DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received in the Office on 11/25/2025, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1-2, 7-8, and 13-14 have been amended, claims 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, and 18-21 remain the same, claims 4-5, 10-11, and 16-17 have been canceled, claims 22 and 23 have been added, and no new matter appears to be included.
In response to the amendments received in Office on 11/25/2025, the rejection of claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-15, and 18-21 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remaining arguments regarding independent claims 7 and 13 and all dependent claims 2-3, 6, 8-9, 12, 14-15, and 18-23 generally recite the same reasonings as for claim 1 and are moot.
However, the amendments have necessitated a new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 20210315049 hereinafter Wei, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/002,269, filed Mar. 30, 2020 which fully supports all citations made from Wei in the rejection below), in view of Tsai et al. (US20210410180 hereinafter Tsai, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/043,734, filed Jun. 24, 2020 which fully supports all citations made from Tsai in the rejection below), in view of Kim et al. (US 20220232659 hereinafter Kim, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/024,827, filed May 14, 2020 which fully supports all citations made from Kim in the rejection below), in further view of Kim et al. (US20190246318 hereinafter Kim-2).
Regarding claims 1 and 7. Wei teaches the method and apparatus for a terminal device (fig. 18 and pars. 0296-0304, teaches node 1800 may be a UE that performs various functions in the present disclosure), comprising: a processor (fig. 18 and pars. 0296-0304, teaches processor 1808) and a memory (fig. 18 and pars. 0296-0304, teaches memory 1802), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (fig. 18 and pars. 0296-0304, teaches memory 1802 may store computer-readable and/or computer-executable instructions 1814 (e.g., software code(s) or computer-executable program(s)), and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to (fig. 18 and pars. 0296-0304, teaches the memory 1802 may store computer-readable and/or computer-executable instructions 1814 (e.g., software code(s) or computer-executable program(s)) that are configured to, when executed, cause the processor 1808 to perform various functions in the present disclosure):
send first information during running of a first timer, wherein the terminal device is in an inactive state (fig. 8 and pars. 0159-0161, teaches the UE 820 may perform small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state only when the UE 820 has a valid TA value, and the UE 820 may perform small data transmission via a CG in action 814. Wherein, par. 0158, teaches a TA value may be considered valid if the timeAlignmentTimer corresponding to the TA value is running. Whereas, the “small data transmission via a CG” reads as the first information. Par. 0155, teaches Time Alignment (TA)),
the first information comprises user data (par. 0056, teaches small data may include control signaling and/or user data. The term “small data” and the term “data” may be utilized interchangeably in the present disclosure if the data is transmitted by the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state), the user data is data transmitted in a small data transmission (SDT) process (fig. 8 and pars. 0159-0161, teaches the UE 820 may perform small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state only when the UE 820 has a valid TA value, and the UE 820 may perform small data transmission via a CG in action 814. Wherein, the language “the UE 820 may perform small data transmission via a CG in action 814” reads as the user data is data transmitted in a small data transmission (SDT) process), and
the first timer is used to represent a time window … wherein the first information is transmitted by the terminal device through a configured grant (CG) resource (par. 0260, teaches the TA-related timer may define a time interval during which the TA value is allowed to be determined as valid. Wherein, fig. 8 and pars. 0159-0161, teaches the UE 820 may perform small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state only when the UE 820 has a valid TA value, and the UE 820 may perform small data transmission via a CG in action 814. Wherein, par. 0158, teaches a TA value may be considered valid if the timeAlignmentTimer corresponding to the TA value is running).
However, although Wei suggest the first timer is used to represent a time window for the terminal device to monitor information for scheduling uplink small data (par. 0052, teaches the UE may periodically monitor the PDCCH(s) in order to find possible grants for UL transmission), the apparatus and methods of Wei explicitly fails to disclose, the first timer is used to …represent a time window for the terminal device to monitor information for scheduling uplink small data and/or downlink small data transmission.
