as its own optical channel) located at an output of the aiming light source emitter to prefilter the second signal as it is emitted from the aiming light source emitter toward the target to remove at least one source of noise from the second signal before it reaches the target, as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Goldring with the invention taught by Brinkmann such that the invention further comprises a second optical component located at an output of the aiming light source emitter to prefilter the second signal as it is emitted from the aiming light source emitter toward the target to remove at least one source of noise from the second signal before it reaches the target (as recited in claim 1) in order to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of the measurement beam.
Regarding claims 13-20, as discussed above, Brinkmann teaches a system for spectroscopic signal detection, the system comprising: a spectrometer; a light source emitter configurable to emit a first signal toward a target; an aiming light source emitter configurable to emit a second signal having a visible spectrum toward the target; an optical component located at an output of the aiming light source emitter to pre-filter the second signal as it is emitted from the aiming light source emitter toward the target to remove at least one source of noise from the second signal before it reaches the target; and a controller, coupled to the aiming light source emitter, configurable to pulse the aiming light source emitter on and off, wherein the spectrometer is configured to collect or analyze at least one of the first signal or a third signal, in response to the first signal, from the target when the aiming light source emitter is pulsed off (e.g., [ [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], [0105], [0153], [0169], [0171]-[0173], Figs. 4-6 and associated text) (as recited in claim 13); wherein the spectrometer is configured to collect or analyze at least one of the first signal or the third signal when the aiming light source emitter is pulsed on (e.g., [ [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], [0105], [0153], [0169], [0171]-[0173], Figs. 4-6 and associated text) (as recited in claim 14); wherein the spectrometer is configured to pulse the aiming light source emitter for allowing a change in a wavelength of light emitted from the aiming light source emitter to a different wavelength (e.g., [ [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], [0105], [0153], [0169], [0171]-[0173], Figs. 4-6 and associated text) (as recited in claim 15); a method for spectroscopic signal detection during an in-vivo-insertable medical procedure, the method comprising: emitting a first signal from a light source toward a target; emitting a second signal from an aiming beam emission source toward the target; pre-filtering the second signal emitted from the aiming beam emission source using an optical component located at an output of the aiming beam emission source as the second signal is emitted from aiming beam emission source toward the target to remove at least one source of noise from the second signal before it reaches the target; receiving, in response to the first signal, a third signal from the target at a spectrometer; pulsing the aiming beam emission source off for a period of time; collecting the third signal received during the period of time; and analyzing the collected third signal using the spectrometer (e.g., [ [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], [0105], [0153], [0169], [0171]-[0173], Figs. 4-6 and associated text) (as recited in claim 16); further comprising: attenuating or removing a portion of the third signal received from the target (e.g., [ [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], [0105], [0153], [0169], [0171]-[0173], Figs. 4-6 and associated text) (as recited in claim 17); wherein the portion of the third signal is attenuated or removed using at least one additional optical component in at least one of a first signal pathway between a surgical fiber and the spectrometer or a second signal pathway between the aiming beam emission source and at least one of the surgical fiber or the spectrometer (e.g., [ [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], [0105], [0153], [0169], [0171]-[0173], Figs. 4-6 and associated text) (as recited in claim 18); a method for spectroscopic signal detection during an in-vivo-insertable medical procedure, the method comprising: emitting a first signal from a light source toward a target; emitting a second signal from an aiming beam emission source toward the target; pre-filtering the second signal emitted from the aiming beam emission source using an optical component located at an output of the aiming beam emission source as the second signal is emitted from aiming beam emission source toward the target to remove at least one source of noise from the second signal before it reaches the target; receiving, in response to the first signal, a third signal from the target at a spectrometer; attenuating or removing noise associated with the second signal from a third signal; and analyzing the collected third signal to determine a characteristic of the target (e.g., [ [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], [0105], [0153], [0169], [0171]-[0173], Figs. 4-6 and associated text) (as recited in claim 19); wherein the attenuated or removed noise has substantially the same wavelength as the second signal before pre-filtering (e.g., [ [0136], [0147], [0181]-[0182], [0105], [0153], [0169], [0171]-[0173], Figs. 4-6 and associated text) (as recited in claim 20).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Scott Luan
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792