DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The following is a non-Final Office Action.
In response to Examiner's communication of 5/27/2025, Applicant responded on 8/25/2025. Amended claims 1, 20. Cancelled 21. Added 22.
IDS filed on 9/18/2025 is acknowledged and considered by the Examiner.
Claims 1, 2, 4-20, and 22 are pending in this application and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments to claims 1, 3, 5, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19 are not sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejections set forth in the previous action.
Applicant's amendments to Claims 1, 3, 5, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19 are not sufficient to overcome the prior art rejections set forth in the previous action.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits, “..., claim 1 (and similarly claim 20) is amended and now recites that "the controller is configured to control the autonomous vehicle based on the determination of whether the autonomous vehicle has space for the article, including directing modification of the autonomous vehicle's operation within the site." As tentatively agreed to during the interview, claim 1 (and similarly claim 20) recites significantly more than the alleged abstract idea for the following reasons. The specification explicitly describes the technical relationship between the information processing apparatus and vehicle control. 1 [0024] of the publication states that "[t]he information processing apparatus 10, for example, manages operations of the vehicle 20." This operational management is implemented through the controller's technical determinations about space availability, as described in 1 [0121] of the publication: "the controller 13 determines whether the vehicle 20 has the space for the article 4 at the scheduled time T1. With this configuration, when it is determined that the vehicle 20 does not have the space for the article 4, the controller 13 can perform any processing to secure the space for the article 4 on the vehicle 20." The amended claims now capture this technical control relationship where the autonomous vehicle drives autonomously, and the controller actively controls autonomous vehicle operations based on its space determinations. This represents a concrete technological implementation that goes beyond abstract planning or human coordination because the claimed apparatus integrates the space determination process into autonomous vehicle control, thereby providing a technical solution to the problem of "efficient transport of articles" identified in 1 [0006]. The controller's determination is used to control the autonomous operations of the autonomous vehicle, representing a technological improvement in autonomous vehicle fleet management rather than merely organizing human activities…”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While Applicant’s amendments further prosecution, the claims recite abstract ideas identified in Step 2A Prong 1 and the argued additional elements, are recited at a high level of generality applying the identified abstract ideas and generally linking to a technical environment, as a whole, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application in Step 2A Prong 2. Specifically, the claims do not specifically recite how exactly the controller is controlling or directing modifications of the autonomous vehicle operations, thus is recited at a high level of generality applying the identified abstract ideas and generally linking to a technical environment.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § Prior Art
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits, “...Amended claim 1 (and similarly claim 20) requires determining whether the vehicle has space for an article using a specific three-factor analysis: predicted passenger numbers, volume per passenger, and article size. In contrast, Suzuki performs the reverse calculation by first determining available space based on the article, then limiting passengers accordingly, as evidenced by Suzuki's disclosure that "the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space"(1 [0081]). Suzuki's approach of "package first, then passengers" differs from the claimed features, as proposed, of "predicted passengers first, then article space" method. Moreover, neither Suzuki nor Belenky teaches using "volume per passenger" as a calculation parameter. This volumetric determination method based on predicted passenger volume is absent from the cited art, as the references only show space being calculated after the article is already considered, not before.…”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Suzuki teaches:
the controller is configured to determine whether the autonomous vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, based on the predicted number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle at the scheduled time, information on volume per passenger on the autonomous vehicle, and information on the size of the article, and (in at least [0054] generating the schedule includes determining a suitable vehicle for package P/D. For example, a suitable vehicle may be determined based on the size of the package related to P/D, a location of the P/D destination, and P/D date and time. [0061] “pick-up” is selected by the P/D button 3101, the user's demand is input in a P/D request column 3102. The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages (i.e. volume per passenger from previous user entering pick up request), and whether or not the user wants to board. [0066] confirming whether or not the predetermined autonomous vehicle 100A associated with the schedule information has a free space for the user U, and a process of determining whether or not it is possible to temporally, or in relation with another P/D, correct or modify the route such that the user U boards the vehicle at the boarding point. [0081] The processing by the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 of the control unit 204 of the server device 200 will be described referring to a flowchart of FIG. 11. Upon the package P/D for the user U, when the time remaining until the scheduled time of the package P/D becomes the predetermined time (YES in step S611 of FIG. 6), the schedule notification unit 2 a of the first boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the control unit 204 transmits the schedule information related to the P/D to the user device 300A held by the user U (step S613). Cooperating with this, the second schedule notification unit 3 a of the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1101), and calculates an amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the second schedule notification unit 3 a calculates the amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1103) (i.e. space for article). Then, the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105) (i.e. volume per passenger). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U. [0082] the passenger capacity is displayed on the user device 300X of the user X, as well as the items on the screen shown in FIG. 5. The user X can predict a crowded status of the autonomous vehicle 100A by referring to the passenger capacity. [0084] The processing by the third boarding/alighting management unit 2047 of the control unit 204 of the server device 200 will be described referring to a flowchart of FIG. 12. Upon the package P/D for the user U, when the time remaining until the scheduled time of the package P/D becomes the predetermined time (YES in step S611 of FIG. 6), the first schedule notification unit 2 a of the first boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the control unit 204 transmits the schedule information related to the P/D to the user device 300A (step S613). Cooperating with this, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a of the third boarding/alighting management unit 2047 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1201), and calculates an amount of free space of the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a calculates the amount of free space of the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1203) (i.e. space for article). The calculation of the amount of free space may include reading the value calculated in step S1103. Then, the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1205) (i.e. predicted number of passengers). Accordingly, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a discloses the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route, on the predetermined website (step S1207). The passenger capacity disclosed at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity.)
the autonomous vehicle drives autonomously and the controller is configured to control the autonomous vehicle based on the determination of whether the autonomous vehicle has space for the article, including directing modification of the autonomous vehicle's operation within the site. (in at least [0026][0061] the user U touches a P/D button 3101 on the display unit 308 to select “pick-up” from among “pick-up” and “delivery.” In FIG. 5, “pick-up” is selected. As “pick-up” is selected by the P/D button 3101, the user's demand is input in a P/D request column 3102. The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages, and whether or not the user wants to board. [0066] The request processing unit 2 b of the boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the server device 200 receives the information on the user U's boarding request via the information acquisition unit 2041 (YES in step S615), and performs a predetermined processing on the boarding request (step S617). Examples of the predetermined processing include a process of confirming whether or not the predetermined autonomous vehicle 100A associated with the schedule information has a free space for the user U, and a process of determining whether or not it is possible to temporally, or in relation with another P/D, correct or modify the route such that the user U boards the vehicle at the boarding point. [0081] The processing by the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 of the control unit 204 of the server device 200 will be described referring to a flowchart of FIG. 11. Upon the package P/D for the user U, when the time remaining until the scheduled time of the package P/D becomes the predetermined time (YES in step S611 of FIG. 6), the schedule notification unit 2 a of the first boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the control unit 204 transmits the schedule information related to the P/D to the user device 300A held by the user U (step S613). Cooperating with this, the second schedule notification unit 3 a of the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1101), and calculates an amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the second schedule notification unit 3 a calculates the amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1103) (i.e. space for article). Then, the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105) (i.e. volume per passenger). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U. [0084] The processing by the third boarding/alighting management unit 2047 of the control unit 204 of the server device 200 will be described referring to a flowchart of FIG. 12. Upon the package P/D for the user U, when the time remaining until the scheduled time of the package P/D becomes the predetermined time (YES in step S611 of FIG. 6), the first schedule notification unit 2 a of the first boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the control unit 204 transmits the schedule information related to the P/D to the user device 300A (step S613). Cooperating with this, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a of the third boarding/alighting management unit 2047 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1201), and calculates an amount of free space of the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a calculates the amount of free space of the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1203). The calculation of the amount of free space may include reading the value calculated in step S1103. Then, the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1205). Accordingly, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a discloses the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route, on the predetermined website (step S1207). The passenger capacity disclosed at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity.)
Applicant submits, “...Claim 2 specifically requires the controller to "acquire the predicted number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle further based on information on a number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle in a past," which defines a predictive analytics feature that forecasts future ridership by analyzing historical passenger data patterns. The rejection fragments this limitation by mapping "predicted number" to Suzuki's capacity calculation and separately mapping "in a past" to Belenky's unrelated worker scheduling history. Modifying Suzuki's disclosure of users assessing how crowded a vehicle is with Belenky's general discussion of using past information does not result in the features of claim 2, which requires the apparatus to perform predictive analytics of a number of passengers on the vehicle based on historical passenger data…”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s claims 1 and 2 do not recite or require how to “predict” numbers of passengers with any sort of “predictive analytics feature”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, any calculation to obtain passenger number is “predicting”, thus Suzuki teaches:
acquire the predicted number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle further based on information on a number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle …. (in at least [0081] the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 (i.e. controller) a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D (i.e. predicted number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle further based on information on a number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle), and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U. [0082] the passenger capacity is displayed on the user device 300X of the user X, as well as the items on the screen shown in FIG. 5. The user X can predict a crowded status of the autonomous vehicle 100A by referring to the passenger capacity. Then, when the user X requests the boarding from the user device 300X (YES in step S1109), the second request processing unit 3 b executes a predetermined processing of the boarding request (step S1111).)
Although implied, Suzuki does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Belenky,
… in a past (in at least [0022] in FIG. 2, the input parameters can include rules 206 (e.g., days off, vacation, limits on duty/block time, qualification rules, team rules, etc.), activities 208 (e.g., pairings of crew members, reserves, training, etc.), crew-member factors 210 (e.g., rostering history, qualifications, wages/salaries, pre-assignments, vacation, sleep/wake history, circadian phase, workload, individual differences, etc.), and optimization objectives 212 (e.g., costs, crew bids, robustness of schedule, fatigue, alertness, performance, etc.). [0023] to address a broad range of fatigue related process optimization issues, e.g., maximizing cargo flows through port facilities, optimizing factory floor layouts and materiel flows, managing cost versus quality in telecommunications networks, and optimizing road traffic patterns and flows.)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Suzuki, as taught by Belenky above, with a reasonable expectation of success if arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the teachings of Suzuki with the motivation of, … to optimize the overall logistics and operational scheduling of an organization, military or civilian, including the timing and duration of periods for sleep, so as to minimize fatigue and maximize operational efficiency within the framework of operational constraints and other optimization of objectives…to at least decrease or minimize undesirable operational outcomes (e.g., fatigue, loss, risk of error, accidents, cost of operations, etc.) while staying within the bounds of operational constraints…to address a broad range of fatigue related process optimization issues, e.g., maximizing cargo flows through port facilities, optimizing factory floor layouts and materiel flows, managing cost versus quality in telecommunications networks, and optimizing road traffic patterns and flows.…., as recited in Belenky.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 4-20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 (similarly 20) recite, “An … comprising a controller configured to:
acquire information on a scheduled time for loading an article onto an … vehicle;
acquire a predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle at the scheduled time; and
determine whether the … vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, wherein the … vehicle travels within a predetermined site,
the site has a factory,
the controller is configured to acquire the predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle based on information on the factory,
the controller is configured to transmit a signal to the … vehicle based on the determination of whether the … vehicle has space for the article,
the controller is configured to determine whether the … vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, based on the predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle at the scheduled time, information on volume per passenger on the … vehicle, and information on the size of the article, and
the … and the controller is configured to control the … vehicle based on the determination of whether the … vehicle has space for the article, including directing modification of the … vehicle's operation within the site.”