Tsai disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for small data transmissions, so Tsai is analogous to Wei. Furthermore, Tsai teaches the first timer is used to … represent a time window for the terminal device to monitor information for scheduling uplink small data and/or downlink small data transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0236-0241, teaches while the specific timer 310 is running, the UE 302 may monitor the PDCCH 340 (for a response/feedback) addressed to the specific RNTI (e.g., used for SDT and/or used for CG for SDT). Wherein par. 0217, teaches the specific RNTI may be one or more of the C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, I-RNTI, fullI-RNTI, shortI-RNTI, a specific RNTI for SDT, etc. Whereas, par. 0171, teaches a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI can either signal and activate the configured uplink grant, or deactivate it. Thus, the specific timer, a window, used to monitor the PDCCH for a response/feedback addressed to the specific RNTI used for CG for SDT receives a CS-RNTI that can activate the configured uplink grant reads as the first timer is used to represent a time window for the terminal device to monitor information for scheduling uplink small data transmissions. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first timer is used to represent a time window for the terminal device to monitor information for scheduling uplink small data and/or downlink small data transmissions, as disclosed by Tsai with the method and apparatus of Wei. The motivations for doing so would be to improve wireless communication. (see Tsai par. 0104)
However, the combination of Wei and Tsai explicitly fails to disclose, the first timer is used to represent a time window of radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment resume. Wherein, this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art. Additional searching provided the newly added reference below. Examiner notes, this reference is not required as the limitation is not necessarily positively recited due to the alternative language.
Kim disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for radio resource control (RRC), so Kim is analogous to Wei. Furthermore, Kim teaches the first timer is used to represent a time window of radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment resume (pars. 0227-0230, teaches a UE starting a timer to supervise those RRC procedures. Wherein, the RRC procedures include the RRC connection resume procedure. Par. 0106, teaches radio resource controls (RRCs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first timer is used to represent a time window of radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment resume, as disclosed by Kim with the combination of Wei and Tsai. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce signaling overhead. (see Kim par. 0112)
However, although Wei suggest an RRC resume request (par. 0056, teaches the UE still needs to trigger and perform an RRC connection establishment procedure or an RRC connection resume procedure to transition to the RRC CONNECTED state to transmit the data), the combination of Wei, Tsai, and Kim explicitly fails to disclose, the first information further comprises an RRC resume request (RRCResumeRequest); and restarting the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives second information after the first information, wherein the second information is used to schedule the terminal device to transmit uplink data and/or receive downlink data in the inactive state.
Kim-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a RRC resume request, so Kim-2 is analogous to Wei. Furthermore, Kim-2 teaches the first information further comprises an RRC resume request (RRCResumeRequest) (fig. 6 and pars. 0123-0126, teaches the UE randomly selects and transmits one random access preamble (RACH preamble) from the set of the random access preamble. Whereas, pars. 0183-0184, teaches when a UE triggers a random access procedure (refer to FIG. 6), the UE triggers an RRC Connection Resume procedure. Wherein, pars. 0198-0203, teaches the RRC Connection Resume procedure includes the UE transmits an RRC Connection Resume Request message to an E-UTRAN (e.g., eNB) in order to request the resume of a suspended RRC connection. Whereas, the “random access preamble (RACH preamble)” reads as the first information due to comprising a RRC Connection Resume Request message); and
restarting the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives second information after the first information, wherein the second information is used to schedule the terminal device to transmit uplink data (fig. 6 and pars. 0127-0128, teaches the UE renews or restarts the time alignment timer based on the received random access response that includes an UL grant which comprises the UL resource allocation that is used for transmission of the scheduling message to be described later (Message 3)) and/or receive downlink data in the inactive state (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first information further comprises an RRC resume request (RRCResumeRequest); and restarting the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives second information after the first information, wherein the second information is used to schedule the terminal device to transmit uplink data and/or receive downlink data in the inactive state, as disclosed by Kim-2 with the combination of Wei, Tsai, and Kim. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce overhead signaling. (see Kim-2 par. 0167)
Regarding claims 2 and 8. Wei, Tsai, Kim, and Kim-2 teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 7. Wei further teaches the terminal device is further caused to: stopping the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives … information (pars. 0194-0197, teaches the TA-related timer may be stopped by the UE when a CG configuration release indicator is received from the BS).
