DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments to claims 1 and 15-17 in the submission dated 06/16/2026 in response to the office action mailed 03/22/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1 and 15-17 are amended. Claim 18 is acknowledged and accepted as the subject matter of the claim is similar to the subject matter of the originally filed claims. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraphs 2-3 on page 6 of 9 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 06/16/2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraphs 4-5 on page 6 of 9 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 06/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. §112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §112 rejections of claims 16 and 17 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraph 1 on page 7 of 9 through paragraph 6 on page 8 of 9 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 06/16/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Howell et al., US 2022/0260859 A1 and an alternate embodiment of Olgun et al., US 2020/0264455 A1.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: paragraph [0044], lines 1 and 3, connecting hole 11.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “through hole” in claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 11, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al., US 2022/0260859 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Howell), and further in view of Olgun et al., US 2020/0264455 A1 (or record, hereinafter referred to as Olgun).
As to claim 1, Howell teaches (Figs. 1, 3G-3H, 3L-3O, and 12D) a smart hinge assembly (1232, “The linking temple piece 1232,” para [0175], Fig. 12D), configured for interconnecting (1232, “the temple 1206 is coupled to the extended endpiece 1204 by a linking temple piece 1232,” para [0175], Fig. 12D) a first component (1204, the extended endpiece 1204, para [0175], Fig. 12D) and two second components (1206, the temple 1206, para [0175], Fig. 12D) of a smart wearable apparatus (1230, the eyeglass frame 1230, para [0175], Fig. 12D), comprising:
at least two smart hinges (109 and 1232, left hinge and right hinge, para [0168], Figs. 1 and 12D), each comprising a first end configured for hinging with the first component (1234, “The joint 1234 allows the linking temple piece 1232 to rotate (or pivot) with respect to the extended endpiece 1204,” para [0175], Fig. 12D) and a second end configured for plugging with one of the two second components (1236, “the linking temple piece 1232 includes a connector 1236 that is capable of receiving a corresponding connector 1238 associated with the temple 1206,” para [0175], Fig. 12D), the second ends of different smart hinges being equipped with different types of connectors (1316, 1326, 1360, 1370, 1380, 1390, forward connection parts, paras [0083]-[0084] and [0088]-[0092], Figs. 3G-3H, Figs. 3L-3O).
Howell does not teach the second ends of different smart hinges being equipped with different types of electrical connectors that have different types of electrical interfaces matching with different types of electrical interfaces of the two second components, respectively.
Howell and Olgun are related as electronically-enabled eyewear.
However, Olgun teaches (Figs. 1A, 1B, 2) electrical connectors that have different types of electrical interfaces (8, 9, 120A, 120B, 122A, 122B, “connectors 120A, 120B and 122A, 122B, respectively are adapted to interface and couple together to form conductive coupling mechanism 118,” “a connector 122B may connect to NFC match controller circuitry while connector 120B connects to wireless charging match and control circuitry and an associated battery 128 to be charged,” the NFC data transfer/charging connection and standard wireless charging connection have different electrical interfaces because “separate matching circuits are used due to the different frequency and power requirements of the different NFC and wireless charging functions,” as shown in Fig. 1D the NFC match and controller circuitry 8 is a different interface than the wireless charging match and controller circuitry 9, paras [0034]-[0035] and [0043]-[0044], Figs. 1D and 2) matching with different types of electrical interfaces of the two second components (46, 47, the battery 62 is disposed in the left temple piece 46 and the remainder of the electronic components 61 are disposed in the right temple piece 47, one lens area may be surrounded by the first antenna connected to NFC match and controller circuitry 8 and a second lens area may be surrounded by a second antenna separately connected to wireless charging match and controller circuitry, paras [0026] and [0035], Figs. 1D and 2).
Olgun discloses the claimed invention except for different types of electrical interfaces matching with different types of electrical interfaces of the two second components, respectively. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to match the NFC match controller circuitry 8 and the wireless charging match and controller circuitry 9 with the electronic components 61 in the right temple piece 47 and the battery 62 in the left temple piece 46, respectively, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.). See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart hinge assembly of Howell with the second ends of different smart hinges being equipped with different types of electrical connectors that have different types of electrical interfaces matching with different types of electrical interfaces of the two second components, respectively of Olgun, because doing so provides a conductive coupling mechanism (and in some cases a data connection) between electronics in the temple and electronics in the frame (para [0055]).
