DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1, 6-12, 14, 21 and 33-35 are presented for examination.
3. The text of those applicable section of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action.
4. Claims 1, 6-12, 14, 21 and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meindl (Meindl), EP publication no. 3556318 in view of Strolin (Strolin), US publication no. 2018/0209623 and Baarman et al. (Baarman), US publication no. 2023/0039310 and Matz et al. (Matz), US publication no. 2022/0256671.
As per claim 1, Meindl discloses a system [figure 1], comprising:
a surgical lighthead comprising a lighthead housing including a plurality of light emitting elements therein that are arranged to emit light toward to a region of interest, and a handle attached to the lighthead housing [figure 1; para 40];
a sensor integrated with the lighthead and configured to measure an ambient environmental condition at the lighthead [figure 1; para 41];
a second sensor [12, figure 1] integrated with the lighthead [para 45];
a controller operatively coupled to the sensor and configured to detect an ambient environmental condition based at least in part on the measured ambient environmental condition by the sensor [para 46],
wherein the sensor is one of a thermistor, a thermocouple, a thermometer or an
infrared temperature sensor and the ambient environmental condition is temperature [para 41, 42, 50];
wherein the sensor and the second sensor are integrated with the handle of the lighthead [para 42, 45]
Wherein the controller is configured to control the ambient environmental condition based at least in part on the measured ambient environmental condition by the sensor [para 46, 55, 57].
Meindl fails to disclose the handle extends from a light emitting side of the
Lighthead; and a second sensor configured to measure a second ambient environmental condition at the lighthead; and the controller is configured to control based at least in part on the ambient environmental condition measured by the sensor and the measured second ambient environmental condition measured by the
second sensor, at least one of: an HVAC system, an air purification system, a heated or cooled blanket, a heated or cooled underbody pad, or a heated or cooled headrest
Strolin discloses a sensor and a second sensor [distance sensors 7, sensor module 6] are integrated with the handle of the lighthead, wherein the handle extends from a light emitting side of the lighthead [figures 3, 4, 7, 9; para 22, 52, 65].
Matz discloses that second sensor configured to measure a second ambient environmental condition [humidity] at the lighthead [figure 2; para 42, 49].
Baarman discloses that the controller is configured to control an HVAC system based at least in part on the ambient environmental condition measured by the
sensors [para 84, 91].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention to combine the teachings of Meindl and Strolin and Matz and Baarman because they disclose a lighting system, the specify teachings of Strolin and Matz and Baarman stated above would have further enhanced the performance and functionality of Meindl system to obtain predictable results with implementing a second ambient environmental condition and integrated sensors on the handle apparatus.
Meindl teaches:
[0040] In Fig. 1, a principle illustration of an operating light 1 according to the invention is shown. The operating light 1 comprises a suspension system 2 for being installed to e.g. a ceiling 11 of an operating theater. Furthermore, the operating light 1 comprises a light head 3 including several illuminants for illuminating a surgical site 10. In this embodiment, the light head 3 comprises several illuminants, however, in an alternative embodiment, at least one illuminant is provided.
[0041] At the light head 3, a temperature sensor 4 for detecting a temperature in the surgical site 10 in a touchless manner is attached. Alternatively, the temperature sensor 4 can also be attached to the suspension system 2 as another member of the operating light 1. The temperature sensor 4 is a component of a temperature sensor
assembly 5 which additionally comprises e.g. a housing and a fixing device. Alternatively. the temperature sensor 4 can also be solely attached to the operating
light 1.
[0046] The operating light 1 comprises a control such that the operating light 1 is configured to verify whether the detected temperature is within a predefined temperature range. The control comprises an algorithm determining whether the measured temperature is within a possible range of surgical tissue, so that measurements of a tabletop, a floor, etc. can be eliminated.
[0050] As shown in Fig. 2, the temperature T in the surgical site (10) is respectively measured after the lapse of a constant predefined time interval t.t, e.g., at a frequency
Of five minutes. Alternatively, a time interval until the subsequent temperature measurement is performed is determined depending on the temperature difference
between the previous temperature measurement and the subsequent temperature measurement. Therefore, the time interval t.t can be increased if the temperature difference between two consecutive temperature measurements is small and the time interval t.t can be decreased if the temperature difference between two consecutive
temperature measurements is large in order to enhance an accuracy and quickness of the determination of reaching and exceeding an allowed temperature.
[0055] In use, the temperature Tin the surgical site 10 is detected by performing the previous temperature measurement and subsequent temperature measurements.