However, although Wei teaches stopping the first timer (pars. 0194-0197), the combination of Wei and explicitly fails to disclose, stopping the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives third information, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following: RRC release information, RRC resume information, RRC setup information, RRC reject information.
Kim further teaches stopping the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives second information (par. 0282, teaches may stop the timer T301 based on reception of an RRC response message in response of the RRC reestablishment request message. Whereas, timer T301 reads as the first timer within the context of pars. 0227-0230, which teaches the UE may start a timer to supervise RRC procedures. Wherein, the “RRC response message” reads as the second information due to stopping the T301 timer),
wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: RRC release information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record),
RRC resume information (par. 0282, teaches the RRC response message may comprise RRC reestablishment message),
RRC setup information (par. 0282, teaches the RRC response message may comprise a RRC setup message),
RRC reject information (par. 0282, teaches the RRC response message may comprise a RRC reestablishment reject message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize stopping the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives third information, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following: RRC resume information, RRC setup information, RRC reject information, as disclosed by Kim with the combination of Wei and Tsai. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce signaling overhead. (see Kim par. 0112)
Regarding claim 13. Wei teaches a chip (fig. 18 and pars. 0296-0304, teaches processor 1808 (e.g., having processing circuitry) may include an intelligent hardware device, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a microcontroller, an ASIC, etc.), comprising: a processor (fig. 18 and pars. 0296-0304, teaches processor 1808), configured to call and run a computer program from a memory to cause a terminal device installed with the chip to execute the following operations (fig. 18 and pars. 0296-0304, teaches the memory 1802 may store computer-readable and/or computer-executable instructions 1814 (e.g., software code(s) or computer-executable program(s)) that are configured to, when executed, cause the processor 1808 to perform various functions in the present disclosure):
sending first information during running of a first timer, wherein the terminal device is in an inactive state (fig. 8 and pars. 0159-0161, teaches the UE 820 may perform small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state only when the UE 820 has a valid TA value, and the UE 820 may perform small data transmission via a CG in action 814. Wherein, par. 0158, teaches a TA value may be considered valid if the timeAlignmentTimer corresponding to the TA value is running. Whereas, the “small data transmission via a CG” reads as the first information. Par. 0155, teaches Time Alignment (TA)),
the first information comprises user data (par. 0056, teaches small data may include control signaling and/or user data. The term “small data” and the term “data” may be utilized interchangeably in the present disclosure if the data is transmitted by the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state), the user data is data transmitted in a small data transmission (SDT) process (fig. 8 and pars. 0159-0161, teaches the UE 820 may perform small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state only when the UE 820 has a valid TA value, and the UE 820 may perform small data transmission via a CG in action 814. Wherein, the language “the UE 820 may perform small data transmission via a CG in action 814” reads as the user data is data transmitted in a small data transmission (SDT) process), and
the first timer is used to represent a time window … wherein the first information is transmitted by the terminal device through a configured grant (CG) resource (par. 0260, teaches the TA-related timer may define a time interval during which the TA value is allowed to be determined as valid. Wherein, fig. 8 and pars. 0159-0161, teaches the UE 820 may perform small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state only when the UE 820 has a valid TA value, and the UE 820 may perform small data transmission via a CG in action 814. Wherein, par. 0158, teaches a TA value may be considered valid if the timeAlignmentTimer corresponding to the TA value is running).
