DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 3/19/2026, the following has occurred: no amendment was made to the claims.
Claims 1-21 are pending. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 3/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0093930 A1 (US'930).
As to Claim 1:
US'930 discloses a battery unit (FIG. 5; [0044]) comprising one or more pairs of oppositely disposed receptacles (holder 500 comprising lower housing member 504 and upper housing member 506 that are attached together to retain batteries ([0044])); each said pair of receptacles defining a respective chamber for accommodating one or more cylindrical battery cells (the holder 500 retains batteries 202-212 which are "cylindrically-shaped" within the housing ([0035], [0044])); each cylindrical battery cell having a first end adjacent a first end wall of a first one of said receptacles and a second end adjacent a second end wall of a second one of the pair of said receptacles (batteries have a top end portion 238 adjacent to a bus bar layer stack acting as a first end wall and a bottom end portion 240 adjacent to a heat sink structure acting as a second end wall ([0038], [0041]-[0044], [0048]-[0050]));
each cylindrical battery cell having positive and negative electrodes (discloses cells with a nub positive terminal and a can/casing negative terminal, with both terminals accessible at the top end ([0035], [0039]-[0040])); with positive and negative bond wires being connected to said positive and negative electrodes at the first end of each battery cell (discloses that each bus bar is coupled to respective batteries with one or more wires, specifically a "bond wire 401" connected to a terminal at the top end ([0036], [0039], [0043])); and extending through apertures provided at said first end wall (describes routing the bond wire 401 through a layer stack where each layer has an aperture 403, 405, 407 sized to allow the wire to pass through to the terminal ([0043])); and said second end wall forming a thermal conduction path for dissipating heat (the bottom end portions are thermally coupled to heat sink segments 701-705 to form a path for efficient heat removal ([0038], [0049]-[0053])).
As to Claim 2:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein each said pair of receptacles defines a chamber for accommodating a plurality of cylindrical battery cells electrically connected together in parallel in a group (discloses a holder 500 comprising housing members 504 and 506 that define a space for a plurality of batteries 1709, where the batteries are divided into battery subsets or groups 1703-1706 and the batteries within each subset are electrically connected in parallel ([0006], [0040], [0044], [0047], [0049], [0061])).
As to Claim 3:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein a plurality of pairs of receptacles is provided each defining a chamber for accommodating a plurality of cylindrical battery cells electrically connected together in parallel in a respective group (discloses a holder 500 and segmented housing where batteries are divided into a plurality of battery subsets or groups, and the batteries within each subset or group are electrically connected in parallel ([0006], [0040], [0044], [0047], [0049], [0055], [0061])); and respective groups being connected together in series or in parallel (discloses that the "battery groups of said plurality of battery groups are electrically connected in series" ([0006], [0036], [0040], [0047], [0055])); and with wall members of the respective receptacles forming electrical insulation between the respective groups (discloses an "electrical isolation barrier 1707" and regions 719 located between directly adjacent heat sink segments or groups that are filled with an electrically insulative material to maintain electrical isolation between the respective groups ([0006], [0008], [0049]-[0053], [0056]-[0058], [0061])).
As to Claim 6:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein the second end wall is formed of a material having a higher thermal conductivity than a material of the first end wall (discloses that each heat sink segment of the plurality of heat sink segments, which act as the second end wall structure, is comprised of a metal such as aluminum and has a thermal conductivity of at least 100 W/m·K; while the first end wall, comprised of the bus bar layer stack, utilizing electrically insulating materials such as resin impregnated fiberglass, has a lower thermal conductivity than the metallic heat sink segments ([0041]-[0042], [0049]-[0050], [0055]-[0056], [0060]; claims 15-17)).
As to Claim 7:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein a plurality of pairs of receptacles are provided (discloses a holder 500 and segmented housing structures defining multiple spaces/chambers for accommodating a plurality of battery groups ([0044], [0049], [0055], [0061])); and wherein common wall elements of the plurality of pairs of receptacles are arranged/formed between directly adjacent groups of cylindrical battery cells (discloses that batteries are divided into battery subsets or groups 1703-1706 and that an "electrical isolation barrier 1707" and/or regions 719 are located between directly adjacent battery groups or heat sink segments ([0047], [0049]-[0053], [0055]-[0058], [0061])); and wherein the common wall elements form electrical insulation between the respective groups (discloses that these regions/barriers between adjacent groups are filled with an "electrically insulative material" to maintain electrical isolation between the respective battery groups ([0008], [0050], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0058], [0061])).
As to Claim 17:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein the second end wall is either integrally formed with said second receptacle, is at least partly formed separately, or is formed by means of a thermally conducting wall bonded to the second receptacle (discloses heat sink segments, which act as the second end wall structure, where in one embodiment at least one coolant conduit is incorporated into and passes through the segment and in another embodiment the segments are formed separately from the conduits and fixed thereto by bonding, such as by using a thermally conductive adhesive or epoxy ([0049]-[0050], [0055]-[0059])).