Further, a temperature difference Delta T between a temperature detected by the previous temperature measurement the temperature detected by the subsequent temperature measurements is determined. Moreover, at least one of the decreasing of light intensity of the operating light 1 and of the signaling is performed when the temperature difference l'i T achieves or exceeds the predefined maximum temperature difference l'i T max. In the shown embodiment, the temperature of the previous
temperature measurement at to is the initial temperature Tinitial· Nevertheless, the temperature of the previous measurement can alternatively also be a temperature
measured after a certain time interval after starting the measurements. Alternatively, the maximum permitted temperature T max can also have an absolute value
independent from an initial value.
Strolin teaches:
[0069] In other words, a handle device 1 in the form of a central handle unit is materialized. The sensors in the form of the distance sensors 7 are arranged within said central handle unit 1 in the surgical light 10. From here the sensors 7 are provided with optimum "view" (range of view corresponds to effective range 24) to the heads 25 of the users. The sensors 7 detect the head 25 as an obstacle and fade out the portions of the lamp fields 31 located there behind/the corresponding single lamps 30. The sensors 7 are mounted on a ring-shaped printed board 21. The round/conical component, viz. the side wall 20, is transparent (IR transparent).
Matz teaches:
[0049] The system can further include one or more sensors 30 communicatively coupled to the controller 24. The sensors 30 are operative to monitor one or more characteristics of the area of interest 16 and/or patient in the area of interest and provide data to the controller 24 for analysis. Various sensors may be used depending on the requirements of the system. For example, the sensors 30 may be in the form of
a light detection sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, or any sensor that can measure a property of the area of interest 16 and/or of a patient in the area of interest 16. As described in more detail below, the data from the sensors 30 can be used by the controller 24 to determine the risk of over exposure to radiant energy and to compensate for such over exposure.
Baarman teaches:
[0091] In one embodiment, airflow can change with HVAC and doors pressurizing the room. A system in accordance with one embodiment may measure the airflow and
adjust UV disinfection intensity related to a table that has a flow vs intensity dosage chart. A control system may adjust for the duration of higher flow rates and also track the flow changes over time and sends that data to an external device. In one embodiment, pressure sensors or information obtained from HVAC sensors, or both, may provide data on flow path and potential contamination times and events. In
hospital environments, sensor information, such as pressure sensor information or HVAC sensor information, or both, may enable tracking of door opening times and changes in areas adjacent to sterile zones.
As per claim 6, Matz discloses that second sensor is a hygrometer and the second ambient environmental condition is humidity [para 42, 49].
As per claim 7, Matz discloses the second sensor is a barometer and the second ambient environmental condition is atmospheric pressure [para 42, 49].
As per claim 8, Matz discloses the lighthead comprises one or more baffles configured to direct airflow to the sensor [para 49].
As per claim 9, Matz discloses the second sensor is a particle counter and the second ambient environmental condition is concentration of particles in the air [para 49].
As per claim 10, Matz discloses the second sensor is a reactive oxygen species sensor and the second ambient environmental condition is concentration of reactive oxygen species in the air [para 49].
As per claim 11, Matz discloses the second sensor is located in a flow path in the handle, an air inlet of the flow path is in fluid communication with the second sensor, and an air outlet of the flow path is in fluid communication with the second sensor [figure 2; para 42, 45, 49].
As per claim 12, Matz discloses the handle comprises an air filter [para 45, 49].
As per claim 14, Meindl discloses the sensor and the second sensor are housed in the housing of the lighthead [figure 1; para 41, 42, 45].
As per claim 21, Meindl discloses the controller is configured to control light output intensity of the plurality of the light emitting elements based at least in part on the ambient environmental condition measured by the sensor [para 52, 55].
As per claim 33, Matz discloses the sensor is located in a flow path in the handle, an air inlet of the flow path is in fluid communication with the sensor, and an air outlet of the flow path is in fluid communication with the sensor; the handle comprises an air filter [figure 2; para 42, 45, 49]. And Meindl discloses the sensor is integrated with the handle of the lighthead [figure 1; para 41, 42, 45].
As per claim 34, Meindl discloses the controller is configured to control the ambient environmental condition based at least in part on the measured ambient environmental condition by the sensor [para 46, 52, 55].
As per claim 35, Meindl discloses the sensor is integrated with the handle of
the lighthead [para 41, 42, 45]. Also, Strolin discloses the sensor is integrated with the handle of the lighthead [figures 4, , 7, 9; para 52, 69]
5. Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
7. In the remarks, applicants argued in substance that Meindl fails to disclose wherein the handle extends from a light emitting side of the lighthead.
8. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but
are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in
the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the
argument.
9. In response to applicant’s argument, Strolin discloses a sensor and a second sensor [distance sensors 7, sensor module 6] are integrated with the handle of the lighthead, wherein the handle extends from a light emitting side of the lighthead [figures 3, 4, 7, 9; para 22, 52, 65].
Also see detailed action above.
Conclusion
/CHUN CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115