DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/12/2023, 07/22/2024 and 11/18/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every features of the invention specified in the claims. The limitations:
" projecting landing portion" recited in line 5, claim 1,
“narrow elongated passage” recited in line 3, claim 1
“locating member” recited in line 3, claim 3
“shallow saw tooth segment” recited in lines 2-3, claim 12.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 recites the limitation: “…a projecting landing portion … for supporting a bottom surface of said resistive heater at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of said resistive heating element and support element” being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder “portion” that is coupled with functional language “supporting a bottom surface of said resistive heater at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of said resistive heating element and support element” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a locating member that engages a side edge of said resistive heating element locating and retaining said support element in a known position in a length of said resistive heating element” being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder “member” that is coupled with functional language “engages a side edge of said resistive heating element locating and retaining said support element in a known position in a length of said resistive heating element” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
With regards to the corresponding structure of the claimed “projecting landing portion” , Figs.4-6 of the current application show a base 76 supports a bottom surface of said resistive heater 10 at a raised position within said slot passage. Therefore, the base 76 is construed as the claimed “projecting landing portion”.
With regards to the corresponding structure of the claimed “locating member”, Figs.4-6 of the current application show the top portion 82 engages a side edge of said resistive heating element 10 locating and retaining said support element 22 in a known position in a length of said resistive heating element 10. Thus, the top portion 82 is construed as the claimed “locating member”.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 4, “said slot” should be “said slot passage”. Claims 3 and 7 recite the same limitation “said slot” which should amend as “said slot passage”
Claim 1, last line, “support element” should be “isolating support element” so that it is consistent with the limitation in line 2.
Claim 3, line 4, “said support element” should be “said isolating support element” so that it is consistent with the limitation in line 2, claim 1. Claims 9-12 recite the same limitation “said support element” which should be amended as “said isolating support element”
Claims 2-12, lines 1-2, “A high temperature electrically isolating support element in combination with a resistive heating element as claimed in claim …” should be “The high temperature electrically isolating support element in combination with the resistive heating element as claimed in claim …”
Claims 14-16, line 1, “A high temperature thermal energy storage system as claimed in claim…” should be “The high temperature thermal energy storage system as claimed in claim…”
Claim 5, line 3, “each trace” should be “each trace of the connected traces”.
Claim 6, line 3, “each trace portion” should be “each trace of the connected traces”.
. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said at least one projecting landing portion" in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and it is unclear if “said at least one projecting landing portion" refers to said “projecting landing portion” previously recited in claim 1, line 5. If so, "said at least one projecting landing portion" should be amended as "said projecting landing portion". For examination purposes, “said at least one projecting landing portion" (claim 5) is construed as said “projecting landing portion” (claim 1).
Claims 6-8 recite the same limitation “said at least one projecting landing portion" so these claims are rejected by the same reason as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “at least one of said support element” in line 2 is unclear if the limitation “at least one of said support element” refers to “said isolating support element” previously recited in line 2 claim 1. If so, the limitation “at least one of said support element” should be “said isolating support element”. For examination purposes, the limitation “at least one of said support element” is construed as “said isolating support element”.
The term “shallow” in claim 4, line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “shallow” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “CFC material” in line 3 and it is unclear the meaning of “CFC”. The specification does not disclose the meaning of “CFC”. For examination purposes, “CFC” stands for “carbon fiber-reinforced carbon”.
Claim 12 recites the same term “shallow” in line 2 and the claim is rejected by the same reason as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “said slots” in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and it is unclear if the limitation “said slots” refers to the “slotted ports” previously recited in line 3 of the same claim. For examination purposes, the limitation “said slots” is construed as the “slotted ports”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “said slot” in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and it is unclear if the limitation “said slots” refers to the “slotted ports” ( line 3) or the “narrow elongated slot passage” (line 10). For examination purposes, the limitation “said slot” in line 13 is construed as the “narrow elongated slot passage” (line 10).