As to Claim 18:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein the second one of each pair of receptacles has a reduced height in comparison to the first one of the pair of receptacles (discloses a module housing 504 acting as a first receptacle and heat sink segments 701-705 acting as a second receptacle structure at the second end of the cells, where the heat sink segments have a significantly reduced height in the axial direction compared to the main housing member 504 ([0044], [0049]-[0050], [0053])); and in a first limiting case comprises only the second end wall having apertures therein (discloses that the second end wall structure, formed by the heat sink segments 701, can include apertures or incorporated conduits for thermal management ([0055]-[0058])); and in a second limiting case is replaced by open ends of the first one of the receptacles (discloses that the housing 504 accommodates the cylindrical batteries and is configured such that the bottom "second" end of the housing is essentially open to allow the second end portions 240 of the batteries to be thermally coupled to the heat sink, thereby replacing a traditional second receptacle with the open ends of the first housing receptacle ([0038], [0044], [0048]-[0050], [0053])).
As to Claim 19:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein positive and negative potentials are made available at an electric circuit board (discloses that the layer stack positioned at the first end of the cells may be formed using "layers of a circuit board"; where positive and negative potentials from the battery terminals are made available to the bus bars in the circuit board through bond wires 401 ([0039]-[0043])); and provided at an outer side of the first end wall of the pairs of receptacles (discloses that the layer stack/circuit board is disposed at the first end portion 238 of the battery cells, which corresponds to the outer side of the first end wall structure in the assembly ([0038]-[0044])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0093930 A1 (US'930), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2017/122438 A1 (WO'438).
As to Claim 4:US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); and wherein the battery unit accommodates a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (202-212) ([0035], [0038], [0044]).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose that each said chamber includes locating elements at at least one of said second walls to form an array of regularly spaced cylindrical battery cells.
WO'438 discloses that each chamber includes locating elements (battery housing portions 23) at at least one of said second walls (second wall 8 of the battery block 2) to form an array of regularly spaced cylindrical battery cells (the batteries 21 are arranged in four rows within the battery holder 22 and secured against the second wall 8) (WO'438, Pg. 3; Pgs. 8-10).
WO'438 and US'930 are analogous arts because both references are directed to the field of high-capacity battery pack construction and thermal management systems utilizing cylindrical cells for use in electric vehicles and electronic devices (US'930 [0001]-[0006], [0033]-[0035]; WO'438, Pg. 2; Pg. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery housing portions (locating elements) of WO'438 into the receptacle and housing assembly of US'930 in order to ensure the cylindrical battery cells are maintained in a precise, regularly spaced array to optimize heat transfer efficiency and ensure consistent electrical bonding across the module (US'930 [0038]-[0044]; WO'438, Pgs. 3-4; Pg. 5).
As to Claim 5:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 4 (see the rejection of claim 4 above).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose that at least some of the locating elements have tapered wall elements forming introduction aids for inserting each of the cylindrical battery cells.
WO'438 discloses a battery holder (22) with accommodating portions (23) forming insertion holes for cylindrical batteries. While WO'438 utilizes these holes as locating elements, it is well-known in the art of modular battery holders to provide tapered wall elements or beveled edges at the entry of such insertion holes to serve as introduction aids for inserting cylindrical cells, thereby preventing damage to cell casings and ensuring precise alignment during high-speed automated assembly (WO'438, “Battery Block,” Pgs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate tapered wall elements into the battery accommodating portions (locating elements) of WO'438, as applied to the housing of US'930, in order to facilitate the efficient and damage-free insertion of the cylindrical battery cells into the regularly spaced array during the manufacturing process (US'930 [0044]; WO'438, “Battery Block,” Pgs. 3-4).
As to Claim 8:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose that means is provided in at least one of each pair of receptacles for positioning each cylindrical battery cell in the respective chamber in a predetermined orientation.
WO'438 discloses that a means (battery holder 22 comprising accommodating portions 23) is provided in at least one of each pair of receptacles (exterior case halves 31, 32) for positioning each cylindrical battery cell (21) in the respective chamber in a predetermined orientation (the batteries are inserted into the hollow cylindrical accommodating portions 23 which physically constrain the cells in a fixed vertical and radial orientation within the holder) (WO'438, “Battery Block,” Pgs. 3-4; “Outer Case,” Pgs. 8-10).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the battery holder and cylindrical accommodating portions (positioning means) of WO'438 into the housing and receptacle assembly of US'930 in order to provide a positive mechanical constraint that ensures each cylindrical battery cell is maintained in a precise predetermined orientation, thereby facilitating automated electrical bonding and preventing terminal misalignment due to mechanical shock or vibration (US'930 [0039]-[0044]; WO'438, “Battery Block,” Pgs. 3-4; “Vibration-proof material,” Pgs. 5-7).
As to Claim 9:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 above); and wherein the battery unit comprises a first end wall (bus bar layer stack) and a second end wall structure (heat sink segments) (US'930 [0038]-[0044], [0049]-[0053]).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose the positioning means located at at least one of the first end wall and the second end wall in the specific modular configuration of the receptacles.
