DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to communication submitted on 02/09/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3. Claims 1-18 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(10) as being unpatentable over KISHIKAWA et al. (JP 2001008459 A) in view HIRANO et. (JP 2000325687 A).
In regards to claim 1, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 4-5) and discloses (see abstract) an elevator machine assembly, comprising:
a motor (12);
an elevator drive (8/10) configured to control power supply to the motor (12), the elevator drive including at least a plurality of converter switches (8a-8f/10a-10f) and an energy storage device (i.e. 7), the energy storage device (7) being situated to be charged in response to the motor (12) generating a back emf as the motor rotates in response to a torque applied to the motor when the elevator drive is not providing power to the motor (Implicitly as elevator regenerative operation mode. i.e. DC power is connected and absorbing the regenerated power of elevator regenerative running, when power is cut by the two systems of emergency DC power and the discharging resistor… Regenerated energy is supplied to the emergency DC power 5. When the current detection value of a converter 6 reaches a prescribed value, the switching of the converter element 8a is stopped, and a converter element 8c is switched, and regenerated energy is consumed by a discharge resistor 17, see Description); and
a short-circuiting module (combination of control circuit 14 with elements 2-4) that is selectively coupled with the energy storage device (i.e. 7) through the converter switches (8/10) to selectively discharge the energy storage device to limit the back emf of the motor (implicitly) and a corresponding speed (i.e. on the basis on speed detector 14 output) at which the motor rotates (i.e. in response to the input of the detector 13 for detecting the rotation of the motor 2, a well-known inverter control pulse is output to operate the inverter 10, and the DC power stored in the capacitor 9 is converted into a variable voltage and a variable frequency AC power. 12 is driven. The chopper controlling the converter when the commercial power supply is interrupted, from the emergency DC power supply to the smoothing capacitor side. A converter control method wherein both a powering chopper control for transmitting power and a regenerative chopper control for transmitting power from the smoothing capacitor to the emergency DC power supply are realized by a single switching operation of a specific converter element, see abstract, claim 1 and Description).
Although KISHIKAWA implicitly discloses a regenerative power discharging circuit for suppressing an amount of regenerative current to said emergency DC power supply during regenerative operation of the elevator, selectively discharge the energy storage device to limit the back emf of the motor is not explicitly disclosed.
However, HIRANO further discloses and shows (Fig. 1) a drive control means for controlling the energization of the motor (17) and generating a back emf as the motor rotates in response to a torque applied to the motor when the elevator drive is not providing power to the motor (i.e. By switching on and off the switching elements 62a to 62f in an energizing pattern in which the phase of the current flowing through each phase is delayed with respect to the phase of the induced voltage generated (interpreted as BEMF) …With respect to the phases of the induced voltages generated at 19v and 19w, the switching elements 62a to 62f are turned on/off by an energizing pattern in which the current phase flowing through each phase, see Description); and
a short-circuiting module (Short-circuit brake: The lower three switching elements 62b, 62d and 62f of the switching elements 62a to 62f of the inverter main circuit 52 are simultaneously turned on to short-circuit all the windings 19u, 19v and 19w of the motor 17. The brake is applied by setting the state) that is selectively coupled with the energy storage device through the converter switches to selectively discharge the energy storage device to limit the back emf of the motor and a corresponding speed (i.e. The feature of this short-circuit brake is that, if the rotation speed of the motor 17 is continuously used from a high rotation speed state, a braking effect can be expected, see Description).
Thus, given the teaching of HIRANO, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the braking motor control circuit/system of KISHIKAWA in order to limit or control the induced voltage (BEMF) on the basis of the speed as to prevent the current from becoming excessively large, and to prevent circuit elements from being damaged, consequently improving the system reliability.
In regards to claim 2, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 4-5) and discloses wherein the short-circuiting module comprises a resistor (17) and a switch (i.e. 2/3) that selectively couples the resistors and the converter switches (8/10).
