DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application does not claim priority from any domestic or foreign applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-23, and 25-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astely et al. (WO 2023/117152 A1, hereinafter Astely, NOTE: corresponding US 2025/0056286 A1 used below for rejection citation purposes), in view of KOIVISTO et al. (US 2013/0114428 A1, hereinafter KOIVISTO).
Regarding claim 1, Astely teaches a receive (Rx) node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Astely, see at least fig. 16, e.g. apparatus components)
configured to cause the Rx node to (Astely, in general, see fig. 11 in view of at least fig. 12, and their respective paragraphs including at least 257-287):
receive, from a transmit (Tx) node, a single reference signal associated with a reference Tx configuration parameter value (Astely, see at least para. 261 along with para. 73-74, e.g. step 202 for transmitting (or received by the UE) configuration message, note that “...The configuration message is indicative of at least one of the IM; the IM symbol; the set of ZP REs, optionally one ZP CSI reference signal; the zero or more NZP REs, optionally one NZP CSI reference signal;...”, also note that optionally one ZP CSI reference signal or one NZP CSI reference signal is configured);
determining a set of channel state information (CSI) values, including respective CSI values for a plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, that are based at least in part on the single reference signal associated with the reference Tx configuration parameter value (Astely, see at least para. 264-265 along with para. 252-253 with the CQI Table, “…In the step 204 of the method 200, the network node 100 may request the radio devices 120 to transmit one or more CSI reports which are determined using the CSI-RS configuration, … The network node 100 receives the at least one CSI report in the step 204. Each of the at least one CSI report may be indicative of a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and/or a channel quality indicator (CQI), which the UE 120 has determined using the configured CSI-RS resources...”),
wherein the set of CSI values comprises a plurality of CSI values for different power amplifier backoff values, the plurality of CSI values based at least in part on the single reference signal (Astely, see at least para. 252-253 with the CQI Table along with para. 264-265, note that the CQI Table shows power back-offs relationship);
and
receive, from the Tx node, a transmission that is associated with a Tx configuration parameter value, of the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, that is based at least in part on the respective CSI values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values (Astely, see at least para. 267-270, “…In the step 206 of the method 200, based on the present and possibly also previous CSI reports, the network node 100 sets (e.g., determines) a suitable power (e.g., the set power). In one embodiment, the power is a function of the CQI (e.g., based on the CQI in the at least one CSI report). The CQI corresponds to one out of several predefined combinations of modulation and coding schemes ordered in increasing modulation orders and data rate. In the Table 1, an example of a CQI Table 1 is given…”).
Astely does not specifically teach obtain a set of channel state information (CSI) values.
KOIVISTO teaches obtain a set of channel state information (CSI) values (KOIVISTO, see at least para. 98-100 of fig. 2, e.g. see at least steps 5-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate KOIVISTO into the apparatus of Astely for effectively reducing interferences.
Regarding claim 2, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches receive, from the Tx node, an indication of the reference Tx configuration parameter value and the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values. (Astely, see at least para. 73-74 along with claim 39 and steps of fig. 11, e.g. one or more parameters in the configuration message)
Regarding claim 4, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches receive, from the Tx node, an indication of a reference Tx signal quality metric value for the single reference signal and respective Tx signal quality metric values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values. (Astely, see at least para. 73-74 along with claim 39, e.g. one or more parameters in the configuration message)
Regarding claim 5, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches the respective Tx signal quality metric values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values include respective values for a first Tx signal quality metric; the reference Tx signal quality metric value is a value for the first Tx signal quality metric for the single reference signal; and the first Tx signal quality metric is an error vector magnitude (EVM), a Tx signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or a maximum achievable rate limit. (Astely, see at least claim 39 along with para. 220 and 227, e.g. “…FIG. 8 shows a relationship 800 between the power back-off 804 and distortion level 802, e.g. in terms of an error vector magnitude (EVM)…”)
Regarding claim 6, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches derive the respective CSI values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values based at least in part on the respective Tx signal quality metric values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, the reference Tx signal quality metric value, and a measurement of the single reference signal. (Astely, see at least para. 264-266 along with claim 39, “…In the step 204 of the method 200, the network node 100 may request the radio devices 120 to transmit one or more CSI reports which are determined using the CSI-RS configuration, which (as mentioned above) includes a CSI-IM. A specific UE 120 may be requested to report the CSI periodically, for example with the same period as the CSI-IM (i.e., the at least one IM symbol 410, wherein neighboring IM symbols define one instance) or periodically, i.e. when needed because there is data to be transmitted and the last CSI report is outdated…”; KOIVISTO, see at least para. 98-100 of fig. 2, e.g. see at least steps 5-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate KOIVISTO into the apparatus of Astely for effectively reducing interferences.
