DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant argues the claims as amended. Examiner agrees that the prior art does not teach all of these limitations. However, new art teaches these limitations. Please see the rejections that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (2015/0382336), and further in view of Ren (Ren, Huarong, et. al. “Orthogonal Time-Frequency Space with Improved Index Modulation” 15th International Conference on Signal Processing and Communication Systems; 2021.) and further in view of Gong (2024/0214170; Foreign priority 27 Aug 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: (See Zhang fig. 19; UE with memory, processor, etc.; fig. 10; wireless communication)
transmit capability signaling indicating support by the UE; (See Zhang para. 150; UE reports capability information on support to network)
receive, based at least in part on the capability signaling, an indication of a resource size of a resource and an MCS associated with the resource; and (See Zhang para. 143; UE receives a scheduling command which carries a transmission parameter, for example, data packet size and MCS, modulation and coding scheme, and physical resource)
perform a communication based at least in part on the indication of the resource size and the MCS (See Zhang para. 143; UE sending or receiving data based upon scheduling command)
Zhang does not explicitly disclose using OTFS-IM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern. However, Ren does disclose using OTFS-IM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang to include the teaching of using OTFS-IM/IIM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern of Ren with the motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Zhang in view of Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement. However, Gong does disclose wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement. (See Gong para. 86-88; selecting a resource to reduce PAPR of the data signal without increasing complexity on receiving side (e.g. a requirement)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang in view of Ren to include the teaching of wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement of Gong with the motivation being to reduce distortion and further to allow for less battery usage and complexity at receiver side and further to allow for less capable devices to receive and decode the signal successfully and further to increase bandwidth and further to increase detection performance.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to perform the communication, are configured to:
Zhang discloses sending and/or receiving based upon an indication. (See Zhang para. 143)
receive an OTFS-IM waveform based at least in part on the subblock size and the index modulation pattern for OTFS-IM, the OTFS-IM being detectable by the UE based at least in part on the subblock size and the index modulation pattern for OTFS-IM. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also B. receiver, fig. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to perform the communication, are configured to:
Zhang discloses sending and/or receiving based upon an indication. (See Zhang para. 143)
transmit an OTFS-IM waveform based at least in part on the subblock size and the index modulation pattern for OTFS-IM. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the subblock is selected based at least in part on a Doppler dimension, wherein a plurality of Doppler resources corresponding to a delay is selected as the subblock, wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero, and wherein one of the plurality of Doppler resources corresponding to the delay is selected to be non-zero. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler vs delay; some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the subblock is selected based at least in part on a plurality of Doppler resources corresponding to multiple delays, and wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler (e.g. multiple doppler resources) vs delay (e.g. multiple delays); some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the subblock is selected based at least in part on a plurality of delay resources corresponding to multiple Doppler resources, and wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler (e.g. multiple doppler resources) vs delay (e.g. multiple delays); some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a quantity of non-zero resources varies across different subblocks. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler (e.g. multiple doppler resources) vs delay (e.g. multiple delays); some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3); and varies across different subbocks) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein zero resources in the subblock are replaceable with a non-zero constellation, wherein the non-zero constellation is different from a constellation used for non-zero resources in the subblock. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler vs delay; some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3; inactive subblocks could later be activated and use a different M-ary constellation; see also pg. 1; M-QAM, M-PSK etc.) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro) and further to provide compatibility with devices that support certain types of constellations.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (2015/0382336), and further in view of Ren (Ren, Huarong, et. al. “Orthogonal Time-Frequency Space with Improved Index Modulation” 15th International Conference on Signal Processing and Communication Systems; 2021.) and further in view of Gong (2024/0214170; Foreign priority 27 Aug 2021) and further in view of Qaraqe (2020/0396038).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 1. wherein the sub block is associated with a delay dimension and a Doppler dimension, and wherein the index modulation pattern indicates a non-zero pattern associated with the subblock. (See Ren fig. 2; Doppler and delay dimension of each subblock wherein the index pattern indicates a non-zero pattern in that some blocks are assigned (e.g. non-zero) and some are not (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
wherein the index modulation pattern are based at least in part on one or more of: the PAPR requirement or a data requirement, (See Gong para. 124-125; modulation order (e.g. modulation pattern) of resource selected based upon type of data; para. 94; resource selected based upon requirements of apparatus; para. 25;) The motivation being to reduce distortion and further to allow for less battery usage and complexity at receiver side and further to allow for less capable devices to receive and decode the signal successfully and further to increase bandwidth and further to increase detection performance.
Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong does not explicitly disclose wherein the subblock size depends upon the modulation order. However, Qaraqe does disclose wherein the subblock size is based at least in part on a modulation order. (See Qaraqe para. 52; subblock size depends on modulation order; see also para. 4) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong to include the teaching of wherein the subblock size is based at least in part on a modulation order of Qaraqe with the motivation being to balance spectral efficiency and error rate performance and further in order to maintain acceptable performance (inverse relationship; higher modulation orders require smaller subblocks; while lower modulation orders can use larger subblocks) and further to balance spectral efficiency vs energy efficiency and further to improve error performance.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (2015/0382336), and further in view of Ren (Ren, Huarong, et. al. “Orthogonal Time-Frequency Space with Improved Index Modulation” 15th International Conference on Signal Processing and Communication Systems; 2021.) and further in view of Gong (2024/0214170; Foreign priority 27 Aug 2021) and further in view of Ma (2023/0319708).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Zhang discloses capability signaling. Ren discloses a modulation order. (See Ren section A. Transmitter Mmod) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong does not explicitly disclose indicating a maximum block size supported by UE. However, Ma does disclose indicating a maximum block size supported by UE. (See Ma para. 28, para. 36; para. 332) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong to include the teaching of indicating a maximum block size supported by UE of Ma with the motivation being indicating a maximum block size supported by UE of Ma with the motivation being to reduce delay in transmission and further to match UE ability with network ability to maximize wireless resources and further to reduce wasted wireless resources and battery power and further to maximize throughput and further to meet delay and error goals.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (2015/0382336), and further in view of Ren (Ren, Huarong, et. al. “Orthogonal Time-Frequency Space with Improved Index Modulation” 15th International Conference on Signal Processing and Communication Systems; 2021.) and further in view of Gong (2024/0214170; Foreign priority 27 Aug 2021) and further in view of Manolakos (2018/0115382).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong do not explicitly disclose wherein a data modulation pattern, wherein the parameters are received via a reference signal wherein the reference signal has its own parameters which are stored by the UE and used to detect the reference signal. However, Manolakos does disclose wherein a data modulation pattern, wherein the parameters are received via a reference signal wherein the reference signal has its own parameters which are stored by the UE and used to detect the reference signal. (See Manolakos fig. 14 and associated paragraphs; UE obtains first and second reference signal value and determines the data portion of the field based upon these two reference signal values to determine multiplexing pattern for data; see also fig. 15, fig. 3 and associated paragraphs) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong to include the teaching of wherein a data modulation pattern, wherein the parameters are received via a reference signal wherein the reference signal has its own parameters which are stored by the UE and used to detect the reference signal of Manolakos with the motivation being to reduce control signaling and further to reduce delay in accessing a network and further to reduce jitter and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 13, 14, 18, 19, 20, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (2015/0382336), and further in view of Ren (Ren, Huarong, et. al. “Orthogonal Time-Frequency Space with Improved Index Modulation” 15th International Conference on Signal Processing and Communication Systems; 2021.) and further in view of Gong (2024/0214170; Foreign priority 27 Aug 2021).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: (See Zhang fig. 12/13; processor and memory; base station (e.g. a network node); fig. 10 wireless)
receive capability signaling indicating is support by a user equipment (UE); (See Zhang para. 150; UE reports capability information on support to network)
transmit, based at least in part on the capability signaling, an indication of a resource size of a resource and an MCS associated with the resource; and (See Zhang para. 143; UE receives a scheduling command which carries a transmission parameter, for example, data packet size and MCS, modulation and coding scheme, and physical resource)
perform a communication based at least in part on the indication of the resource size and the MCS (See Zhang para. 143; UE sending or receiving data based upon scheduling command)