WO'438 discloses that the means for positioning (battery holder 22 with accommodating portions 23) are located at least one of said first end wall (first wall 7) and said second end wall (second wall 8) (discloses that the batteries 21 are inserted into the accommodating portions 23 which are formed as part of or adjacent to the first wall 7 and second wall 8 to maintain the cells in a fixed vertical orientation) (WO'438, “Battery Block,” Pgs. 3-4; “First Wall and Second Wall,” Pgs. 8-10).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to locate the positioning means (accommodating portions) of WO'438 at the first and second end walls of the assembly of US'930. Doing so ensures that the cylindrical battery cells are supported at both ends of the receptacle, thereby preventing lateral shifting and maintaining the precise alignment necessary for the ultrasonic wire bonding at the first end and thermal contact at the second end (US'930 [0039]-[0044], [0049]-[0053]; WO'438, “Battery Block,” Pgs. 3-4; “First Wall and Second Wall,” Pgs. 8-10; “Vibration-proof material,” Pgs. 5-7).
As to Claim 10:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); and wherein the cylindrical battery cells (202-212) are accommodated within a housing assembly (504, 506) (US'930 [0035], [0038]-[0044]).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose that an end of the first one of each pair of receptacles remote from the first wall is spaced in an axial direction of the cylindrical battery cells from an end of the second one of each pair of receptacles remote from the second wall.
WO'438 discloses a battery pack comprising a battery holder (22) composed of a pair of half bodies (22a, 22b). These half bodies act as the first and second receptacles for the cylindrical batteries (21). The ends of these half bodies that are remote from their respective end walls (the ends facing each other at the center of the battery cells) are spaced apart in the axial direction, creating a physical gap between the two receptacle halves along the longitudinal length of the cylindrical battery cells (WO'438, “Battery Block,” Pgs. 3-4; “First Wall and Second Wall,” Pgs. 8-10).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the axial spacing between the remote ends of the receptacles as taught in WO'438 to the assembly of US'930. Providing this gap between the two halves of the battery holder/receptacle allows for easier assembly, accounts for manufacturing tolerances in the length of the cylindrical battery cells, and reduces the total weight and material cost of the battery unit without compromising the structural integrity or thermal management of the cells (US'930 [0038]-[0044], [0049]-[0053]; WO'438, “Battery Block,” Pgs. 3-4; “Thermally Conductive Material,” Pg. 5).
As to Claim 11:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); further comprising thermally conductive feature elements (discloses heat sink segments 701-705 comprised of aluminum with a thermal conductivity of at least 100 W/m·K and a layer of thermal interface material 707 used to thermally couple the batteries to the heat sink (US'930 [0049]-[0050], [0053], [0055]-[0056]; claims 15-17)); with the thermally conductive elements being disposed at at least one of the receptacles of each pair of receptacles (discloses that the heat sink segments and thermal interface material are disposed at the bottom of the housing/receptacle 504 to form a thermal path for the batteries (US'930 [0038], [0044], [0049]-[0053])).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose that these feature elements are "flame retardant."
WO'438 discloses thermally conductive and flame retardant feature elements (discloses a "heat conductive material 4" made of an inorganic filler-containing silicone resin (WO'438, Pg. 5; Pg. 12)); with the thermally conductive and flame retardant feature elements being disposed at at least one of the receptacles of each pair of receptacles (discloses that the heat conductive material is interposed between the battery and the second wall of the exterior case/receptacle (WO'438, Pgs. 5, 8-10)). Inorganic-filled resins, such as the silicone resin described in WO'438, are widely utilized in battery pack construction specifically for their dual properties of high thermal conductivity and inherent flame retardancy (WO'438, Pgs. 5, 12).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the thermally conductive and flame-retardant materials (such as the filled silicone resin) taught by WO'438 for the feature elements and receptacles of US'930. Providing flame retardant properties to the thermally conductive path is a standard safety requirement in high-capacity battery units to prevent fire propagation and ensure the integrity of the housing during thermal runaway events (US'930 [0003]-[0005], [0049]-[0053]; WO'438, Pgs. 5, 8-10, 12).
As to Claim 12:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 11 (see the rejection of claim 11 above); wherein the battery unit comprises at least one receptacle (housing member 504) (US'930 [0044]).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose that the thermally conductive and flame-retardant feature elements are disposed at at least one of the receptacles and form at least a part of said receptacle.
WO'438 discloses that the thermally conductive and flame-retardant feature elements (heat conductive material 4/silicone resin) are disposed at at least one of the receptacles (exterior case 3) of each pair of receptacles and form at least a part of said receptacle (discloses that the exterior case or holder itself is formed of or integrates the flame retardant and thermally conductive material to facilitate cooling and ensure structural integrity (WO'438, Pgs. 3, 5, 8-10, 12)).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to integrate the thermally conductive and flame-retardant material properties taught by WO'438 into the construction of the housing/receptacle of US'930. Forming the receptacle itself from these materials allows the housing to function as both a structural support and a passive thermal management component, thereby reducing assembly complexity and total weight while maintaining high safety standards for the battery unit (US'930 [0003]-[0005], [0044], [0049]-[0053]; WO'438, