DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been provided nor considered at the time of this Office Action
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s Submission filed on 02/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-12, 14-21, 23-26 and 28-30 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 6, 10, 12, 15, 19, 21, 26, and 29 have been amended, and claims 3-5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16-18, 20, 23-25 and 28, 30 were previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: the Office Action has not shown that Lei '947, Cao, Lei '141, Ly, Ko, Uesaka, and Maso-alone or in any combination-teach or suggest all of the features of amended independent claims 1, 12, 21, and 26. (Page 10, Remarks).
In response to A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Lei1 and Cao teach all the limitations in the amended independent claims. Regarding claim 1, Lei1 teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to ([0014], lines 1-5, “An apparatus for wireless communication at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to”): receive a first indication of a set of random access occasions for a connected mode operation for the UE different than a second set of random access occasions used for an initial access operation for the UE ([0006], [0022], lines 1-5, [0180], and [0012], lines 3-4, the BS provide the UE with a set of ROs (random access occasions) specifically to configure the UE in the RRC connected state and Idle state. [0097], lines 1-4 states “the base station may configure a first set of POs and/or ROs for a first RRC state (e.g., RRC connected) and a second set of POs and/or ROs for a second RRC state (e.g., RRC idle). In such an example, a UE may select a PO and/or RO based on the state of the RRC state of the UE.” That implies the first set of RO can be configured/indicated first RRC state (e.g., RRC connected) and the second set of ROs, which is different from the first one, can be configured for second RRC state (e.g., RRC idle), that implies the second set of ROs is dedicated for idle state which can be used for initial access operation to change the state from idle (inactive) to connected mode, in other words, the UE need to perform initial access operation when the UE in the RRC idle/inactive mode (using the ROs set of the RRC idle) for transition the UE to the connected mode. [0097] also states “the UE may first select the set of POs/ROs that is associated with (e.g., configured for) the current RRC state of the UE. The UE may then select a PO/RO from the set of POs/ROs associated with the current RRC state of the UE” that confirms the selection between the two sets based on the RRC state to perform the required operation, and since the initial operation is performed when the UE in idle mode so the ROs set for RRC idle state will be utilized, which is different from the first set of ROs that dedicated for RRC connected mode operation, as confirmed in [0100], lines 1-3), transmit a random access message via the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation based at least in part on an operating mode of the UE being a connected operating mode ( [0101], 8-13, describes how the UE receive the system information while it is in a connected state (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED state) with base station, then, [0005], lines 21-27, illustrates that the UE can select a random access and an uplink shared channel transmission occasion to send the first random access massage while in the connected mode operating (e.g., RRC connected state, [0180] describes the ROs are associated with RRC states, where [0006], lines 11-22, describe the transmission process after determining the reference signal resources for the reference signal to be transmitted with the random access message and [0249] describe how to format the random access message including the reference signal and uplink shared channel data).
Lei1 does not explicitly teach but Cao teaches the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation ([0003], lines 4-10, illustrates the UE may perform a RACH procedure to establish the connection with the BS and describe the process of that also [0082], lines 5-7 states “the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data” which is the key element of the connected mode operation, [0004]) comprising a first subset of random access occasions within an uplink subband of one or more subband full-duplex symbols and a second subset of random access occasions within one or more uplink symbols, (Figs. 2 and 17, [0175], lines 1-4, [0123], lines 1-3, Claim 1, lines 3-5, the ROs may be configured in uplink component carriers of either the frequency division multiplexing FDD band, time division multiplexing TDD, or a combination of both, the ROS are allocated within a specific subband of SBFD symbols, which are a narrower frequency ranges within the uplink bandwidth. Fig. 17 describe Ros include a subset of ROs within uplink symbols, [0111], lines 1-3, [0056]), wherein each subband full-duplex symbols of the one or more subband full-duplex symbols comprises one or more subbands allocated for uplink and one or more subbands allocated for downlink or flexible ([0002], states “These systems may employ technologies such as code division multiple access (CDMA) , time division multiple access (TDMA) , frequency division multiple access (FDMA) , orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) , or discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM) “ that’s implies the subband full-duplex symbol can be OFDM symbol where collection of subcarriers (subbands) transmitted simultaneously over a certain time duration. Fig. 2, [0108], lines 3-15, the description of the TDD band and FDD band configurations as shown in Fig. 2 illustrates the slots are allocated for uplink, downlink, and flexible transmissions. The TDD band includes slots that can alternate among uplink, downlink, and flexible transmissions. The FDD band includes subbands explicitly allocated for uplink and downlink transmissions with separate frequency ranges for each direction, which implies that the FDD band allocates separate subbands for uplink and downlink transmissions), and wherein each subband full-duplex symbol of the one or more subband full-duplex symbols is configured for simultaneous uplink transmission and downlink transmission ([0002], states “These systems may employ technologies such as code division multiple access (CDMA) , time division multiple access (TDMA) , frequency division multiple access (FDMA) , orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) , or discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM) “ that’s implies the subband full-duplex symbol can be OFDM symbol where collection of subcarriers (subbands) transmitted simultaneously over a certain time duration. [0086], lines discloses the system may employ OFDM and DFT-S-OFDM of multiple subcarriers techniques. Fig. 2 and [0056], lines 1-4 states “a user equipment (UE) may be configured to communicate with multiple component carriers (CCs) simultaneously based on a carrier aggregation (CA) configuration. Some CA configurations support both time division duplexing (TDD) and frequency division duplexing (FDD) CCs/bands.” [0076] confirms that Duplexing in unlicensed spectrum may be based on frequency division duplexing (FDD) , time division duplexing (TDD) , or a combination of both. [0108] illustrate some examples for how FDD can be enables simultaneous transmission such that “FDD band 215 may include slots 225 in a first frequency subband allocated for downlink slots 230 and a second frequency subband allocated for uplink slots 235 (e.g., and blank symbols/slots)”, which implies transmit and receive data simultaneously within the same symbol period (means full duplex)).