Regarding claim 7, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches the reference Tx signal quality metric value is a reference error vector magnitude (EVM) value and the respective Tx signal quality metric values include respective EVM values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, and wherein, to cause the Rx node to derive the respective CSI values, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the Rx node to: derive respective signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values based at least in part on the respective EVM values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, the reference EVM value, and a measured SNR value for the single reference signal. (Astely, see at least claim 39 along with para. 220 and 239 of fig. 9, e.g. “…FIG. 9 shows an example of a relationship 902 between a SNR and a data rate (in terms of Mbps) when the power back-off 804 is fixed to 7 dB for the at least one IM symbol 410)…”)
Regarding claim 8, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches transmit, to the Tx node, a report including one or more of the respective CSI values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values. (Astely, see at least para. 264-265, e.g. “…In the step 204 of the method 200, the network node 100 may request the radio devices 120 to transmit one or more CSI reports which are determined using the CSI-RS configuration, which (as mentioned above) includes a CSI-IM…”)
Regarding claim 9, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches receive a reporting configuration for the one or more of the respective CSI values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, wherein to cause the Rx node to transmit the report, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the Rx node to transmit the report in accordance with the reporting configuration. (Astely, see at least para. 264-265, e.g. “…In the step 204 of the method 200, the network node 100 may request the radio devices 120 to transmit one or more CSI reports which are determined using the CSI-RS configuration, which (as mentioned above) includes a CSI-IM…”)
Regarding claim 10, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches the reporting configuration indicates one or more triggering conditions for the one or more of the respective CSI values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the Rx node to transmit the report in accordance with the reporting configuration, are configured to cause the Rx node to:
transmit the report in connection with a triggering condition, of the one or more triggering conditions, being satisfied. (Astely, see at least para. 55-56, e.g. “…the CSI report may be indicative of a first (e.g., high) SINR or a first (e.g., good) CQI triggering that the scaled power (e.g., power of future OFDM symbols) is less than the nominal power, e.g., since the radio link quality is good (e.g., as indicated by the SINR or CQI) and no distortion was introduced by the network node (e.g., by the PA and/or the PAPR reduction unit) in the IM symbol due to the reduced power of the IM symbol…”)
Regarding claim 11, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches the triggering condition is satisfied in connection with a difference between a respective CSI value for at least one Tx configuration parameter value of the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values and a baseline CSI value for the single reference signal satisfying a threshold. (Astely, see at least para. 55-56, for one example, but not limited to, e.g. “…the CSI report may be indicative of a first (e.g., high) SINR or a first (e.g., good) CQI triggering that the scaled power (e.g., power of future OFDM symbols) is less than the nominal power, e.g., since the radio link quality is good (e.g., as indicated by the SINR or CQI) and no distortion was introduced by the network node (e.g., by the PA and/or the PAPR reduction unit) in the IM symbol due to the reduced power of the IM symbol…”)
Regarding claim 12, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches the reporting configuration indicates a selection criterion for selection of the one or more of the respective CSI values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values to be included in the report. (Astely, see at least para. 264-265 and 270, for one example, but not limited to, e.g. “…The network node 100 receives the at least one CSI report in the step 204. Each of the at least one CSI report may be indicative of a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and/or a channel quality indicator (CQI), which the UE 120 has determined using the configured CSI-RS resources. The UE 120 typically has a NZP-CSI-RS with the same periodicity as the CSI-IM, so that the channel quality may be measured as well as the interference…”)
Regarding claim 13, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches the selection criterion indicates a quantity of CSI values to be included in the report. (Astely, see at least para. 264-265 and 270, for one example, but not limited to, e.g. “…The network node 100 receives the at least one CSI report in the step 204. Each of the at least one CSI report may be indicative of a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and/or a channel quality indicator (CQI), which the UE 120 has determined using the configured CSI-RS resources. The UE 120 typically has a NZP-CSI-RS with the same periodicity as the CSI-IM, so that the channel quality may be measured as well as the interference…”)
Regarding claim 14, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches receive an indication of respective cost metric values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, wherein the one or more of the respective CSI values included in the report include the quantity of CSI values selected from the respective CSI values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values based at least in part on the respective cost metric values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values. (Astely, see at least para. 267-268 along with para. 150, for one example, but not limited to, e.g. “… The set power (e.g., the reduced power or the power back-off) may be changed (i.e., adjusted) based on at least one of noise (N), interference (I), and channel conditions reported in the CSI report from the radio device…”)
Regarding claim 15, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches the report indicates, for each CSI value of the one or more of the respective CSI values included in the report, a relative value for the CSI value with respect to a baseline CSI value for the single reference signal. (Astely, see at least para. 264 along with para. 150, for one example, but not limited to, e.g. “…A specific UE 120 may be requested to report the CSI periodically, for example with the same period as the CSI-IM (i.e., the at least one IM symbol 410, wherein neighboring IM symbols define one instance) or periodically, i.e. when needed because there is data to be transmitted and the last CSI report is outdated.…”)