HIRANO further discloses plurality of resistors (Fig. 1, elements 54/58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ more than one resistor since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
In regards to claim 3, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 4-5) and discloses wherein the switch of the short-circuiting module couples the resistors to the converter switches in response to the elevator drive disconnecting the motor from power (i.e. When a commercial power 1 is cut, a contact point 2 is opened, and a contact point 3 is closed… The converter control circuit 14 first disconnects the converter elements 8b and 8f from the converter control pulse output so as to be always in an extinguishing state, and also disconnects the converter element 8e from the converter control pulse output and always in an ignition state. Here, during elevator power running operation, ie, the emergency DC power supply 5, see abstract and Description).
In regards to claims 4 and 15, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 4-5) and discloses wherein the switch of the short-circuiting module comprises a relay switch (i.e. contact 2/3) that closes in response to the elevator drive disconnecting the motor from power.
HIRANO further shows plurality of resistors (relay drive circuit/switch 51).
In regards to claim 5, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 4-5) and discloses wherein the elevator drive comprises a brake control (i.e. 14) that determines a voltage of the energy storage device and controls the converter switches to selectively couple the short-circuiting module and the energy storage device to maintain the voltage of the energy storage device within a preselected range (i.e. the energy stored in the reactors 7b and 7c is supplied to the capacitor 9. Such control is called step-up chopper control, and the voltage of the capacitor 9 can be made higher than the voltage of the DC power supply 5 and supplied to the inverter 10).
HIRANO further discloses (Switching elements 62a-62f is turned on / off so that the motor energy is regenerated to the DC power supply circuit 48 via the regenerative diode 60. In this case, when the rotation speed of the motor 17 is high, the electromotive force of the motor 17 is high, and an induced voltage of about 600 V is generated. When the motor induced voltage appearing on the DC line 52a exceeds 400V, this is detected by the voltage dividing circuit 61, and the microcomputer 68, see Description).
In regards to claim 6, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 4-5) and discloses wherein the converter switches (8/10) each comprise an IGBT (8a8f/10a-10f) and the brake control (14) turns on the IGBTs in response to the voltage exceeding a preselected threshold (i.e. When the current detection value of a converter 6 reaches a prescribed value, the switching of the converter element 8a is stopped, and a converter element 8c is switched, and regenerated energy is consumed by a discharge resistor 17).
In regards to claims 7 and 16, HIRANO further discloses wherein the brake control turns the IGBTs on and off repeatedly to allow the voltage of the energy storage device to repeatedly increase and decrease within the preselected range (Switching elements 62a-62f is turned on / off so that the motor energy is regenerated to the DC power supply circuit 48 via the regenerative diode 60. In this case, when the rotation speed of the motor 17 is high, the electromotive force of the motor 17 is high, and an induced voltage of about 600 V is generated. When the motor induced voltage appearing on the DC line 52a exceeds 400V, this is detected by the voltage dividing circuit 61, and the microcomputer 68, see Description).
In regards to claims 8 and 17, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 4-5) and discloses wherein the energy storage device comprises a capacitor (5).
HIRANO further shows wherein the energy storage device comprises a capacitor (56/47).
In regards to claims 9 and 18, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 4-5) and discloses wherein the short-circuiting module comprises a resistor (17) and a switch (2/3) that selectively couples the resistors to the converter switches (8/10); the converter switches each comprise an IGBT (8a-8f/10a-10f); and the energy storage device comprises a capacitor (9).