Regarding claim 12, Lei1 further teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to ([0024], lines 1-5, “An apparatus for wireless communication at a BS is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to”): receive a first indication of a set of random access occasions for a connected mode operation for the UE different than a second set of random access occasions used for an initial access operation for the UE ([0006], [0022], lines 1-5, [0180], and [0012], lines 3-4, the BS provide the UE with a set of ROs (random access occasions) specifically to configure the UE in the RRC connected state and Idle state. [0097], lines 1-4 states “the base station may configure a first set of POs and/or ROs for a first RRC state (e.g., RRC connected) and a second set of POs and/or ROs for a second RRC state (e.g., RRC idle). In such an example, a UE may select a PO and/or RO based on the state of the RRC state of the UE.” That implies the first set of RO can be configured/indicated first RRC state (e.g., RRC connected) and the second set of ROs, which is different from the first one, can be configured for second RRC state (e.g., RRC idle), that implies the second set of ROs is dedicated for idle state which can be used for initial access operation to change the state from idle (inactive) to connected mode, in other words, the UE need to perform initial access operation when the UE in the RRC idle/inactive mode (using the ROs set of the RRC idle) for transition the UE to the connected mode. [0097] also states “the UE may first select the set of POs/ROs that is associated with (e.g., configured for) the current RRC state of the UE. The UE may then select a PO/RO from the set of POs/ROs associated with the current RRC state of the UE” that confirms the selection between the two sets based on the RRC state to perform the required operation, and since the initial operation is performed when the UE in idle mode so the ROs set for RRC idle state will be utilized, which is different from the first set of ROs that dedicated for RRC connected mode operation, as confirmed in [0100], lines 1-3), receive a random access message via the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation based at least in part on an operating mode of the UE being a connected operating mode ([0009], lines 21-22, [0005], lines 21-27, the UE can select a random access and an uplink shared channel transmission occasion to send the first random access massage while in the connected mode operating (e.g., RRC connected state. [0101], 8-13, describes how the UE receive from the BS the system information while it is in a connected state (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED state) with base station, then, [0005], lines 21-27, illustrates that the UE can select a random access and an uplink shared channel transmission occasion to send the first random access massage to the BS while in the connected mode operating (e.g., RRC connected state, [0180] describes the ROs are associated with RRC states, where [0006], lines 11-22, describe the transmission process after determining the reference signal resources for the reference signal to be transmitted to the BS with the random access message and [0249] describe how to format the random access message including the reference signal and uplink shared channel data).
Lei1 does not explicitly teach but Cao teaches the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation ([0003], lines 4-10, illustrates the UE may perform a RACH procedure to establish the connection with the BS and describe the process of that also [0082], lines 5-7 states “the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data” which is the key element of the connected mode operation, [0004]) comprising a first subset of random access occasions within an uplink subband of one or more subband full-duplex symbols and a second subset of random access occasions within one or more uplink symbols, (Figs. 2 and 17, [0175], lines 1-4, [0123], lines 1-3, Claim 1, lines 3-5, the ROs may be configured in uplink component carriers of either the frequency division multiplexing FDD band, time division multiplexing TDD, or a combination of both, the ROS are allocated within a specific subband of SBFD symbols, which are a narrower frequency ranges within the uplink bandwidth. Fig. 17 describe Ros include a subset of ROs within uplink symbols, [0111], lines 1-3, [0056]), wherein each subband full-duplex symbols of the one or more subband full-duplex symbols comprises one or more subbands allocated for uplink and one or more subbands allocated for downlink or flexible ([0002], states “These systems may employ technologies such as code division multiple access (CDMA) , time division multiple access (TDMA) , frequency division multiple access (FDMA) , orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) , or discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM) “ that’s implies the subband full-duplex symbol can be OFDM symbol where collection of subcarriers (subbands) transmitted simultaneously over a certain time duration. Fig. 2, [0108], lines 3-15, the description of the TDD band and FDD band configurations as shown in Fig. 2 illustrates the slots are allocated for uplink, downlink, and flexible transmissions. The TDD band includes slots that can alternate among uplink, downlink, and flexible transmissions. The FDD band includes subbands explicitly allocated for uplink and downlink transmissions with separate frequency ranges for each direction, which implies that the FDD band allocates separate subbands for uplink and downlink transmissions); and wherein each subband full-duplex symbol of the one or more subband full-duplex symbols is configured for simultaneous uplink transmission and downlink transmission ([0002], states “These systems may employ technologies such as code division multiple access (CDMA) , time division multiple access (TDMA) , frequency division multiple access (FDMA) , orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) , or discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM) “ that’s implies the subband full-duplex symbol can be OFDM symbol where collection of subcarriers (subbands) transmitted simultaneously over a certain time duration. [0086], lines discloses the system may employ OFDM and DFT-S-OFDM of multiple subcarriers techniques. Fig. 2 and [0056], lines 1-4 states “a user equipment (UE) may be configured to communicate with multiple component carriers (CCs) simultaneously based on a carrier aggregation (CA) configuration. Some CA configurations support both time division duplexing (TDD) and frequency division duplexing (FDD) CCs/bands.” [0076] confirms that Duplexing in unlicensed spectrum may be based on frequency division duplexing (FDD) , time division duplexing (TDD) , or a combination of both. [0108] illustrate some examples for how FDD can be enables simultaneous transmission such that “FDD band 215 may include slots 225 in a first frequency subband allocated for downlink slots 230 and a second frequency subband allocated for uplink slots 235 (e.g., and blank symbols/slots)”, which implies transmit and receive data simultaneously within the same symbol period (means full duplex)). Therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
As to claims 21 and 26 see similar rejections to claims 1 and 12, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Applicant argues: The Office Action has not shown the “set of random access occasions for a connected mode operation for the UE different than a second set of random access occasions used for an initial access operation for the UE”, as recited in amended independent claims. (Pages 11-13, Remarks).
In response to B), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Lei1 teaches set of random access occasions for a connected mode operation for the UE different than a second set of random access occasions used for an initial access operation for the UE ([0006], [0022], lines 1-5, [0180], and [0012], lines 3-4, the BS provide the UE with a set of ROs (random access occasions) specifically to configure the UE in the RRC connected state and Idle state. [0097], lines 1-4 states “the base station may configure a first set of POs and/or ROs for a first RRC state (e.g., RRC connected) and a second set of POs and/or ROs for a second RRC state (e.g., RRC idle). In such an example, a UE may select a PO and/or RO based on the state of the RRC state of the UE.” That implies the first set of RO can be configured/indicated first RRC state (e.g., RRC connected) and the second set of ROs, which is different from the first one, can be configured for second RRC state (e.g., RRC idle), that implies the second set of ROs is dedicated for idle state which can be used for initial access operation to change the state from idle (inactive) to connected mode, in other words, the UE need to perform initial access operation when the UE in the RRC idle/inactive mode (using the ROs set of the RRC idle) for transition to the connected mode. [0097] also states “the UE may first select the set of POs/ROs that is associated with (e.g., configured for) the current RRC state of the UE. The UE may then select a PO/RO from the set of POs/ROs associated with the current RRC state of the UE” that confirms the selection between the two sets based on the RRC state to perform the required operation, and since the initial operation is performed when the UE in idle mode so the ROs set for RRC idle state will be utilized, which is different from the first set of ROs that dedicated for RRC connected mode operation, as confirmed in [0100], lines 1-3). Therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
Applicant argues: The Office Action has not shown the features of dependent claim 6, 15, and 29 (Pages 12-14, Remarks).