However, although Wei suggest the first timer is used to represent a time window for the terminal device to monitor information for scheduling uplink small data (par. 0052, teaches the UE may periodically monitor the PDCCH(s) in order to find possible grants for UL transmission), the apparatus and methods of Wei explicitly fails to disclose, the first timer is used to … represent a time window for the terminal device to monitor information for scheduling uplink small data and/or downlink small data transmission.
Tsai disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for small data transmissions, so Tsai is analogous to Wei. Furthermore, Tsai teaches the first timer is used to … represent a time window for the terminal device to monitor information for scheduling uplink small data and/or downlink small data transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0236-0241, teaches while the specific timer 310 is running, the UE 302 may monitor the PDCCH 340 (for a response/feedback) addressed to the specific RNTI (e.g., used for SDT and/or used for CG for SDT). Wherein par. 0217, teaches the specific RNTI may be one or more of the C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, I-RNTI, fullI-RNTI, shortI-RNTI, a specific RNTI for SDT, etc. Whereas, par. 0171, teaches a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI can either signal and activate the configured uplink grant, or deactivate it. Thus, the specific timer, a window, used to monitor the PDCCH for a response/feedback addressed to the specific RNTI used for CG for SDT receives a CS-RNTI that can activate the configured uplink grant reads as the first timer is used to represent a time window for the terminal device to monitor information for scheduling uplink small data transmissions. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first timer is used to represent a time window for the terminal device to monitor information for scheduling uplink small data and/or downlink small data transmissions, as disclosed by Tsai with the method and apparatus of Wei. The motivations for doing so would be to improve wireless communication. (see Tsai par. 0104)
However, the combination of Wei and Tsai explicitly fails to disclose, the first timer is used to represent a time window of radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment resume.
Kim disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for radio resource control (RRC), so Kim is analogous to Wei. Furthermore, Kim teaches the first timer is used to represent a time window of radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment resume (pars. 0227-0230, teaches a UE starting a timer to supervise those RRC procedures. Wherein, the RRC procedures include the RRC connection resume procedure. Par. 0106, teaches radio resource controls (RRCs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first timer is used to represent a time window of radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment resume, as disclosed by Kim with the combination of Wei and Tsai. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce signaling overhead. (see Kim par. 0112)
However, although Wei suggest an RRC resume request (par. 0056, teaches the UE still needs to trigger and perform an RRC connection establishment procedure or an RRC connection resume procedure to transition to the RRC CONNECTED state to transmit the data), the combination of Wei, Tsai, and Kim explicitly fails to disclose, the first information further comprises an RRC resume request (RRCResumeRequest); and restarting the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives second information after the first information, wherein the second information is used to schedule the terminal device to transmit uplink data and/or receive downlink data in the inactive state.
Kim-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a RRC resume request, so Kim-2 is analogous to Wei. Furthermore, Kim-2 teaches the first information further comprises an RRC resume request (RRCResumeRequest) (fig. 6 and pars. 0123-0126, teaches the UE randomly selects and transmits one random access preamble (RACH preamble) from the set of the random access preamble. Whereas, pars. 0183-0184, teaches when a UE triggers a random access procedure (refer to FIG. 6), the UE triggers an RRC Connection Resume procedure. Wherein, pars. 0198-0203, teaches the RRC Connection Resume procedure includes the UE transmits an RRC Connection Resume Request message to an E-UTRAN (e.g., eNB) in order to request the resume of a suspended RRC connection. Whereas, the “random access preamble (RACH preamble)” reads as the first information due to comprising a RRC Connection Resume Request message); and
restarting the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives second information after the first information, wherein the second information is used to schedule the terminal device to transmit uplink data (fig. 6 and pars. 0127-0128, teaches the UE renews or restarts the time alignment timer based on the received random access response that includes an UL grant which comprises the UL resource allocation that is used for transmission of the scheduling message to be described later (Message 3)) and/or receive downlink data in the inactive state (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first information further comprises an RRC resume request (RRCResumeRequest); and restarting the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives second information after the first information, wherein the second information is used to schedule the terminal device to transmit uplink data and/or receive downlink data in the inactive state, as disclosed by Kim-2 with the combination of Wei, Tsai, and Kim. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce overhead signaling. (see Kim-2 par. 0167)
Regarding claim 14. Wei, Tsai, Kim, and Kim-2 teaches the apparatus for claim 13. Wei further the terminal device installed with the chip is further caused to execute the following operations: stopping the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives … information (pars. 0194-0197, teaches the TA-related timer may be stopped by the UE when a CG configuration release indicator is received from the BS).