Zhang does not explicitly disclose using OTFS-IM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern. However, Ren does disclose using OTFS-IM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang to include the teaching of using OTFS-IM/IIM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern of Ren with the motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Zhang in view of Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement. However, Gong does disclose wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement. (See Gong para. 86-88; selecting a resource to reduce PAPR of the data signal without increasing complexity on receiving side (e.g. a requirement)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang in view of Ren to include the teaching of wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement of Gong with the motivation being to reduce distortion and further to allow for less battery usage and complexity at receiver side and further to allow for less capable devices to receive and decode the signal successfully and further to increase bandwidth and further to increase detection performance.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to perform the communication, are configured to:
Zhang discloses sending and/or receiving based upon an indication. (See Zhang para. 143)
transmit an OTFS-IM waveform based at least in part on the subblock size and the index modulation pattern for OTFS-IM. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to perform the communication, are configured to:
Zhang discloses sending and/or receiving based upon an indication. (See Zhang para. 143)
receive an OTFS-IM waveform based at least in part on the subblock size and the index modulation pattern for OTFS-IM. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also B. receiver, fig. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the subblock is selected based at least in part on a Doppler dimension, wherein a plurality of Doppler resources corresponding to a delay is selected as the subblock, wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero, and wherein one of the plurality of Doppler resources corresponding to the delay is selected to be non-zero. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler vs delay; some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the subblock is selected based at least in part on a plurality of Doppler resources corresponding to multiple delays, and wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler (e.g. multiple doppler resources) vs delay (e.g. multiple delays); some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the subblock is selected based at least in part on a plurality of delay resources corresponding to multiple Doppler resources, and wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler (e.g. multiple doppler resources) vs delay (e.g. multiple delays); some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a quantity of non-zero resources varies across different subblocks. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler (e.g. multiple doppler resources) vs delay (e.g. multiple delays); some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3); and varies across different subbocks) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein zero resources in the subblock are replaceable with a non-zero constellation, wherein the non-zero constellation is different from a constellation used for non-zero resources in the subblock. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler vs delay; some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3; inactive subblocks could later be activated and use a different M-ary constellation; see also pg. 1; M-QAM, M-PSK etc.) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro) and further to provide compatibility with devices that support certain types of constellations.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (2015/0382336), and further in view of Ren (Ren, Huarong, et. al. “Orthogonal Time-Frequency Space with Improved Index Modulation” 15th International Conference on Signal Processing and Communication Systems; 2021.) and further in view of Gong (2024/0214170; Foreign priority 27 Aug 2021) and further in view of Qaraqe (2020/0396038).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the sub block is associated with a delay dimension and a Doppler dimension, and wherein the index modulation pattern indicates a non-zero pattern associated with the subblock. (See Ren fig. 2; Doppler and delay dimension of each subblock wherein the index pattern indicates a non-zero pattern in that some blocks are assigned (e.g. non-zero) and some are not (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
wherein the index modulation pattern are based at least in part on one or more of: the PAPR requirement or a data requirement, (See Gong para. 124-125; modulation order (e.g. modulation pattern) of resource selected based upon type of data; para. 94; resource selected based upon requirements of apparatus; para. 25;) The motivation being to reduce distortion and further to allow for less battery usage and complexity at receiver side and further to allow for less capable devices to receive and decode the signal successfully and further to increase bandwidth and further to increase detection performance.
Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong does not explicitly disclose wherein the subblock size depends upon the modulation order. However, Qaraqe does disclose wherein the subblock size is based at least in part on a modulation order. (See Qaraqe para. 52; subblock size depends on modulation order; see also para. 4) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong to include the teaching of wherein the subblock size is based at least in part on a modulation order of Qaraqe with the motivation being to balance spectral efficiency and error rate performance and further in order to maintain acceptable performance (inverse relationship; higher modulation orders require smaller subblocks; while lower modulation orders can use larger subblocks) and further to balance spectral efficiency vs energy efficiency and further to improve error performance.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (2015/0382336), and further in view of Ren (Ren, Huarong, et. al. “Orthogonal Time-Frequency Space with Improved Index Modulation” 15th International Conference on Signal Processing and Communication Systems; 2021.) and further in view of Gong (2024/0214170; Foreign priority 27 Aug 2021) and further in view of Ma (2023/0319708).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 12. Zhang discloses capability signaling. Ren discloses a modulation order. (See Ren section A. Transmitter Mmod) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong does not explicitly disclose indicating a maximum block size supported by UE. However, Ma does disclose indicating a maximum block size supported by UE. (See Ma para. 28, para. 36; para. 332) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong to include the teaching of indicating a maximum block size supported by UE of Ma with the motivation being indicating a maximum block size supported by UE of Ma with the motivation being to reduce delay in transmission and further to match UE ability with network ability to maximize wireless resources and further to reduce wasted wireless resources and battery power and further to maximize throughput and further to meet delay and error goals.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (2015/0382336), and further in view of Ren (Ren, Huarong, et. al. “Orthogonal Time-Frequency Space with Improved Index Modulation” 15th International Conference on Signal Processing and Communication Systems; 2021.) and further in view of Gong (2024/0214170; Foreign priority 27 Aug 2021) and further in view of Manolakos (2018/0115382).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the apparatus of claim 12. Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong do not explicitly disclose wherein a data modulation pattern, wherein the parameters are received via a reference signal wherein the reference signal has its own parameters which are stored by the UE and used to detect the reference signal. However, Manolakos does disclose wherein a data modulation pattern, wherein the parameters are received via a reference signal wherein the reference signal has its own parameters which are stored by the UE and used to detect the reference signal. (See Manolakos fig. 14 and associated paragraphs; UE obtains first and second reference signal value and determines the data portion of the field based upon these two reference signal values to determine multiplexing pattern for data; see also fig. 15, fig. 3 and associated paragraphs) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong to include the teaching of wherein a data modulation pattern, wherein the parameters are received via a reference signal wherein the reference signal has its own parameters which are stored by the UE and used to detect the reference signal of Manolakos with the motivation being to reduce control signaling and further to reduce delay in accessing a network and further to reduce jitter and further to maximize limited wireless resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (2015/0382336), and further in view of Ren (Ren, Huarong, et. al. “Orthogonal Time-Frequency Space with Improved Index Modulation” 15th International Conference on Signal Processing and Communication Systems; 2021.) and further in view of Gong (2024/0214170; Foreign priority 27 Aug 2021).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: (See Zhang fig. 19; UE; fig. 10; wireless communication)
transmitting capability signaling indicating support by the UE; (See Zhang para. 150; UE reports capability information on support to network)
receiving, based at least in part on the capability signaling, an indication of a resource size of a resource and an MCS associated with the resource; and (See Zhang para. 143; UE receives a scheduling command which carries a transmission parameter, for example, data packet size and MCS, modulation and coding scheme, and physical resource)
performing a communication based at least in part on the indication of the resource size and the MCS (See Zhang para. 143; UE sending or receiving data based upon scheduling command)
Zhang does not explicitly disclose using OTFS-IM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern. However, Ren does disclose using OTFS-IM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang to include the teaching of using OTFS-IM/IIM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern of Ren with the motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Zhang in view of Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement. However, Gong does disclose wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement. (See Gong para. 86-88; selecting a resource to reduce PAPR of the data signal without increasing complexity on receiving side (e.g. a requirement)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang in view of Ren to include the teaching of wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement of Gong with the motivation being to reduce distortion and further to allow for less battery usage and complexity at receiver side and further to allow for less capable devices to receive and decode the signal successfully and further to increase bandwidth and further to increase detection performance.
