DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 02/11/2026 The amendments of Applicant are entered and have been considered by Examiner. Claims 1-30 were previously pending. Claims 1, 7-9, 11, 14-16, 22-24, 26, 27, 29 are amended. Claims 28 and 30 are canceled. Claims 31-32 are added. Claims 1-27, 29, 31, 32 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pages 12-13 of applicants remarks:
As illustrated above in greater detail, Lee fails to disclose or suggest using a combination of sidelink transmission parameters and at least one of the height of the UE, the UE service range, or the area of the UE location for performing the sidelink transmission. In other words, Lee only considers the adjusted parameter (e.g., height of the antenna) for the sidelink transmission. Similar to Lee, Kang, Guo, and Yang also fails to disclose or suggest communicating based on the sidelink transmission parameters and at least one of the height of the UE, the UE service range, or the area of the UE location. (Emphasis added)
Additionally, the Office asserts that Lee's antenna height is the height of the UE, as recited in the claims. Applicant respectfully disagrees. For instance, the height of the UE would remain the same in Lee regardless of whether the height of the antenna is high or low.
In contrast to the cited references, independent claims disclose communicating based on the sidelink transmission parameters and at least one of the height of the UE, the UE service range, or the area of the UE location.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated in [0168] of Lee, the antenna height is further described as the height of a physical antenna equipped to a UE. As such, the antenna is considered to be part of the UE, and thus the antenna height of the UE is exemplary of the height of the UE.
Examiner maintains that the prior art continues to teach on the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 11-13, 16-18, 20, 21, 26-27, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0058899 A1 (from IDS filed on 05/24/2024) to Lee et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: ([0021], discloses user equipment. Figure 27 and [0265], discloses wireless device comprising processor and memory)
receive a configuration of sidelink transmission parameters based on at least one of a height of the UE, ([0021] and [0220], disclose transmitting, by a base station, a parameter related to an antenna height of a user equipment (UE), to the UE, wherein the parameter may be at least one of a transmission power for sidelink transmission, a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for sidelink transmission)
communicate based on the sidelink transmission parameters and at least one of the height of the UE, ([0208], discloses in a transmitting UE may adjust parameters related to sidelink transmission based on an antenna height of the transmitting UE. [0213], discloses the transmitting UE may perform sidelink transmission for the receiving UE based on the adjusted parameter. [0214], discloses Additionally, the transmitting UE may receive information on a parameter related to the antenna height of the transmitting UE from a base station)
Regarding Claim 2, Lee further teaches The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor. (Figure 27 and [0265], discloses communications interface including one or more transmitters, one or more receivers, and/or one or more communication interfaces)
Regarding Claim 3, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sidelink transmission parameters comprise a height based condition based on a height threshold, wherein the sidelink transmission parameters indicate for the UE to transmit sidelink transmissions using a first restriction in the sidelink transmission parameters to transmit a transport block when the height of the UE is greater than or equal to the height threshold and to transmit the sidelink transmissions using a second message and a second restriction in the sidelink transmission parameters to transmit the transport block when the height of the UE is below the height threshold. ([0184], discloses the base station may (pre-)configure a transmission power per antenna height or a transmission power per range of antenna height, for a UE. [0190], discloses the base station may (pre-)configure an MCS range per antenna height or an MCS range per range of antenna height, for a UE. Based on the an MCS range that is (pre-)configured by the base station, the UE may select an MCS value in accordance with its antenna height. Examiner notes that parameters assigned to different ranges of heights is indicative of different parameters being assigned based on heights exceeding different thresholds)
Regarding Claim 5, Lee teaches The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the height threshold is based at least on ([0170], discloses antenna heights from the ground surface (i.e. ground level/reference point))
Regarding Claim 6, Lee teaches The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the height based condition is associated with at least one of a range of modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the sidelink transmissions, ([0190], discloses the base station may (pre-)configure an MCS range per antenna height or an MCS range per range of antenna height, for a UE. Based on the an MCS range that is (pre-)configured by the base station, the UE may select an MCS value in accordance with its antenna height)
Regarding Claim 11, Lee teaches A method of wireless communication for a user equipment (UE), comprising: ([0021], discloses user equipment)
receiving a configuration of sidelink transmission parameters based on at least one of a height of the UE, ([0021] and [0220], disclose transmitting, by a base station, a parameter related to an antenna height of a user equipment (UE), to the UE, wherein the parameter may be at least one of a transmission power for sidelink transmission, a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for sidelink transmission)
communicating based on the sidelink transmission parameters and at least one of the height of the UE,
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 3 and 6, respectively, except the claims are in method format.