As to claim 2, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Howell further teaches the smart hinge assembly, wherein each smart hinge further comprises an insulating shell (a temple cover can be made of plastic, para [0058]), the electrical connector is fixed inside the insulating shell (1236, “the linking temple piece 1232 includes a connector 1236 that is capable of receiving a corresponding connector 1238 associated with the temple 1206… the temple 1206 couples to the linking temple piece 1232 using the connectors 1236 and 1238 which provide physical connection (and optionally also electrical connection),” as can be seen in the figure the electrical connector 1236 is inside the insulating shell, para [0175], Fig. 12D), a first end of the insulating shell is configured for hinging with the first component (1234, “The joint 1234 allows the linking temple piece 1232 to rotate (or pivot) with respect to the extended endpiece 1204,” para [0175], Fig. 12D), a second end of the insulating shell is configured for plugging with the second component (1236, “the linking temple piece 1232 includes a connector 1236 that is capable of receiving a corresponding connector 1238 associated with the temple 1206,” para [0175], Fig. 12D); and a locking portion is formed at the second end of the insulating shell for connecting the second component by snap-fitting (“The mechanical connection can be provided in a variety of ways, such as through use of one or more connectors, snaps, detents, bayonets, etc.,” the protruding portions can snap into place, paras [0076] and [0088], Figs. 3L-3O).
As to claim 3, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2.
Howell does not teach the smart hinge assembly, wherein a connecting hole is defined in the first end of the insulating shell, and the first end of the insulating shell is hinged to the first component by a mounting shaft which is inserted into the connecting hole.
Howell and Olgun are related as electronically-enabled eyewear.
However, Olgun teaches a smart hinge assembly, wherein a connecting hole is defined in the first end of the insulating shell, and the first end of the insulating shell is hinged to the first component by a mounting shaft which is inserted into the connecting hole (19, “the hinge joint assembly 16 can include a pin connection 19 that can comprise a single pin or multiple pins with different connection point between the temple 47 and the frame 32,” para [0058], Figs. 4A and 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart hinge assembly of Howell where a connecting hole is defined in the first end of the insulating shell, and the first end of the insulating shell is hinged to the first component by a mounting shaft which is inserted into the connecting hole of Olgun, because this facilitates mechanical movement of the temple relative to the frame, the movement can be between the wearable configuration/position and the collapsed folded configuration/position (para [0058]).
As to claim 7, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Howell further teaches the smart hinge assembly, wherein the insulating shell comprises an annular wall surrounding and spaced from the electrical connector (1236, the chamber is indicated via the dotted lines in Fig. 12D), a chamber is defined between the annular wall and the electrical connector (1236, the chamber is the space between the annular wall indicated via the dotted lines in Fig. 12D and the electrical connectors 1236 and 1238), and the locking portion is an internal locking portion protrudes out from an inner wall surface of the annular wall into the chamber (1236, connectors 1236 and 1238 provide a physical connection, para [0175], Fig. 12D).
As to claim 10, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Howell further teaches a smart glasses apparatus (100, “glasses 100,” para [0050], Fig. 1), comprising:
a first component (104, “a frame and a pair of lenses 102. The frame has lens holders 104 that hold the lenses 102,” para [0050], Fig. 1), two second components (108, “glasses 100 further include a pair of temples (or arms) 108,” para [0050], Fig. 1) and the smart hinge assembly according to claim 1 (Howell, Fig. 12D, 1232, “The linking temple piece 1232 couples to the extended endpiece 1204 by way of a joint (or hinge) 1234,” para [0175], Fig. 12D),
the two second components having different types of interfaces, two of the smart hinges of the smart hinge assembly plugging with the two second components, respectively, (1236, “the linking temple piece 1232 includes a connector 1236 that is capable of receiving a corresponding connector 1238 associated with the temple 1206,” para [0175], Fig. 12D), wherein the two of the smart hinges are equipped with different types of connectors that have different types of interfaces matching with that of the two second components (1316, 1326, 1360, 1370, 1380, 1390, forward connection parts, paras [0083]-[0084] and [0088]-[0092], Figs. 3G-3H, Figs. 3L-3O),
the two of the smart hinges both being hinged to the first component (1232, “The linking temple piece 1232 couples to the extended endpiece 1204 by way of a joint (or hinge) 1234,” para [0175], Fig. 12D), the first component being electrically connected to the two second components through the two of the smart hinges (“the multi-part temple can provide (or facilitate) an electrical connection between the forward and rearward parts… the forward part of the temple (or some other part of the eyeglass frame) includes one or more electrical components, and the rearward part includes one or more electrical components, para [0077], Fig. 12D).