However, although Wei teaches stopping the first timer (pars. 0194-0197), the combination of Wei, Tsai, and Kim explicitly fails to disclose, stopping the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives third information, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following: RRC release information, RRC resume information, RRC setup information, RRC reject information.
However, although Wei teaches stopping the first timer (pars. 0194-0197), the combination of Wei and explicitly fails to disclose, stopping the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives third information, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following: RRC release information, RRC resume information, RRC setup information, RRC reject information.
Kim further teaches stopping the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives second information (par. 0282, teaches may stop the timer T301 based on reception of an RRC response message in response of the RRC reestablishment request message. Whereas, timer T301 reads as the first timer within the context of pars. 0227-0230, which teaches the UE may start a timer to supervise RRC procedures. Wherein, the “RRC response message” reads as the second information due to stopping the T301 timer),
wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: RRC release information (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record),
RRC resume information (par. 0282, teaches the RRC response message may comprise RRC reestablishment message),
RRC setup information (par. 0282, teaches the RRC response message may comprise a RRC setup message),
RRC reject information (par. 0282, teaches the RRC response message may comprise a RRC reestablishment reject message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize stopping the first timer in a case that the terminal device receives third information, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following: RRC resume information, RRC setup information, RRC reject information, as disclosed by Kim with the combination of Wei and Tsai. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce signaling overhead. (see Kim par. 0112)
Claims 3, 9, 15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 20210315049 hereinafter Wei, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/002,269, filed Mar. 30, 2020 which fully supports all citations made from Wei in the rejection below) in view of Tsai et al. (US20210410180 hereinafter Tsai, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/043,734, filed Jun. 24, 2020 which fully supports all citations made from Tsai in the rejection below), in view of Kim et al. (US 20220232659 hereinafter Kim, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/024,827, filed May 14, 2020 which fully supports all citations made from Kim in the rejection below), in view of Kim et al. (US20190246318 hereinafter Kim-2), in further view of Jung et al. (US20200367310 hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claims 3 and 9. Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2 teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 7.
However, although Tsai teaches a duration of the first timer (par. 0237, teaches the value of the specific timer 310 may be configured in the small data transmission configuration), the combination of Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2 explicitly fails to disclose, a duration of the first timer is longer than a duration of a timer T319, and the first timer is different from the timer T319.
Jung disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a duration of the first timer, so Jung is analogous to Wei. Furthermore, Jung teaches a duration of the first timer is longer than a duration of a timer T319, and the first timer is different from the timer T319 (par. 0226, teaches the value of timer extendedT319 may have a range equal to or greater than that of the value of timer T319. Wherein, when the extendedT319 timer is greater than the value of timer T319, reads as a duration of the first timer is longer than a duration of a timer T319. Furthermore, when the extendedT319 timer is greater than the value of timer T319 reads as the first timer is different from the timer T319).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a duration of the first timer is longer than a duration of a timer T319, and the first timer is different from the timer T319, as disclosed by Jung with the combination of Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2. The motivations for doing so would be to improve network communications. (See Jung par. 0003)
Regarding claim 15. Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2 teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
However, although Tsai teaches a duration of the first timer (par. 0237, teaches the value of the specific timer 310 may be configured in the small data transmission configuration), the combination of Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2 explicitly fails to disclose, a duration of the first timer is longer than a duration of a timer T319, and the first timer is different from the timer T319.