Regarding Claim 16, Lee teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: ([0021], discloses base station)
a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: (Figure 27 and [0269], discloses a network node comprising processor and memory)
configure sidelink transmission parameters based on at least one of a height of a user equipment (UE), ([0184], the base station may (pre-)configure a transmission power per antenna height or a transmission power per range of antenna height, for a UE, via cell-specific signaling information or UE-dedicated signaling information. [0190], discloses the base station may (pre-)configure an MCS range per antenna height or an MCS range per range of antenna height, for a UE, via cell-specific signaling information or UE-dedicated signaling information)
provide a configuration of the sidelink transmission parameters based on at least one of the height of the UE, ([0021] and [0220], disclose transmitting, by a base station, a parameter related to an antenna height of a user equipment (UE), to the UE, wherein the parameter may be at least one of a transmission power for sidelink transmission, a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for sidelink transmission)
communicate based on the sidelink transmission parameters and at least one of the height of the UE, ([0214], discloses the transmitting UE may receive information on a parameter related to the antenna height of the transmitting UE from a base station. Alternatively, the transmitting UE may receive information on a parameter related to the antenna height of the transmitting UE from another UE. The transmitting UE may perform communication with at least one of a mobile UE, a network, or autonomous (or self-driving) vehicles other than the transmitting UE)
Claims 17, 18, 20, 21 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 2, 3, 5 and 6, respectively, except the claims are in network entity apparatus format.
Regarding Claim 26, Lee teaches A method of wireless communication for a network entity, comprising: ([0021], discloses base station)
configuring sidelink transmission parameters based on at least one of a height of a user equipment (UE), ([0184], the base station may (pre-)configure a transmission power per antenna height or a transmission power per range of antenna height, for a UE, via cell-specific signaling information or UE-dedicated signaling information. [0190], discloses the base station may (pre-)configure an MCS range per antenna height or an MCS range per range of antenna height, for a UE, via cell-specific signaling information or UE-dedicated signaling information)
providing a configuration of the sidelink transmission parameters based on at least one of the height of the UE, ([0021] and [0220], disclose transmitting, by a base station, a parameter related to an antenna height of a user equipment (UE), to the UE, wherein the parameter may be at least one of a transmission power for sidelink transmission, a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for sidelink transmission) and
communicating based on the sidelink transmission parameters and at least one of the height of the UE, ([0214], discloses the transmitting UE may receive information on a parameter related to the antenna height of the transmitting UE from a base station. Alternatively, the transmitting UE may receive information on a parameter related to the antenna height of the transmitting UE from another UE. The transmitting UE may perform communication with at least one of a mobile UE, a network, or autonomous (or self-driving) vehicles other than the transmitting UE)
Claim 27 is rejected for having the same limitations as claim 6, respectively, except the claim is in network entity method format.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of WO 2024/155126 (foreign priority date of 01/18/2023) to Kang et al. (hereinafter “Kang”)
Regarding Claim 4, Lee teaches The apparatus of claim 3, wherein
Lee does not explicitly teach the sidelink transmissions comprise at least a broadcast remote identifier (BRID) or a detect and avoid (DAA) signal.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kang disclseos in [0048]-[0049] and Table 1, A terminal mounted on an unmanned aerial vehicle, a terminal mounted on an urban air mobility system, or a terminal managed by a regulatory agency (Law Enforcement) can transmit, receive, and process a UAV control message containing required control information via a direct communication interface between terminals. Examples of scenarios in which UAV control messages can be used according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may include terminal identifier broadcast control, collision detection, and collision avoidance control, as shown in the following [Table 1]. Use of U2X (UAV to everything) for BRID (broadcast remote identification). Use of U2X (UAV to everything) for DAA (detect and avoid). [0056], discloses UE1 (201) and UE2 (202) can broadcast (or groupcast, one-way/two-way unicast) UAV control messages through a direct communication interface (e.g., PC5, sidelink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee to include the above limitations as suggested by Kang, such that secure drone communication or urban air mobility communication can be provided by increasing the efficiency of transmission resource use and reducing interference in a wireless communication system as indicated in [0026] of Kang.