Regarding claim 16, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches the respective CSI values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values may include respective channel quality index (CQI) values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, respective modulation and coding scheme (MCS) values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, or respective signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values. (Astely, see at least para. 264-265, for one example, but not limited to, e.g. “…The network node 100 receives the at least one CSI report in the step 204. Each of the at least one CSI report may be indicative of a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and/or a channel quality indicator (CQI), which the UE 120 has determined using the configured CSI-RS resources…”)
Regarding claim 17, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches the report indicates, for each CSI value of the one or more of the respective CSI values included in the report, a relative value for the CSI value with respect to a baseline CSI value for the single reference signal. (Astely, see at least para. 76-77, for one example, but not limited to, e.g. “…the CSI report may be indicative of a channel quality indicator (CQI) or a signal-to-interference and noise ratio (SINR) for the radio transmission.…”; KOIVISTO, see at least para. 19, “… The baseline feedback has been agreed to be implicit feedback which consists of rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix index (PMI) and a channel quality indicator (CQI)…”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate KOIVISTO into the apparatus of Astely for effectively reducing interferences.
Regarding claim 18, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches transmit a first report including a baseline CSI value for the single reference signal; and transmit a second report including respective relative CSI values, with respect to the baseline CSI value, for one or more of the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values that are different from the reference Tx configuration parameter value. (Astely, see at least para. 264 along with para. 150, for one example, but not limited to, e.g. “…A specific UE 120 may be requested to report the CSI periodically, for example with the same period as the CSI-IM (i.e., the at least one IM symbol 410, wherein neighboring IM symbols define one instance) or periodically, i.e. when needed because there is data to be transmitted and the last CSI report is outdated.…”)
Regarding claim 19, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches transmit, to the Tx node, a report including an indication of a linear function with a slope and an offset that characterize a mapping between the different power amplifier backoff values and the respective CSI values. (Astely, see at least para. 270 along with fig. 8, for one example, but not limited to, e.g. “…Above in Table 1, an example of a mapping of CQI index (in the CSI report received in the step 204) to the power back-off 810 (or the IM symbol power 610) is given, which may be used in any embodiment. Alternatively or in addition, the mapping may be determined empirically, e.g. by means of simulations or experiments in the field. For example for each CQI index, a performance may be measured for a set of different values of the power (e.g., 610 or 810) and after enough experiments have been done, for each CQI index the power (e.g., 610 or 810) that on average gives the best performance may be set (e.g., selected). The best performance may be measured in terms of data rate..…”)
Regarding claim 20, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches select the Tx configuration parameter value of the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values based at least in part on the respective CSI values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values. (Astely, see at least para. 267-268 along with para. 150, for one example, but not limited to, e.g. “… In the step 206 of the method 200, based on the present and possibly also previous CSI reports, the network node 100 sets (e.g., determines) a suitable power (e.g., the set power). In one embodiment, the power is a function of the CQI (e.g., based on the CQI in the at least one CSI report)…”)
Regarding claim 21, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the Rx node to receive, from the Tx node, an indication of respective cost metric values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, wherein, to cause the Rx node to select the Tx configuration parameter value of the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the Rx node to: select the Tx configuration parameter value of the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values based at least in part on the respective CSI values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, the respective cost metric values for the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values, and a performance metric. (Astely, see at least para. 267-271, for one example, but not limited to, “…The CQI corresponds to one out of several predefined combinations of modulation and coding schemes ordered in increasing modulation orders and data rate. In the Table 1, an example of a CQI Table 1 is given…”)
Regarding claim 22, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches transmit, to the Tx node, scheduling information to schedule the transmission from the Tx node and to indicate that the Tx configuration parameter value of the plurality of Tx configuration parameter values is to be used for the transmission. (Astely, see at least para. 267-271 along with para. 150, for one example, but not limited to, “…After the power has been applied it is also possible to adjust the CSI report to take into account the power, for example using a so called outer loop, which based on ACK/NACK feedback from the UEs determines an offset to be applied the reported CQI before selecting a modulation and coding scheme…”)
Regarding claim 23, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as combination of claims 1 and 4. To be more specific, although reciting subject matters slightly different, one skilled in the art would have known claim 23 performs reverse (or corresponding) procedures of combination of claims 1 and 4. For example, it would be a Tx node of claim 23 that performs the reverse (or corresponding) receiving from and transmitting to the Rx node of combination of claims 1 and 4. Hence, the examiner applies the same rejection reasoning as set forth in combination of claims 1 and 4.
