DETAILED ACTION
In amendments dated 11/07/2025, applicant(s) amended claims 1, 7 and 8 by incorporating the claim limitations of claim 3 in re-arranged and separated conditions in which changed examiner’s interpretation; and cancelled claim 3. Claims 1, 2 and 4 – 8 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
In the remarks on page 7 the applicant notes that the title have been amended to overcome the prior objections. In view of the amendments to the title the prior objections regarding the title is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2 and 4 - 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruta in view of Takahashi (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2009/0073489 A1, hereinafter ‘Takahashi’).
With respect to claim 1, Haruta teaches an information processing apparatus (i.e., an information processing apparatus 10, abstract, ¶0118) comprising: a processor (i.e., a CPU 11, ¶0034, Fig. 1) configured to: acquire characteristic information related to a characteristic of each destination information together with an address table including a plurality of destination information from another apparatus (e.g., accepting fax number(s) of each destination information together with an address book including a plurality of destination information from another apparatus, ¶0033, ¶0105); and register, in a case where the number of cases of the destination information included in the acquired address table is larger than the number of cases of destination information that is registrable in an address table of the information processing apparatus, a part of the destination information included in the acquired address table in the address table of the information processing apparatus, by using the characteristic information (e.g., in a case where a number of destination information provided from the obtained address book is greater than the number of cases of destination information that is registrable in the address book of the information processing apparatus, register/set/enroll related information included in the obtained address book in the address book of the information processing apparatus, by using the accepted fax number(s), ¶0078 - ¶0083, Fig. 17B); but fails separately teach that said characteristic information includes information related to a destination type and use count of each destination information; and preferentially registering destination having a high priority set according to a combination of destination type and the use count.
However, the mentioned claimed limitations are well known in the art as evidenced by Takahashi. In particular, Takahashi teaches characteristic information that includes information related to a destination type and use count of each destination information (e.g., information that is associated to an address type and counter of each destination, ¶0039 - ¶0040, ¶0059, ¶0062, Figs. 3A/3B); and
preferentially registering destination having a high priority set according to a combination of destination type and the use count (e.g., allocating a priority order and counter to each address registered in an address book, where the allocated priority order and counter can be displayed in a sort preferential order, ¶0007, ¶0036, ¶0043, ¶0051 - ¶0052 and Figs. 8 & 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Haruta as taught by Takahashi since Takahashi suggested within ¶0007, ¶0036, ¶0043, ¶0051 - ¶0052 and Figs. 8 & 15 that such modification would be convenient to sort addresses and counters in a manner way in order of use frequency thereof can enhance operability and convenience when a user searches for an address-book address, thereby preventing mis transmission.
With respect to claim 2, Haruta in view of Takahashi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the characteristic information includes information related to a destination type of each destination information, and the processor is configured to: preferentially register destination information having a high priority set according to the destination type, in the address table of the information processing apparatus (e.g., this is well-known in the art that while using the address book and when the user input/enter fax number, the apparatus will retrieve/invoke the settings from fax information (as destination type) from last time or weight more the user used the information processing apparatus, ¶0093 - ¶0096, ¶0100 - ¶0102 & ¶0105).
With respect to claim 7, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable. The use of a non-transitory computer readable medium executed by at least a computer (CPU) as described in claim 7 is explicitly taught by ¶0032 of Haruta.
With respect to claim 8, this is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1. Therefore, this is rejected for the same reasons as the apparatus claim 1.
Claim 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruta in view of Takahashi and further in view of Watanabe (JP-2008-136252 A, machine translated document, hereinafter ‘Watanabe’).
With respect to claim 4, Haruta in view of Takahashi teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to: register, in a case where a registration number, of destination information to be registered in the address table of the information processing apparatus, which is the same as a registration number in the acquired address table, is unregistered in the address table of the information processing apparatus, the destination information in the registration number which is the same as the registration number in the address table from which the destination information is acquired.
However, the mentioned claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. In particular, Watanabe teaches wherein the processor is configured to: register, in a case where a registration number, of destination information to be registered in the address table of the information processing apparatus, which is the same as a registration number in the acquired address table, is unregistered in the address table of the information processing apparatus, the destination information in the registration number which is the same as the registration number in the address table from which the destination information is acquired (e.g., In case where registration number, of destination information to be registered in the address book, which is the same as a registration number, is not registered in the address book, register the destination information in the registration number which is the same as the registration number in the address book from with the destination information is obtained, Page 3 of 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Haruta in view of Takahashi as taught by Watanabe since Watanabe suggested in Page 3 of 12 that such modification would add the current destination information in order to improve usability and convenience for the user to reuse the destination information in a future if the user want to send two or more recipients.
With respect to claim 5, Haruta in view of Takahashi and further in view of Watanabe teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein Watanabe teaches the processor is configured to: register, in a case where the registration number, of the destination information to be registered in the address table of the information processing apparatus, which is the same as the registration number in the acquired address table, is already registered in the address table of the information processing apparatus, the destination information in a registration number at a foremost head among unregistered registration numbers in the address table of the information processing apparatus (Watanabe: In case where registration number, of destination information to be registered in the address book, which is the same as a registration number, is already registered in the address book, set current record of the address book, Pages 3 - 5 of 12).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruta, Takahashi and Watanabe in view of Furuichi (JP-H07147626 A, machine translated document, hereinafter ‘Furuichi’).
With respect to claim 6, Haruta in view of Takahashi and further in view of Watanabe teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 4, but neither of them teaches wherein the processor is configured not to: register, in a case where the registration number, of the destination information to be registered in the address table of the information processing apparatus, which is the same as the registration number in the acquired address table, is already registered in the address table of the information processing apparatus, the destination information in the address table of the information processing apparatus.
However, the mentioned claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Furuichi. In particular, Furuichi teaches wherein the processor is configured not to: register, in a case where the registration number, of the destination information to be registered in the address table of the information processing apparatus, which is the same as the registration number in the acquired address table, is already registered in the address table of the information processing apparatus, the destination information in the address table of the information processing apparatus (e.g., When a number is already registered, it is judged that registration is not possible and the user is notified that the facsimile number is already registered and cannot be registered, so the same sender is prevented from being registered with different passwords. The confidentiality of the received data from the sender can be secured. Further, since the user who is performing the registration operation is informed of the reason why the registration cannot be performed, the user can easily deal with it and the operability and convenience are improved, Page 3 and 7 of 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Haruta in view of Takahashi and further in view of Watanabe as taught by Furuichi since Furuichi suggested in Pages 3 and 7 of 9 that such modification would inform the user who is performing registration operation that the registration cannot be performed in order to easily deal with it and the operability and convenience are improved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUAN M GUILLERMETY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682