HIRANO further discloses plurality of resistors (Fig. 1, elements 54/58) and wherein the energy storage device comprises a capacitor (56/47).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ more than one resistor since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
In regards to claim 10, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 1-5) and discloses (see abstract) a method of using an elevator machine (intended use, see tittle) to control movement of an associated elevator car (inherent as elevator is employed), the elevator machine including a motor (12) configured to selectively move the elevator car and an elevator drive configured to control power supply to the motor (see par. [0001], motor 12), the elevator drive having an energy storage device (i.e. energy stored in the reactors 7b and 7c is supplied to the capacitor 9, see Description) and converter switches (switches within 8/10), the method comprising:
determining that a voltage of the energy storage device exceeds a preselected threshold (i.e. implicitly as “when the current detection value of a converter 6 reaches a prescribed value, the switching of the converter element 8a is stopped, and a converter element 8c is switched, and regenerated energy is consumed by a discharge resistor 17”, see Description),
wherein the voltage of the energy storage device is based on a back emf of the motor rotating when the elevator drive is not supplying power to the motor (Implicitly as elevator regenerative operation mode. i.e. DC power is connected and absorbing the regenerated power of elevator regenerative running, when power is cut by the two systems of emergency DC power and the discharging resistor… Regenerated energy is supplied to the emergency DC power 5. When the current detection value of a converter 6 reaches a prescribed value, the switching of the converter element 8a is stopped, and a converter element 8c is switched, and regenerated energy is consumed by a discharge resistor 17, see Description);
using the converter switches (8/10) to couple the energy storage device and a short-circuiting module (combination of control circuit 14 with elements 2-4) based on the voltage of the energy storage device exceeding the preselected threshold (i.e. When the current detection value of a converter 6 reaches a prescribed value, the switching of the converter element 8a is stopped, and a converter element 8c is switched, and regenerated energy is consumed by a discharge resistor 17, see Description; and
discharging the energy storage device using the short-circuiting module to maintain the voltage of the energy storage device and the back emf of the motor within respective preselected ranges (implicit as when the regenerative energy of the elevator is large, the battery is in a quick charge state and may be deteriorated. Therefore, the converter control circuit 14 is provided with a function of stopping the switching of the converter element 8a and switching the converter element 8c when the current value of the current transformer 6 reaches a predetermined value. Now, when converter element 8c is fired, capacitor 9-converter element 8c, Reactor 7c, contact 3c, discharge resistor 17, contact 3b, Reactor 7b, and Energy is stored in the reactors 7a and 7b in a closed circuit of the converter element 8e, and energy is consumed by the discharge resistor 17, see Description).
Although KISHIKAWA implicitly discloses determining that a voltage of the energy storage device exceeds a preselected threshold, wherein the voltage of the energy storage device is based on a back emf of the motor rotating when the elevator drive is not supplying power to the motor, and discharging the energy storage device using the short-circuiting module to maintain the voltage of the energy storage device, the back emf of the motor and maintain the voltage of the energy storage device are not explicitly disclosed (emphasis added).
However, HIRANO further discloses and shows (Fig. 1) a drive control means for controlling the energization of the motor (17) and determining that a voltage of the energy storage device exceeds a preselected threshold (i.e. When the voltage detected by the voltage dividing circuit 61 becomes equal to or higher than the upper limit predetermined voltage (voltage indicating that the DC line 52a has become 400 V), the discharge switching element 55 is a brake generated by turning on the motor 5 and consuming the motor energy by the discharge resistor 54, see Description),
wherein the voltage of the energy storage device is based on a back emf of the motor rotating when the elevator drive is not supplying power to the motor (i.e. induced voltage generated… he discharge brake device operates according to the induced voltage of the motor 17 when the regenerative brake device is executed, see Description), and discharging the energy storage device using the short-circuiting module to maintain the voltage of the energy storage device, the back emf of the motor and maintain the voltage of the energy storage device are not explicitly disclosed (i.e. When the voltage becomes equal to or lower than 0 V, the discharge switching element 55 is turned off. Therefore, the discharge brake means is constituted by the switching elements 62 a to 62 f and the discharge switching element 55 on / off control function by the microcomputer 68, the relay switch 51, the voltage dividing circuit 61, and the discharging circuit 53. That is, the discharge brake device operates according to the induced voltage of the motor 17 when the regenerative brake device is executed,… The lower three switching elements 62b, 62d and 62f of the switching elements 62a to 62f of the inverter main circuit 52 are simultaneously turned on to short-circuit all the windings 19u, 19v and 19w of the motor 17. The brake is applied by setting the state… The feature of this short-circuit brake is that, if the rotation speed of the motor 17 is continuously used from a high rotation speed state, a braking effect can be expected, see Description).
Thus, given the teaching of HIRANO, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the braking motor control circuit/system of KISHIKAWA in order to control the induced voltage (BEMF) as to prevent the current from becoming excessively large, and to prevent circuit elements from being damaged, consequently improving the system reliability.