Analyzing under Step 2A, Prong 1:
The limitations regarding, …acquire information on a scheduled time for loading an article onto an … vehicle; acquire a predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle at the scheduled time; and determine whether the … vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, wherein the … vehicle travels within a predetermined site, the site has a factory, the controller is configured to acquire the predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle based on information on the factory, the controller is configured to transmit a signal to the … vehicle based on the determination of whether the … vehicle has space for the article, the controller is configured to determine whether the … vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, based on the predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle at the scheduled time, information on volume per passenger on the … vehicle, and information on the size of the article, and the … and the controller is configured to control the … vehicle based on the determination of whether the … vehicle has space for the article, including directing modification of the … vehicle's operation within the site…, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, can include a human using their mind and using pen and paper to, … acquire information on a scheduled time for loading an article onto an … vehicle; acquire a predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle at the scheduled time; and determine whether the … vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, wherein the … vehicle travels within a predetermined site, the site has a factory, the controller is configured to acquire the predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle based on information on the factory, the controller is configured to transmit a signal to the … vehicle based on the determination of whether the … vehicle has space for the article, the controller is configured to determine whether the … vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, based on the predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle at the scheduled time, information on volume per passenger on the … vehicle, and information on the size of the article, and the … and the controller is configured to control the … vehicle based on the determination of whether the … vehicle has space for the article, including directing modification of the … vehicle's operation within the site; therefore, the claims are directed to a mental process.
Further, …acquire information on a scheduled time for loading an article onto an … vehicle; acquire a predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle at the scheduled time; and determine whether the … vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, wherein the … vehicle travels within a predetermined site, the site has a factory, the controller is configured to acquire the predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle based on information on the factory, the controller is configured to transmit a signal to the … vehicle based on the determination of whether the … vehicle has space for the article, the controller is configured to determine whether the … vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, based on the predicted number of passengers on the … vehicle at the scheduled time, information on volume per passenger on the … vehicle, and information on the size of the article, and the … and the controller is configured to control the … vehicle based on the determination of whether the … vehicle has space for the article, including directing modification of the … vehicle's operation within the site…, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are scheduling human passengers and loading items on vehicles, therefore it is, commercial interactions and managing interactions between people. Thus, the claims are directed to certain methods of organizing human activity.
Accordingly, the claims are directed to a mental process, certain methods of organizing human activity, and thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
Analyzing under Step 2A, Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A.
In particular, the claims recite the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea identified under Step 2A, Prong 1, such as:
Claim 1, 20: information processing apparatus, autonomous vehicle, autonomous vehicle drives autonomously
Claim 6, 7, 8, 12, 13: terminal apparatus
Claim 17, 18: output apparatus
, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, as an ordered combination, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea, and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components. Further, these additional elements generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment, namely the environment of a computer.
Additionally, with respect to, “acquire …”, “receive…”, “transmit…”, “output…”, these elements do not add a meaningful limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are extra-solution activity, pre and post solution activity - i.e. data gathering – “acquire…”, “receive…”, data output – “transmit…”, “output…”.
Analyzing under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B.
As noted above, the aforementioned additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because, as an order combination, the additional elements are no more than mere instructions to implement the idea using generic computer components (i.e. apply it).
Additionally, as an order combination, the additional elements append the recited abstract idea to well-understood, routine, and conventional activities in the field as individually evinced by the applicant’s own disclosure, as required by the Berkheimer Memo, in at least:
[0014] The information processing apparatus 10, for example, manages operations of the vehicle 20. The information processing apparatus 10 is, for example, a dedicated computer configured to function as a server, a general purpose personal computer, a cloud computing system, or the like.
[0018] The vehicle 20 may be any type of automobile. The vehicle 20 is, for example, a gasoline automobile, a battery electric vehicle (BEV), a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV), a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV), a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV), or the like. The vehicle 20 may be driven by a driver. The driving of the vehicle 20 may be partly automated at any level. The level of automation is, for example, one of level 1 to level 5 according to the classification of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). The vehicle 20 may be a dedicated Mobility as a Service (MaaS) vehicle.
[0019] The terminal apparatuses 30 are used by the users. For example, the users are each in possession of the terminal apparatus 30 and ride on the vehicle 20. Each of the terminal apparatuses 30 is, for example, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a tablet, a personal computer (PC), or the like.
[0020] The output apparatuses 40 are located at the stops on the route that the vehicle 20 circulates. Each of the output apparatuses 40 is, for example, a digital signage or the like.
[0021]<Configuration of Information Processing Apparatus> As illustrated in FIG. 2, the information processing apparatus 10 includes a communication interface 11, a memory 12, and a controller 13.
[0022] The communication interface 11 is configured to include at least one communication module for connection to the network 2. For example, the communication module is a communication module compliant with a standard such as a wired Local Area Network (LAN) or a wireless LAN. However, the communication module is not limited to this. The communication module may be compliant with any communication standard. The communication interface 11 is connectable to the network 2 via a wired LAN or a wireless LAN using the communication module.
[0023] The memory 12 is configured to include at least one semiconductor memory, at least one magnetic memory, at least one optical memory, or a combination of at least two of these. The semiconductor memory is, for example, random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), or the like. The RAM is, for example, static random access memory (SRAM), dynamic random access memory (DRAM), or the like. The ROM is, for example, electrically erasable programmable read only memory (EEPROM) or the like. The memory 12 may function as a main memory, an auxiliary memory, a cache memory, or the like. The memory 12 stores data to be used in operations of the information processing apparatus 10 and data obtained by the operations of the information processing apparatus 10.
[0024] The controller 13 is configured to include at least one processor, at least one dedicated circuit, or a combination thereof. The processor is, for example, a general purpose processor such as a central processing unit (CPU) or a graphics processing unit (GPU), or a dedicated processor that is dedicated to specific processing. The dedicated circuit is, for example, a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or the like. The controller 13 executes processes related to the operations of the information processing apparatus 10 while controlling the components of the information processing apparatus 10.
[0025] The functions of the information processing apparatus 10 may be implemented by executing a processing program according to the present embodiment by a processor corresponding to the controller 13. That is, the functions of the information processing apparatus 10 may be implemented by software. The processing program enables a computer to function as the information processing apparatus 10 by causing the computer to execute the operations of the information processing apparatus 10. That is, the computer functions as the information processing apparatus 10, by executing the operations of the information processing apparatus 10 in accordance with the processing program.
[0026] Some or all of the functions of the information processing apparatus 10 may be realized by a dedicated circuit corresponding to the controller 13. That is, some or all of the functions of the information processing apparatus 10 may be realized by hardware.
[0038]<Configuration of Terminal Apparatus> As illustrated in FIG. 2, each of the terminal apparatuses 30 includes a communication interface 31, a positioner 32, an input interface 33, an output interface 34, a memory 35, and a controller 36.
[0039] The communication interface 31 is configured to include at least one communication module for connection to the network 2. The communication module is, for example, a communication module compliant with a mobile communication standard such as LTE, 4G, or 5G. However, the communication module is not limited to this. The communication module may be compliant with any communication standard.
[0040] The positioner 32 is capable of acquiring positional information on the terminal apparatus 30. The positioner 32 is configured to include at least one receiving module corresponding to a satellite positioning system. The receiving module is, for example, a receiving module corresponding to the GPS. However, the receiving module is not limited to this. The receiving module may be a receiving module corresponding to any satellite positioning system.
[0041] The input interface 33 is capable of accepting an input from the user. The input interface 33 is configured to include at least one interface for input that is capable of accepting an input from the user. The interface for input is, for example, a physical key, a capacitive key, a pointing device, a touch screen integrally provided with a display, a microphone, or the like. However, the interface for input is not limited to this.
[0042] The output interface 34 is capable of outputting data. The output interface 34 is configured to include at least one interface for output that is capable of outputting data. The interface for output is, for example, a display, a speaker, or the like. The display is, for example, an LCD, an organic EL display, or the like. However, the interface for output is not limited to this.
[0043] The memory 35 is configured to include at least one semiconductor memory, at least one magnetic memory, at least one optical memory, or a combination of at least two of these. The semiconductor memory is, for example, RAM, ROM, or the like. The RAM is, for example, SRAM, DRAM, or the like. The ROM is, for example, EEPROM or the like. The memory 35 may function as a main memory, an auxiliary memory, or a cache memory. The memory 35 stores data to be used for operations of the terminal apparatus 30 and data obtained by the operations of the terminal apparatus 30.
[0044] The controller 36 is configured to include at least one processor, at least one dedicated circuit, or a combination thereof. The processor is, for example, a general purpose processor such as a CPU or a GPU, or a dedicated processor that is dedicated to specific processing The dedicated circuit is, for example, an FPGA, an ASIC, or the like. The controller 36 executes processes related to the operations of the terminal apparatus 30 while controlling the components of the terminal apparatus 30.
[0045] The functions of the terminal apparatus 30 are realized by execution of a terminal program according to the present embodiment by a processor corresponding to the controller 36. That is, the functions of the terminal apparatus 30 are realized by software. The terminal program causes a computer to execute the operations of the terminal apparatus 30, thereby causing the computer to function as the terminal apparatus 30. That is, the computer executes the operations of the terminal apparatus 30 in accordance with the terminal program to thereby function as the terminal apparatus 30.
[0046] Some or all of the functions of the terminal apparatus 30 may be realized by a dedicated circuit corresponding to the controller 36. That is, some or all of the functions of the terminal apparatus 30 may be realized by hardware.
[0047] The controller 36 controls the positioner 32 to acquire positional information on the terminal apparatus 30. The controller 36 controls the communication interface 31 to transmit, to the information processing apparatus 10 via the network 2, the acquired positional information on the terminal apparatus 30, together with identification information on the user. The identification information on the user is information capable of uniquely identifying the user. The controller 36 may acquire, at established time intervals, the positional information on the terminal apparatus 30 and transmit the acquired positional information on the terminal apparatus 30, together with the identification information on the user, to the information processing apparatus 10. The time intervals may be set based on an average speed at which the terminal apparatus 30 moves, or the like.
[0048]<Configuration of Output Apparatus> As illustrated in FIG. 2, each of the output apparatuses 40 includes a communication interface 41, an output interface 42, a memory 43, and a controller 44.
[0049] The communication interface 41 is configured to include at least one communication module for connection to the network 2. The communication module is, for example, a communication module compliant with a mobile communication standard such as LTE, 4G, or 5G. However, the communication module is not limited to this. The communication module may be compliant with any communication standard.
[0050] The output interface 42 is capable of outputting data. The output interface 42 is configured to include at least one interface for output that is capable of outputting data. The interface for output is, for example, a display, a speaker, or the like. The display is, for example, an LCD, an organic EL display, or the like. In FIG. 1, the output interface 42 is illustrated as a display. However, the interface for output is not limited to this.
[0051] The memory 43 is configured to include at least one semiconductor memory, at least one magnetic memory, at least one optical memory, or a combination of at least two of these. The semiconductor memory is, for example, RAM, ROM, or the like. The RAM is, for example, SRAM, DRAM, or the like. The ROM is, for example, EEPROM or the like. The memory 43 may function as a main memory, an auxiliary memory, or a cache memory. The memory 43 stores data to be used for operations of the output apparatus 40 and data obtained by the operations of the output apparatus 40.