Claim 19 is rejected for having the same limitations as claim 4 above, except the claim is in network entity apparatus format.
Claim(s) 7-8, 14, 22- 23, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of US 2020/0228247 A1 (from IDS filed on 05/24/2024) to Guo et al. (hereinafter “Guo”)
Regarding Claim 7, Lee teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein Lee does not explicitly teach the sidelink transmission parameters comprise a range based condition based on a range threshold, wherein the sidelink transmission parameters indicate for the UE to transmit sidelink transmissions using a first restriction in the sidelink transmission parameters to transmit a transport block for a UE service when a UE service range requirement is greater than or equal to the range threshold and to transmit the sidelink transmissions using a second message and a second restriction in the sidelink transmission parameters to transmit the transport block when the UE service range requirement is below the range threshold.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Guo teaches in [0171]-[0172] and Table 4, discloses A UE can be provided an association between a minimum communication distance (i.e. range based condition based on a range threshold) and a sidelink transmission power parameter (i.e. sidelink transmission parameter), such as a maximum transmission power (i.e. restrictions). When the UE transmits a PSCCH/PSSCH, the UE can obtain the minimum communication distance based, for example, on the QoS requirement or priority of a TB in the PSSCH transmission. The UE determines the parameter for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission power according to an association between the minimum communication distance and the parameter. The UE then calculates the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission according to the sidelink transmission power parameter. Examiner notes each minimum communication distance as illustrated in Table 4 is indicative of a range threshold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee to include the above limitations as suggested by Guo, for efficient reception reliability for data and control information in an advanced wireless communication system as indicated in [0039] of Guo.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee/Guo teaches The apparatus of claim 7, wherein
Guo further teaches the range based condition comprise limitations to at least one of: ([0171], discloses maximum transmission power) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 7 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for having the same limitations as claim 7, except the claim is in method format.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 7 and 8, respectively, except the claims are in network entity apparatus format.
Regarding Claim 29, Lee teaches The method of claim 26, wherein
Lee does not explicitly teach the sidelink transmission parameters comprise a range based condition based on a range threshold, wherein the sidelink transmission parameters indicate for the UE to transmit sidelink transmissions using a first restriction in the sidelink transmission parameters to transmit a transport block for a UE service when a UE service range requirement is greater than or equal to the range threshold and to transmit the sidelink transmissions using a second message and a second restriction in the sidelink transmission parameters to transmit the transport block when the UE service range requirement is below the range threshold or
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Guo teaches in [0171]-[0172] and Table 4, discloses A UE can be provided an association between a minimum communication distance (i.e. range based condition based on a range threshold) and a sidelink transmission power parameter (i.e. sidelink transmission parameter), such as a maximum transmission power (i.e. restrictions). When the UE transmits a PSCCH/PSSCH, the UE can obtain the minimum communication distance based, for example, on the QoS requirement or priority of a TB in the PSSCH transmission. The UE determines the parameter for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission power according to an association between the minimum communication distance and the parameter. The UE then calculates the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission according to the sidelink transmission power parameter. Examiner notes each minimum communication distance as illustrated in Table 4 is indicative of a range threshold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee to include the above limitations as suggested by Guo, for efficient reception reliability for data and control information in an advanced wireless communication system as indicated in [0039] of Guo.