Claims 2, 9-11 and 14-16 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claims 1 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander (US3992609A) in view of (KR200419987Y1, cited in 11/18/2025 IDS), hereinafter ‘987
Regarding claim 1, Alexander discloses
A high temperature electrically isolating support element (10, see fig.1 and abstract: “A support member for an electric heating assembly of the type having a plurality of heating elements supported by electrical insulators”. Notes: regarding “high temperature”, the claim does not define any particular temperature; thus, for examination purposes, the term “high temperature” can be any temperature of the support structure 10 of Alexander. In the current application, pub. Para.0032 discloses: “The electrically isolating support elements can be made of an alumina ceramic material for applications under about 1250° C. or can be made of boron nitride ceramic material for higher temperature applications up to about 2250° C”) in combination with a resistive heating element (electric resistance element 17, see fig.1).
Alexander discloses said isolating support element 10 supports the tube resistive heating element 17 as shown in fig.1.
However, Alexander does not expressly disclose
said isolating support element comprising two opposed members defining a narrow elongated slot passage therebetween sized to receive and straddle opposed edges of said resistive heating element; with at least one of said opposed members including a projecting landing portion within said slot for supporting a bottom surface of said resistive heater at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of said resistive heating element and support element.
‘987 discloses a tube bundle support device, comprising:
said isolating support element (10, see figs.3-4) comprising two opposed members (11 and 13, see figs.3-4) defining a narrow elongated slot passage (plurality of slots 25 is treated as one elongated slot. See narrow elongated slot passage in annotated fig.4 below) therebetween sized to receive and straddle opposed edges of said resistive heating element (opposed edges of said resistive heating element 17 of Alexander. See fig.4 of ‘987, the annotated narrow elongated slot passage is sized to receive and straddle opposed edges of tube 210. Thus, in the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987, the annotated narrow elongated slot passage is sized to receive and straddle opposed edges of said resistive heating element 17 of Alexander) with at least one (13) of said opposed members (11 and 13) including a projecting landing portion (25, see fig.2 and page 3 limes 138-139: “the edge portion 25 of the fixing groove 24 provided in the support portions 22a and 22b protrude in the thickness direction”) within said slot passage (See narrow elongated slot passage in annotated fig.4 below) for supporting a bottom surface of said resistive heater (bottom surface of said resistive heater 17 of Alexander. See fig.4 of‘987, the edge portion 25 supports the bottom surface of the tube 210. Thus, in the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987, the edge portion 25 supports the bottom surface of said resistive heater 17 of Alexander) at a raised position (see figs.2-4 and page 3 lines 138-139: “the edge portion 25 of the fixing groove 24 provided in the support portions 22a and 22b protrude in the thickness direction”) within said slot passage (See narrow elongated slot passage in annotated fig.4 below) to limit the direct contact area of said resistive heating element (said resistive heater 17 of Alexander) and support element (See fig.4 of ‘987, the edge portion 25 within said slot passage for supporting a bottom surface of the tube 210 at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of the tube 210 and support element 10. Thus, in the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987 , the edge portion 25 within said slot passage for supporting a bottom surface of the said resistive heater 17 of Alexander at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of the said resistive heater 17 of Alexander and support element 10).
Annotated fig.4 of Alexander
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify said isolating support element of Alexander (item 10 of Alexander) to have the shape of said isolating support element of ‘987 (item 10 of ‘987) so as said isolating support element comprises “two opposed members defining a narrow elongated slot passage therebetween sized to receive and straddle opposed edges of said resistive heating element; with at least one of said opposed members including a projecting landing portion within said slot for supporting a bottom surface of said resistive heater at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of said resistive heating element and support element” as claimed. Doing so allows the tube heating element to be firmly secured from the top and bottom surfaces by said isolating support element while “the maintenance work is simplified and the maintenance work is facilitated” (See page 3, line 170 of ‘987).
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987 further discloses
said opposed members (11 and 13 of ‘987 are included in the modification. See rejections of claim 1 above) are of the same section (10, see figs.2-4 of ‘987) .
