DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to claim set filed 02/09/2023 and Response to Restriction filed 10/17/2025. Claims 1-17 are currently pending. Claims 2 and 11-17 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Claims 1 and 3-10 are withdrawn.
Claims 2 and 11-17 are rejected for the reasons set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 2 and 11-17 in the reply filed on 10/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 11-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Koji et al. (JP2006029574A).
Regarding Claim 1, Koji teaches fluororesin composition comprising a fluororesin (claim 7), wherein the fluororesin contains ethylene units and tetrafluoroethylene units, and wherein the carbonate groups of the fluororesin is 359 ([0187]) per 106 main chain carbon atoms ([0135]). Instant US publication para.[0016] defines a carbonate group reading on a carbonyl group; therefore, Koji teaches the fluororesin containing 359 carbonyl groups per 106 main chain carbon atoms.
Although Koji is silent on the critical shear rate, Koji teaches one of the claimed fluororesin(s), as such the critical shear rate is present. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01 II). "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (See MPEP 2112 V).
Regarding Claims 11 and 14-15, Koji teaches the fluororesin composition contains electrically conductive carbon black ([0142-0144] and [0188])
Regarding Claim 12, Koji teaches the fluororesin is melt-fabricable (the paragraph above [0188]).
Claims 2, 11-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kitahara et al. (US2009/0291243 A1).
Regarding Claims 2, 13 and 17, Kitahara teaches a laminate comprising a layer (A) which comprises fluororesin (ab.). Attention is drawn to the Synthesis Examples 8-9, wherein the fluororesin comprises tetrafluoroethylene/ethylene/hexafluoropropylene/ perfluoro(l ,l ,5-trihydro-1-pentene) copolymer. The fluororesin of Synthesis Examples 8-9 have 255 and 250 carbonate groups per 106 main chain carbon atoms, respectively.
Although Kitahara is silent on the critical shear rate, Kitahara teaches two of the claimed fluororesin(s), as such the critical shear rate is present. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01 II). "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (See MPEP 2112 V).
Regarding Claims 11 and 14-15, the composition of Synthesis Example 9 contains a fluororesin and carbon black.
Regarding Claim 12, Kitahara discloses that the fluororesin composition is melt-fabricable ([0091]).
8. Claims 2, 12-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Yukinori et al. (JP2014239742A).
Regarding Claims 2, 13 and 17, Yukinori teaches the inner layer of a catheter tube comprising a fluororesin, wherein the fluororesin comprises tetrafluoroethylene/ethylene/hexafluoropropylene/ perfluoro(l ,l ,5-trihydro-1-pentene) copolymer and the copolymer has 255 carbonate groups per 106 main chain carbon atoms ([0072]).
Although Yukinori is silent on the critical shear rate, Yukinori teaches two of the claimed fluororesin(s), as such the critical shear rate is present. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01 II). "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (See MPEP 2112 V).
Regarding claim 12, Yukinori teaches the fluororesin is melt-fabricable ([0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koji et al. (JP2006029574A).
Koji teaches fluororesin composition comprising a fluororesin (claim 7), wherein the fluororesin can be an ethylene/ tetrafluoroethylene /hexafluoropropylene copolymer ([0104]) and wherein the fluororesin contains 150 to 3000 carbonate groups per 106 main chain carbon atoms ([0135]).
Although Koji is silent on the critical shear rate, Koji teaches one of the claimed fluororesin(s), as such the critical shear rate is present. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01 II). "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (See MPEP 2112 V).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitahara as applied to claims 2 and 14 at para. 8 above, and further in view of Yuji (WO20060411186 A1).
Kitabara discloses the fluororesin composition comprising carbon black (Synthesis Example 9) but is silent on the particle size of the carbon black.
However, Yuji teaches an electroconductive resin composition for a fuel tube comprising a fluororesin (claim 32), wherein the fluororesin can be ethylene-tetrafluoroethylene copolymer (claim 35). Yuji further teaches the electroconductive resin composition comprising carbon black having an average particle size of 1 to 500 μm (lns532-538). Kitahara teaches the fluororesin composition being layer (A) of the innermost layer of a fuel tube ([0158]) and Yuji discloses that the fluororesin composition is suitable for the innermost layer of a fuel tube (lns862-864). Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of instant application to use the carbon black having an average particle size of 1 to 500 μm taught by Yuji for the fluororesin composition of Kitahara. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Yuji, i.e., 500 μm. (See MPEP 2144.05 I).
Conclusion
/HUIHONG QIAO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763