In response to C), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Lei1 teaches all the limitations in claims 6, 15, and 29. For claim 6, Lei1 teaches receive a second indication of the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation for the UE ([0238] states “At 1610, the UE may select a first uplink shared channel transmission occasion of the two or more available uplink shared channel transmission occasions for transmission of a first random access message, where the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion spans at least two transmission slots.” That implies the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for the initial access operation , see also claims 1-2, [0257], lines 1-11, and [0269], lines 1-10 states “the base station may transmit system information to a set of UEs, the system information including random access occasion identifiers of the configured two or more random access occasions and uplink shared channel transmission occasion identifiers of the configured two or more uplink shared channel transmission occasions.” that describes that the UE can receive from the BS a second set of ROs ( two or more) for connected mode operation and initial access operation using system information, which includes identifier to configure ROs and uplink shared channel transmission occasion), the second set of random access occasions comprising one or more uplink symbols (Abstract states “Reference signal resources for transmitting a reference signal with a first random access message of the two-step RACH procedure may include at least one symbol in each of the multiple transmission slots.” Where the two-step RACH procedure can be used for initial access operation, which include at least one symbol [0100], [0058], [0060] and [0083]. [0170], lines 2-7, states “based on the system information, reference signal resources within the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for transmitting a reference signal with the first random access message, where the reference signal resources include at least one symbol in each of the two or more transmission slots.” and which provides that these uplink symbols are a part of the refence signal resources configured to transmit the random access messages by the UE, see also [0264]). Claims 15 and 29 have similar limitations of claim 6, therefore, the office action still teaches the limitations as currently claimed.
Applicant argues that amended independent claims 12, 21, and 26 are likewise allowable for at least similar reasons. (Page 14, Remarks).
In response to D), the examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section below.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable for at least the same reasons that independent claims are allowable (Page 14, Remarks).
In response to E), the examiner respectfully disagrees, at least for the same reason given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 10, 12, 15, 19, 21, 26, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 2020/0351947), here in referred to as Lei1 in view of Cao et al. (WO-2021056170-A1).
Regarding to claim 1 (Currently Amended), Lei1 teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to ([0014], lines 1-5, “An apparatus for wireless communication at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to”): receive a first indication of a set of random access occasions for a connected mode operation for the UE different than a second set of random access occasions used for an initial access operation for the UE ([0006], [0022], lines 1-5, [0180], and [0012], lines 3-4, the BS provide the UE with a set of ROs (random access occasions) specifically to configure the UE in the RRC connected state and Idle state. [0097], lines 1-4 states “the base station may configure a first set of POs and/or ROs for a first RRC state (e.g., RRC connected) and a second set of POs and/or ROs for a second RRC state (e.g., RRC idle). In such an example, a UE may select a PO and/or RO based on the state of the RRC state of the UE.” That implies the first set of RO can be configured/indicated first RRC state (e.g., RRC connected) and the second set of ROs, which is different from the first one, can be configured for second RRC state (e.g., RRC idle), that implies the second set of ROs is dedicated for idle state which can be used for initial access operation to change the state from idle (inactive) to connected mode, in other words, the UE need to perform initial access operation when the UE in the RRC idle/inactive mode (using the ROs set of the RRC idle) for transition the UE to the connected mode. [0097] also states “the UE may first select the set of POs/ROs that is associated with (e.g., configured for) the current RRC state of the UE. The UE may then select a PO/RO from the set of POs/ROs associated with the current RRC state of the UE” that confirms the selection between the two sets based on the RRC state to perform the required operation, and since the initial operation is performed when the UE in idle mode so the ROs set for RRC idle state will be utilized, which is different from the first set of ROs that dedicated for RRC connected mode operation, as confirmed in [0100], lines 1-3), transmit a random access message via the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation based at least in part on an operating mode of the UE being a connected operating mode ( [0101], 8-13, describes how the UE receive the system information while it is in a connected state (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED state) with base station, then, [0005], lines 21-27, illustrates that the UE can select a random access and an uplink shared channel transmission occasion to send the first random access massage while in the connected mode operating (e.g., RRC connected state, [0180] describes the ROs are associated with RRC states, where [0006], lines 11-22, describe the transmission process after determining the reference signal resources for the reference signal to be transmitted with the random access message and [0249] describe how to format the random access message including the reference signal and uplink shared channel data).
Lei1 does not explicitly teach but Cao teaches the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation ([0003], lines 4-10, illustrates the UE may perform a RACH procedure to establish the connection with the BS and describe the process of that also [0082], lines 5-7 states “the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data” which is the key element of the connected mode operation, [0004]) comprising a first subset of random access occasions within an uplink subband of one or more subband full-duplex symbols and a second subset of random access occasions within one or more uplink symbols, (Figs. 2 and 17, [0175], lines 1-4, [0123], lines 1-3, Claim 1, lines 3-5, the ROs may be configured in uplink component carriers of either the frequency division multiplexing FDD band, time division multiplexing TDD, or a combination of both, the ROS are allocated within a specific subband of SBFD symbols, which are a narrower frequency ranges within the uplink bandwidth. Fig. 17 describe Ros include a subset of ROs within uplink symbols, [0111], lines 1-3, [0056]), wherein each subband full-duplex symbols of the one or more subband full-duplex symbols comprises one or more subbands allocated for uplink and one or more subbands allocated for downlink or flexible ([0002], states “These systems may employ technologies such as code division multiple access (CDMA) , time division multiple access (TDMA) , frequency division multiple access (FDMA) , orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) , or discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM) “ that’s implies the subband full-duplex symbol can be OFDM symbol where collection of subcarriers (subbands) transmitted simultaneously over a certain time duration. Fig. 2, [0108], lines 3-15, the description of the TDD band and FDD band configurations as shown in Fig. 2 illustrates the slots are allocated for uplink, downlink, and flexible transmissions. The TDD band includes slots that can alternate among uplink, downlink, and flexible transmissions. The FDD band includes subbands explicitly allocated for uplink and downlink transmissions with separate frequency ranges for each direction, which implies that the FDD band allocates separate subbands for uplink and downlink transmissions), and wherein each subband full-duplex symbol of the one or more subband full-duplex symbols is configured for simultaneous uplink transmission and downlink transmission ([0002], states “These systems may employ technologies such as code division multiple access (CDMA) , time division multiple access (TDMA) , frequency division multiple access (FDMA) , orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) , or discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM) “ that’s implies the subband full-duplex symbol can be OFDM symbol where collection of subcarriers (subbands) transmitted simultaneously over a certain time duration. [0086], lines discloses the system may employ OFDM and DFT-S-OFDM of multiple subcarriers techniques. Fig. 2 and [0056], lines 1-4 states “a user equipment (UE) may be configured to communicate with multiple component carriers (CCs) simultaneously based on a carrier aggregation (CA) configuration. Some CA configurations support both time division duplexing (TDD) and frequency division duplexing (FDD) CCs/bands.” [0076] confirms that Duplexing in unlicensed spectrum may be based on frequency division duplexing (FDD) , time division duplexing (TDD) , or a combination of both. [0108] illustrate some examples for how FDD can be enables simultaneous transmission such that “FDD band 215 may include slots 225 in a first frequency subband allocated for downlink slots 230 and a second frequency subband allocated for uplink slots 235 (e.g., and blank symbols/slots)”, which implies transmit and receive data simultaneously within the same symbol period (means full duplex)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei1 to incorporate the teachings of Cao (in analogous art) by determination of allocation of subbands for downlink, uplink, or flexible use over system configuration. Doing so for allowing the procedure to adapt different duplexing modes and avoiding of unavailable uplink slots (Cao, [0035], lines 3-6, [0058], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Lei1 further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a second indication of the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation for the UE ([0238] states “At 1610, the UE may select a first uplink shared channel transmission occasion of the two or more available uplink shared channel transmission occasions for transmission of a first random access message, where the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion spans at least two transmission slots.” That implies the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for the initial access operation , see also claims 1-2, [0257], lines 1-11, and [0269], lines 1-10 states “the base station may transmit system information to a set of UEs, the system information including random access occasion identifiers of the configured two or more random access occasions and uplink shared channel transmission occasion identifiers of the configured two or more uplink shared channel transmission occasions.” that describes that the UE can receive from the BS a second set of ROs ( two or more) for connected mode operation and initial access operation using system information, which includes identifier to configure ROs and uplink shared channel transmission occasion), the second set of random access occasions comprising one or more uplink symbols (Abstract states “Reference signal resources for transmitting a reference signal with a first random access message of the two-step RACH procedure may include at least one symbol in each of the multiple transmission slots.” Where the two-step RACH procedure can be used for initial access operation, which include at least one symbol [0100], [0058], [0060] and [0083]. [0170], lines 2-7, states “based on the system information, reference signal resources within the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for transmitting a reference signal with the first random access message, where the reference signal resources include at least one symbol in each of the two or more transmission slots.” and which provides that these uplink symbols are a part of the refence signal resources configured to transmit the random access messages by the UE, see also [0264]).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Lei1 further teaches receive a second indication of a third set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation and the initial access operation for the UE ([0238] states “At 1610, the UE may select a first uplink shared channel transmission occasion of the two or more available uplink shared channel transmission occasions for transmission of a first random access message, where the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion spans at least two transmission slots.” That implies the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for the initial access operation , see also claims 1-2, [0257], lines 1-11, and [0269], lines 1-10 states “the base station may transmit system information to a set of UEs, the system information including random access occasion identifiers of the configured two or more random access occasions and uplink shared channel transmission occasion identifiers of the configured two or more uplink shared channel transmission occasions.” that describes that the UE can receive from the BS a second set of ROs ( two or more) for connected mode operation and initial access operation using system information, which includes identifier to configure ROs and uplink shared channel transmission occasion), wherein the third set of random access occasions includes the one or more uplink symbols (Abstract states “Reference signal resources for transmitting a reference signal with a first random access message of the two-step RACH procedure may include at least one symbol in each of the multiple transmission slots.” Where the two-step RACH procedure can be used for initial access operation, which include at least one symbol [0100], [0058], [0060] and [0083]. [0170], lines 2-7, states “based on the system information, reference signal resources within the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for transmitting a reference signal with the first random access message, where the reference signal resources include at least one symbol in each of the two or more transmission slots.” and which provides that these uplink symbols are a part of the refence signal resources configured to transmit the random access messages by the UE, see also [0264]). Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Lei1 teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to ([0024], lines 1-5, “An apparatus for wireless communication at a BS is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to”): transmit a first indication of a set of random access occasions for a connected mode operation for a user equipment (UE) different than a second set of random access occasions used for an initial access operation for the UE ([0006], [0022], lines 1-5, [0180], and [0012], lines 3-4, the BS provide the UE with a set of ROs (random access occasions) specifically to configure the UE in the RRC connected state and Idle state. [0097], lines 1-4 states “the base station may configure a first set of POs and/or ROs for a first RRC state (e.g., RRC connected) and a second set of POs and/or ROs for a second RRC state (e.g., RRC idle). In such an example, a UE may select a PO and/or RO based on the state of the RRC state of the UE.” That implies the first set of RO can be configured/indicated first RRC state (e.g., RRC connected) and the second set of ROs, which is different from the first one, can be configured for second RRC state (e.g., RRC idle), that implies the second set of ROs is dedicated for idle state which can be used for initial access operation to change the state from idle (inactive) to connected mode, in other words, the UE need to perform initial access operation when the UE in the RRC idle/inactive mode (using the ROs set of the RRC idle) for transition the UE to the connected mode. [0097] also states “the UE may first select the set of POs/ROs that is associated with (e.g., configured for) the current RRC state of the UE. The UE may then select a PO/RO from the set of POs/ROs associated with the current RRC state of the UE” that confirms the selection between the two sets based on the RRC state to perform the required operation, and since the initial operation is performed when the UE in idle mode so the ROs set for RRC idle state will be utilized, which is different from the first set of ROs that dedicated for RRC connected mode operation, as confirmed in [0100], lines 1-3), receive a random access message via the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation based at least in part on an operating mode of the UE being a connected operating mode ([0009], lines 21-22, [0005], lines 21-27, the UE can select a random access and an uplink shared channel transmission occasion to send the first random access massage while in the connected mode operating (e.g., RRC connected state. [0101], 8-13, describes how the UE receive from the BS the system information while it is in a connected state (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED state) with base station, then, [0005], lines 21-27, illustrates that the UE can select a random access and an uplink shared channel transmission occasion to send the first random access massage to the BS while in the connected mode operating (e.g., RRC connected state, [0180] describes the ROs are associated with RRC states, where [0006], lines 11-22, describe the transmission process after determining the reference signal resources for the reference signal to be transmitted to the BS with the random access message and [0249] describe how to format the random access message including the reference signal and uplink shared channel data).
