Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second heat exchanger and the humidifier are positioned between the second compressor and the hydrogen consuming power generation source” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Examiner has consulted the Applicant’s Specification and find no disclosure therein that evinces possession of “second heat exchanger and the humidifier are positioned between the second compressor and the hydrogen consuming power generation source.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 25-27, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delfino (US 20080160387) in view of Ribarov et al (US 20160369700; hereinafter Ribarov).
As regarding claim 1, Delfino discloses the claimed invention for a system (fig. 2) comprising: a first onboard system of an aircraft, the first onboard system including: a first compressor (122) configured to produce a pressurized air stream from a source of air; an air separation module (130, [0038]) configured to receive the pressurized air stream from the first compressor and produce therefrom a nitrogen-enriched air stream and an oxygen-enriched air stream; a second compressor (140) configured to produce a pressurized oxygen-enriched air stream from the oxygen-enriched air stream; a hydrogen consuming power generation source (110, 114) configured to receive the pressurized oxygen-enriched air stream from the second compressor; and a turbine (150) configured to receive the nitrogen-enriched air stream from the air separation module and rotate in response to receiving the nitrogen-enriched air stream, wherein the turbine is coupled to the first compressor and rotation of the turbine causes rotation of the first compressor ([0040]); a second onboard system of the aircraft, the second onboard system including a fuel tank inerting system, an energy supply device (ESD) bay inerting system, a fuel cell purging system, a fire suppression system, a water system, or a hydraulic reservoir pressurization system, wherein the first onboard system is configured to direct an exhaust stream exiting the turbine thereof to the second onboard system ([0024] and [0052]).
Delfino does not disclose a third onboard system of the aircraft, the third onboard system including a heating system or a wing anti-icing system of the aircraft, wherein the first onboard system is configured to direct the nitrogen-enriched air stream from the air separation module thereof to the third onboard system. Ribarov teaches a third onboard system of the aircraft, the third onboard system including a heating system or a wing anti-icing system of the aircraft, wherein the first onboard system is configured to direct the nitrogen-enriched air stream from the air separation module thereof to the third onboard system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a third onboard system of the aircraft, the third onboard system including a heating system or a wing anti-icing system of the aircraft, wherein the first onboard system is configured to direct the nitrogen-enriched air stream from the air separation module thereof to the third onboard system as taught by Ribarov in order to enhance system performance and efficiency.
As regarding claim 2, Delfino discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Delfino discloses the claimed invention for wherein the hydrogen consuming power generation source (110 of fig. 2) includes hydrogen burning turbomachinery or a fuel cell (title, abstract and [0038]).
As regarding claim 25, Delfino as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Delfino as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the nitrogen-enriched air stream comprises greater than 87 percent nitrogen and less than 12 percent oxygen, wherein the oxygen-enriched air stream comprises greater than 30 percent oxygen. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the nitrogen-enriched air stream comprises greater than 87 percent nitrogen and less than 12 percent oxygen, wherein the oxygen-enriched air stream comprises greater than 30 percent oxygen in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 26-27 and 33-34 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those outlined with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delfino (US 20080160387) in view of Ribarov et al (US 20160369700; hereinafter Ribarov), as applied supra, and further in view of Hoffjann et al (US 20150017557; Hoffjann).
As regarding claim 9, Delfino discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Delfino discloses the claimed invention except for a water separation module configured to receive an exhaust stream exiting the hydrogen consuming power generation source, and extract water from the exhaust stream. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a water separation module configured to receive an exhaust stream exiting the hydrogen consuming power generation source, and extract water from the exhaust stream in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Hoffjann (36 of fig. 1).
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delfino (US 20080160387) in view of Ribarov et al (US 20160369700; hereinafter Ribarov), as applied supra, and further in view of Jones (US 20070023577).
As regarding claim 22, Delfino discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Delfino discloses the claimed invention except for a first heat exchanger configured to lower a temperature of the pressurized air stream to an operating temperature of the air separation module prior to the pressurized air stream being received by the air separation module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a first heat exchanger configured to lower a temperature of the pressurized air stream to an operating temperature of the air separation module prior to the pressurized air stream being received by the air separation module in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Jones (14 of fig. 1).
Claim(s) 23 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delfino (US 20080160387) in view of Ribarov et al (US 20160369700; hereinafter Ribarov) and Jones (US 20070023577), as applied supra, and further in view of Shimanuki et al (US 6471195; hereinafter Shimanuki).
As regarding claim 23, Delfino as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Delfino as modified discloses the claimed invention for a second heat exchanger (Jones - 14a of fig. 5) configured to lower a temperature of the oxygen-enriched air stream (Jones - OEA) to an operating temperature of the hydrogen consuming power generation source.
Delfino as modified does not disclose a humidifier configured to increase a relative humidity of the oxygen-enriched air stream to an operating relative humidity of the hydrogen consuming power generation source. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a humidifier configured to increase a relative humidity of the oxygen-enriched air stream to an operating relative humidity of the hydrogen consuming power generation source in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Shimanuki (abstract and figs. 3A and 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the second heat exchanger and the humidifier are positioned between the second compressor and the hydrogen consuming power generation source in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 32 is likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those outlined with respect to claims 22-23 above.
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delfino (US 20080160387) in view of Ribarov et al (US 20160369700; hereinafter Ribarov), as applied supra, and further in view of Rheaume et al (US 11628393; hereinafter Rheaume).
As regarding claim 24, Delfino as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Delfino as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a pressure regulator configured to adjust a pressure of the pressurized air stream to an operating pressure of the air separation module prior to the pressurized air stream being received by the air separation module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a pressure regulator configured to adjust a pressure of the pressurized air stream to an operating pressure of the air separation module prior to the pressurized air stream being received by the air separation module in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Shimanuki (abstract and figs. 3A and 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the pressurized air stream exiting the first compressor has a pressure between about 100 to 800 kPa in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 19, 21 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delfino (US 20080160387) in view of Ribarov et al (US 20160369700; hereinafter Ribarov), as applied supra, and further in view of Giroud et al (US 20200171429; Giroud) and Jones (US 2007002357).
Claim 19 is likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those outlined with respect to claim 1 above.
However, Delfino as modified does not teach the air separation module using semi-permeable hollow membrane. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the air separation module using semi-permeable hollow membrane in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Jones ([0009] – hollow fibre membrane) and Giroud ([0004] – different permeabilities of membrane; semi-permeable).
Claim 21 and 30 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those outlined with respect to claim 19 and 24 above.
Claim(s) 29-30, and 32-34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delfino (US 20080160387) in view of Ribarov et al (US 20160369700; hereinafter Ribarov) and Rifkin (US 5088276).
Claim 29 is likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those outlined with respect to claim 1 above.
Delfino as modified does not disclose wherein the turbine is coupled to the second compressor and rotation of the turbine causes rotation of the second compressor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the turbine is coupled to the second compressor and rotation of the turbine causes rotation of the second compressor in order to allow the external spool to operate at its optimal rotational speed, improving engine efficiency, pressure ratio, stability, and overall performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Rifkin (abstract).
Claim 30, 32-34 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those outlined with respect to claims 1, 19, 22-23, and 26 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 8 contain allowable subject matter because prior art does not teach fairly suggested an ejector-type mixer configured to receive an exhaust stream exiting the hydrogen consuming power generation source, receive the pressurized air stream from the first compressor, and mix the pressurized air stream with the exhaust stream prior to the pressurized air stream being received by the air separation module.
Claims 20 and 31 also allow with similar reasons as set forth in claim 8 above.
Claim 28 depend on claim 8; and hence is also allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, and 20-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773