[0052] The controller 44 is configured to include at least one processor, at least one dedicated circuit, or a combination thereof. The processor is, for example, a general purpose processor such as a CPU or a GPU, or a dedicated processor that is dedicated to specific processing The dedicated circuit is, for example, an FPGA, an ASIC, or the like. The controller 44 executes processing related to the operations of the output apparatus 40 while controlling the components of the output apparatus 40.
[0053] The functions of the output apparatus 40 are realized by execution of an output program according to the present embodiment by a processor corresponding to the controller 44. That is, the functions of the output apparatus 40 are realized by software. The output program causes a computer to execute the operations of the output apparatus 40, thereby causing the computer to function as the output apparatus 40. That is, the computer executes the operations of the output apparatus 40 in accordance with the output program to thereby function as the output apparatus 40.
[0054] Some or all of the functions of the output apparatus 40 may be realized by a dedicated circuit corresponding to the controller 44. That is, some or all of the functions of the output apparatus 40 may be realized by hardware.
[0100] While the present disclosure has been described with reference to the drawings and examples, it should be noted that various modifications and revisions may be implemented by those skilled in the art based on the present disclosure. Accordingly, such modifications and revisions are included within the scope of the present disclosure. For example, functions or the like included in each component, each step, or the like can be rearranged without logical inconsistency, and a plurality of components, steps, or the like can be combined into one or divided.
[0101] For example, when a user heading for the stop 3A or 3B is identified, the controller 13 of the information processing apparatus 10 may control the communication interface 11 to transmit the first or second notification to the terminal apparatus 30 of the user via the network 2. The controller 13 may control the communication interface 11 to receive user schedule information via the network 2 from an external server or the like that manages schedules of users. The controller 13 may identify the user heading for the stop 3A or 3B by analyzing the received user schedule information. In the terminal apparatus 30 of the user heading for the stop 3A or 3B, when the communication interface 31 receives the first or second notification from the information processing apparatus 10 via the network 2, the controller 36 may control the output interface 34 to output the information indicated by the first or second notification. For example, the controller 36 controls the output interface 34 to output the information indicated by the first or second notification as an image on a display of the output interface 34 or as a sound from a speaker of the output interface 34.
[0102] For example, an embodiment in which a general purpose computer functions as the information processing apparatus 10 according to the above embodiment can also be implemented. Specifically, a program in which processes for realizing the functions of the information processing apparatus 10 according to the above embodiment are written may be stored in a memory of a general purpose computer, and the program may be read and executed by a processor. Accordingly, the present disclosure can also be implemented as a program executable by a processor, or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing the program.
Furthermore, as an ordered combination, these elements amount to generic computer components receiving or transmitting data over a network, performing repetitive calculations, electronic record keeping, and storing and retrieving information in memory, which, as held by the courts, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Moreover, the remaining elements of dependent claims do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these remaining elements merely recite further abstract limitations that provide nothing more than simply a narrowing of the abstract idea recited in the independent claims.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use a generic arrangement of generic computer components to “apply” the recited abstract idea, perform insignificant extra-solution activity, and generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1, 2, 4-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 20, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US Patent Publication to US20200327460A1 to Suzuki et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Suzuki”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20090132332A1 to Belenky et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Belenky”)
As per Claim 1, Suzuki teaches: (Currently Amended) An information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to: ([0091])
acquire information on a scheduled time for loading an article onto an autonomous vehicle; (in at least [0081] The processing by the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 of the control unit 204 of the server device 200 will be described referring to a flowchart of FIG. 11. Upon the package P/D for the user U, when the time remaining until the scheduled time of the package P/D becomes the predetermined time (YES in step S611 of FIG. 6), the schedule notification unit 2 a of the first boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the control unit 204 transmits the schedule information related to the P/D to the user device 300A held by the user U (step S613). Cooperating with this, the second schedule notification unit 3 a of the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1101), and calculates an amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A.)
acquire a predicted number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle at the scheduled time; and (in at least [0081] the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U. [0082] the passenger capacity is displayed on the user device 300X of the user X, as well as the items on the screen shown in FIG. 5. The user X can predict a crowded status of the autonomous vehicle 100A by referring to the passenger capacity. Then, when the user X requests the boarding from the user device 300X (YES in step S1109), the second request processing unit 3 b executes a predetermined processing of the boarding request (step S1111).)
determine whether the autonomous vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, wherein (in at least [0053] The vehicle management unit 2042 manages information from the plurality of autonomous vehicles 100 that are under management. In particular, information such as data related to the autonomous vehicle 100 is received from the plurality of autonomous vehicles 100 via the information acquisition unit 2041 and is stored in a vehicle information database 2061 of the storage unit 206 at predetermined intervals. The location information and the vehicle information are used as information on the autonomous vehicle 100. Examples of the vehicle information include, but are not limited to, identifier, usage/type, information on a standby point (garage or sales office), door type, vehicle body size, luggage compartment size, loading capacity, travel distance remaining when fully charged, travel distance remaining at present, current status, and the like, of the autonomous vehicle 100. [0081] the second schedule notification unit 3 a calculates the amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1103).)
the autonomous vehicle travels within a predetermined site, (in at least [0082] When the boarding point (that is, the second location) for the boarding request of the user X is within the third predetermined range, that is, the range sandwiched between the boundaries B1 and B2, for example, a bus stop BS2 among two bus stops BS1 and BS2 along the P/D route R shown in FIG. 10, boarding conditions of the boarding request are satisfied. In addition, the alighting point (that is, the third location) of the boarding conditions of the user X is also within the third predetermined range, that is, the range sandwiched between the boundaries B1 and B2.)
…,
the controller is configured to acquire the predicted number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle based on …, (in at least [0081] the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U. [0082] the passenger capacity is displayed on the user device 300X of the user X, as well as the items on the screen shown in FIG. 5. The user X can predict a crowded status of the autonomous vehicle 100A by referring to the passenger capacity. Then, when the user X requests the boarding from the user device 300X (YES in step S1109), the second request processing unit 3 b executes a predetermined processing of the boarding request (step S1111).)
the controller is configured to transmit a signal to the autonomous vehicle based on the determination of whether the autonomous vehicle has space for the article, (in at least [0066] confirming whether or not the predetermined autonomous vehicle 100A associated with the schedule information has a free space for the user U, and a process of determining whether or not it is possible to temporally, or in relation with another P/D, correct or modify the route such that the user U boards the vehicle at the boarding point. [0081] Cooperating with this, the second schedule notification unit 3 a of the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1101), and calculates an amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the second schedule notification unit 3 a calculates the amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1103).)
the controller is configured to determine whether the autonomous vehicle has space for the article at the scheduled time, based on the predicted number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle at the scheduled time, information on volume per passenger on the autonomous vehicle, and information on the size of the article, and (in at least [0054] generating the schedule includes determining a suitable vehicle for package P/D. For example, a suitable vehicle may be determined based on the size of the package related to P/D, a location of the P/D destination, and P/D date and time. [0061] “pick-up” is selected by the P/D button 3101, the user's demand is input in a P/D request column 3102. The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages (i.e. volume per passenger from previous user entering pick up request), and whether or not the user wants to board. [0066] confirming whether or not the predetermined autonomous vehicle 100A associated with the schedule information has a free space for the user U, and a process of determining whether or not it is possible to temporally, or in relation with another P/D, correct or modify the route such that the user U boards the vehicle at the boarding point. [0081] The processing by the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 of the control unit 204 of the server device 200 will be described referring to a flowchart of FIG. 11. Upon the package P/D for the user U, when the time remaining until the scheduled time of the package P/D becomes the predetermined time (YES in step S611 of FIG. 6), the schedule notification unit 2 a of the first boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the control unit 204 transmits the schedule information related to the P/D to the user device 300A held by the user U (step S613). Cooperating with this, the second schedule notification unit 3 a of the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1101), and calculates an amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the second schedule notification unit 3 a calculates the amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1103) (i.e. space for article). Then, the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105) (i.e. volume per passenger). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U. [0082] the passenger capacity is displayed on the user device 300X of the user X, as well as the items on the screen shown in FIG. 5. The user X can predict a crowded status of the autonomous vehicle 100A by referring to the passenger capacity. [0084] The processing by the third boarding/alighting management unit 2047 of the control unit 204 of the server device 200 will be described referring to a flowchart of FIG. 12. Upon the package P/D for the user U, when the time remaining until the scheduled time of the package P/D becomes the predetermined time (YES in step S611 of FIG. 6), the first schedule notification unit 2 a of the first boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the control unit 204 transmits the schedule information related to the P/D to the user device 300A (step S613). Cooperating with this, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a of the third boarding/alighting management unit 2047 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1201), and calculates an amount of free space of the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a calculates the amount of free space of the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1203) (i.e. space for article). The calculation of the amount of free space may include reading the value calculated in step S1103. Then, the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1205) (i.e. predicted number of passengers). Accordingly, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a discloses the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route, on the predetermined website (step S1207). The passenger capacity disclosed at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity.)
the autonomous vehicle drives autonomously and the controller is configured to control the autonomous vehicle based on the determination of whether the autonomous vehicle has space for the article, including directing modification of the autonomous vehicle's operation within the site. (in at least [0026][0061] the user U touches a P/D button 3101 on the display unit 308 to select “pick-up” from among “pick-up” and “delivery.” In FIG. 5, “pick-up” is selected. As “pick-up” is selected by the P/D button 3101, the user's demand is input in a P/D request column 3102. The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages, and whether or not the user wants to board. [0066] The request processing unit 2 b of the boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the server device 200 receives the information on the user U's boarding request via the information acquisition unit 2041 (YES in step S615), and performs a predetermined processing on the boarding request (step S617). Examples of the predetermined processing include a process of confirming whether or not the predetermined autonomous vehicle 100A associated with the schedule information has a free space for the user U, and a process of determining whether or not it is possible to temporally, or in relation with another P/D, correct or modify the route such that the user U boards the vehicle at the boarding point. [0081] The processing by the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 of the control unit 204 of the server device 200 will be described referring to a flowchart of FIG. 11. Upon the package P/D for the user U, when the time remaining until the scheduled time of the package P/D becomes the predetermined time (YES in step S611 of FIG. 6), the schedule notification unit 2 a of the first boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the control unit 204 transmits the schedule information related to the P/D to the user device 300A held by the user U (step S613). Cooperating with this, the second schedule notification unit 3 a of the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1101), and calculates an amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the second schedule notification unit 3 a calculates the amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1103) (i.e. space for article). Then, the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105) (i.e. volume per passenger). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U. [0084] The processing by the third boarding/alighting management unit 2047 of the control unit 204 of the server device 200 will be described referring to a flowchart of FIG. 12. Upon the package P/D for the user U, when the time remaining until the scheduled time of the package P/D becomes the predetermined time (YES in step S611 of FIG. 6), the first schedule notification unit 2 a of the first boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the control unit 204 transmits the schedule information related to the P/D to the user device 300A (step S613). Cooperating with this, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a of the third boarding/alighting management unit 2047 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1201), and calculates an amount of free space of the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a calculates the amount of free space of the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1203). The calculation of the amount of free space may include reading the value calculated in step S1103. Then, the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1205). Accordingly, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a discloses the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route, on the predetermined website (step S1207). The passenger capacity disclosed at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity.)
