DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the restriction of Claims 1-64 into Groups I, II, III, IV & V, in the reply filed on March 5, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicant asserts that independent Claim 1 (Group I) also does not require “a water filter or water filter receptacle” or “cartridge receptacles” as in Group II. This is not found persuasive because the Examiner notes that Claim 1 (Group I) clearly claims and requires “a plurality of cartridge receptacles”, which is not claimed and required in Group II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Groups I, III, IV & V are withdrawn, and Group II, Claims 31-47, constitute the current set of claims for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrases “the detection” and “the closing” should be rewritten as “detection” and “closing” for consistency type purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 38 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrases “the detection” and “the closing” should be rewritten as “detection” and “closing” for consistency type purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the closing” should be rewritten as “closing” for consistency type purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 and any of its dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites the limitations “a first state” and “a second state”. It is not clear if these limitations are the same as “a first state” and “a second state” as already recited in Claim 31, or not. Examiner interprets them to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-33, 36, 37 & 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kelada, (US 6,099,735).
Regarding Claims 31-33, 36, 37 & 47, Kelada discloses a base configured to be attached to a magazine of a water filtration system, (Flowboard 12 connected to various Cartridges 24/26/28/30/32 and Housing Cover 14, See Figures 1, 2A, See column 9, lines 8-12), the base comprising: a first fitting configured to receive input water, (Inlet Water Port 100, and conduit fitting 102, See Figures 2B, 3, See column 9, lines 19-21), a second fitting configured to provide drinking water with less impurities than the input water, (Fitting 51, Mounting Block 51c, to Spigot 16, See Figures 2B, 3, See column 11, lines 63-67, column 12, lines 1-3), a base input water valve configured to be coupled to a magazine input water valve of the magazine, (Needle Valve 51b coupled to Valve 50 via Line 194, See Figure 3, See column 12, lines 9-16), a first solenoid valve having a water path coupled between the first fitting and the base input water valve, (Solenoid Inlet Valve 22 with path connected between Port 100 and Valve 48, See Figure 2B, 3, See column 11, lines 24-43), a base first valve configured to be coupled to a magazine output valve of the magazine, (Check Valve 42 coupled to Valve 48 via Lines 174 to 146, See Figure 2B, 3, See column 11, lines 24-43), and a first switch, (Switch 38, See Figure 2B, 3, See column 11, lines 1-4, lines 55-58), wherein the base is configured to detach from the magazine, (Cover 14 and Cartridges are removable from Flowboard 12, See Figures 1-3, See column 21, lines 52-63, column 23, lines 4-8), and cause the first solenoid valve to close when the first switch transitions from a first state to a second state, (See column 21, lines 52-65), and wherein the base does not comprise a water filter or water filter receptacle, (None of the Cartridges 24/26/28/30/32 are included within or integrally with Flowboard 12, they are replaceable/detachable, See Figure 1-3, See column 12, lines 55-67, column 13, lines 1-3).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 32: The base of claim 31, further comprising: a third fitting configured to be coupled to a water storage tank, (Conduit/Mounting Assembly for Water Storage Vessel 34, See Figures 1-3, See column 9, lines 33-47); and a second solenoid valve having a water path coupled between the base first valve and the third fitting, (Solenoid Valve 40 physically in between Check Valve 42 and Conduit/Mounting Assembly for Water Storage Vessel 34, See Figure 3,See column 9, lines 39-49), wherein the base is configured to cause the second solenoid valve to close when the first switch transitions from a first state to a second state, (See column 21, lines 60-64, See column 17, lines 40-49).
Claim 33: The base of claim 32, wherein the base further comprises a permeate pump coupled to the base first valve via a first water tube, and coupled to the second solenoid valve via a second water tube, (Circulation Pump 38 connects to either Valve 42 or Valve 48, and to Solenoid Valve 40 via conduits 152/158/160, and 164, See Figure 3, See column 11, lines 49-67, column 12, lines 1-3, Kelada).
Claim 36: The base of claim 32, wherein the base comprises an inlet manifold that comprises the first, second, and third fittings, the inlet manifold being located in a first side of the base, (Flow Board 12 contains its fittings/ports/connectors on the side perimeter or inside the board 12, See Figures 1-3), wherein the first switch is located in a second side of the base, the second side being opposite to the first side, (Switch 38 is located on top side of Flow Board 12, See Figure 2B).
Claim 37: The base of claim 31, further comprising: a first base connector configured to receive power from the magazine, (Electric Interlock Means 480 with Cover 14 and Flowboard 12, See Figure 26, See column 21, lines 52-61); and a control circuit coupled to the first base connector, (Electrical Circuit 470, See Figure 26, See column 21, lines 52-66), wherein the control circuit is configured to detect transition of the first switch from the first state to the second state and, in response to the detection of the transition, cause the closing of the first solenoid valve, (See column 21, lines 60-64).
Claim 47: The base of claim 31, wherein the base does not comprise a battery or a battery receptacle, (See column 23, lines 12-15, Kelada; direct power can be selected over a battery), wherein the base is configured to be electrically disconnected from mains, (See column 23, lines 1-7, Kelada).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelada, (US 6,099,735), in view of Monroe et al., (“Monroe”, US 5,445,729).
Regarding Claim 34, Kelada discloses the base of claim 33, but does not disclose wherein the base comprises a base housing that fully encloses the first and second solenoid valves, and the permeate pump.
Monroe discloses wherein the base comprises a base housing that fully encloses the first and second solenoid valves, and the permeate pump, (See column 7, lines 25-31, See column 10, lines 25-37, column 2, lines 67-68, column 3, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of Kelada by incorporating wherein the base comprises a base housing that fully encloses the first and second solenoid valves, and the permeate pump as in Monroe in order to provide “very dense packaging” that “suit its portability and compactness”, (See column 7, lines 46-59, Monroe).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelada, (US 6,099,735), in view of Yang, (US 2018/0257948).
Regarding Claim 35, Kelada discloses the base of claim 32, wherein the base further comprises a pressure sensor, (See column 22, lines 7-9, Kelada), but does not disclose the pressure sensor coupled to a first water tube that is coupled between the second solenoid valve and the third fitting, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to sense a pressure of the water storage tank.
Yang discloses the pressure sensor coupled to a first water tube that is coupled between the second solenoid valve and the third fitting, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to sense a pressure of the water storage tank, (Pressure Sensor is located with Water Storage Device which is connected to Line 107 and to Solenoid Valve 6 and Valve 5, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0073], [0075], Yang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of Kelada by incorporating the pressure sensor coupled to a first water tube that is coupled between the second solenoid valve and the third fitting, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to sense a pressure of the water storage tank as in Yang in order for the “pressure sensor” and “the liquid level sensor” to work together “so that the water filtration system…is more intelligent and efficient, which greatly facilitates the user”, (See paragraph [0075], Yang).
Claim(s) 38 & 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelada, (US 6,099,735), in view of Fahs, II, (“Fahs”, US 2016/0355411), in further view of Ballantine et al., (“Ballantine”, US 2022/0131165).
Regarding Claim 38, Kelada discloses the base of claim 37, causing the closing of the first solenoid valve, (See column 18, lines 7-20, Kelada), but does not disclose wherein the control circuit comprises a supercapacitor, the control circuit being configured to detect an interruption of power received from the first base connector, and, in response to the detection of the interruption of power, using energy stored in the supercapacitor.
Fahs discloses wherein the control circuit comprises a supercapacitor, (See paragraph [0126], Fahs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of Kelada by incorporating wherein the control circuit comprises a supercapacitor as in Fahs so it “allows for excellent power delivery capabilities…that may require high voltages and/or high pulsed voltages”, (See paragraph [0011], Fahs).
Modified Kelada does not disclose the control circuit being configured to detect an interruption of power received from the first base connector, and, in response to the detection of the interruption of power, using energy stored in the supercapacitor.
Ballantine discloses the control circuit being configured to detect an interruption of power received from the first base connector, and, in response to the detection of the interruption of power, using energy stored in the supercapacitor, (See paragraph [0085], Ballantine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of modified Kelada by incorporating the control circuit being configured to detect an interruption of power received from the first base connector, and, in response to the detection of the interruption of power, using energy stored in the supercapacitor as in Ballantine in order to “provide backup power through energy storage”, (See paragraph [0085], Ballantine).