Lei1 does not explicitly teach but Cao teaches the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation ([0003], lines 4-10, illustrates the UE may perform a RACH procedure to establish the connection with the BS and describe the process of that also [0082], lines 5-7 states “the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol layer may provide establishment, configuration, and maintenance of an RRC connection between a UE 115 and a base station 105 or core network 130 supporting radio bearers for user plane data” which is the key element of the connected mode operation, [0004]) comprising a first subset of random access occasions within an uplink subband of one or more subband full-duplex symbols and a second subset of random access occasions within one or more uplink symbols, (Figs. 2 and 17, [0175], lines 1-4, [0123], lines 1-3, Claim 1, lines 3-5, the ROs may be configured in uplink component carriers of either the frequency division multiplexing FDD band, time division multiplexing TDD, or a combination of both, the ROS are allocated within a specific subband of SBFD symbols, which are a narrower frequency ranges within the uplink bandwidth. Fig. 17 describe Ros include a subset of ROs within uplink symbols, [0111], lines 1-3, [0056]), wherein each subband full-duplex symbols of the one or more subband full-duplex symbols comprises one or more subbands allocated for uplink and one or more subbands allocated for downlink or flexible ([0002], states “These systems may employ technologies such as code division multiple access (CDMA) , time division multiple access (TDMA) , frequency division multiple access (FDMA) , orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) , or discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM) “ that’s implies the subband full-duplex symbol can be OFDM symbol where collection of subcarriers (subbands) transmitted simultaneously over a certain time duration. Fig. 2, [0108], lines 3-15, the description of the TDD band and FDD band configurations as shown in Fig. 2 illustrates the slots are allocated for uplink, downlink, and flexible transmissions. The TDD band includes slots that can alternate among uplink, downlink, and flexible transmissions. The FDD band includes subbands explicitly allocated for uplink and downlink transmissions with separate frequency ranges for each direction, which implies that the FDD band allocates separate subbands for uplink and downlink transmissions); and wherein each subband full-duplex symbol of the one or more subband full-duplex symbols is configured for simultaneous uplink transmission and downlink transmission ([0002], states “These systems may employ technologies such as code division multiple access (CDMA) , time division multiple access (TDMA) , frequency division multiple access (FDMA) , orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) , or discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM) “ that’s implies the subband full-duplex symbol can be OFDM symbol where collection of subcarriers (subbands) transmitted simultaneously over a certain time duration. [0086], lines discloses the system may employ OFDM and DFT-S-OFDM of multiple subcarriers techniques. Fig. 2 and [0056], lines 1-4 states “a user equipment (UE) may be configured to communicate with multiple component carriers (CCs) simultaneously based on a carrier aggregation (CA) configuration. Some CA configurations support both time division duplexing (TDD) and frequency division duplexing (FDD) CCs/bands.” [0076] confirms that Duplexing in unlicensed spectrum may be based on frequency division duplexing (FDD) , time division duplexing (TDD) , or a combination of both. [0108] illustrate some examples for how FDD can be enables simultaneous transmission such that “FDD band 215 may include slots 225 in a first frequency subband allocated for downlink slots 230 and a second frequency subband allocated for uplink slots 235 (e.g., and blank symbols/slots)”, which implies transmit and receive data simultaneously within the same symbol period (means full duplex)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei1 to incorporate the teachings of Cao (in analogous art) by determination of allocation of subbands for downlink, uplink, or flexible use over system configuration. Doing so for allowing the procedure to adapt different duplexing modes and avoiding of unavailable uplink slots (Cao, [0035], lines 3-6, [0058], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 12.
Lei1 further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a second indication of the second set of random access occasions for initial access operation for the UE ([0238] states “At 1610, the UE may select a first uplink shared channel transmission occasion of the two or more available uplink shared channel transmission occasions for transmission of a first random access message, where the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion spans at least two transmission slots.” That implies the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for the initial access operation , see also claims 1-2, [0257], lines 1-11, and [0269], lines 1-10 states “the base station may transmit system information to a set of UEs, the system information including random access occasion identifiers of the configured two or more random access occasions and uplink shared channel transmission occasion identifiers of the configured two or more uplink shared channel transmission occasions.” that describes that the UE can receive from the BS a second set of ROs ( two or more) for connected mode operation and initial access operation using system information, which includes identifier to configure ROs and uplink shared channel transmission occasion), the second set of random access occasions comprising one or more uplink symbols (Abstract states “Reference signal resources for transmitting a reference signal with a first random access message of the two-step RACH procedure may include at least one symbol in each of the multiple transmission slots.” Where the two-step RACH procedure can be used for initial access operation, which include at least one symbol [0100], [0058], [0060] and [0083]. [0170], lines 2-7, states “based on the system information, reference signal resources within the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for transmitting a reference signal with the first random access message, where the reference signal resources include at least one symbol in each of the two or more transmission slots.” and which provides that these uplink symbols are a part of the refence signal resources configured to transmit the random access messages by the UE, see also [0264]).
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 12.
Lei1 further teaches transmit a second indication of a third set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation and the initial access operation for the UE ([0238] states “At 1610, the UE may select a first uplink shared channel transmission occasion of the two or more available uplink shared channel transmission occasions for transmission of a first random access message, where the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion spans at least two transmission slots.” That implies the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for the initial access operation , see also claims 1-2, [0257], lines 1-11, and [0269], lines 1-10 states “the base station may transmit system information to a set of UEs, the system information including random access occasion identifiers of the configured two or more random access occasions and uplink shared channel transmission occasion identifiers of the configured two or more uplink shared channel transmission occasions.” that describes that the UE can receive from the BS a second set of ROs ( two or more) for connected mode operation and initial access operation using system information, which includes identifier to configure ROs and uplink shared channel transmission occasion), wherein the third set of random access occasions includes the one or more uplink symbols (Abstract states “Reference signal resources for transmitting a reference signal with a first random access message of the two-step RACH procedure may include at least one symbol in each of the multiple transmission slots.” Where the two-step RACH procedure can be used for initial access operation, which include at least one symbol [0100], [0058], [0060] and [0083]. [0170], lines 2-7, states “based on the system information, reference signal resources within the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for transmitting a reference signal with the first random access message, where the reference signal resources include at least one symbol in each of the two or more transmission slots.” and which provides that these uplink symbols are a part of the refence signal resources configured to transmit the random access messages by the UE, see also [0264]).