Howell does not teach the two second components having different types of electrical interfaces, wherein the two of the smart hinges are equipped with different types of electrical connectors that have different types of electrical interfaces matching with that of the two second components.
Howell and Olgun are related as electronically-enabled eyewear.
However, Olgun teaches a smart glasses apparatus (31, “eyewear 31 comprising smart glasses,” para [0057], Figs. 4A and 4B) wherein the two second components having different types of electrical interfaces, wherein the two of the smart hinges are equipped with different types of electrical connectors (20A, 22A, 20B, 22B, “the connectors 20A and 22A comprise contact pads, while the connectors 20B and 22B comprise contact pins. However, the arrangement can be reversed or another known connector, for example, a port, a link, a socket, a plug, a cord, a micro-USB, or the like can be utilized,” different electronic components 61 requiring different connections can be disposed in both of the temple pieces 46 and 47, the different electrical connections require different types of electrical interfaces, paras [0025]-[0026] and [0060], Figs. 4A and 4B).
This embodiment of Olgun does not teach the two of the smart hinges are equipped with different types of electrical connectors that have different types of electrical interfaces matching with that of the two second components.
However, an alternate embodiment of Olgun teaches (Figs. 1A, 1B, 2) electrical connectors that have different types of electrical interfaces (8, 9, 120A, 120B, 122A, 122B, “connectors 120A, 120B and 122A, 122B, respectively are adapted to interface and couple together to form conductive coupling mechanism 118,” “a connector 122B may connect to NFC match controller circuitry while connector 120B connects to wireless charging match and control circuitry and an associated battery 128 to be charged,” the NFC data transfer/charging connection and standard wireless charging connection have different electrical interfaces because “separate matching circuits are used due to the different frequency and power requirements of the different NFC and wireless charging functions,” as shown in Fig. 1D the NFC match and controller circuitry 8 is a different interface than the wireless charging match and controller circuitry 9, paras [0034]-[0035] and [0043]-[0044], Figs. 1D and 2) with different types of electrical connectors that have different types of electrical interfaces matching with that of the two second components (46, 47, the battery 62 is disposed in the left temple piece 46 and the remainder of the electronic components 61 are disposed in the right temple piece 47, one lens area may be surrounded by the first antenna connected to NFC match and controller circuitry 8 and a second lens area may be surrounded by a second antenna separately connected to wireless charging match and controller circuitry, paras [0026] and [0035], Figs. 1D and 2).
Olgun discloses the claimed invention except for different types of electrical connectors that have different types of electrical interfaces matching with that of the two second components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to match the NFC match controller circuitry 8 and the wireless charging match and controller circuitry 9 with the electronic components 61 in the right temple piece 47 and the battery 62 in the left temple piece 46, respectively, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.). See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart glasses apparatus of Howell with the two second components having different types of electrical interfaces, wherein the two of the smart hinges are equipped with different types of electrical connectors that have different types of electrical interfaces matching with that of the two second components of Olgun, because doing so provides a conductive coupling mechanism (and in some cases a data connection) between electronics in the temple and electronics in the frame (para [0055]).
As to claim 11, Howell in view of Olgun teach all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 10, and Howell further teaches the smart glasses apparatus, wherein the first component is a front of the smart glasses apparatus (104, “a frame and a pair of lenses 102. The frame has lens holders 104 that hold the lenses 102,” para [0050], Fig. 1), the second component is a temple of the smart glasses apparatus (108, “glasses 100 further include a pair of temples (or arms) 108,” para [0050], Fig. 1), and the second end of the smart hinge plugs with the temple and is locked with the temple by a snap-fitting structure (“The mechanical connection can be provided in a variety of ways, such as through use of one or more connectors, snaps, detents, bayonets, etc.,” “the protruding portions can snap into place,” paras [0076] and [0088], Figs. 3L-3O).
Howell does not teach the smart glasses apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the first end of the smart hinge is hinged to the front by a mounting shaft.