Regarding claim 3, the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987 further discloses
at least one of said support element (10 of ‘987 is included in the modification. See rejections of claim 1 above) includes at each side of said slot (See narrow elongated slot passage in annotated fig.4 of ‘987 above), a locating member (22, see fig.2-4 of ‘987) that engages a side edge of said resistive heating element (resistive heating element 17 of Alexander. In ‘987, the portion 22 engages a side edge of the tube 210 as shown in fig.4. Thus, In the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987, the portion 22 of ‘987 engages a side edge of the tube heating element 17) locating and retaining said support element (10 of ‘987) in a known position in a length of said resistive heating element (see fig.4 of ‘987)
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987 further discloses
each locating member (22, see figs.2-4 of ‘987 are included in the modification. See rejections of claim 1 above) projects inwardly and engages a shallow recess (space between tube portions 210 of ‘987. See shallow recess in annotated fig.4 below) in said resistive heating element (heating element 17 of Alexander).
Annotated fig.4 of Alexander
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987 further discloses
said resistive heating element (heating element 17 of Alexander) includes a plurality of connected traces (see traces in annotated fig.1 below) and each trace (see trace(s) in annotated fig.1 below) is supported by said at least one projecting landing portion (25 of ‘987).
Annotated fig.1 of Alexander
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987 further discloses
said at least one projecting landing portion (25 of ‘987 are included in the modification. See rejections of claim 1 above, see figs.2-4) supports only a portion of each trace portion (see trace portion in annotated fig.4 below. Thus, in the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987 , the 25 of ‘987 supports only a portion of each annotated trace portion).
Annotated fig.4 of Alexander
.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987 discloses substantially all the claimed limitations as set forth, except said at least one projecting landing portion has an area less than 10 percent of the area of said slot.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify said at least one projecting landing portion of Alexander in view of ‘987 to have an area less than 10 percent of the area of said slot since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (see MPEP 2144.05). In this case, Alexander in view of ‘987 teaches a certain area of said at least one projecting landing portion and varying the area of said at least one projecting landing portion less than 10 percent of the area of said slot is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. Doing so allows to obtain the proper areas of said at least one projecting landing portion and said slot which are desirable for certain application.
Regarding claim 8, the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987 further discloses
said resistive heating element (17 of Alexander) includes at least 4 traces (see traces in annotated fig.1 of Alexander) and said at least one projecting landing portion (25 of ‘987) is two projecting landing portions (25 of ‘987) with each landing portion (25 of ‘987) supporting two adjacent traces (adjacent traces of Alexander. In ‘987, the portions 25 support the adjacent traces of tube 210. Thus, in the modification, the portions 25 of ‘987 support the adjacent traces of Alexander).
Annotated fig.1 of Alexander
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987 further discloses
each opposed member (11 or 13 of ‘987) of said support element (10 of ‘987 is included in the modification. See rejections of claim 1 above) are of the same section (see figs.2-4 of ‘987) and include a central locating structure (see central locating structure in annotated fig.4 of ‘987 below) to separate the center two traces (see traces in annotated fig.4 of ‘987 below) of said resistive heating elements (17 of Alexander. In the modification, the central locating structure of ‘987 separate the center two traces of the heating element 17 of Alexander).
Annotated fig.4 of ‘987 and fig.1 of Alexander
Claims 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander in view of ‘987 as applied to claim 9, and further in view of Linow (US 20060115244 A1) and Ohori (US 20070051316 A1)
Regarding claim 10, the modification discloses substantially all the claimed limitations as set forth, except said resistive heating element is made of a CFC material and said support element is made of a boron nitride ceramic material.
Linow discloses an IR radiant heater, comprising:
said resistive heating element is made of a CFC material (see claim 1: “ one carbon heating element (1) is a CFC web”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify said resistive heating element of Alexander in view of ‘987 to be made of a CFC material as taught by Linow since CFC materials can withstand extremely high temperatures, often exceeding 2000°C, without losing mechanical strength or deforming
Alexander in view of ‘987 and Linow discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, but silent on said support element is made of a boron nitride ceramic material.