As to claims 21 and 26 see similar rejections to claims 1 and 12, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Regarding claim 29 (Currently Amended), Lei1 and Cao teach the method of claim 26.
Lei1 further teaches transmitting a second indication of the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation for the UE ([0238] states “At 1610, the UE may select a first uplink shared channel transmission occasion of the two or more available uplink shared channel transmission occasions for transmission of a first random access message, where the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion spans at least two transmission slots.” That implies the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for the initial access operation , see also claims 1-2, [0257], lines 1-11, and [0269], lines 1-10 states “the base station may transmit system information to a set of UEs, the system information including random access occasion identifiers of the configured two or more random access occasions and uplink shared channel transmission occasion identifiers of the configured two or more uplink shared channel transmission occasions.” that describes that the UE can receive from the BS a second set of ROs ( two or more) for connected mode operation and initial access operation using system information, which includes identifier to configure ROs and uplink shared channel transmission occasion), the second set of random access occasions comprising one or more uplink symbols (Abstract states “Reference signal resources for transmitting a reference signal with a first random access message of the two-step RACH procedure may include at least one symbol in each of the multiple transmission slots.” Where the two-step RACH procedure can be used for initial access operation, which include at least one symbol [0100], [0058], [0060] and [0083]. [0170], lines 2-7, states “based on the system information, reference signal resources within the first uplink shared channel transmission occasion for transmitting a reference signal with the first random access message, where the reference signal resources include at least one symbol in each of the two or more transmission slots.” and which provides that these uplink symbols are a part of the refence signal resources configured to transmit the random access messages by the UE, see also [0264]).
Claims 3, 14, 23, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 2020/0351947), here in referred to as Lei1, in view of Cao et al. (WO 2021056170 A1) and further in view of Lei et al. (US 20200383141 A1), here in referred to as Lei2.
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Cao further teaches wherein the scheduled downlink message at least partially overlaps the set of random access occasions and a set of corresponding gap symbols in time domain (Fig. 2 and [0108], lines 5-13, in Time Division Duplexing (TDD) bands, slots are divided into downlink slots, uplink slots and synchronization signal block(SSB) slots, which may include symbols allocated for transmissions mixture, such as downlink transmissions, guard periods and uplink transmissions).
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but Lei2 teaches receive control information that schedules a downlink message via a periodic downlink occasion, a semi-persistent downlink occasion, or an aperiodic downlink occasion ( [0006], lines 9-16, [0165], lines 3-6, [0173], lines 6-8 and [0202], lines 9-13, the control information provides scheduling details for downlink transmission , including the type of downlink occasion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao to include receive control information that schedules a downlink message via a periodic downlink occasion, a semi-persistent downlink occasion, or an aperiodic downlink occasion, as taught by Lei2, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao, for the purpose of efficient use of available spectrum ([0119], lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 12.
Cao further teaches wherein the scheduled downlink message at least partially overlaps the set of random access occasions and a set of corresponding gap symbols in time domain (Fig. 2 and [0108], lines 5-13, in Time Division Duplexing (TDD) bands, slots are divided into downlink slots, uplink slots and synchronization signal block(SSB) slots, which may include symbols allocated for transmissions mixture, such as downlink transmissions, guard periods and uplink transmissions).
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but Lei2 teaches transmit control information that schedules a downlink message via a periodic downlink occasion, a semi-persistent downlink occasion, or an aperiodic downlink occasion ([0006], lines 9-16, [0165], lines 3-6, [0173], lines 6-8 and [0202], lines 9-13, the control information provides scheduling details for downlink transmission , including the type of downlink occasion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao to include receive control information that schedules a downlink message via a periodic downlink occasion, a semi-persistent downlink occasion, or an aperiodic downlink occasion, as taught by Lei2, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao, for the purpose of efficient use of available spectrum ([0119], lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 23 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the method of claim 21.
Cao further teaches wherein the scheduled downlink message at least partially overlaps the set of random access occasions and a set of corresponding gap symbols in time domain (Fig. 2 and [0108], lines 5-13, in Time Division Duplexing (TDD) bands, slots are divided into downlink slots, uplink slots and synchronization signal block(SSB) slots, which may include symbols allocated for transmissions mixture, such as downlink transmissions, guard periods and uplink transmissions).
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but Lei2 teaches receiving control information that schedules a downlink message via a periodic downlink occasion, a semi-persistent downlink occasion, or an aperiodic downlink occasion (Claim 54, lines 6-7, [0006], lines 9-16, [0165], lines 3-6, [0173], lines 6-8 and [0202], lines 9-13, the control information provides scheduling details for downlink transmission , including the type of downlink occasion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao to include receive control information that schedules a downlink message via a periodic downlink occasion, a semi-persistent downlink occasion, or an aperiodic downlink occasion, as taught by Lei2, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao, for the purpose of efficient use of available spectrum ([0119], lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 28 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the method of claim 26.
Cao further teaches wherein the scheduled downlink message at least partially overlaps the set of random access occasions and a set of corresponding gap symbols in time domain (Fig. 2 and [0108], lines 5-13, in Time Division Duplexing (TDD) bands, slots are divided into downlink slots, uplink slots and synchronization signal block(SSB) slots, which may include symbols allocated for transmissions mixture, such as downlink transmissions, guard periods and uplink transmissions).
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but Lei2 teaches transmitting control information that schedules a downlink message via a periodic downlink occasion, a semi-persistent downlink occasion, or an aperiodic downlink occasion ( [0006], lines 9-16, [0165], lines 3-6, [0173], lines 6-8 and [0202], lines 9-13, the control information provides scheduling details for downlink transmission , including the type of downlink occasion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao to include receive control information that schedules a downlink message via a periodic downlink occasion, a semi-persistent downlink occasion, or an aperiodic downlink occasion, as taught by Lei2, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao, for the purpose of efficient use of available spectrum ([0119], lines 15-20).
Claims 8, 11, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 2020/0351947), here in referred to as Lei1 in view of Cao et al. (WO-2021056170-A1) and further in view of LY et al. (US 2021/0084688).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 6.