Howell and Olgun are related as electronically-enabled eyewear.
However, Olgun teaches a smart glasses apparatus (31, “eyewear 31 comprising smart glasses,” para [0057], Figs. 4A and 4B), wherein the first end of the smart hinge is hinged to the front by a mounting shaft (19, “the hinge joint assembly 16 can include a pin connection 19 that can comprise a single pin or multiple pins with different connection point between the temple 47 and the frame 32,” para [0058], Figs. 4A and 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart hinge assembly of Howell where the first end of the smart hinge is hinged to the front by a mounting shaft of Olgun, because this facilitates mechanical movement of the temple relative to the frame, the movement can be between the wearable configuration/position and the collapsed folded configuration/position (para [0058]).
As to claim 15, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 10, and Howell further teaches the smart glasses apparatus, wherein each smart hinge further comprises an insulating shell (a temple cover can be made of plastic, para [0058]) and a circuit board mounted in the insulating shell (1440, “the temple insert 1442 can include one or more electrical components 1444,” FIG. 4 shows example of different electrical components… different embodiments of temple arrangements, temple adapters or temple parts according to the invention can use one or more of these different electrical components, the electrical component can include a circuit board, paras [0110], [0114], and [0180], Figs. 4 and 13C), the electrical connector is fixed inside the insulating shell and electrically connected to the circuit board (“the temple insert 1442 can provide electrical components that can interact with the electrical components 1208 withing the extend endpiece 1204,” thus the circuit board is electrically connected to the connector, para [0180], Fig. 13C).
As to claim 18, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15.
Howell does not teach the smart glasses apparatus, wherein an electric wire is provided in the first component and connected to the circuit boards of the two of the smart hinges.
Howell and Olgun are related as electronically-enabled eyewear.
However, Olgun teaches the smart glasses apparatus, wherein an electric wire is provided in the first component and connected to the circuit boards of the two of the smart hinges (3, 4, 5, “antenna 5 is electrically connected to electronic components 61 by frame electrical connection 4, hinge electrical 3, and temple electrical connection 2… these connections may consist of simple conducive lines or wires attached to or embedded within the various portions of the glasses 31,” para [0031], Fig. 1B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart glasses apparatus of Howell where an electric wire is provided in the first component and connected to the circuit boards of the two of the smart hinges of Olgun, because doing so provides an electrical connection between the hinge, the frame, and the temples (para [0031]).
Claims 4, 5, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al., US 2022/0260859 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Howell), in view of Olgun et al., US 2020/0264455 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Olgun), and further in view of Adams et al., US 2021/0088810 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Adams).
As to claim 4, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Howell further teaches smart hinge assembly, wherein each smart hinge further comprises a circuit board mounted in the insulating shell (“the temple insert 1442 can provide electrical components that can interact with the electrical components 1208 withing the extend endpiece 1204,” para [0180], Fig. 13C), the electrical connector is soldered on and electrically connected to the circuit board (1440, “the temple insert 1442 can include one or more electrical components 1444,” FIG. 4 shows example of different electrical components… different embodiments of temple arrangements, temple adapters or temple parts according to the invention can use one or more of these different electrical components, and the electrical component is an electrical connector, paras [0110-[0111] and [0180], Figs. 4 and 13C).
Howell does not teach the smart hinge assembly, wherein the different types of connectors comprise a USB Type-C connector and a PogoPin connector.
Howell and Adams are related as smart glasses.
However, Adams teaches a smart hinge assembly (100, 310, smart glasses 100 include a smart system 310, Fig. 3B, para [0038]), wherein the different types of connectors comprise a USB Type-C connector and a PogoPin connector (321, “at least one of the arms includes a USBC interface and/or a pin interface (e.g., a Pogo pin interface) 321,” para [0041], Fig. 3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart hinge assembly of Howell with the different types of connectors comprise a USB Type-C connector and a PogoPin connector of Adams, because in doing so the microcontroller 314 can be configured to transmit data from or to another device (para [0041]).