Although implied, Suzuki does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Belenky,
the site has a factory, (in at least [0022] in FIG. 2, the input parameters can include rules 206 (e.g., days off, vacation, limits on duty/block time, qualification rules, team rules, etc.), activities 208 (e.g., pairings of crew members, reserves, training, etc.), crew-member factors 210 (e.g., rostering history, qualifications, wages/salaries, pre-assignments, vacation, sleep/wake history, circadian phase, workload, individual differences, etc.), and optimization objectives 212 (e.g., costs, crew bids, robustness of schedule, fatigue, alertness, performance, etc.). [0023] to address a broad range of fatigue related process optimization issues, e.g., maximizing cargo flows through port facilities, optimizing factory floor layouts and materiel flows, managing cost versus quality in telecommunications networks, and optimizing road traffic patterns and flows.)
… based on information on the factory, (in at least [0022] in FIG. 2, the input parameters can include rules 206 (e.g., days off, vacation, limits on duty/block time, qualification rules, team rules, etc.), activities 208 (e.g., pairings of crew members, reserves, training, etc.), crew-member factors 210 (e.g., rostering history, qualifications, wages/salaries, pre-assignments, vacation, sleep/wake history, circadian phase, workload, individual differences, etc.), and optimization objectives 212 (e.g., costs, crew bids, robustness of schedule, fatigue, alertness, performance, etc.). [0023] to address a broad range of fatigue related process optimization issues, e.g., maximizing cargo flows through port facilities, optimizing factory floor layouts and materiel flows, managing cost versus quality in telecommunications networks, and optimizing road traffic patterns and flows.)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Suzuki, as taught by Belenky above, with a reasonable expectation of success if arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the teachings of Suzuki with the motivation of, … to optimize the overall logistics and operational scheduling of an organization, military or civilian, including the timing and duration of periods for sleep, so as to minimize fatigue and maximize operational efficiency within the framework of operational constraints and other optimization of objectives…to at least decrease or minimize undesirable operational outcomes (e.g., fatigue, loss, risk of error, accidents, cost of operations, etc.) while staying within the bounds of operational constraints…to address a broad range of fatigue related process optimization issues, e.g., maximizing cargo flows through port facilities, optimizing factory floor layouts and materiel flows, managing cost versus quality in telecommunications networks, and optimizing road traffic patterns and flows.…., as recited in Belenky.
As per Claim 2, Suzuki teaches: (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to
acquire the predicted number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle further based on information on a number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle …. (in at least [0081] the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 (i.e. controller) a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D (i.e. predicted number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle further based on information on a number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle), and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U. [0082] the passenger capacity is displayed on the user device 300X of the user X, as well as the items on the screen shown in FIG. 5. The user X can predict a crowded status of the autonomous vehicle 100A by referring to the passenger capacity. Then, when the user X requests the boarding from the user device 300X (YES in step S1109), the second request processing unit 3 b executes a predetermined processing of the boarding request (step S1111).)
Although implied, Suzuki does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Belenky,
… in a past (in at least [0022] in FIG. 2, the input parameters can include rules 206 (e.g., days off, vacation, limits on duty/block time, qualification rules, team rules, etc.), activities 208 (e.g., pairings of crew members, reserves, training, etc.), crew-member factors 210 (e.g., rostering history, qualifications, wages/salaries, pre-assignments, vacation, sleep/wake history, circadian phase, workload, individual differences, etc.), and optimization objectives 212 (e.g., costs, crew bids, robustness of schedule, fatigue, alertness, performance, etc.). [0023] to address a broad range of fatigue related process optimization issues, e.g., maximizing cargo flows through port facilities, optimizing factory floor layouts and materiel flows, managing cost versus quality in telecommunications networks, and optimizing road traffic patterns and flows.)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki and Belenky is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 4, Suzuki teaches: (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
the controller is configured to acquire the predicted number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle further based on …. (in at least [0081] the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U. [0082] the passenger capacity is displayed on the user device 300X of the user X, as well as the items on the screen shown in FIG. 5. The user X can predict a crowded status of the autonomous vehicle 100A by referring to the passenger capacity. Then, when the user X requests the boarding from the user device 300X (YES in step S1109), the second request processing unit 3 b executes a predetermined processing of the boarding request (step S1111).)
Although implied, Suzuki does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Belenky,
… based on attendance information on workers in the factory (in at least [0022] in FIG. 2, the input parameters can include rules 206 (e.g., days off, vacation, limits on duty/block time, qualification rules, team rules, etc.), activities 208 (e.g., pairings of crew members, reserves, training, etc.), crew-member factors 210 (e.g., rostering history, qualifications, wages/salaries, pre-assignments, vacation, sleep/wake history, circadian phase, workload, individual differences, etc.), and optimization objectives 212 (e.g., costs, crew bids, robustness of schedule, fatigue, alertness, performance, etc.). [0023] to address a broad range of fatigue related process optimization issues, e.g., maximizing cargo flows through port facilities, optimizing factory floor layouts and materiel flows, managing cost versus quality in telecommunications networks, and optimizing road traffic patterns and flows.)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki and Belenky is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 22, Suzuki teaches: (New) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
…
the controller is configured to acquire the predicted number of passengers by correlating the … times with expected passenger demand patterns at the scheduled time. (in at least [0061] In FIG. 5, “pick-up” is selected. As “pick-up” is selected by the P/D button 3101, the user's demand is input in a P/D request column 3102. The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages, and whether or not the user wants to board. When a SEND button 3104 is pressed after “pick-up” is selected and the user's demand is input, information on a “pick-up” request is transmitted to the server device 200 as the P/D request. [0081] Cooperating with this, the second schedule notification unit 3 a of the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1101), and calculates an amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the second schedule notification unit 3 a calculates the amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1103). Then, the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U (i.e. predicted number of passengers). [0082] the passenger capacity is displayed on the user device 300X of the user X, as well as the items on the screen shown in FIG. 5. The user X can predict a crowded status of the autonomous vehicle 100A by referring to the passenger capacity. Then, when the user X requests the boarding from the user device 300X (YES in step S1109) (i.e. expected passenger demand patterns at the scheduled time), the second request processing unit 3 b executes a predetermined processing of the boarding request (step S1111). [0084] The processing by the third boarding/alighting management unit 2047 of the control unit 204 of the server device 200 will be described referring to a flowchart of FIG. 12. Upon the package P/D for the user U, when the time remaining until the scheduled time of the package P/D becomes the predetermined time (YES in step S611 of FIG. 6), the first schedule notification unit 2 a of the first boarding/alighting management unit 2044 of the control unit 204 transmits the schedule information related to the P/D to the user device 300A (step S613). Cooperating with this, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a of the third boarding/alighting management unit 2047 receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1201), and calculates an amount of free space of the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a calculates the amount of free space of the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1203). The calculation of the amount of free space may include reading the value calculated in step S1103. Then, the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1205). Accordingly, the third schedule disclosure unit 4 a discloses the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route, on the predetermined website (step S1207). The passenger capacity disclosed at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity.)
Although implied, Suzuki does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Belenky,
… wherein the information on the factory comprises production line start times and end times for different types of production lines …(in at least [0022] in FIG. 2, the input parameters can include rules 206 (e.g., days off, vacation, limits on duty/block time, qualification rules, team rules, etc.), activities 208 (e.g., pairings of crew members, reserves, training, etc.), crew-member factors 210 (e.g., rostering history, qualifications, wages/salaries, pre-assignments, vacation, sleep/wake history, circadian phase, workload, individual differences, etc.), and optimization objectives 212 (e.g., costs, crew bids, robustness of schedule, fatigue, alertness, performance, etc.). [0023] to address a broad range of fatigue related process optimization issues, e.g., maximizing cargo flows through port facilities, optimizing factory floor layouts and materiel flows, managing cost versus quality in telecommunications networks, and optimizing road traffic patterns and flows. [0071] The search process 306 can then include a decision block 316 to determine whether the fatigue level of the current roster is lower than that of a previous roster. If yes, the current roster and the corresponding fatigue level are held in a buffer (block 318); otherwise, the search process continues to another decision block 320 to determine if the search process 306 should continue. [0037] The first input file contains the shift schedule, in this case in the form of start and stop times of each shift expressed in cumulative clock time (where, e.g., 23 stands for 11 pm, 24 stands for 12 am the next day, 25 stands for 1 am the next day, and so on). An example involving seven work shifts in a 36-hour period is illustrated, that is, the first input file contains the following 7 shifts (in hours of cumulative clock time): [0054] The number in the top rows of each of the four-row blocks indicates cumulative clock time in hours. The second four-row block is continued from the first. The three rows below the top rows in each four-row block indicate the seven shifts (shown in grey), numbered from 1 to 7 from their order in the first input file. The vertical lines mark the passing hours. Note that the various shifts are partially overlapping making it a non-trivial problem to assign individuals to these shifts.(i.e. production lines))
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki and Belenky is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 20 for a method (see at least Suzuki [0020]), respectively, substantially recite the subject matter of Claim 1 and are rejected based on the same reasoning and rationale.
Claims 5-9, 11, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US Patent Publication to US20200327460A1 to Suzuki et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Suzuki”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20090132332A1 to Belenky et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Belenky”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20140278851A1 to Kopanati, (hereinafter referred to as “Kopanati”)
As per Claim 5, Suzuki teaches: (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to:
identify users riding on the autonomous vehicle at a set time before the scheduled time; and (in at least [0077] manages boarding and alighting of users other than the user U, who is the first user and related to the P/D. In particular, the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 manages a user X having a registration destination within a predetermined range around the P/D destination (hereinafter “second predetermined range”), and who may board and alight the autonomous vehicle 100A related to the P/D. Moreover, the user X may be one or more people. The user information database 2063 of the storage unit 206 includes not only user IDs of the users, but also desired destination of boarding/alighting, registered by each user. [0081] the number of people who can board the autonomous vehicle 100A is set in accordance with the free space (step S1105). Accordingly, the schedule notification unit 3 a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U.)
determine, from among the identified users riding on the autonomous vehicle, a first user who is scheduled to load the article onto the autonomous vehicle and a .. user … scheduled to unload the article from the autonomous vehicle. (in at least [0038] The P/D information may include information on dimensions of the packages related to P/D, P/D destination, scheduled time of package P/D, P/D route, and/or scheduled passing time of the P/D route. The boarding information may include user information (for example, user ID), and information on locations where the user boards and/or alights the vehicle [0061] FIG. 5 is one example of a screen of the display unit 308 of the user device 300A when the application 3061 is executed. The display unit 308 also corresponds to the operation unit 310 as a touch panel. The user U wants “pick-up” as the package P/D herein, thus the user U touches a P/D button 3101 on the display unit 308 to select “pick-up” from among “pick-up” and “delivery.” In FIG. 5, “pick-up” is selected. As “pick-up” is selected by the P/D button 3101, the user's demand is input in a P/D request column 3102. The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages, and whether or not the user wants to board. When a SEND button 3104 is pressed after “pick-up” is selected and the user's demand is input, information on a “pick-up” request is transmitted to the server device 200 as the P/D request. This information includes the information “user 1 registered”, which is a registration destination of the user U, as the P/D destination, and also includes the user information such as a terminal ID of the user device 300A, that is, a user ID. [0070] the same applies to a case of delivering the package. In a case of delivering the package, the user U is a user who receives the package. Also at this time, the user U boards the vehicle while the autonomous vehicle 100A travels to the P/D destination, and the autonomous vehicle 100A transports the user U to the P/D destination)
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Kopanati,
…second user who is scheduled to unload the article from the autonomous vehicle (in at least [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808.)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Suzuki in view of Belenky, as taught by Kopanati above, with a reasonable expectation of success if arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the teachings of Suzuki in view of Belenky with the motivation of, … facilitates a cost-effective and convenient way for delivery of package shipments.…., as recited in Kopanati.