In regards to claim 11, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 1-5) and discloses comprising using the converter switches (8/10) to uncouple the energy storage device from the short-circuiting module once the voltage of the energy storage device drops to a selected value (i.e. When a commercial power 1 is cut, a contact point 2 is opened, and a contact point 3 is closed, see abstract …The converter control circuit 14 first disconnects the converter elements 8b and 8f from the converter control pulse output so as to be always in an extinguishing state, and also disconnects the converter element 8e from the converter control pulse output and always in an ignition state. Here, during elevator power running operation, i.e., the emergency DC power supply 5, see Description).
In regards to claim 12, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 1-5) and discloses comprising allowing the back emf of the motor to recharge the energy storage device and repeating each of: determining that the voltage of the energy storage device exceeds the preselected threshold, using the converter switches to couple the energy storage device and the short-circuiting module, and discharging the energy storage device (i.e. DC power is connected and absorbing the regenerated power of elevator regenerative running, when power is cut by the two systems of emergency DC power and the discharging resistor… Regenerated energy is supplied to the emergency DC power 5. When the current detection value of a converter 6 reaches a prescribed value, the switching of the converter element 8a is stopped, and a converter element 8c is switched, and regenerated energy is consumed by a discharge resistor 17, see Description).
HIRANO further discloses wherein the brake control turns the IGBTs on and off repeatedly to allow the voltage of the energy storage device to repeatedly increase and decrease within the preselected range (Switching elements 62a-62f is turned on / off so that the motor energy is regenerated to the DC power supply circuit 48 via the regenerative diode 60. In this case, when the rotation speed of the motor 17 is high, the electromotive force of the motor 17 is high, and an induced voltage of about 600 V is generated. When the motor induced voltage appearing on the DC line 52a exceeds 400V, this is detected by the voltage dividing circuit 61, and the microcomputer 68, see Description).
In regards to claim 13, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 4-5) and discloses wherein the converter switches comprise IGBTs (8a-8f/10a-10f), and using the converter switches to couple the energy storage device and a short-circuiting module comprises selectively turning on the IGBTs (i.e. Converter elements 8b and 8f are always set to an arc extinguishing state, and a converter element 8e is always set to be the arc extinguishing state. At power running, a converter element 8d is switched and chopper control is executed. At regenerative running, a converter element 8a is switched, and voltage drop chopper control is executed, see abstract).
In regards to claim 14, KISHIKAWA shows (See Figs. 4-5) and discloses wherein the short-circuiting module comprises a resistor (17) and a switch (i.e. 2/3) that selectively couples the resistors and the converter switches (8/10) in response to the elevator drive disconnecting the motor from power (i.e. from AC).
HIRANO further discloses plurality of resistors (Fig. 1, elements 54/58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ more than one resistor since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Related Prior Arts
6. The following related prior arts made of record are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art and may be applied alone or in combination for rejection of the claims.
Camenzind et al. (US 11192752 B2) discloses a drive control method and system for controlling an inverter during power disruptions in the operation of an elevator drive includes the steps of predetermining whether a hoist motor of the elevator drive will be operating in a motor mode, a balanced mode or a regenerative mode on commencement of the power disruption, and controlling the inverter in accordance with the predetermined operating mode after commencement of the power disruption.
KAUPPINEN et al. (EP 3901077 A1) discloses he converter unit (30) is configured to prevent generation of driving torque in the elevator motor (20) based on operation of the safety input (31); a brake contactor or relay (40) configured to selectively supply or interrupt electrical power to at least one hoisting machinery brake (16) by closing or opening at least one primary contact (C2, C3) of the brake contactor or relay (40), wherein the brake contactor or relay (40) comprises at least one auxiliary contact (C2_AUX, C3_AUX) configured to operate together or in tandem with the at least one primary contact (C2, C3), and wherein the brake contactor or relay (40) is in connection with the safety output (1001) and configured to operate based on the status of the safety output (1001); and the auxiliary contact (C2_AUX, C3_AUX) of the brake contactor or relay (40) is configured to control the operation of the safety input (31) of the converter unit (30) so that the generation of torque is prevented during the safety shutdown.
Conclusion
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/Primary Examiner Engineer, Art Unit 2846