As to claim 5, Howell in view of Olgun and further in view of Adams teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4, and Howell further teaches the smart hinge assembly, wherein a sensor (“FIG. 4 shows example of different electrical components,” “the electrical component can be a sensor,” paras [0110] and [0122]-[0123], Fig. 4) and a wireless communication module are soldered on the circuit board (“two or more of the sensors can communicate with one another (wired or wirelessly) to exchange data or control information,” para [0135], Fig. 4), and the sensor comprises an ultraviolet sensor and an environmental particle sensor for detecting the content of particles in the environment (one or more sensors can be used individually or in combination, “The environmental sensor can sense environmental conditions, such as one or more of radiation (e.g., ultraviolet radiation or light), temperature (e.g., ambient temperature), pressure, humidity and toxins (e.g., chemicals, etc.),” paras [0127] and [0133], Fig. 5).
As to claim 14, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11. Howell does not teach the smart glasses apparatus, wherein a connecting portion of the temple and smart hinge is surrounded with a sealing ring, and a front wall of the second end of the smart hinge abuts against the sealing ring when the smart hinge and the temple are connected by plugging.
Howell and Adams are related as smart glasses.
However, Adams teaches a smart glasses apparatus (100, 310, smart glasses 100 include a smart system 310, Fig. 3B, para [0038]) wherein a connecting portion of the temple and smart hinge is surrounded with a sealing ring, and a front wall of the second end of the smart hinge abuts against the sealing ring when the smart hinge and the temple are connected by plugging (“the barrier layer may be applied or disposed in areas of the electronic spectacles between two components,” thus it would be obvious to place a barrier such as a sealing ring between the smart hinge and the temple, para [0373]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart glasses apparatus of Howell with a connecting portion of the temple and smart hinge is surrounded with a sealing ring, and a front wall of the second end of the smart hinge abuts against the sealing ring when the smart hinge and the temple are connected by plugging of Adams, because it may prevent moisture from contacting the electrical connections (para [0372]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al., US 2022/0260859 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Howell), in view of Olgun et al., US 2020/0264455 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Olgun), and further in view of Moore et al., US 2020/0142203 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Moore).
As to claim 6, Howell teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Howell further teaches the smart hinge assembly, wherein the insulating shell comprises an annular wall surrounding the electrical connector (1236, the annular wall surrounding the electrical connector 1236 is indicated via the dotted lines in Fig. 12D).
Howell does not teach the smart hinge assembly, wherein the insulating shell comprises a cantilever located at a lateral side of the annular wall and spaced from the annular wall and spaced from the annular wall, and the locking portion is an external locking portion which is formed on the cantilever and protrudes out from a surface of the cantilever away from the annular wall.
Howell and Moore are related as smart glasses.
However, in the same field of endeavor Moore teaches (100, smart glasses, para [0050], Fig. 1) a smart hinge assembly (108, 110, end pieces 108 and 110 on the front frame 102 include the first casing 504 and second casing 506, respectively, paras [0055]-[0056], Fig. 5), wherein the insulating shell comprises a cantilever located at a lateral side of the annular wall and spaced from the annular wall and spaced from the annular wall, and the locking portion is an external locking portion which is formed on the cantilever and protrudes out from a surface of the cantilever away from the annular wall (804, “Electrical contact 602-1 comprises a cantilever 804 which extends from about region 806 to about tip 808. Connecting portion 704 may comprise a corner or bent portion of cantilever 804. Furthermore, connecting portion 704 may protrude by a distance 810 beyond a surface of insulating portion 802,” para [0059], Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart hinge assembly of Howell with the insulating shell comprises a cantilever located at a lateral side of the annular wall and spaced from the annular wall and spaced from the annular wall, and the locking portion is an external locking portion which is formed on the cantilever and protrudes out from a surface of the cantilever away from the annular wall of Moore, because it mechanically and communicatively couple the temple arms to the front frame (para [0054]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al., US 2022/0260859 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Howell), in view of Olgun et al., US 2020/0264455 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Olgun), and further in view of Blum et al., US 2012/0127423 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Blum).
As to claim 8, Howell in view of Olgun and further in view of Adams teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4.
The current embodiment of Howell does not teach the smart hinge assembly, wherein the insulating shell comprises a plastic shell body and a sealing cover, the circuit board is mounted in a mounting groove defined in the plastic shell body, the sealing cover covers and seals the mounting groove.