Ohori discloses Chemical Vapor Deposition Apparatus, comprising:
said support element (6C, see fig.4) is made of a boron nitride ceramic material (see para.0031: “ Typical examples of the heat-resistant material for the supporting member include…nitride-based ceramics such as boron nitride”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify said support element of Alexander in view of ‘987 and Linow to be made of a boron nitride ceramic material as taught by Ohori. Doing so provides superior performance due to its exceptional high-temperature stability, excellent thermal conductivity for uniform heating, electrical insulation, and resistance to thermal shock, preventing hot spots and extending heater life in extreme conditions.
Regarding claim 11, the modification of Alexander in view of ‘987, Linow and Ohori further discloses said support element (10 of ‘987 is included in the modification, see rejection of claim 1 above) includes a securing arrangement (32, see fig.2 of ‘987) to one side of said support element (upper side of 10 of ‘987).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkinson (US 20150053367 A1) in view of Alexander (US3992609A) and further in view of in view of (KR200419987Y1), hereinafter ‘987
Regarding claim 13, Parkinson discloses
A high temperature thermal energy storage system (400, see fig.7 and para.0088 and para.0088: “ the core temperature reached 1410 degrees C”) comprises a thermal core (402, see fig.7) of a carbon based or graphite material (see para.0076: “a contiguous block 402 of sintered graphite”) with a series of electrical resistive heating elements (20, see fig.7) located in slotted ports (414, see figs.7-9) located in a distributed manner in the core (402, see fig.7-9); said series of electrical resistive heating elements (20, see figs.7-9) having capacity to heat said thermal core (402) to temperatures in excess of 1400°C (see para.0088: “ the core temperature reached 1410 degrees C… The kiln temperature was then maintained 504 at 1480 degrees C.”);
Parkinson does not disclose
each electrical resistive heating element including a plurality of isolating support elements spaced in a length of the electrical resistive heating element to support the electrical resistive heating element within one of said slots and out of direct contact with the thermal core and providing electrical isolation therefrom; each isolating support element comprising two opposed members defining a narrow elongated slot passage therebetween sized to receive and straddle opposed side edges of the respective resistive heating element; and wherein at least one of said opposed members of each isolating support element includes a projecting landing portion within said slot supporting a bottom surface of the respective resistive heating element at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of the electrical resistive heating element and support element.
Alexander discloses a support member for an electric heating assembly, comprising:
each electrical resistive heating element (17, see fig.1) including a plurality of isolating support elements (18, see fig.1) spaced in a length of the electrical resistive heating element (17) to support the electrical resistive heating element (17, see fig.1) within one of said slots (20. See fig.1) and out of direct contact with the thermal core (thermal core 402 of Parkinson. As shown in fig.9 of Parkinson, the heating elements 20 are out of direct contact with the thermal core 402. Therefore, in the modification of Parkinson in view of Alexander, the heating elements 20 are also out of direct contact with the thermal core 402) and providing electrical isolation therefrom (See col.2, lines 27-28: “Electrical insulators 18 are formed from a suitable non-conductive material”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify each electrical resistive heating element of Parkinson to incorporate the plurality of isolating support elements as taught by Alexander, such as the “plurality of isolating support elements spaced in a length of the electrical resistive heating element to support the electrical resistive heating element within one of said slots and out of direct contact with the thermal core and providing electrical isolation therefrom; each isolating support element comprising two opposed members defining a narrow elongated slot passage therebetween sized to receive and straddle opposed side edges of the respective resistive heating element; and wherein at least one of said opposed members of each isolating support element includes a projecting landing portion within said slot supporting a bottom surface of the respective resistive heating element at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of the electrical resistive heating element and support element” as claimed. Doing so allows firmly and securely fasten heating elements with low costs (see col.1, lines 47-54).
Parkinson in view of Alexander discloses substantially all the claimed limitations as set forth, but silent on each isolating support element comprising two opposed members defining a narrow elongated slot passage therebetween sized to receive and straddle opposed side edges of the respective resistive heating element; and wherein at least one of said opposed members of each isolating support element includes a projecting landing portion within said slot supporting a bottom surface of the respective resistive heating element at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of the electrical resistive heating element and support element.