Jung disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a duration of the first timer, so Jung is analogous to Wei. Furthermore, Jung teaches a duration of the first timer is longer than a duration of a timer T319, and the first timer is different from the timer T319 (par. 0226, teaches the value of timer extendedT319 may have a range equal to or greater than that of the value of timer T319. Wherein, when the extendedT319 timer is greater than the value of timer T319, reads as a duration of the first timer is longer than a duration of a timer T319. Furthermore, when the extendedT319 timer is greater than the value of timer T319 reads as the first timer is different from the timer T319).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a duration of the first timer is longer than a duration of a timer T319, and the first timer is different from the timer T319, as disclosed by Jung with the combination of Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2. The motivations for doing so would be to improve network communications. (See Jung par. 0003)
Regarding claims 19 and 20. Wei, Tsai, Kim, Kim-2 and Jung teaches the method and apparatus for claims 3 and 9. Wei further teaches the terminal device is further caused to: when the SDT process is triggered (figs. 8 and 13 and pars. 0223-0226, teaches UE 1320 may receive an RRC release message from the BS 1340. The RRC release message may include multiple CG configurations (Multi-CG Config) for the UE to perform small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Wherein, the “UE 1320 receiving an RRC release message including multiple CG configurations (Multi-CG Config) for the UE to perform small data transmission” reads as the SDT process is triggered),
start the first timer (figs. 8 and 13 and pars. 0223-0226, teaches when the UE 1320 is in the RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE 1320 may perform TA validation check before applying the PUSCH resource(s) of CG to perform small data transmission. Moreover, if the UE 1320 determines that the associated TA value is valid in action 1312, the UE 1320 may perform small data transmission. Whereas, par. 0193, teaches the TA-related timer may be started when TA validation check procedure is performed and the TA value is considered valid. Thus, when the TA validation check procedure is performed and the TA value is considered valid the first timer is started),
wherein the first timer is used to achieve continuous inactive-state small data transmission (figs. 8 and 13 and pars. 0223-0227, teaches when the UE 1320 is in the RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE 1320 may perform TA validation check before applying the PUSCH resource(s) of CG to perform small data transmission. Moreover, if the UE 1320 determines that the associated TA value is valid in action 1312, the UE 1320 may perform small data transmission. Whereas, par. 0193, teaches the TA-related timer may be started when TA validation check procedure is performed and the TA value is considered valid. Thus, only using the first timer “when the UE 1320 is in the RRC_INACTIVE state”).
Regarding claim 21. Wei, Tsai, Kim, Kim-2 and Jung teaches the apparatus for claim 15. Wei further teaches the terminal device installed with the chip is further caused to execute the following operations (fig. 18 and pars. 0296-0304):
when the SDT process is triggered (figs. 8 and 13 and pars. 0223-0226, teaches UE 1320 may receive an RRC release message from the BS 1340. The RRC release message may include multiple CG configurations (Multi-CG Config) for the UE to perform small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. Wherein, the “UE 1320 receiving an RRC release message including multiple CG configurations (Multi-CG Config) for the UE to perform small data transmission” reads as the SDT process is triggered),
start the first timer (figs. 8 and 13 and pars. 0223-0226, teaches when the UE 1320 is in the RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE 1320 may perform TA validation check before applying the PUSCH resource(s) of CG to perform small data transmission. Moreover, if the UE 1320 determines that the associated TA value is valid in action 1312, the UE 1320 may perform small data transmission. Whereas, par. 0193, teaches the TA-related timer may be started when TA validation check procedure is performed and the TA value is considered valid. Thus, when the TA validation check procedure is performed and the TA value is considered valid the first timer is started),
wherein the first timer is used to achieve continuous inactive-state small data transmission (figs. 8 and 13 and pars. 0223-0227, teaches when the UE 1320 is in the RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE 1320 may perform TA validation check before applying the PUSCH resource(s) of CG to perform small data transmission. Moreover, if the UE 1320 determines that the associated TA value is valid in action 1312, the UE 1320 may perform small data transmission. Whereas, par. 0193, teaches the TA-related timer may be started when TA validation check procedure is performed and the TA value is considered valid. Thus, only using the first timer “when the UE 1320 is in the RRC_INACTIVE state”).