However, an alternate embodiment of Howell teaches the smart hinge assembly, wherein the insulating shell comprises a plastic shell body and a sealing cover (“although not illustrated in FIG. 11B, the extended end piece 1113 can also include a cavity (or opening) and a cover or a door,” para [0172], Fig. 11B), the circuit board is mounted in a mounting groove defined in the plastic shell body (1122, “the module 1122 can be inserted or removed from the cavity by way of the cover or door,” para [0172], Fig. 11B), the sealing cover covers and seals the mounting groove (“although not illustrated in FIG. 11B, the extended end piece 1113 can also include a cavity (or opening) and a cover or a door,” para [0172], Fig. 11B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart hinge assembly of Howell with the insulating shell comprises a plastic shell body and a sealing cover, the circuit board is mounted in a mounting groove defined in the plastic shell body, the sealing cover covers and seals the mounting groove of an alternate embodiment of Howell, because the customer can make use of the eyewear with its associated electrical capabilities provided by the temple arrangement, temple adapters or removable temple part (para [0166]).
Howell does not teach the smart hinge assembly, wherein a gap between the circuit board and the mounting groove is filled with waterproof glue.
Howell and Blum are related as electronic glasses frames.
However, Blum teaches a smart hinge assembly (300-308, exploded view of electro-active (i.e. electronic) spectacles, para [0102], Fig. 3), wherein a gap between the circuit board and the mounting groove is filled with waterproof glue (“the barrier layer may be applied to prevent or limit contact with moisture (e.g. water) … the barrier layer may comprise a polymer material (such as a two component epoxy), after the barrier layer has been applied to the electronic spectacles, it may be cured to set the material in place,” para [0347]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart hinge assembly of Howell with the gap between the circuit board and the mounting groove is filled with waterproof glue of Blum, because it may prevent moisture from contacting the electrical connections (para [0372]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al., US 2022/0260859 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Howell), in view of Olgun et al., US 2020/0264455 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Olgun), and further in view of Ma et al., CN 113672091 A (of record, hereinafter referred to as Ma where reference will be made to the attached machine translation).
As to claim 9, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2. Howell does not teach the smart hinge assembly, wherein a material of the insulating shell is a light-transmitting material.
Howell and Ma are related as smart glasses.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ma teaches a smart hinge assembly (120, smart glasses include an action component 120, para [0101], Fig. 1), wherein a material of the insulating shell is a light-transmitting material (120, the action member is made of transparent material, para [0168], Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart hinge assembly of Howell with the material of the insulating shell is a light-transmitting material of Ma, because the detection element can be an optical sensor (para [0168]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al., US 2022/0260859 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Howell), in view of Olgun et al., US 2020/0264455 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Olgun), and further in view of Castañeda et al., US 2021/0405361 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Castañeda).
As to claim 12, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Howell further teaches the smart glasses apparatus, wherein an MCU and a first wireless communication module are mounted in the temple (1206, the different electrical components provided in the rearward part 1206 which includes wireless communication and a microcontroller, para [0080], Fig. 13C).
Howell does not teach the smart glasses apparatus wherein a second wireless communication module is mounted in the smart hinge; the second wireless communication module is configured for communicating with a mobile phone to realize interaction between the smart hinge and the mobile phone; the second wireless communication module is further configured for communicating with the first wireless communication module to realize interaction between the smart hinge and the MCU in the temple; and the first wireless communication module is further configured for communicating with the mobile phone to realize interaction between the MCU in the temple and the mobile phone.
Howell and Castañeda are related as electronic eyewear.
However, in the same field of endeavor Castañeda teaches a smart glasses apparatus (12, “eyewear 12,” para [0032], Fig. 1C) comprising at least two smart hinges (18A, 18B, 20A, 20B, the eyewear 12 additionally includes articulated joints 18A and 18B which include electronic components 20A and 20B, respectively, para [0026], Fig. 1A), wherein a first wireless communication module are mounted in the temple (20A, 20B, electronic components 20A and 20B… are embedded into frame 16 and temples 14A and 14B of eyewear 12, para [0038], Fig. 1A), and a second wireless communication module is mounted in the smart hinge (102, the housing of electronics 20A and 20B include wireless module (e.g. BluetoothTM) 102, para [0039], Fig. 1D); the second wireless communication module is configured for communicating with a mobile phone to realize interaction between the smart hinge and the mobile phone (102, “electronic components 20A and 20B include controller 100 (e.g. lower power processor, image processor, etc.) for controlling the various devices in eyewear 12, wireless module (e.g. Bluetooth™) 102 for facilitating communication between eyewear 12 and a client device (e.g. Smartphone),” para [0039], Fig. 1D); the second wireless communication module is further configured for communicating with the first wireless communication module to realize interaction between the smart hinge and the MCU in the temple; and the first wireless communication module is further configured for communicating with the mobile phone to realize interaction between the MCU in the temple and the mobile phone (“Wireless module 102 may connect with a client device such as a smartphone, tablet, phablet, laptop computer, desktop computer, networked appliance, access point device, or any other such device capable of connecting with wireless module 102,” thus, the temple and smart hinge communicate wirelessly to each other and a mobile phone because the housing electronics 20A and 20B are located in both the temple and hinge, para [0040], Fig. 1D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart glasses apparatus of Howell with the a second wireless communication module is mounted in the smart hinge; the second wireless communication module is configured for communicating with a mobile phone to realize interaction between the smart hinge and the mobile phone; the second wireless communication module is further configured for communicating with the first wireless communication module to realize interaction between the smart hinge and the MCU in the temple; and the first wireless communication module is further configured for communicating with the mobile phone to realize interaction between the MCU in the temple and the mobile phone of Castañeda, because doing so allows connection to client devices to implement communication that includes transferring software updates, images, videos, and sound (para [0040]).
As to claim 13, Howell in view of Olgun and further in view of Castañeda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12. Howell does not teach the smart glasses apparatus, wherein when the first wireless communication module and second wireless communication module both can establish communication with the mobile phone, the temple and the smart hinge send the obtained relevant data to the mobile phone; and
when the first wireless communication module and second wireless communication module cannot establish communication with the mobile phone, the first wireless communication module establishes communication with the second wireless communication module, and the smart hinge sends the obtained relevant data to the MCU in the temple.
Howell and Castañeda are related as electronic eyewear.
However, in the same field of endeavor Castañeda teaches a smart glasses assembly (12, “eyewear 12,” para [0032], Fig. 1C) comprising at least two smart hinges (18A, 18B, 20A, 20B, the eyewear 12 additionally includes articulated joints 18A and 18B which include electronic components 20A and 20B, respectively, para [0026], Fig. 1A), wherein
when the first wireless communication module and second wireless communication module both can establish communication with the mobile phone, the temple and the smart hinge send the obtained relevant data to the mobile phone; and when the first wireless communication module and second wireless communication module cannot establish communication with the mobile phone, the first wireless communication module establishes communication with the second wireless communication module, and the smart hinge sends the obtained relevant data to the MCU in the temple (102, “Wireless module 102 may connect with a client device such as a smartphone, tablet, phablet, laptop computer, desktop computer, networked appliance, access point device, or any other such device capable of connecting with wireless module 102. These connections may be implemented, for example, using any combination of Bluetooth, Bluetooth LE, Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi direct, a cellular modem, and a near field communication system, as well as multiple instances of any of these systems. Communication may include transferring software updates, images, videos, sound between eyewear 12 and the client device (e.g. images captured by eyewear 12 may be uploaded to a smartphone),” para [0040], Fig. 1D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart glasses assembly of Howell with when the first wireless communication module and second wireless communication module both can establish communication with the mobile phone, the temple and the smart hinge send the obtained relevant data to the mobile phone; and when the first wireless communication module and second wireless communication module cannot establish communication with the mobile phone, the first wireless communication module establishes communication with the second wireless communication module, and the smart hinge sends the obtained relevant data to the MCU in the temple of Castañeda, because the electronic components of the eyewear are able to automatically transition between modes, thereby providing the ability to conserve energy and extend battery life (para [0025]).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howell et al., US 2022/0260859 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Howell), in view of Olgun et al., US 2020/0264455 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Olgun), and further in view of Kim et al., US 2023/0147580 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kim).
As to claim 16, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Howell further teaches the smart glasses apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the insulating shell comprises an annular wall surrounding and spaced from the electrical connector (1204, the solid lines depicting the end piece 1204 in Fig. 13C is considered the annular wall surrounding and space from the electrical connector 1208, para [0173], Figs. 12D and 13C), a chamber is defined between the annular wall and the electrical connector (1208, the dashed line depicting the electrical components 1208 indicate the chamber defined between the annular wall 1204 and the electrical connector 1208, para [0173], Figs. 12D and 13C); and
the electrical interface of the second component is inserted into the chamber of the smart hinge (1442, the connection between the temple insert 1442 and the extended endpiece 1204is through the use of connectors discussed above, para [0180], fig. 13C).