As per Claim 6, Suzuki teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, further comprising a communication interface, wherein the controller is configured to:
select, from among the identified users riding on the autonomous vehicle, a first user candidate being a candidate for the first user and a … user …; (in at least [0061] The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages, and whether or not the user wants to board. When a SEND button 3104 is pressed after “pick-up” is selected and the user's demand is input, information on a “pick-up” request is transmitted to the server device 200 as the P/D request. This information includes the information “user 1 registered”, which is a registration destination of the user U, as the P/D destination, and also includes the user information such as a terminal ID of the user device 300A, that is, a user ID.)
control the communication interface to transmit, to a terminal apparatus of the first user candidate, a first request notification indicating a request to load the article onto the autonomous vehicle; (in at least [0061] FIG. 5 is one example of a screen of the display unit 308 of the user device 300A when the application 3061 is executed. The display unit 308 also corresponds to the operation unit 310 as a touch panel. The user U wants “pick-up” as the package P/D herein, thus the user U touches a P/D button 3101 on the display unit 308 to select “pick-up” from among “pick-up” and “delivery.” In FIG. 5, “pick-up” is selected. As “pick-up” is selected by the P/D button 3101, the user's demand is input in a P/D request column 3102. The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages, and whether or not the user wants to board. When a SEND button 3104 is pressed after “pick-up” is selected and the user's demand is input, information on a “pick-up” request is transmitted to the server device 200 as the P/D request. This information includes the information “user 1 registered”, which is a registration destination of the user U, as the P/D destination, and also includes the user information such as a terminal ID of the user device 300A, that is, a user ID.)
control the communication interface to transmit, to a terminal apparatus of the … to unload the article from the autonomous vehicle; (in at least [0061] FIG. 5 is one example of a screen of the display unit 308 of the user device 300A when the application 3061 is executed. The display unit 308 also corresponds to the operation unit 310 as a touch panel. The user U wants “pick-up” as the package P/D herein, thus the user U touches a P/D button 3101 on the display unit 308 to select “pick-up” from among “pick-up” and “delivery.” In FIG. 5, “pick-up” is selected. As “pick-up” is selected by the P/D button 3101, the user's demand is input in a P/D request column 3102. The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages, and whether or not the user wants to board. When a SEND button 3104 is pressed after “pick-up” is selected and the user's demand is input, information on a “pick-up” request is transmitted to the server device 200 as the P/D request. This information includes the information “user 1 registered”, which is a registration destination of the user U, as the P/D destination, and also includes the user information such as a terminal ID of the user device 300A, that is, a user ID.)
determine the first user candidate as the first user when the communication interface receives, … the terminal apparatus of the first user candidate, a signal to accept the request; and (in at least [0062] At this time, the P/D display 3105 on the display unit 308 of the user device 300A changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.” On the other hand, when the P/D can be accepted (YES in step S605), a notification that the P/D is “accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300A (step S609).)
determine the … when the communication interface receives, … the terminal apparatus of the … user candidate, a signal to accept the request. (in at least [0062] At this time, the P/D display 3105 on the display unit 308 of the user device 300A changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.” On the other hand, when the P/D can be accepted (YES in step S605), a notification that the P/D is “accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300A (step S609).)
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Kopanati,
… a second user candidate being a candidate for the second user (in at least [0092] the trust network creation module 232 enables the trusted traveler to create the trusted social network, add new trusted shippers to his trusted social network. The trust network management module 234 is configured to update, delete and manage profile of the trusted traveler and the trusted shipper. [0163] FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating search interface 1300 in accordance with an embodiment. Typically, the search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to provide one or more values for search parameters and retrieve results. The search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to find trips having a specific origin city, destination city, start date, end date, weight, price, etc. Typically, the trusted shipper can input the one or more values in any of a From City box 1302, a To City box 1304, a Start Date box 1306, a Delivery Date box 1308, a Weight box 1310, and a Price box 1312. Once the user has provided the one or more values he may select the Search button 1314 to view search results. [0114] FIG. 14 is a block diagram illustrating user interface 1400 for a package shipment request, in accordance with an embodiment. The user interface 1400 may display one or more results. Typically, for each trip displayed as one or more results, the user interface 1400 displays start date, delivery date, start city, end city, unique id of the trusted traveler in the trusted social network platform 110, maximum weight that a trusted traveler is willing to carry, price etc.)
… to a terminal apparatus of the second user candidate, a second request notification indicating a request to unload the article from the autonomous vehicle (in at least [0092] the trust network creation module 232 enables the trusted traveler to create the trusted social network, add new trusted shippers to his trusted social network. The trust network management module 234 is configured to update, delete and manage profile of the trusted traveler and the trusted shipper. [0114] FIG. 14 is a block diagram illustrating user interface 1400 for a package shipment request, in accordance with an embodiment. The user interface 1400 may display one or more results. Typically, for each trip displayed as one or more results, the user interface 1400 displays start date, delivery date, start city, end city, unique id of the trusted traveler in the trusted social network platform 110, maximum weight that a trusted traveler is willing to carry, price etc. [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808.)
… from the terminal apparatus of the first user candidate, a signal to accept the request (in at least [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808)
…the second user candidate as the second user when the communication interface receives, from the terminal apparatus of the second user candidate, a signal to accept the request (in at least [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky and Kopanati is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 7, Suzuki teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 6,
wherein when the communication interface receives, … the terminal apparatus of the first user candidate, a signal to decline the request, (in at least [0062] It is determined whether or not the schedule information has been generated, that is, whether or not the P/D can be accepted (step S605). When the schedule information cannot be generated, for example, when an autonomous vehicle suitable for P/D cannot be determined, the P/D cannot be accepted (NO in step S605). Thus a notification that the P/D is “not accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300A (step S607). At this time, the P/D display 3105 on the display unit 308 of the user device 300A changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.”)
….
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Kopanati,
…from the terminal apparatus of the first user candidate, a signal to decline the request (in at least [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808)
…the controller selects a new first user candidate and controls the communication interface to transmit the first request notification to a terminal apparatus of the selected new first user candidate (in at least [0092] the trust network creation module 232 enables the trusted traveler to create the trusted social network, add new trusted shippers to his trusted social network. The trust network management module 234 is configured to update, delete and manage profile of the trusted traveler and the trusted shipper. [0163] FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating search interface 1300 in accordance with an embodiment. Typically, the search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to provide one or more values for search parameters and retrieve results. The search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to find trips having a specific origin city, destination city, start date, end date, weight, price, etc. Typically, the trusted shipper can input the one or more values in any of a From City box 1302, a To City box 1304, a Start Date box 1306, a Delivery Date box 1308, a Weight box 1310, and a Price box 1312. Once the user has provided the one or more values he may select the Search button 1314 to view search results. For example, the search interface 1300 may enable the trusted shipper to find trips that originate in Sunnyvale, Calif. The trusted shipper may input this into the From City box 1302 select Search button 1314. This will result in retrieving all trips originating from Sunnyvale, Calif. In an embodiment, the search interface 1300 may return approximate match for an input parameter such as start city, end city, start date, delivery date, weight, price, etc. [0114] FIG. 14 is a block diagram illustrating user interface 1400 for a package shipment request, in accordance with an embodiment. The user interface 1400 may display one or more results. Typically, for each trip displayed as one or more results, the user interface 1400 displays start date, delivery date, start city, end city, unique id of the trusted traveler in the trusted social network platform 110, maximum weight that a trusted traveler is willing to carry, price etc. [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky and Kopanati is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 8, Suzuki teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 6,
wherein when the communication interface receives, … the terminal apparatus of the … user candidate, a signal to decline the request, (in at least [0062] It is determined whether or not the schedule information has been generated, that is, whether or not the P/D can be accepted (step S605). When the schedule information cannot be generated, for example, when an autonomous vehicle suitable for P/D cannot be determined, the P/D cannot be accepted (NO in step S605). Thus a notification that the P/D is “not accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300A (step S607). At this time, the P/D display 3105 on the display unit 308 of the user device 300A changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.”)
….
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Kopanati,
from the terminal apparatus of the second user candidate, a signal to decline the request (in at least [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808)
the controller selects a new second user candidate and controls the communication interface to transmit the second request notification to a terminal apparatus of the selected new second user candidate. (in at least [0092] the trust network creation module 232 enables the trusted traveler to create the trusted social network, add new trusted shippers to his trusted social network. The trust network management module 234 is configured to update, delete and manage profile of the trusted traveler and the trusted shipper. [0163] FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating search interface 1300 in accordance with an embodiment. Typically, the search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to provide one or more values for search parameters and retrieve results. The search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to find trips having a specific origin city, destination city, start date, end date, weight, price, etc. Typically, the trusted shipper can input the one or more values in any of a From City box 1302, a To City box 1304, a Start Date box 1306, a Delivery Date box 1308, a Weight box 1310, and a Price box 1312. Once the user has provided the one or more values he may select the Search button 1314 to view search results. For example, the search interface 1300 may enable the trusted shipper to find trips that originate in Sunnyvale, Calif. The trusted shipper may input this into the From City box 1302 select Search button 1314. This will result in retrieving all trips originating from Sunnyvale, Calif. In an embodiment, the search interface 1300 may return approximate match for an input parameter such as start city, end city, start date, delivery date, weight, price, etc. [0114] FIG. 14 is a block diagram illustrating user interface 1400 for a package shipment request, in accordance with an embodiment. The user interface 1400 may display one or more results. Typically, for each trip displayed as one or more results, the user interface 1400 displays start date, delivery date, start city, end city, unique id of the trusted traveler in the trusted social network platform 110, maximum weight that a trusted traveler is willing to carry, price etc. [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky and Kopanati is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 9, Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Kopanati, The information processing apparatus according to claim 6,
wherein the controller is configured to select the first and second user candidates based on a weight of the article and ages of the users. (in at least [0125] The profile score (PS) is based on the personal profile of the trusted traveler or the trusted shipper. The personal profile includes factors such as gender, age, city of residence, recommendations etc. [0163] The search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to find trips having a specific origin city, destination city, start date, end date, weight, price, etc. Typically, the trusted shipper can input the one or more values in any of a From City box 1302, a To City box 1304, a Start Date box 1306, a Delivery Date box 1308, a Weight box 1310, and a Price box 1312. Once the user has provided the one or more values he may select the Search button 1314 to view search results. For example, the search interface 1300 may enable the trusted shipper to find trips that originate in Sunnyvale, Calif. The trusted shipper may input this into the From City box 1302 select Search button 1314. This will result in retrieving all trips originating from Sunnyvale, Calif. In an embodiment, the search interface 1300 may return approximate match for an input parameter such as start city, end city, start date, delivery date, weight, price, etc.)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky and Kopanati is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 10, Although implied, Suzuki does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Belenky, The information processing apparatus according to claim 6,
wherein the controller is configured to select the first and second user candidates … and fatigue levels of the users (in at least [0022] in FIG. 2, the input parameters can include rules 206 (e.g., days off, vacation, limits on duty/block time, qualification rules, team rules, etc.), activities 208 (e.g., pairings of crew members, reserves, training, etc.), crew-member factors 210 (e.g., rostering history, qualifications, wages/salaries, pre-assignments, vacation, sleep/wake history, circadian phase, workload, individual differences, etc.), and optimization objectives 212 (e.g., costs, crew bids, robustness of schedule, fatigue, alertness, performance, etc.). [0023] to address a broad range of fatigue related process optimization issues, e.g., maximizing cargo flows through port facilities, optimizing factory floor layouts and materiel flows, managing cost versus quality in telecommunications networks, and optimizing road traffic patterns and flows.)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki and Belenky is the same as recited above.
