DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oxygen Transport During Annealing of Pb(Zr,Ti)O3 Thin Films on O2 Gas and its Effect on Their Conductivity by Ayguavives et al.
Ayguavives et al. clearly teaches Oxygen Transport During Annealing of Pb(Zr,Ti)O3 Thin Films on O2 Gas and its Effect on Their Conductivity, comprising:
a lower electrode layer (Si 16O2 layer in Figure 2); and
a piezoelectric film (PZT 18Ox) containing a Pb-containing perovskite-type oxide,
wherein the piezoelectric film contains an oxygen atom 18O having a mass number of 18 in oxygen as a constituent element in excess of a natural abundance ratio.
With regards to claim 2, Ayguavives et al. discloses:
in the oxygen as the constituent element of the piezoelectric film, a ratio of the oxygen atom 18O to a sum of an oxygen atom 16O having a mass number of 16 and the oxygen atom 18O is 1% or more.
With regards to claim 3, Ayguavives et al. discloses:
in the oxygen as the constituent element of the piezoelectric film, a ratio of the oxygen atom 18O to a sum of an oxygen atom 16O having a mass number of 16 and the oxygen atom 18O is 5% or more and 15% or less (see Figure 2).
With regards to claim 4, Ayguavives et al. discloses:
the Pb-containing perovskite-type oxide contains Zr, Ti, and O, in addition to Pb (see Figure 2).
With regards to claim 7, Ayguavives et al. discloses:
the piezoelectric film is a sputter (see page 3005, lines 15 and 41; see page 3006, lines 10 and 19) film.
With regards to claim 8, Ayguavives et al. discloses:
an upper electrode layer (Ru 16O2 layer in Figure 2) provided on the piezoelectric film of the piezoelectric laminate.
With regards to claim 9, Ayguavives et al. discloses manufacturing method for a piezoelectric laminate, which is the manufacturing method for the piezoelectric laminate according to claim 1, said method comprising the following step:
a sputtering (see page 3005, lines 15 and 41; see page 3006, lines 10 and 19) step of forming the piezoelectric film through sputter film formation on the lower electrode layer formed on the substrate,
wherein in the sputtering step, oxygen including an oxygen atom 18O having a mass number of 18 at a ratio larger than a natural abundance ratio is allowed to flow as a part of a film forming gas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oxygen Transport During Annealing of Pb(Zr,Ti)O3 Thin Films on O2 Gas and its Effect on Their Conductivity by Ayguavives et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0243439 A1 to Furukawa et al.
Ayguavives et al. clearly teaches Oxygen Transport During Annealing of Pb(Zr,Ti)O3 Thin Films on O2 Gas and its Effect on Their Conductivity as described in paragraph 4 above.
However, it fails to disclose the Pb-containing perovskite-type oxide contains Nb.
Furukawa et al. discloses ___ comprising:
a Pb-containing perovskite-type oxide that contains Nb (see Abstract; see paragraphs [0008], [0014], [0041], and [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the Nb disclosed by Furukawa et al. on the Pb-containing perovskite-type oxide disclosed by Ayguavives et al., for the purpose of increasing the displacement of the oxide.
With regards to claim 6, Ayguavives et al. in view of Furukawa et al. disclose (see paragraphs [0016]-[0019] of Furukawa et al.):
the Pb-containing perovskite-type oxide is a compound represented by General Formula (1),
Pb{(ZrxTi1-x)y-1Nby}O3 (1)
0 < x <1, 0.1 ≤ y ≤ 0.4.
Conclusion
/PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 January 28, 2026