Regarding claims 25, 26, 27, and 28, in view of claim 23 above, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 5, 8, 20, and 22, respectively, except each of these claims is in Tx node claim format.
Regarding claim 29, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1 except this claim is in method claim format.
Regarding claim 30, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 23 except this claim is in method claim format.
Regarding claim 31, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 13.
Regarding claim 32, Astely in view of KOIVISTO teaches a channel quality index value (CQI) for a power amplifier backoff value of the different power amplifier backoff values is based at least in part on a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) value for the power amplifier backoff value, and wherein a spectral efficiency is based at least in part on the SNR value for the power amplifier backoff value. (Astely, see at least para. 252-253 with the CQI Table along with para. 241, note that the CQI Table shows power back-offs relationship also in view of SNRs)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claims 1, 23, 29, and 30, since applicant's amendment necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, previous Office action's rejections are moot. Accordingly, corresponding dependent claims have also been rejected in this Office action.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner provides response in following sections.
Regarding independent claim 1, applicant argues that (applicant’s emphasis included, if any):
“Applicant respectfully submits that ASTELY and KOIVISTO do not disclose or suggest each and every feature recited in claim 1. For example, ASTELY and KOIVISTO do not disclose or suggest "a plurality of CSI values for different power amplifier backoff values, the plurality of CSI values based at least in part on the single reference signal," as recited in claim 1. The Office Action relies on paragraphs 252, 253, 264, and 265 of ASTELY for allegedly teaching such features. See Office Action, page 4. Paragraph 265 of ASTELY, for example, recites "a channel quality indicator (CQI), which the UE 120 has determined using the configured CSI-RS resources." However, even if the CQI of ASTELY could be construed as a plurality of CSI values, which the Applicant does not concede, the cited portions of ASTELY still would not disclose or suggest that the CQI is "based at least in part on the single reference signal," as recited in claim 1. For example, a CQI "determined using the configured CSI-RS resources," as described in paragraph 265 of ASTELY, is not the same as "a plurality of CSI values based at least in part on the single reference signal," as recited in claim 1. (Emphasis added).” (Remarks, page 15)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Astely in para. 264 discloses “[i]n the step 204 of the method 200, the network node 100 may request the radio devices 120 to transmit one or more CSI reports which are determined using the CSI-RS configuration.” Prior to that, Astely in at least para. 259 discloses “[t]he network node 100 may then inform the UEs 120 as to which NZP REs for a NZP-CSI-RS and/or IM REs 412 for a ZP-CSI-RS (which may be collectively referred CSI-RS resources) the UEs 120 shall use for CSI measurements and/or reporting.” Hence, Astely indeed discloses single reference signal being used. The same can also be seen in at least para. 73 of Astely. Therefore, Astely, alone or combined, indeed teaches or suggests the argued features of “...a plurality of CSI values for different power amplifier backoff values, the plurality of CSI values based at least in part on the single reference signal," as recited in claim 1.
Regarding independent claims 23, 29, and 30, the traversal grounds are same or similar as those presented in claim 1 above. Therefore, in view of the response above, examiner also respectfully disagrees and has maintained the rejection as presented.
Accordingly, all pending dependent claims of the independent claims 1, 23, 29, and 30, in view of the response above, the examiner has maintained the rejection as presented and believes all rejections are proper and should be sustained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YEE F LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7577. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YEE F LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465