Regarding claim 24, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the method of claim 23, wherein performing the communication further comprises:
Zhang discloses sending and/or receiving based upon an indication. (See Zhang para. 143)
receiving an OTFS-IM waveform based at least in part on the subblock size and the index modulation pattern for OTFS-IM, the OTFS-IM being detectable by the UE based at least in part on the indication of the subblock size and the index modulation pattern for OTFS-IM; or
transmitting an OTFS-IM waveform based at least in part on the subblock size and the index modulation pattern for OTFS-IM. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also B. receiver, fig. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the subblock is associated with a delay dimension and a Doppler dimension, and wherein the index modulation pattern indicates a non-zero pattern associated with the subblock. (See Ren fig. 2; Doppler and delay dimension of each subblock wherein the index pattern indicates a non-zero pattern in that some blocks are assigned (e.g. non-zero) and some are not (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the method of claim 23, wherein:
the subblock is selected based at least in part on a Doppler dimension, wherein a plurality of Doppler resources corresponding to a delay is selected as the subblock, and wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero;
the subblock is selected based at least in part on a plurality of Doppler resources corresponding to multiple delays, and wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero; or
the subblock is selected based at least in part on a plurality of delay resources corresponding to multiple Doppler resources, and wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler (e.g. multiple doppler resources) vs delay (e.g. multiple delays); some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (2015/0382336), and further in view of Ren (Ren, Huarong, et. al. “Orthogonal Time-Frequency Space with Improved Index Modulation” 15th International Conference on Signal Processing and Communication Systems; 2021.) and further in view of Gong (2024/0214170; Foreign priority 27 Aug 2021).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising: (See Zhang fig. 12/13; processor and memory; base station (e.g. a network node); fig. 10 wireless)
receiving capability signaling indicating is support by a user equipment (UE); (See Zhang para. 150; UE reports capability information on support to network)
transmitting, based at least in part on the capability signaling, an indication of a resource size of a resource and an MCS associated with the resource; and (See Zhang para. 143; UE receives a scheduling command which carries a transmission parameter, for example, data packet size and MCS, modulation and coding scheme, and physical resource)
performing a communication based at least in part on the indication of the resource size and the MCS (See Zhang para. 143; UE sending or receiving data based upon scheduling command)
Zhang does not explicitly disclose using OTFS-IM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern. However, Ren does disclose using OTFS-IM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang to include the teaching of using OTFS-IM/IIM and wherein the resource has a subblock size and an associated index modulation pattern of Ren with the motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Zhang in view of Ren does not explicitly disclose wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement. However, Gong does disclose wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement. (See Gong para. 86-88; selecting a resource to reduce PAPR of the data signal without increasing complexity on receiving side (e.g. a requirement)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhang in view of Ren to include the teaching of wherein resources are selected in delay Doppler domain have at least in part on a peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) requirement of Gong with the motivation being to reduce distortion and further to allow for less battery usage and complexity at receiver side and further to allow for less capable devices to receive and decode the signal successfully and further to increase bandwidth and further to increase detection performance.
Regarding claim 28, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the method of claim 27, wherein performing the communication further comprises:
Zhang discloses sending and/or receiving based upon an indication. (See Zhang para. 143)
transmitting an OTFS-IM waveform based at least in part on the subblock size and the index modulation pattern for OTFS-IM; or
receiving an OTFS-IM waveform based at least in part on the subblock size and the index modulation pattern for OTFS-IM. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also B. receiver, fig. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 29, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the subblock is associated with a delay dimension and a Doppler dimension, and wherein the index modulation pattern indicates a non-zero pattern associated with the subblock. (See Ren fig. 2; Doppler and delay dimension of each subblock wherein the index pattern indicates a non-zero pattern in that some blocks are assigned (e.g. non-zero) and some are not (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Regarding claim 30, Zhang in view of Ren in view of Gong discloses the method of claim 27, wherein:
the subblock is selected based at least in part on a Doppler dimension, wherein a plurality of Doppler resources corresponding to a delay is selected as the subblock, and wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero;
the subblock is selected based at least in part on a plurality of Doppler resources corresponding to multiple delays, and wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero; or
the subblock is selected based at least in part on a plurality of delay resources corresponding to multiple Doppler resources, and wherein a quantity of resources in the subblock are selected to be non-zero and remaining resources in the subblock are selected to be zero. (See Ren abstract; OTFS-IM/IIM; fig. 6; different OTFS-IM/IIM subblock structures, (m,2n)=(1,8), (2,4), (4,2), 8QAM; A Transmitter active and inactive index subsets; see also intro; subcarrier activation pattern; see also A. transmitter, fig. 3; fig. 2; doppler (e.g. multiple doppler resources) vs delay (e.g. multiple delays); some blocks are activated (e.g. non-zero) and some are not activated (e.g. zero); inactive subcarriers are set to zero; see pg. 3) The motivation being to utilize the latest multiplexing schemes which may be a more efficient usage of limited wireless resources with certain characteristics which lend themselves to these schemes and further to achieve better BER performance (See Ren abstract) and further to provide reliable data transmission in high mobility environments (See Ren Intro).
Conclusion
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461