Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of either one of U.S. Patent Pubs. 2021/0127325 to Shih or 2021/0289404 to Tseng in view of 2022/0078746 to Lee.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Shih and Tseng teach an apparatus for communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from at least one cell, a system information block (SIB) comprising a tracking area code or a tracking area list, the tracking area list being associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN) and the at least one cell, the tracking area code being associated with a terrestrial network (TN) or the NTN;
and
skip, based on the tracking area code being absent and the tracking area list being present or both the tracking area code and the tracking area list being absent in the SIB, a selection of the at least one cell for subsequent communication (regarding Shih, see the Abstract and sections [0007]-[0008], [0039], [0072]-[0077] for the SIB reception and see section [0179] which teaches that the UE may bar a PLMN which does not have a tracking area code (TAC), and regarding Tseng, see section [0242] for the SIB reception and barring cells which do not have the tracking area code broadcasted in the SIB, as recited).
As Shih and Tseng do not explicitly show that the recited network is a satellite network (NTN network) and as Shih and Tseng do not explicitly show a list of tracking area codes within the SIB, Lee is added.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches a UE which receives a list of TACs (see Fig. 21 step 21020). Sections [0140] to [0152] teach SIB reception and sections [0303] to [0304], of Lee teaches that an NTN cell is deprioritized if the tracking area code is not included in the received list of multiple TACs.
Therefore, as Shih/Tseng teach receiving SIBs with missing TACs (which cause the recited “skipping of cell selection”) and as Lee also teaches receiving SIBs with missing TACs in a list of TACs (which deprioritize an NTN network), it would have been obvious to modify the cell skipping selection of either one of Shih or Tseng with the TAC list and NTN networks of Lee, as all these references teach the conventionality of avoiding networks which do not have TACs, as this is an efficient and easy way to allow network operators to ensure that their cells are barred by unwanted and/or unauthorized devices.
Regarding the amendments to claim 1 as shown below:
“receive, from at least one cell, a system information block (SIB) comprising the SIB not including a [[the]] tracking area code being associated with a terrestrial network (TN) or the NTN, a supported network of the UE corresponding to the TN; and
skip, based on the tracking area code being absent and the tracking area list being present
it is first noted that the amendments to the “skipping step” delete an alternative feature which was not addressed in the previous rejection (as the other alternative feature was and is still present and is addressed by the prior art references), therefore, the amendments to this step do not change the scope of the claims as previously considered (therefore the rejection of this feature is maintained, as described above).
Regarding the amendments to the “receiving step”, sections [0299] and [0301] of Lee explicitly teach the UE receiving and evaluating the tracking area list (TAI list) and section [0304] explicitly teaches that an NTN network is deprioritized based on the detection that the cell has no tracking area code (TAC) in the received list.
Regarding claims 14 and 30, which recite similar features as claim 1 (but from the perspective of a base station (BSs) broadcasting the SIB (not the UE receiving the SIB in claim 1)), see the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 29, which recite “wherein the UE is barred from selecting the at least one cell for the subsequent communication for a time period, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: select the at least one cell for the subsequent communication after the time period”, see Shih, section [0242] of Tseng and see sections [0305]-[0311] of Lee for barring the NTN cell for a certain time period, as recited.
Regarding claims 3 and 21, which recite “wherein the UE is barred from selecting the at least one cell for the subsequent communication for a duration of the UE storing first information about barring access to the at least one cell, and the first information about barring the access to the at least one cell comprises at least one of a physical cell identifier (PCID) or a frequency of the at least one cell”, see sections [0070]-[0078] of Shih, which teach “barring for the duration”, and see section [0135] of Lee for the PCID, as recited.
Regarding claims 4 and 22, which recite “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform cell reselection for one or more other cells on a same frequency of the at least one cell”, as all of Shih, Tseng and Lee teach using designated frequency bands (see sections [0184], [0194] of Shih and sections [0234] and [0266] of Lee), the references would teach the cell reselection processes on the same frequency, as recited.
Regarding claims 5 and 23, which recite “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform cell reselection at least based on an indication for cell reselection provided in a master information block (MIB)”, see the Abstract and sections [0007]-[0008], [0073]-[0079], [0185], [0203] and [0208] and of Shih, which teach the MIB, as recited.
Regarding claims 6 and 24, which recite “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform cell reselection at least based on an indication for cell reselection provided in a SIB type 1 (SIB1), wherein the SIB1 is the SIB”, see the Abstract and sections [0007]-[0008], [0039], [0072]-[0077], [0088]-[0091], [0151]-[0155], [0185] and [0203]-[0204] and of Shih, which teach the SIB1, as recited.
Regarding claim 7, which recites “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: select, based on the tracking area list in the SIB, the at least one cell for the subsequent communication”, as described above in the rejection of claim 1, the combination of Shih or Tseng in view of Lee would “select a cell based on the tracking area list”, as recited.
Regarding claim 8, which recites “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: skip, based on an absence of a registered tracking area in the tracking area list in the SIB, the at least one cell for the subsequent communication”, as described above in the rejection of claim 1, the combination of Shih or Tseng in view of Lee would “skip selecting a cell based on the absence of a TAC in the tracking area list”, as recited.
Regarding claim 9, which recites “wherein a supported network of the UE corresponds to the TN”, the supported networks in Shih or Tseng and Lee would “correspond to a terrestrial network “TN”, as recited.
Regarding claims 10, 15 and 25, which recite “wherein the tracking area code is associated with a network type of the at least one cell”, see for example, sections [0040] to [0049] of Shih, where the types of cell/networks are 5G and/or SNPN or CAG and see sections [0072] to [0078] of Tseng for similar types of networks (SNPN), as recited.
Regarding claims 11, 16 and 26, which recite “wherein the tracking area code is associated with a physical location area associated with the at least one cell”, see for example, sections [0278]-[0284] of Lee, which teach that cells are grouped into tracking areas which correspond to geographical and/or a physical location, as recited.
Regarding claims 12, 18 and 28, which recite “wherein the tracking area list is associated with a physical location area associated with the at least one cell”, see sections [0278]-[0284] of Lee, which teach that cells are grouped into tracking areas which correspond to geographical and/or a physical location, therefore, a list of these TACs would be associated with a geographical and/or a physical location, as recited.
Regarding claim 13, which recites “further comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to receive the SIB, the at least one processor is configured to receive the SIB via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna”, see the UEs of Shih or Tseng and Lee, which would have a transceiver and antenna, as recited.
Regarding claims 17 and 27, which recite “wherein the tracking area list is associated with a network type of the at least one cell”, see the rejection of claims 10-12, which include similar features.
Regarding claim 19, which recites “further comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to transmit the SIB, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the SIB via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna”, see the base stations of Shih or Tseng and Lee, which would have a transceiver and antenna to broadcast SIBs, as recited.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are not persuasive and/or moot. Applicant’s arguments are directed toward the Shih and Tseng references. As described above, the cited sections of Lee show a UE receiving the tracking area list via an SIB (as recited) and also teach the UE deprioritizing an NTN network when the tracking code is absent. Therefore, it is the combination of the teachings of the references that would teach the claimed features. Therefore, as Applicant’s arguments consider the references singly and not in combination as applied, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN S KELLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646