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Kopanati,
wherein the controller is configured to select the first and second user candidates based on a weight of the article and … of the users. (in at least [0092] the trust network creation module 232 enables the trusted traveler to create the trusted social network, add new trusted shippers to his trusted social network. The trust network management module 234 is configured to update, delete and manage profile of the trusted traveler and the trusted shipper. [0163] FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating search interface 1300 in accordance with an embodiment. Typically, the search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to provide one or more values for search parameters and retrieve results. The search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to find trips having a specific origin city, destination city, start date, end date, weight, price, etc. Typically, the trusted shipper can input the one or more values in any of a From City box 1302, a To City box 1304, a Start Date box 1306, a Delivery Date box 1308, a Weight box 1310, and a Price box 1312. Once the user has provided the one or more values he may select the Search button 1314 to view search results. For example, the search interface 1300 may enable the trusted shipper to find trips that originate in Sunnyvale, Calif. The trusted shipper may input this into the From City box 1302 select Search button 1314. This will result in retrieving all trips originating from Sunnyvale, Calif. In an embodiment, the search interface 1300 may return approximate match for an input parameter such as start city, end city, start date, delivery date, weight, price, etc. [0114] FIG. 14 is a block diagram illustrating user interface 1400 for a package shipment request, in accordance with an embodiment. The user interface 1400 may display one or more results. Typically, for each trip displayed as one or more results, the user interface 1400 displays start date, delivery date, start city, end city, unique id of the trusted traveler in the trusted social network platform 110, maximum weight that a trusted traveler is willing to carry, price etc.)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky and Kopanati is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 11, Suzuki teaches: (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 5,
wherein when it is determined that the autonomous vehicle does not have the space for the article at the scheduled time, (in at least [0062] the schedule information cannot be generated, for example, when an autonomous vehicle suitable for P/D cannot be determined, the P/D cannot be accepted (NO in step S605). Thus a notification that the P/D is “not accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300A (step S607). At this time, the P/D display 3105 on the display unit 308 of the user device 300A changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.” [0066] the schedule information has a free space for the user U, and a process of determining whether or not it is possible to temporally, or in relation with another P/D, correct or modify the route such that the user U boards the vehicle at the boarding point. As a result of the predetermined processing, when it is not determined that the user U can board the vehicle, the boarding is not accepted (NO in step S619). Thus a notification that the boarding is “not accepted” is transmitted to the server device 200 (step S621). [0081] receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1101), and calculates an amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the second schedule notification unit 3 a calculates the amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1103).)
the controller determines, from among the identified users riding on the autonomous vehicle other than the first and second users, a third user who is scheduled to get off the autonomous vehicle before the autonomous vehicle arrives at a first stop, and (in at least [0062] a P/D route R as one example where the user device 300A is located at the P/D destination. The P/D route R is generated in accordance with a predetermined program, and is defined herein as a route from the P/D center C to the P/D destination, as shown by a solid line in FIG. 1. There is an ABC station ST that the user U uses daily at a location slightly deviated from the P/D route R, within a predetermined range (hereinafter “first predetermined range”) around the P/D route R. [0077] The second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 manages boarding and alighting of users other than the user U, who is the first user and related to the P/D. In particular, the second boarding/alighting management unit 2046 manages a user X having a registration destination within a predetermined range around the P/D destination (hereinafter “second predetermined range”), and who may board and alight the autonomous vehicle 100A related to the P/D. Moreover, the user X may be one or more people. The user information database 2063 of the storage unit 206 includes not only user IDs of the users, but also desired destination of boarding/alighting, registered by each user. The second schedule notification unit 3 a extracts a user having the registration destination within the second predetermined range around the P/D destination as the user X, and notifies the user device 300 (terminal of the user X) of the P/D route and the scheduled passing time of such a route. Moreover, the user X corresponds to a second user. The second request processing unit 3 b receives the boarding request that the user X wants to board the vehicle at a location (hereinafter “second location”) on the P/D route or within a predetermined range (hereinafter “third predetermined range”) around the P/D route, from the user device 300 held by the user X, and executes a predetermined processing as in a case of the user U. [0078] The second location may be limited to within the P/D route R. This is because it is preferable that the user X boards, and preferably also alights, the vehicle, without impairing the efficiency of the P/D for the user U. FIG. 10 illustrates a user device 300X as the user device 300 as the terminal of the user X. [0079] The third request processing unit 4 b receives the boarding request that a user Y wants to board the vehicle at a location (hereinafter “fourth location”) on the P/D route R or within a predetermined range (hereinafter “fourth predetermined range”) around the P/D route R, from the user Y who accesses the predetermined website, and executes the predetermined processing as stated above. Moreover, the user Y corresponds to a third user. When the boarding of the user Y can be accepted, the third association unit 4 c transmits the boarding information of the user U to the command generation unit 1 b of the P/D management unit 2043, and associates it with the schedule information generated by the schedule generation unit 1 a. Consequently, the service command including the boarding information of the user Y is generated and transmitted to the autonomous vehicle 100A. [0080] The fourth predetermined range including the fourth location is preferably a range that is not greatly deviated from the P/D route R, similar to the third predetermined range, which is herein a range sandwiched between the boundaries B1 and B2. The fourth predetermined range may be different from the third predetermined range. The fourth location may be limited to within the P/D route R. This is because it is preferable that the user Y boards, and preferably also alights, the vehicle, without impairing the efficiency of the P/D for the user U. [0081] the schedule notification unit 3 a notifies the user device 300X of the user X (registered user) of the passenger capacity, as well as the schedule information including the P/D route R and the scheduled passing time of such a route (step S1107). The passenger capacity notified at this time is preferably a number obtained by subtracting the user U related to the P/D, and it is preferably a number at least one less than the calculated passenger capacity. The passenger capacity notified to the user device 300X of the user X can be the number of people who can board other than the user U. (i.e. every registered riders on vehicle, third user) [0082] boarding request of the user X is within the third predetermined range, that is, the range sandwiched between the boundaries B1 and B2, for example, a bus stop BS2 among two bus stops BS1 and BS2 along the P/D route R shown in FIG. 10, boarding conditions of the boarding request are satisfied. In addition, the alighting point (that is, the third location) of the boarding conditions of the user X is also within the third predetermined range, that is, the range sandwiched between the boundaries B1 and B2. For example, the user X can set the P/D destination as the alighting point. At this time, since the boarding and alighting locations are within the available range, the boarding is accepted.)
the first stop is a stop at which the article is scheduled to be loaded onto the autonomous vehicle. (in at least [0022] Each of the autonomous vehicles 100 can travel to a P/D destination in order to pick up or deliver packages. In the P/D system S, when the packages are picked up or delivered, the autonomous vehicle 100, which is a moving vehicle for P/D, travels towards a pick-up destination to receive the packages, and collects the received packages at the P/D center C nearest to the pick-up destination.)
As per Claim 15, Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Kopanati, The information processing apparatus according to claim 11,
wherein the controller is configured to determine to provide the third user with an incentive. (in at least [0087] The reward management module 208 is configured to provide rewards to the members of the trusted social media network, such as trusted travelers and trusted shippers. Typically, the rewards are based on one or more package shipments carried by the trusted traveler or may be based on the package shipment requests placed by the trusted shippers. Rewards may also be provided when a member of the trusted social media network, such as a trusted traveler referrers a non-members, such as a trusted shipper that is not a part of the trusted social media network of the trusted traveler. In an embodiment, the rewards are monetary. Typically, the monetary reward has a predetermined value that the trusted traveler would charge for carrying the package shipment. In an embodiment, the rewards are green credits or carbon credits. In another embodiment, the rewards are reward points. Typically, the trusted traveler may earn reward points when he/she decides to carry the package shipment without charging the trusted shipper. For example, the trusted traveler may earn 100 reward points for carrying the package shipment from city A to city B. In another embodiment, the reward points earned by a trusted traveler are based on the activities of the trusted traveler, for example, the trusted traveler may earn reward points when he delivers the package shipment before scheduled delivery time, for taking pictures of goods being delivered, etc. In another example, the trusted traveler may get reward points as a gift from the trusted shipper or another trusted traveler. Typically, these reward points can be redeemed for tangible goods or services. For example, a trusted traveler can redeem 20,000 reward points for an iPad, a free return flight ticket to Las Vegas or a season pass for baseball.)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky and Kopanati is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 16, Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Kopanati, The information processing apparatus according to claim 5,
wherein the controller is configured to determine to provide each of the first and second users with an incentive. (in at least [0087] The reward management module 208 is configured to provide rewards to the members of the trusted social media network, such as trusted travelers and trusted shippers. Typically, the rewards are based on one or more package shipments carried by the trusted traveler or may be based on the package shipment requests placed by the trusted shippers. Rewards may also be provided when a member of the trusted social media network, such as a trusted traveler referrers a non-members, such as a trusted shipper that is not a part of the trusted social media network of the trusted traveler. In an embodiment, the rewards are monetary. Typically, the monetary reward has a predetermined value that the trusted traveler would charge for carrying the package shipment. In an embodiment, the rewards are green credits or carbon credits. In another embodiment, the rewards are reward points. Typically, the trusted traveler may earn reward points when he/she decides to carry the package shipment without charging the trusted shipper. For example, the trusted traveler may earn 100 reward points for carrying the package shipment from city A to city B. In another embodiment, the reward points earned by a trusted traveler are based on the activities of the trusted traveler, for example, the trusted traveler may earn reward points when he delivers the package shipment before scheduled delivery time, for taking pictures of goods being delivered, etc. In another example, the trusted traveler may get reward points as a gift from the trusted shipper or another trusted traveler. Typically, these reward points can be redeemed for tangible goods or services. For example, a trusted traveler can redeem 20,000 reward points for an iPad, a free return flight ticket to Las Vegas or a season pass for baseball.)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky and Kopanati is the same as recited above.