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but LY teaches perform an initial access procedure via the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation based at least in part on the operating mode of the UE being an initial access operating mode ([0060], lines 11-17 and [0071], lines 5-10, the UE can determine to perform a random access procedure, such as for initial access and utilize configured Ros to transmit random access procedure to activate/initiate the procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei1 in view of Cao to incorporate the teachings of LY (in analogous art) by establishing the connection with the wireless network or the BS through via the second set of random access occasions. Doing so would aid the UE to transition from RRC Idle/inactive to RRC connected (LY, [0024]).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but LY teaches wherein a network entity supports subband full-duplex operation ([0005], lines 1-4 , [0037], lines 1-3 and [0021], lines 11-18, network entity, such as a BS, can support sub-band full duplex (FD) operations. Subband FD also referred to as flexible duplex” to allow the network entity to transmit/receive simultaneously within the same frequency band) and the UE supports half-duplex operation ([0984], lines 19-23, the FD communications may not be configured on FD communication, which suggests that UE can operate in half-duplex mode based on the service of the communication with UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei1 in view of Cao to incorporate the teachings of LY (in analogous art) by combining a network entity and UE that support subband full-duplex and half-duplex operation respectively. Doing so has a beneficial for applications that required low latency communications (LY, [0004], lines 9-17).
Regarding claim 17 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 15.
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but LY teaches perform an initial access procedure via the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation based at least in part on the operating mode of the UE being an initial access operating mode ([0060], lines 11-17 and [0071], lines 5-10, the UE can determine to perform a random access procedure, such as for initial access and utilize configured Ros to transmit random access procedure to activate/initiate the procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei1 in view of Cao to incorporate the teachings of LY (in analogous art) by establishing the connection with the wireless network or the BS via the second set of random access occasions. Doing so would aid the UE to transition from RRC Idle/inactive to RRC connected (LY, [0024]).
Regarding claim 20 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 12.
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but LY teaches wherein a network entity supports subband full-duplex operation ([0005], lines 1-4 , [0037], lines 1-3 and [0021], lines 11-18, network entity, such as a BS, can support sub-band full duplex (FD) operations. Subband FD also referred to as flexible duplex” to allow the network entity to transmit/receive simultaneously within the same frequency band) and the UE supports half-duplex operation ([0984], lines 19-23, the FD communications may not be configured on FD communication, which suggests that UE can operate in half-duplex mode based on the service of the communication with UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lei1 in view of Cao to incorporate the teachings of LY (in analogous art) by combining a network entity and UE that support subband full-duplex and half-duplex operation respectively. Doing so has a beneficial for applications that required low latency communications (LY, [0004], lines 9-17).
Claims 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 2020/0351947), here in referred to as Lei1, in view of Cao et al. (WO 2021056170 A1) and further in view of KO (US 20220240324 A1).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but KO teaches perform, via the set of random access occasions, a handover procedure or a beam failure recovery procedure based at least in part on the operating mode of the UE being the connected operating mode ([0234], lines 2-7, Ros can be used to perform a handover procedure or a beam failure recovery procedure when the UE is in the connect operating mode), wherein the random access message is transmitted as part of the handover procedure or the beam failure recovery procedure ([0258], lines 1-5 and 11-13 and [0026], lines 9-17, the random access channel (RACH) preamble is sent for handover/beam failure recovery process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao to include the perform, via the set of random access occasions, a handover procedure or a beam failure recovery procedure based at least in part on the operating mode of the UE being the connected operating mode, wherein the random access message is transmitted as part of the handover procedure or the beam failure recovery procedure, as taught by KO, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao, for the purpose of seamless transition with optimal beam direction for communication with the UE (KO, [0258], lines 1-3 and [0267], lines 6-10).
Regarding claim 18 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 12.
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but KO teaches perform, via the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation, a handover procedure or a beam failure recovery procedure based at least in part on the operating mode of the UE being the connected operating mode ([0234], lines 2-7, Ros can be used to perform a handover procedure or a beam failure recovery procedure when the UE is in the connect operating mode), wherein the random access message is received as part of the handover procedure or the beam failure recovery procedure ([0258], lines 1-5 and 11-13 and [026], lines 9-17, the random access channel(RACH) preamble is sent for handover/beam failure recovery process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao to include the perform, via the set of random access occasions, a handover procedure or a beam failure recovery procedure based at least in part on the operating mode of the UE being the connected operating mode, wherein the random access message is transmitted as part of the handover procedure or the beam failure recovery procedure, as taught by KO, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao, for the purpose of seamless transition with optimal beam direction for communication with the UE (KO, [0258], lines 1-3 and [0267], lines 6-10).
Claims 4, 5, 24, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 2020/0351947), here in referred to as Lei1, in view of Cao et al. (WO 2021056170 A1) in view of Lei et al. (US 20200383141 A1), here in referred to as Lei2, and further in view of Uesaka (WO 2023067148 A1).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Lei1, Cao, and Lei2 teach the apparatus of claim 3.
Lei1, Cao, Lei2 and Cao do not explicitly teach but Uesaka teaches prioritize reception of the downlink message via the set of random access occasions over transmission of the random access message via the set of random access occasions ( Page 15, lines 14-17, the wireless device prioritize the reception of downlink messages (e.g., synchronization signal blocks(SSBs) or tracking reference signals (TRS)) over the transmission of random access messages during ROs) based at least in part on a prioritization rule (Page 13, lines 13-19, it describes the rules to prioritize downlink reception).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao in view of Lei2 to include prioritize reception of the downlink message based at least in part on a prioritization rule, as taught by Uesaka, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao in view of Lei2, for the purpose of reducing the likelihood of collisions then improving the network efficiency (Uesaka, page 7, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Lei1, Cao, and Lei2 teach the apparatus of claim 3.
Lei1, Lei2 and Cao do not explicitly teach but Uesaka teaches prioritize transmission of the random access message via the set of random access occasions over reception of the downlink message based at least in part on a prioritization rule ( Figs. 19 and 20 illustrate the wireless device can prioritize random access message by set of ROs through downlink message reception based on a prioritization rule, for example, when uplink transmission is critical/ overlaps with downlink reception opportunities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao in view of Lei2 to include prioritize transmission of the random access message via the set of random access occasions over reception of the downlink message based at least in part on a prioritization rule, as taught by Uesaka, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao in view of Lei2 , for the purpose of ensuring an accurate time and frequency alignment, which is essential for reliable communication (Uesaka, page 38, lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 24 (Original), Lei1, Cao, and Lei2 teach the method of claim 23.