Regarding Claim 39, Kelada discloses the base of claim 37, the control circuit being configured to cause the closing of the first solenoid valve but does not disclose wherein the control circuit comprises a supercapacitor, using energy stored in the supercapacitor when a battery voltage at the first base connector drops below a predetermined threshold.
Fahs discloses wherein the control circuit comprises a supercapacitor, (See paragraph [0126], Fahs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of Kelada by incorporating wherein the control circuit comprises a supercapacitor as in Fahs so it “allows for excellent power delivery capabilities…that may require high voltages and/or high pulsed voltages”, (See paragraph [0011], Fahs).
Modified Kelada does not disclose using energy stored in the supercapacitor when a battery voltage at the first base connector drops below a predetermined threshold.
Ballantine discloses using energy stored in the supercapacitor when a battery voltage at the first base connector drops below a predetermined threshold, (See paragraph [0085], [0074] & [0060], Ballantine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of modified Kelada by incorporating using energy stored in the supercapacitor when a battery voltage at the first base connector drops below a predetermined threshold as in Ballantine in order to “provide backup power through energy storage”, (See paragraph [0085], Ballantine).
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelada, (US 6,099,735), in view of Lighton et al., (“Lighton”, US 2021/0208173).
Regarding Claim 40, Kelada discloses the base of claim 37, but does not disclose further comprising a flow switch coupled to a first water tube that is coupled to the second fitting, the flow switch configured to sense a flow of water through the first water tube, wherein the control circuit is configured to transition from a low- power state to an active state based on an output of the flow switch.
Lighton discloses further comprising a flow switch coupled to a first water tube that is coupled to the second fitting, the flow switch configured to sense a flow of water through the first water tube, wherein the control circuit is configured to transition from a low- power state to an active state based on an output of the flow switch, (Flow Cell 110 includes flow switch 116 connected to Manifold 113, See Figures 15, 24A-F, See paragraphs [0184], [0262] & [0433], Lighton).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of Kelada by incorporating further comprising a flow switch coupled to a first water tube that is coupled to the second fitting, the flow switch configured to sense a flow of water through the first water tube, wherein the control circuit is configured to transition from a low- power state to an active state based on an output of the flow switch as in Lighton in order to “ensure…fluid remains continuously flowing through the system without any uncontrolled interruptions autonomously” and “allows the [control circuit] to make informed decisions…making it capable of recognizing, troubleshooting, and taking corrective actions if needed”, (See paragraph [0433], Lighton).
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelada, (US 6,099,735), in view of Korb et al., (“Korb”, US 2007/0199886).
Regarding Claim 41, Kelada discloses the base of claim 37, with a plurality of electrical connectors configured to be electrically coupled to the first solenoid valve, the first base connector, and to a first sensor of the base, (Contract Strips 356a/b connected to Power supply, See Figure , See column 16, lines 29-52, Kelada), but does not disclose further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) that comprises the control circuit, wherein the PCB comprises the plurality of electrical connectors facing in a same direction.
Korb discloses further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) that comprises a control circuit, (See paragraph [0060], [0091], Baldwin), wherein the PCB comprises the plurality of electrical connectors facing in a same direction, (Contacts 490 and Wiring 492 facing in same direction, See Figure 9, See paragraph [0062], Baldwin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of Kelada by incorporating the first base connector, and to a first sensor of the base but does not disclose further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) that comprises the control circuit, wherein the PCB comprises the plurality of electrical connectors facing in a same direction as in Korb in order to “facilitate connection”, (See paragraph [0062], Korb), and “determines….that the filter assembly…needs to be replaced”, (See paragraph [0063], Korb).
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelada, (US 6,099,735), in view of Carlotto, (US 2017/0029294).
Regarding Claim 42, Kelada discloses the base of claim 31, a means coupled to the second fitting via a second water tube, (Fitting 51, Mounting Block 51c, to Spigot 16, See Figures 2B, 3, See column 11, lines 63-67, column 12, lines 1-3), but does not disclose further comprising: a base second valve configured to be coupled to a magazine first valve of the magazine; a base third valve configured to be coupled to a magazine second valve of the magazine, the base third valve coupled to the base second valve via a first water tube; and the means is a base fourth valve configured to be coupled to a magazine third valve of the magazine.