Claims 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US Patent Publication to US20200327460A1 to Suzuki et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Suzuki”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20090132332A1 to Belenky et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Belenky”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20140278851A1 to Kopanati, (hereinafter referred to as “Kopanati”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20190265703A1 to Hicok et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Hicok”)
As per Claim 12, Suzuki teaches: (Currently Amended)The information processing apparatus according to claim 11, further comprising a communication interface, ([0049]) wherein the controller is configured to:
assign, to the identified users riding on the autonomous vehicle, priorities to request to get off the autonomous vehicle; (in at least [0088] The locations, where the users X and Y board and alight, can be located only on the P/D route, as described above, with the highest priority given to the P/D of the user U. In this way, the efficiency of the P/D can be further improved, and the convenience of the user of the P/D service, that is, the user U, can be further enhanced.)
preferentially select a user with a high priority as a third user …; (in at least [0088] The locations, where the users X and Y board and alight, can be located only on the P/D route, as described above, with the highest priority given to the P/D of the user U. In this way, the efficiency of the P/D can be further improved, and the convenience of the user of the P/D service, that is, the user U, can be further enhanced.)
control the communication interface to transmit, to a terminal apparatus of …; and (in at least [0061] FIG. 5 is one example of a screen of the display unit 308 of the user device 300A when the application 3061 is executed. The display unit 308 also corresponds to the operation unit 310 as a touch panel. The user U wants “pick-up” as the package P/D herein, thus the user U touches a P/D button 3101 on the display unit 308 to select “pick-up” from among “pick-up” and “delivery.” In FIG. 5, “pick-up” is selected. As “pick-up” is selected by the P/D button 3101, the user's demand is input in a P/D request column 3102. The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages, and whether or not the user wants to board. When a SEND button 3104 is pressed after “pick-up” is selected and the user's demand is input, information on a “pick-up” request is transmitted to the server device 200 as the P/D request. This information includes the information “user 1 registered”, which is a registration destination of the user U, as the P/D destination, and also includes the user information such as a terminal ID of the user device 300A, that is, a user ID.)
determine the third user candidate as the third user when the communication interface receives, … the terminal apparatus of the third user candidate, a signal to accept the request. (in at least [0062] At this time, the P/D display 3105 on the display unit 308 of the user device 300A changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.” On the other hand, when the P/D can be accepted (YES in step S605), a notification that the P/D is “accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300A (step S609).)
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Kopanati,
…a third user candidate being a candidate for the third user (in at least [0092] the trust network creation module 232 enables the trusted traveler to create the trusted social network, add new trusted shippers to his trusted social network. The trust network management module 234 is configured to update, delete and manage profile of the trusted traveler and the trusted shipper. [0163] FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating search interface 1300 in accordance with an embodiment. Typically, the search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to provide one or more values for search parameters and retrieve results. The search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to find trips having a specific origin city, destination city, start date, end date, weight, price, etc. Typically, the trusted shipper can input the one or more values in any of a From City box 1302, a To City box 1304, a Start Date box 1306, a Delivery Date box 1308, a Weight box 1310, and a Price box 1312. Once the user has provided the one or more values he may select the Search button 1314 to view search results. [0114] FIG. 14 is a block diagram illustrating user interface 1400 for a package shipment request, in accordance with an embodiment. The user interface 1400 may display one or more results. Typically, for each trip displayed as one or more results, the user interface 1400 displays start date, delivery date, start city, end city, unique id of the trusted traveler in the trusted social network platform 110, maximum weight that a trusted traveler is willing to carry, price etc.)
… a third request notification indicating a request to… (in at least [0092] the trust network creation module 232 enables the trusted traveler to create the trusted social network, add new trusted shippers to his trusted social network. The trust network management module 234 is configured to update, delete and manage profile of the trusted traveler and the trusted shipper. [0114] FIG. 14 is a block diagram illustrating user interface 1400 for a package shipment request, in accordance with an embodiment. The user interface 1400 may display one or more results. Typically, for each trip displayed as one or more results, the user interface 1400 displays start date, delivery date, start city, end city, unique id of the trusted traveler in the trusted social network platform 110, maximum weight that a trusted traveler is willing to carry, price etc. [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808.)
determine the third user candidate as the third user when the communication interface receives, from the terminal apparatus of the third user candidate, a signal to accept the request. (in at least [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808)
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky in view of Kopanati does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Hicok,
…request notification indicating a request to get off the autonomous vehicle before the autonomous vehicle arrives at the first stop (in at least [0129] reach a decision that the passenger intends to get off at the next stop or initiate a prompt querying the passenger orally via a paging system and voice recognition system to ask the passenger “Do you want to get off at the next stop?”)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Suzuki in view of Belenky in view of Kopanati, as taught by Hicok above, with a reasonable expectation of success if arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the teachings of Suzuki in view of Belenky in view of Kopanati with the motivation of, …the shuttle is able to communicate its mission and status to other traffic participants to improve the overall traffic safety.. to display the shuttle's intent to the outside world. It provides a clear visual display of shuttle intentions to pedestrians, bicyclist and vehicles. It is intended to improve confidence in shuttle behavior and assist in stop sign negotiation. The External UX provides clear visualization of shuttle failure and hazard modes, including autonomous driving system failure, powertrain failure, battery failures. In preferred embodiments the External UX improves road safety by communicating potential hazards to unaware traffic participants, thereby using the shuttle's advanced detection capabilities to improve overall road safety…to achieve further optimizations or improvements….to determine the optimal location of system stops/stations for deployment, as well as the optimal number, capacity, and type of vehicles for a given system…allowing users and operators to request rides, select the optimal shuttle, calculate the best route for each shuttle, and maintain the system…optimize the new route is to minimize the additional drive time relative to the other routes that have already been planned. Another way to optimize route planning is to take into account rush hour traffic and, in the case of for example an airport or train station shuttle, the predicted likelihood that on average workdays, many travelers will wish to leave for the same destination at around the same time (e.g., 5:00 pm to go to the train station). Such optimization can thus for example hold shuttle resources in reserve (or keep more shuttles in a given locality) in anticipation of later demand. Optimization can be performed based on various criteria such as minimizing wait time and prioritizing certain passengers and/or certain routes (e.g., so that a professor is delivered in front of her classroom before a student is delivered to his car in the student parking lot)…, as recited in Hicok.
As per Claim 13, Suzuki teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 12,
wherein when the communication interface receives, … the terminal apparatus of the third user candidate, a signal to decline the request, (in at least [0062] It is determined whether or not the schedule information has been generated, that is, whether or not the P/D can be accepted (step S605). When the schedule information cannot be generated, for example, when an autonomous vehicle suitable for P/D cannot be determined, the P/D cannot be accepted (NO in step S605). Thus a notification that the P/D is “not accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300A (step S607). At this time, the P/D display 3105 on the display unit 308 of the user device 300A changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.”)
….
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Kopanati,
… from the terminal apparatus of the third user candidate, a signal to decline the request (in at least [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808)
…the controller selects a new third user candidate and controls the communication interface to transmit the third request notification to a terminal apparatus of the selected new third user candidate (in at least [0092] the trust network creation module 232 enables the trusted traveler to create the trusted social network, add new trusted shippers to his trusted social network. The trust network management module 234 is configured to update, delete and manage profile of the trusted traveler and the trusted shipper. [0163] FIG. 13 is a block diagram illustrating search interface 1300 in accordance with an embodiment. Typically, the search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to provide one or more values for search parameters and retrieve results. The search interface 1300 enables the trusted shipper to find trips having a specific origin city, destination city, start date, end date, weight, price, etc. Typically, the trusted shipper can input the one or more values in any of a From City box 1302, a To City box 1304, a Start Date box 1306, a Delivery Date box 1308, a Weight box 1310, and a Price box 1312. Once the user has provided the one or more values he may select the Search button 1314 to view search results. For example, the search interface 1300 may enable the trusted shipper to find trips that originate in Sunnyvale, Calif. The trusted shipper may input this into the From City box 1302 select Search button 1314. This will result in retrieving all trips originating from Sunnyvale, Calif. In an embodiment, the search interface 1300 may return approximate match for an input parameter such as start city, end city, start date, delivery date, weight, price, etc. [0114] FIG. 14 is a block diagram illustrating user interface 1400 for a package shipment request, in accordance with an embodiment. The user interface 1400 may display one or more results. Typically, for each trip displayed as one or more results, the user interface 1400 displays start date, delivery date, start city, end city, unique id of the trusted traveler in the trusted social network platform 110, maximum weight that a trusted traveler is willing to carry, price etc. [0168] FIG. 18 is block diagram of a user interface 1800 for accepting the package shipment request, in accordance with a second embodiment. The user interface 1800 enables the trusted traveler to approve or reject a package shipment request by using an Approve/Reject button 1802 and Approve request section 1804 and Reject order section 1806. For example, the trusted traveler may approve the package shipment request and also desire to pick up the package shipment from address specified by the trusted shipper. The trusted traveler may approve a package shipment request and also provide an address in Address box 1806 to receive the package shipment. Typically, the address could be an address of the trusted shipper which the trusted shipper could use to receive the package shipment via traditional shipping service providers, for example UPS, FedEx, USPS etc. The trusted traveler may reject a package shipment request and may provide a reason for rejection using the Reject Request section 1808)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky and Kopanati is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 14, Suzuki teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 12,
wherein the controller assigns the priorities to the users, based on … of the users. (in at least [0088] The locations, where the users X and Y board and alight, can be located only on the P/D route, as described above, with the highest priority given to the P/D of the user U. In this way, the efficiency of the P/D can be further improved, and the convenience of the user of the P/D service, that is, the user U, can be further enhanced.)
Although implied, Suzuki does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Belenky,
…based on fatigue levels of the users (in at least [0022] in FIG. 2, the input parameters can include rules 206 (e.g., days off, vacation, limits on duty/block time, qualification rules, team rules, etc.), activities 208 (e.g., pairings of crew members, reserves, training, etc.), crew-member factors 210 (e.g., rostering history, qualifications, wages/salaries, pre-assignments, vacation, sleep/wake history, circadian phase, workload, individual differences, etc.), and optimization objectives 212 (e.g., costs, crew bids, robustness of schedule, fatigue, alertness, performance, etc.). [0023] to address a broad range of fatigue related process optimization issues, e.g., maximizing cargo flows through port facilities, optimizing factory floor layouts and materiel flows, managing cost versus quality in telecommunications networks, and optimizing road traffic patterns and flows.)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky is the same as recited above.