Howell does not teach a locking portion protrudes out from an inner wall surface of the annular wall into the chamber; and a concave portion is defined in the electrical interface of the second component, and the locking portion engages into the concave portion to lock the smart hinge to the second component.
Howell and Kim are related as electronic glasses.
However, Kim teaches (Figs. 2-3B) a smart glasses apparatus (200, “wearable electronic device,” para [0107], Figs. 2-3B) comprising a locking portion protrudes out from an inner wall surface of the annular wall into the chamber (310, 315, the first conductive connection member 315 protrudes from the inner wall of the first conductive portion 310, para [0120], Fig. 3B); and a concave portion is defined in the electrical interface of the second component (301, the first segmenting portion 301, para [0120], Fig. 3B), and the locking portion engages into the concave portion to lock the smart hinge to the second component (315, 301, “a first conductive connection member 315 (e.g., C clip) may be disposed at least partially inside the first segmented portion 301,” para [0120], Fig. 3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart glasses apparatus of Howell with the locking mechanism of Kim, because doing so reduces antenna performance deterioration by arranging the cut-off portions to overlap each other when the rims and temples are in a folded state (para [0015]).
As to claim 17, Howell in view of Olgun teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Howell further teaches the smart glasses apparatus, wherein the insulating shell comprises an annular wall surrounding the electrical connector (1204, the solid lines depicting the end piece 1204 in Fig. 13C is considered the annular wall surrounding the electrical connector 1208, para [0173], Figs. 12D and 13C); and
the electrical interface of the second component defines a chamber to receive the electrical interface (1208, the dashed line depicting the electrical components 1208 indicate the chamber defined between the annular wall 1204 and the electrical connector 1208, para [0173], Figs. 12D and 13C).
Howell does not teach a cantilever located at a lateral side of the annular wall and spaced from the annular wall, and a locking portion protrudes out from a surface of the cantilever away from the annular wall; and the cantilever of the smart hinge therein, a through hole is defined in the electrical interface of the second component, and the locking portion engages into the through hole to lock the smart hinge to the second component.
Howell and Kim are related as electronic glasses.
However, Kim teaches (Figs. 2-3B) a smart glasses apparatus (200, “wearable electronic device,” para [0107], Figs. 2-3B) comprising a cantilever (315, the conductive connection member 315 has a cantilever portion indicated in the annotated Fig. 3B below, para [0120], Fig. 3B) located at a lateral side of the annular wall (315, the conductive connection member 315 is located on the wall facing the outer/right side of the first conductive portion 310 as shown in Fig. 3B, para [0120], Fig. 3B) and spaced from the annular wall (315, “first conductive connection member 315 (e.g., C clip) may be disposed at least partially inside the first segmenting portion 301,” thus, is considered spaced from the annular wall of the first conduction portion 310 as shown in Fig. 3B, para [0120], Fig. 3B), and a locking portion protrudes out from a surface of the cantilever away from the annular wall (315, the conductive connection member 315 has a locking portion protruding out from a surface of the cantilever and away from the annular wall of the first conduction portion 310 indicated in the annotated Fig. 3B below); and the cantilever of the smart hinge therein, a through hole is defined in the electrical interface of the second component (315, “first conductive connection member 315 (e.g., C clip) may be disposed at least partially inside the first segmenting portion 301,” thus, is there is a connection region defined in the in the second component 320, para [0120], Fig. 3B), and the locking portion engages into the through hole to lock the smart hinge to the second component (315, 320, the second conductive portion 320 is connected to the first conductive connection member 315, para [0120], Fig. 3B).
Kim does not explicitly teach the locking portion engaging the through hole. However, an ordinary skilled artisan would understand a through hole as a form of connecting and locking a hinge to a temple as taught by Olgun (19, “the hinge joint assembly 16 can include a pin connection 19 that can comprise a single pin or multiple pins with different connection point between the temple 47 and the frame 32,” para [0058], Figs. 4A and 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart glasses apparatus of Howell with the locking mechanism of Kim, because doing so reduces antenna performance deterioration by arranging the cut-off portions to overlap each other when the rims and temples are in a folded state (para [0015]).
Conclusion
/J.A.J./JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
06/30/2026