DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Foerster et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0027197 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Foerster teaches a computer-implemented method for load balancing of a multi-task process, the computer-implemented method comprising:
generating, by one or more processors and using an optimization model, an optimal processing decision for an individual computing task of the multi-task process ([0007]; Fig 2, 240; [0066]), wherein:
(a) the optimal processing decision is based on the individual computing task and a plurality of processing environments for the multi-task process ([0044]),
(b) the plurality of processing environments comprises a local processing environment and a remote processing environment ([0037]; [0044]), and
(c) the optimal processing decision identifies the local processing environment or the remote processing environment as an optimal processing environment for the individual computing task ([0037]; [0090]); and
initiating, by the one or more processors, the performance of the individual computing task based on the optimal processing decision (Fig 2, 250; [0072]).
Regarding claim 2, Foerster teaches receiving, by the one or more processors, a dependency graph for the multi-task process, wherein the dependency graph comprises a plurality of task nodes corresponding to a plurality of interdependent computing tasks of the multi-task process ([0007]); and identifying, by the one or more processors, the individual computing task based on the dependency graph ([0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Foerster teaches wherein identifying the individual computing task comprises: receiving, by the one or more processors, a current graph state and one or more task dependencies for the dependency graph ([0043]); and identifying, by the one or more processors, the individual computing task based on the current graph state and the one or more task dependencies ([0007]).
Regarding claim 4, Foerster teaches wherein the local processing environment comprises a containerized environment configured to run the multi-task process ([0062]).
Regarding claim 5, Foerster teaches wherein the remote processing environment comprises at least one serverless instance ([0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Foerster teaches wherein generating the optimal processing decision comprises: receiving, by the one or more processors, a current local state for the local processing environment ([0043]); and generating, by the one or more processors and using the optimization model, the optimal processing decision for the individual computing task based on the current local state ([0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Foerster teaches wherein the current local state is indicative of at least one of a processing capability, an available memory, or a processing queue for the local processing environment ([0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Foerster teaches wherein generating the optimal processing decision comprises: receiving, by the one or more processors, a current remote state for the remote processing environment ([0043]); and generating, by the one or more processors and using the optimization model, the optimal processing decision for the individual computing task based on the current remote state ([0043]).
Regarding claim 10, Foerster teaches wherein the current remote state is indicative of at least one of a processing capability, an available memory, or a processing queue for the remote processing environment ([0060]).
Regarding claim 12, Foerster teaches wherein: the individual computing task comprises one or more task parameters, the one or more task parameters comprise at least one of a task identifier, one or more task services, and one or more task arguments, and the optimal processing decision is based on the one or more task parameters ([0050-51], wherein data characterizing the computational graph would inherently include task identify and arguments).
Regarding claims 13-20, they are the apparatus and media claims of claims 1-2, and 4-8 above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-2, and 4-8 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foerster et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0027197 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Foerster does not teach wherein the current remote state is indicative of a percentage of the processing capability currently available for the remote processing environment.
Foerster teaches the context information for the computational environment can include data identifying the processing and/or storage capabilities of the available computing devices, available memory on the available computing devices ([0060]). Official Notice is made that it is old and well known to express available processing and memory resources as a percentage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to indicate a percentage of the processing capability currently available. One would be motivated by the desire to express available resources as a percentage for easier comprehension and comparison by standardizing the value to a base of 100.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foerster et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0027197 A1) in view of Johnson et al. (US PG Pub No. 2016/0063192 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Foerster does not teach wherein the current remote state is indicative of a probability of instantiating a remote instance of the remote processing environment based on the individual computing task.
Johnson teaches tracking resource state enabling probability calculation of start and complete times of tasks ([0201]). It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to indicate a probability of instantiating a remote instance of the remote processing environment based on the individual computing task. One would be motivated by the desire to identify state changes of a resource and determining effect on schedule and workflow ahead of real time as taught by Johnson ([0201]).
Conclusion
/Eric C Wai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195