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 20210315049 hereinafter Wei, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/002,269, filed Mar. 30, 2020 which fully supports all citations made from Wei in the rejection below) in view of Tsai et al. (US20210410180 hereinafter Tsai, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/043,734, filed Jun. 24, 2020 which fully supports all citations made from Tsai in the rejection below), in view of Kim et al. (US 20220232659 hereinafter Kim, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/024,827, filed May 14, 2020 which fully supports all citations made from Kim in the rejection below), in view of Kim et al. (US20190246318 hereinafter Kim-2), in further view of Ren (US20200337089).
Regarding claims 6 and 12. Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2 teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 7. Wei further teaches the first information (fig. 8 and pars. 0159-0161, teaches the UE 820 may perform small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state only when the UE 820 has a valid TA value, and the UE 820 may perform small data transmission via a CG in action 814. Wherein, par. 0158, teaches a TA value may be considered valid if the timeAlignmentTimer corresponding to the TA value is running. Whereas, the “small data transmission via a CG” reads as the first information. Moreover, par. 0056, teaches small data may include control signaling and/or user data).
However, although Wei teaches the first information comprises control signaling and/or user data (par. 0056), the combination of Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2 explicitly fails to disclose, the first information further comprises indication information for indicating whether further transmission of uplink small data and/or downlink small data is expected.
Ren disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for small data, so Ren is analogous to Wei. Furthermore, Ren teaches the first information further comprises indication information for indicating whether further transmission of uplink small data and/or downlink small data is expected (fig. 7 and par. 0053, teaches Msg #3_1 includes small data and a piggyback indicator. Wherein, the piggyback indicator would indicate whether there is still any more small data left to be transmitted. Whereas, the “Msg#3_1” reads a the first information due to comprising small data (e.g. user payload data of a small size). Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first information further comprises indication information for indicating whether further transmission of uplink small data is expected, as disclosed by Ren with the combination of Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce overhead and data transmission delay. (see Ren par. 0054)
Regarding claim 18. Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2 teaches the apparatus of claim 13. Wei further teaches the first information (fig. 8 and pars. 0159-0161, teaches the UE 820 may perform small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state only when the UE 820 has a valid TA value, and the UE 820 may perform small data transmission via a CG in action 814. Wherein, par. 0158, teaches a TA value may be considered valid if the timeAlignmentTimer corresponding to the TA value is running. Whereas, the “small data transmission via a CG” reads as the first information. Moreover, par. 0056, teaches small data may include control signaling and/or user data).
However, although Wei teaches the first information comprises control signaling and/or user data (par. 0056), the combination of Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2 explicitly fails to disclose, the first information further comprises indication information for indicating whether further transmission of uplink small data and/or downlink small data is expected.
Ren disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for small data, so Ren is analogous to Wei. Furthermore, Ren teaches the first information further comprises indication information for indicating whether further transmission of uplink small data and/or downlink small data is expected (fig. 7 and par. 0053, teaches Msg #3_1 includes small data and a piggyback indicator. Wherein, the piggyback indicator would indicate whether there is still any more small data left to be transmitted. Whereas, the “Msg#3_1” reads a the first information due to comprising small data (e.g. user payload data of a small size). Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the first information further comprises indication information for indicating whether further transmission of uplink small data is expected, as disclosed by Ren with the combination of Wei, Tsai, Kim and Kim-2. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce overhead and data transmission delay. (see Ren par. 0054)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 and 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474