‘987 discloses a tube bundle support device, comprising:
each isolating support element (10, see figs.3-4) comprising two opposed members (11 and 13, see figs.3-4) defining a narrow elongated slot passage (See narrow elongated slot passage in annotated fig.4 below. See 112(b) rejection above) therebetween sized to receive and straddle opposed edges of said resistive heating element (opposed edges of said resistive heating element of Parkinson / Alexander. See fig.4 of ‘987, the annotated narrow elongated slot passage is sized to receive and straddle opposed edges of tube 210. Thus, in the modification of Parkinson in view of Alexander and ‘987, the annotated narrow elongated slot passage is sized to receive and straddle opposed edges of said resistive heating element of Parkinson / Alexander); and
wherein at least one (11 or 13) of said opposed members (11 and 13, see figs.3-4) of each isolating support element (10, see figs.3-4) includes a projecting landing portion (25, see fig.2 and page 3 limes 138-139: “the edge portion 25 of the fixing groove 24 provided in the support portions 22a and 22b protrude in the thickness direction”) within said slot (See narrow elongated slot passage in annotated fig.4 below. See 112(b) rejections above)
supporting a bottom surface of the respective resistive heating element (resistive heating element of Parkinson / Alexander) at a raised position within said slot passage (See slot passage in annotated fig.4 below) to limit the direct contact area of the electrical resistive heating element and support element (See fig.4 of ‘987, the edge portion 25 within said slot passage for supporting a bottom surface of the tube 210 at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of the tube 210 and support element 10. Thus, in the modification of Parkinson in view of Alexander and ‘987, the edge portion 25 within said slot passage for supporting a bottom surface of the said resistive heater of Parkinson/Alexander at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of the said resistive heater of Parkinson/ Alexander and support element 10).
Annotated fig.4 of ‘987
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify said isolating support element of Parkinson in view of Alexander (item 10 of Alexander) to have the shape of said isolating support element of ‘987 (item 10 of ‘987) so as said isolating support element comprises “two opposed members defining a narrow elongated slot passage therebetween sized to receive and straddle opposed edges of said resistive heating element; with at least one of said opposed members including a projecting landing portion within said slot for supporting a bottom surface of said resistive heater at a raised position within said slot passage to limit the direct contact area of said resistive heating element and support element” as claimed. Doing so allows the tube heating element to be firmly secured from the top and bottom surfaces by said isolating support element while “the maintenance work is simplified and the maintenance work is facilitated” (See page 3, line 170 of ‘987).
Regarding claim 14, Parkinson in view of Alexander and ‘987 further discloses
said opposed members (11 and 13 of ‘987 are included in the modification. See rejections of claim 13 above) are of the same section (10, see figs.2-4 of ‘987) .
Regarding claim 15, Parkinson in view of Alexander and ‘987 further discloses
at least one of said support elements (10 of ‘987 is included in the modification. See rejections of claim 13 above) includes at each side of said slot therein (See narrow elongated slot passage in annotated fig.4 of ‘987 above), a locating member (22, see fig.2-4 of ‘987) that engages a side edge of the respective resistive heating element (resistive heating element of Parkinson / Alexander) locating and retaining said isolating support element (10 of ‘987) in a known position in a length of said resistive heating element (see fig.4 of ‘987)
. Regarding claim 16, Parkinson in view of Alexander and ‘987 further discloses
each locating member (22, see figs.2-4 of ‘987, is included in the modification. See rejections of claim 13 above) projects inwardly and engages a shallow recess (space between tube portions 210 of ‘987. See shallow recess in annotated fig.4 below) in said resistive heating element (resistive heating element of Parkinson / Alexander).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to overcome the rejection(S) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as set forth in the Office Action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20120153688 A1 discloses a flexible flat structure has a flexible, flat resistance heating element that is connected to electrodes that are spaced apart from one another for supplying electrical current that is pressed on to the resistance heating element by staples or clamps in a force-fit manner and/or a form-fit manner and provides a more flexible connection.
.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TIFFANY T TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-3673. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 10am - 6pm.
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761