Carlotto discloses further comprising: a base second valve configured to be coupled to a magazine first valve of the magazine, (Valves 33/34, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0071], Carlotto); a base third valve configured to be coupled to a magazine second valve of the magazine, the base third valve coupled to the base second valve via a first water tube, (Valves 37/38, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0075], Carlotto); and a base fourth valve configured to be coupled to a magazine third valve of the magazine, (Means 22, Valve 23, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0065], [0078], Carlotto).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of Kelada by incorporating a base second valve configured to be coupled to a magazine first valve of the magazine; a base third valve configured to be coupled to a magazine second valve of the magazine, the base third valve coupled to the base second valve via a first water tube; and a base fourth valve configured to be coupled to a magazine third valve of the magazine as in Carlotto so it “simplifies periodic maintenance activities”, (See paragraph [0027], Carlotto).
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelada, (US 6,099,735), in view of Hungerford, Jr. et al., (“Hungerford”, US 2,460,011).
Regarding Claim 43, Kelada discloses the base of claim 37, but does not disclose wherein the base input water valve, the base first valve, the base second valve, the base third valve, and the base fourth valve are poppet valves.
Hungerford discloses wherein its base input water valve, base first valve, base second valve, base third valve, and base fourth valve are poppet valves, (See column 1, lines 39-43, lines 50-55, column 2, lines 1-3, Hungerford).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of Kelada by incorporating wherein the base input water valve, the base first valve, the base second valve, the base third valve, and the base fourth valve are poppet valves as in Hungerford in order to “set in the direction of the flow which greatly aids in reducing and minimizing the problems incident to leakage and cross contamination” and “render it more simple to control the degree of opening of the valves as well as to compensate for any wear which may occur, and in general to provide for greater compactness, accessibility, convenience and reduction in manufacturing as well as maintenance costs”, (See column 2, lines 15-21, Hungerford).
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelada, (US 6,099,735), in view of Hansson, (US 2016/0220091).
Regarding Claim 44, Kelada discloses the base of claim 37, with a first water tube that is coupled between the first fitting and the base input water valve, (Line 102 connecting via other lines to Line 128 between Inlet Water Port 100, and Needle Valve 195 and Valve 50, See Figure 2B, 3, See column 9, lines 19-21, See column 11, lines 24-43), but does not disclose further comprising a first total dissolved solids (TDS) sensor coupled to the first water tube, wherein the first TDS sensor is configured to sense a quality of water flowing through the first water tube.
Hansson discloses further comprising a first total dissolved solids (TDS) sensor coupled to the first water tube, wherein the first TDS sensor is configured to sense a quality of water flowing through the first water tube, (TDS meter 33 connected on line, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0047], Hansson).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of Kelada by incorporating further comprising a first total dissolved solids (TDS) sensor coupled to the first water tube, wherein the first TDS sensor is configured to sense a quality of water flowing through the first water tube as in Hansson because “if the purified water contains contaminants, such as total dissolved solids, exceeding a predetermined threshold, it can be indication that the …filters…needs to be changed”, (See paragraph [0047], Hansson).
Claim(s) 45 & 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelada, (US 6,099,735), in view of Schuster, (US 2015/0251922).
Regarding Claim 45, Kelada discloses the base of claim 44, wherein the base further comprises a control circuit configured to receive sensor data from the first TDS sensor, (TDS meter 33 connected on line between , See Figure 1, See paragraph [0047], Hansson; See column 18, lines 41-57, Kelada), but does not disclose the control circuit comprising a communication interface circuit, wherein the control circuit is configured to transmit information based on the sensor data using the communication interface circuit.
Schuster discloses the control circuit comprising a communication interface circuit, wherein the control circuit is configured to transmit information based on the sensor data using the communication interface circuit, (See paragraph [0021] & [0074], Schuster).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the base of Kelada by incorporating wherein the control circuit is configured to transmit information based on the sensor data using the communication interface circuit as in Schuster to “provide maintenance feedback to the user” and “indications can be provided to replace a filter…based on monitored usage”, (See paragraph [0074], Schuster).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 46: The base of claim 45, wherein the control circuit is configured to transmit the information using the communication interface circuit in a wireless manner, (See paragraph [0021], Schuster).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779