Claim(s) 9-10, 15, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of US 2021/0392646 A1 to Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”)
Regarding Claim 9, Lee teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the Lee does not explicitly teach sidelink transmission parameters comprise a geographic area based condition, wherein the sidelink transmission parameters indicate for the UE to transmit sidelink transmissions using a first restriction in the sidelink transmission parameters to transmit a transport block for a UE service when the UE location is within a geographic area and to transmit the sidelink transmissions using a second message and a second restriction in the sidelink transmission parameters to transmit the transport block when the UE location is outside the geographic area.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Yang discloses in [0022], receiving a control signal that indicates sets of parameters to utilize per geographical zone (i.e. including parameter restrictions for different geographic areas) of a set of geographical zones, identifying a geographical zone in which the first UE or the second UE may be positioned, and identifying the first set of power control parameters and the second set of power control parameters based on the identified geographical zone. [0097], discloses UEs may be configured with one or more sets of power control parameters for controlling transmission power. [0166], further discloses For more granular power control, the base station 105-c may configure the sets of power control parameters per zone per resource pool. As illustrated in FIG. 4, a coverage area 110 of the base station 105-c may be separated into a plurality of zones 405. A UE may be located in a particular zone 405 based on the geographic information (e.g., global positioning system (GPS) information) associated with the UE 115. UEs 115 in different zone may utilize different power control parameter sets. Further, the corresponding zone may depend on a sidelink transmitting UE 115 or a sidelink receiving UE 115. Examiner notes that since a UE can be configured with multiple sets of power parameters for each zone, parameters that are associated with the zone in which the UE is located is analogous to “sidelink transmission parameters indicate for the UE to transmit sidelink transmissions using a first restriction in the sidelink transmission parameters to transmit a transport block for a UE service when the UE location is within the geographic area” and sets of parameters associated with a different zone in which the UE is located is analogous to “a second restriction in the sidelink transmission parameters to transmit the transport block when the UE location is outside the geographic area.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee to include the above limitations as suggested by Yang, to support decreased signaling overhead, increased reliability and efficiencies, etc. in the sidelink communication framework as indicated in [0100] of Yang.
Regarding Claim 10, Lee/Yang teaches The apparatus of claim 9, wherein Yang further teaches the geographic area based condition comprise limitations to at least one of: ([0097], discloses UEs may be configured with one or more sets of power control parameters for controlling transmission power (i.e. upper bound for sidelink transmission power))
Claim 15 is rejected for having the same limitations as claim 9, except the claim is in method format.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 9 and 10, respectively, except the claims are in network entity apparatus format.
Claim(s) 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of US 2025/0184906 A1 to Han et al. (hereinafter “Han”)
Regarding Claim 31, Lee teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the UE is the aerial type of UE, ([0168], discloses various types of UEs having a different UE category (e.g., Pedestrian UE, Road Side Unit (RSU), passenger vehicle, truck, bus, train, and so on). Examiner notes that “aerial type” as claimed in claim 1 is not defined, and thus aerial types can include aerial and non-aerial types)
Lee teaches in [0183]-[0184], configuring transmission power based on antenna height and UE type, but does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration of the sidelink transmission parameters includes a maximum transmission power for the aerial type of UE.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Han discloses sidelink transmission power control for unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV). [0118], discloses the UE determines its height and compares the determined height with a configured height threshold. If the UE height is determined to be above the height threshold (e.g., UE2 is above the height threshold as shown in FIG. 3, i.e., height2 is above the height threshold), the first parameter and the second parameter are dedicated per height range; the UE determines an associated height range that the UE height belongs to, and uses the corresponding values of the first parameter and the second parameter associated with the associated height range for height-based OLPC (i.e. aerial type sidelink transmission parameters). If the height of the UE is determined to be below a height threshold, the UE may consider itself as on the ground; thus the UE may determine to configure the first parameter (e.g., P0) and the second parameter (e.g., alpha) by reusing corresponding parameters configured for terrestrial SL communication (i.e. non-aerial type sidelink transmission parameters) configuration which are for e.g., physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). [0152], further discloses the BS may configure a maximum transmission power for the UE performing the orientation-based OLPC. [0010], discloses the configured maximum transmission power is dedicated per height range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee to include the above limitations as suggested by Han, to prevent severe interference to ground UEs as indicated in [0095] of Han.
Regarding Claim 32, Lee/Han teaches The apparatus of claim 31, wherein Lee further teaches the configuration of the sidelink transmission parameters separately configures maximum transmission powers for an aerial UE and a non-aerial UE. ([0010], discloses the configured maximum transmission power is dedicated per height range) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 31 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENKEY VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477