Lei1, Cao, and Lei2 do not explicitly teach but Uesaka teaches prioritize reception of the downlink message via the set of random access occasions over transmission of the random access message via the set of random access occasions ( Page 15, lines 14-17, the wireless device prioritize the reception of downlink messages (e.g., synchronization signal blocks(SSBs) or tracking reference signals (TRS)) over the transmission of random access messages during ROs) based at least in part on a prioritization rule (Page 13, lines 13-19, it describes the rules to prioritize downlink reception).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao in view of Lei2 to include prioritize reception of the downlink message based at least in part on a prioritization rule, as taught by Uesaka, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao in view of Lei2, for the purpose of reducing the likelihood of collisions then improving the network efficiency (Uesaka, page 7, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 25 (Original), Lei1, Cao, and Lei2 teach the method of claim 23.
Lei1, Cao, and Lei2 do not explicitly teach but Uesaka teaches prioritize transmission of the random access message via the set of random access occasions over reception of the downlink message based at least in part on a prioritization rule ( Figs. 19 and 20 illustrate the wireless device can prioritize random access message by set of ROs through downlink message reception based on a prioritization rule, for example, when uplink transmission is critical/ overlaps with downlink reception opportunities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao in view of Lei2 to include prioritize transmission of the random access message via the set of random access occasions over reception of the downlink message based at least in part on a prioritization rule, as taught by Uesaka, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao in view of Lei2, for the purpose of ensuring an accurate time and frequency alignment, which is essential for reliable communication (Uesaka, page 38, lines 5-6).
Claims 7, 16, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 2020/0351947), here in referred to as Lei1, in view of Cao et al. (WO 2021056170 A1) and further in view of KO (US 20220240324 A1) and in view of Maso et al. US 20220046724 A1.
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 6.
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but KO teaches wherein the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation is associated with an initial bandwidth part of a primary cell (Figs. 14 and 15, [0172], line 8-24, [0260], [0262], lines 10-16, and Section 2.4 illustrate the framework for mapping SSBs to physical random access channel (PRACH) resources and configuring Ros for initial access procedures, an initial active DL/UL BWP, which is referred to as the initial bandwidth part for the primary cell (PCell) as shown in Table 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao to include wherein the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation is associated with an initial bandwidth part of a primary cell, as taught by KO, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao, for the purpose of measuring the channel quality to identify the best beam for communication (KO, [0176], lines 3-7).
Lei1 and Cao and KO do not explicitly teach but Maso teaches the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation is associated with a first set of bandwidth parts of the primary cell or with a second set of bandwidth parts of a second cell (Figs 23 and 24 show the system information block and CA of component carriers, [0306], ], lines 4-7, and [0310], lines 4-7 )the initial UL bandwidth part accommodates the Ros for transmitting message1 (Msg1) through the RACH procedure, and [0317], lines 1-6, the PCell supports contention based random access (CBRA) and is always activated, [0429], lines 1-5, the UE may perform initial access signaling using the new BWP in the secondary cell, SCell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao in view of KO to include the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation is associated with a first set of bandwidth parts of the primary cell or with a second set of bandwidth parts of a second cell, as taught by Maso, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao in view of KO, for the purpose of enabling BS to identify the best beam for communication (Maso, [0315], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 16 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the apparatus of claim 15.
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but KO teaches wherein the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation is associated with an initial bandwidth part of a primary cell (Figs. 14 and 15, [0172], line 8-24, [0260], [0262], lines 10-16, and Section 2.4 illustrate the framework for mapping SSBs to physical random access channel (PRACH) resources and configuring Ros for initial access procedures, an initial active DL/UL BWP, which is referred to as the initial bandwidth part for the primary cell (PCell) as shown in Table 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao to include wherein the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation is associated with an initial bandwidth part of a primary cell, as taught by KO, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao, for the purpose of measuring the channel quality to identify the best beam for communication (KO, [0176], lines 3-7).
Lei1 and Cao and KO do not explicitly teach but Maso teaches the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation is associated with a first set of bandwidth parts of the primary cell or with a second set of bandwidth parts of a second cell (Figs 23 and 24 show the system information block and carrier aggregation (CA) of component carriers with 4 CCs( PCell and other 3 SCells, [0306], ], lines 4-7 and [0310], lines 4-7 , the initial UL bandwidth part accommodates the Ros for transmitting message1 (Msg1) through the RACH procedure, and [0317], lines 1-6, the PCell supports contention based random access (CBRA) and is always activated, [0429], lines 1-5, the UE may perform initial access signaling using the new BWP in the secondary cell, SCell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao in view of KO to include the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation is associated with a first set of bandwidth parts of the primary cell or with a second set of bandwidth parts of a second cell, as taught by Maso, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao in view of KO, for the purpose of enabling BS to identify the best beam for communication (Maso, [0315], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 30 (Original), Lei1 and Cao teach the method of claim 29.
Lei1 and Cao do not explicitly teach but KO teaches wherein the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation is associated with an initial bandwidth part of a primary cell (Figs. 14 and 15, [0172], line 8-24, [0260], [0262], lines 10-16, and Section 2.4 illustrate the framework for mapping SSBs to physical random access channel (PRACH) resources and configuring Ros for initial access procedures, an initial active DL/UL BWP, which is referred to as the initial bandwidth part for the primary cell (PCell) as shown in Table 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao to include wherein the second set of random access occasions for the initial access operation is associated with an initial bandwidth part of a primary cell, as taught by KO, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao, for the purpose of measuring the channel quality to identify the best beam for communication (KO, [0176], lines 3-7).
Lei1 , Cao and KO do not explicitly teach but Maso teaches the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation is associated with a first set of bandwidth parts of the primary cell or with a second set of bandwidth parts of a second cell (Figs 23 and 24 show the system information block and carrier aggregation (CA) of component carriers with 4 CCs( PCell and other 3 SCells, [0306], ], lines 4-7 , [0310], lines 4-7 , and [0331]. the initial UL bandwidth part accommodates the Ros for transmitting message1 (Msg1) through the RACH procedure, and [0317], lines 1-6, the PCell supports contention based random access (CBRA) and is always activated, [0429], lines 1-5, the UE may perform initial access signaling using the new BWP in the secondary cell, SCell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lei1 in view of Cao in view of KO to include the set of random access occasions for the connected mode operation is associated with a first set of bandwidth parts of the primary cell or with a second set of bandwidth parts of a second cell, as taught by Maso, in combination with the system of Lei1 in view of Cao in view of KO, for the purpose of establishing communication between the UE and the network (Maso, [0424], lines 3-5).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Ibrahim et al. US-20210400654-A1, Sun et al. US-20200245367-A1, Marcone et al. US-20240032108-A1 Lei Jing et al. et al. WO-2020222891-A1 teach several methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses to improve the random access occasions for connected and initial access operating modes.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463