Claims 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US Patent Publication to US20200327460A1 to Suzuki et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Suzuki”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20090132332A1 to Belenky et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Belenky”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20230140349A1 to Chand et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Chand”)
As per Claim 17, Suzuki teaches: (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a communication interface,
wherein when it is determined that the autonomous vehicle does not have the space for the article at the scheduled time, (in at least [0062] the schedule information cannot be generated, for example, when an autonomous vehicle suitable for P/D cannot be determined, the P/D cannot be accepted (NO in step S605). Thus a notification that the P/D is “not accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300A (step S607). At this time, the P/D display 3105 on the display unit 308 of the user device 300A changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.” [0066] the schedule information has a free space for the user U, and a process of determining whether or not it is possible to temporally, or in relation with another P/D, correct or modify the route such that the user U boards the vehicle at the boarding point. As a result of the predetermined processing, when it is not determined that the user U can board the vehicle, the boarding is not accepted (NO in step S619). Thus a notification that the boarding is “not accepted” is transmitted to the server device 200 (step S621). [0081] receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1101), and calculates an amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the second schedule notification unit 3 a calculates the amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1103).)
the controller controls the communication interface to transmit, to … a first notification indicating that riding on the autonomous vehicle is possible up to a first stop or riding on the autonomous vehicle is restricted after the first stop, and (in at least [0077] The second schedule notification unit 3 a extracts a user having the registration destination within the second predetermined range around the P/D destination as the user X, and notifies the user device 300 (terminal of the user X) of the P/D route and the scheduled passing time of such a route. Moreover, the user X corresponds to a second user. The second request processing unit 3 b receives the boarding request that the user X wants to board the vehicle at a location (hereinafter “second location”) on the P/D route or within a predetermined range (hereinafter “third predetermined range”) around the P/D route, from the user device 300 held by the user X, and executes a predetermined processing as in a case of the user U. When the boarding of the user X can be accepted, the second association unit 3 c transmits the boarding information of the user X to the command generation unit 1 b of the P/D management unit 2043, and associates it with the schedule information generated by the schedule generation unit 1 a. Consequently, the service command including the boarding information of the user X is generated and transmitted to the autonomous vehicle 100A. [0083] when the boarding or alighting point of the boarding request of the user X is a park P (see FIG. 10) outside the boundaries B1 and B2, the conditions of the boarding request are not satisfied. In this case, the boarding is not accepted (NO in step S1113), and a notification that the boarding is “not accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300X of the user X (step S1117). Further, at this time, the user device 300X may be allowed to input the boarding request again.)
the first stop is a stop at which the article is scheduled to be loaded onto the autonomous vehicle. (in at least [0022] Each of the autonomous vehicles 100 can travel to a P/D destination in order to pick up or deliver packages. In the P/D system S, when the packages are picked up or delivered, the autonomous vehicle 100, which is a moving vehicle for P/D, travels towards a pick-up destination to receive the packages, and collects the received packages at the P/D center C nearest to the pick-up destination.)
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Chand,
…an output apparatus at a stop or the autonomous vehicle, a first notification indicating …, (in at least [0025] a sign 121 on-site may display passenger counts for zones 123, which can give waiting passengers an estimated time of arrival 125 as well as a seat-count of a dispatched vehicle 160, 170. This can encourage people to shuffle or board an approaching vehicle 160 if it has extra capacity. If this will create too much movement or possible disputes about spare seat usage, such a sign need not be provided. The signage may also display any special capabilities of the approaching vehicle 160, 170, such as the availability of a wheelchair loading ramp 127. )
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Suzuki in view of Belenky, as taught by Chand above, with a reasonable expectation of success if arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the teachings of Suzuki in view of Belenky with the motivation of, … improving autonomous driving solutions (e.g., drive by wire) and/or providing a human with information that can increase the safety of the overall system…. provided with ongoing accurate information about passenger counts and any special assistance that may be needed from dispatched vehicles…data sets may be used to improve the other's accuracy, however either one alone may provide a rough estimate (situationally) and either or both may also be combined with other methods of obtaining headcounts and special requirements… can help even more accurately choose which vehicle 160 to dispatch… provides the dispatch 150 with an accurate and up-to-date data set about waiting passengers, and helps avoid over or under dispatching vehicles. As discussed later herein, vehicles can be dispatched, for example, on the basis of immediate needs (passenger centric) or immediate availability (vehicle centric), or in a combination of these and other considerations. This can allow much greater efficiency of fleet usage, as well as preserving power and preserving special capability and/or large capacity vehicles for when they are needed, preventing certain passengers 135 or large groups of people from having to wait too long because a vehicle that would have otherwise serviced them was dispatched to a zone where its full capacity was not needed… increase the overall efficiency of the system…, as recited in Chand.
As per Claim 18, Suzuki teaches: (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a communication interface,
wherein when it is determined that the autonomous vehicle does not have the space for the article at the scheduled time, (in at least [0062] the schedule information cannot be generated, for example, when an autonomous vehicle suitable for P/D cannot be determined, the P/D cannot be accepted (NO in step S605). Thus a notification that the P/D is “not accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300A (step S607). At this time, the P/D display 3105 on the display unit 308 of the user device 300A changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.” [0066] the schedule information has a free space for the user U, and a process of determining whether or not it is possible to temporally, or in relation with another P/D, correct or modify the route such that the user U boards the vehicle at the boarding point. As a result of the predetermined processing, when it is not determined that the user U can board the vehicle, the boarding is not accepted (NO in step S619). Thus a notification that the boarding is “not accepted” is transmitted to the server device 200 (step S621). [0081] receives the P/D schedule of the user U (YES in step S1101), and calculates an amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A. Further, the second schedule notification unit 3 a calculates the amount of free space in the autonomous vehicle 100A based on a loading status of the autonomous vehicle 100A before and after its P/D, package size, and the like (step S1103).)
the controller controls the communication interface to transmit, to … a second notification indicating that a number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle is … from a first stop to a second stop, (in at least [0077] The second schedule notification unit 3 a extracts a user having the registration destination within the second predetermined range around the P/D destination as the user X, and notifies the user device 300 (terminal of the user X) of the P/D route and the scheduled passing time of such a route. Moreover, the user X corresponds to a second user. The second request processing unit 3 b receives the boarding request that the user X wants to board the vehicle at a location (hereinafter “second location”) on the P/D route or within a predetermined range (hereinafter “third predetermined range”) around the P/D route, from the user device 300 held by the user X, and executes a predetermined processing as in a case of the user U. When the boarding of the user X can be accepted, the second association unit 3 c transmits the boarding information of the user X to the command generation unit 1 b of the P/D management unit 2043, and associates it with the schedule information generated by the schedule generation unit 1 a. Consequently, the service command including the boarding information of the user X is generated and transmitted to the autonomous vehicle 100A. [0083] when the boarding or alighting point of the boarding request of the user X is a park P (see FIG. 10) outside the boundaries B1 and B2, the conditions of the boarding request are not satisfied. In this case, the boarding is not accepted (NO in step S1113), and a notification that the boarding is “not accepted” is transmitted to the user device 300X of the user X (step S1117). Further, at this time, the user device 300X may be allowed to input the boarding request again.)
the first stop is a stop at which the article is scheduled to be loaded onto the autonomous vehicle, and the second stop is a stop at which the article is scheduled to be unloaded from the autonomous vehicle. (in at least [0061] The user U wants “pick-up” as the package P/D herein, thus the user U touches a P/D button 3101 on the display unit 308 to select “pick-up” from among “pick-up” and “delivery.” In FIG. 5, “pick-up” is selected. As “pick-up” is selected by the P/D button 3101, the user's demand is input in a P/D request column 3102. The P/D request includes information on a date and time, P/D destination, size and number of packages, and whether or not the user wants to board. When a SEND button 3104 is pressed after “pick-up” is selected and the user's demand is input, information on a “pick-up” request is transmitted to the server device 200 as the P/D request. This information includes the information “user 1 registered”, which is a registration destination of the user U, as the P/D destination, and also includes the user information such as a terminal ID of the user device 300A, that is, a user ID. However, the P/D destination may be a location other than the registration destination of the user U.)
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Chand,
an output apparatus at a stop or the autonomous vehicle, a second notification indicating that a number of passengers on the autonomous vehicle is limited in a section from a first stop to a second stop, (in at least [0025] a sign 121 on-site may display passenger counts for zones 123, which can give waiting passengers an estimated time of arrival 125 as well as a seat-count of a dispatched vehicle 160, 170. This can encourage people to shuffle or board an approaching vehicle 160 if it has extra capacity. If this will create too much movement or possible disputes about spare seat usage, such a sign need not be provided. The signage may also display any special capabilities of the approaching vehicle 160, 170, such as the availability of a wheelchair loading ramp 127. [0026] Passengers 133 stand within zones 129, 131, although the camera 100 may also be able to count passengers outside of the zones as well. The zones provide a convenient demarcation for grouping passengers for a pickup, but overflow is possible. In addition to counting passengers 133, the camera 100 can be provided with image recognition software allowing it to recognize people needing special vehicles 135, service animals 137 (which may also require special vehicles), standard luggage 141 and large luggage 143. Since the camera can evaluate and obtain a reasonably complete sense of the scene, and continually update, the dispatch 150 can be provided with ongoing accurate information about passenger counts and any special assistance that may be needed from dispatched vehicles 160, 170. )
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky and Chand is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 19, Suzuki teaches: (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the controller is configured to:
acquire a maximum number of passengers that can be accommodated in the autonomous vehicle with the space secured; and (in at least [0066] confirming whether or not the predetermined autonomous vehicle 100A associated with the schedule information has a free space for the user U, and a process of determining whether or not it is possible to temporally, or in relation with another P/D, correct or modify the route such that the user U boards the vehicle at the boarding point. As a result of the predetermined processing, when it is not determined that the user U can board the vehicle, the boarding is not accepted (NO in step S619). Thus a notification that the boarding is “not accepted” is transmitted to the server device 200 (step S621). Consequently, the boarding display 3106 shown in FIG. 7 changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.” In the present embodiment, when the boarding is not accepted, the processing usually proceeds to the next step as shown in FIG. 6. On the other hand, when the boarding is not accepted, the control unit 204 of the server device 200 may allow the user U to input again by changing the boarding conditions of the boarding request.)
the second notification further indicates information on the …. (in at least [0066] confirming whether or not the predetermined autonomous vehicle 100A associated with the schedule information has a free space for the user U, and a process of determining whether or not it is possible to temporally, or in relation with another P/D, correct or modify the route such that the user U boards the vehicle at the boarding point. As a result of the predetermined processing, when it is not determined that the user U can board the vehicle, the boarding is not accepted (NO in step S619). Thus a notification that the boarding is “not accepted” is transmitted to the server device 200 (step S621). Consequently, the boarding display 3106 shown in FIG. 7 changes to a display corresponding to “not accepted.” In the present embodiment, when the boarding is not accepted, the processing usually proceeds to the next step as shown in FIG. 6. On the other hand, when the boarding is not accepted, the control unit 204 of the server device 200 may allow the user U to input again by changing the boarding conditions of the boarding request.)
Although implied, Suzuki in view of Belenky does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Chand,
… second notification further indicates information on the maximum number… (in at least [0025] a sign 121 on-site may display passenger counts for zones 123, which can give waiting passengers an estimated time of arrival 125 as well as a seat-count of a dispatched vehicle 160, 170. This can encourage people to shuffle or board an approaching vehicle 160 if it has extra capacity. If this will create too much movement or possible disputes about spare seat usage, such a sign need not be provided. The signage may also display any special capabilities of the approaching vehicle 160, 170, such as the availability of a wheelchair loading ramp 127. [0027] provides the dispatch 150 with an accurate and up-to-date data set about waiting passengers, and helps avoid over or under dispatching vehicles. As discussed later herein, vehicles can be dispatched, for example, on the basis of immediate needs (passenger centric) or immediate availability (vehicle centric), or in a combination of these and other considerations. This can allow much greater efficiency of fleet usage, as well as preserving power and preserving special capability and/or large capacity vehicles for when they are needed, preventing certain passengers 135 or large groups of people from having to wait too long because a vehicle that would have otherwise serviced them was dispatched to a zone where its full capacity was not needed. [0032] to wait for the larger vehicle, instead of inefficiently dispatching the two smaller vehicles with the excess capacity. This also leaves the two smaller vehicles free to service two additional zones, which can further increase the overall efficiency of the system.)
The reason and rationale to combine Suzuki, Belenky and Chand is the same as recited above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
/PO HAN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3623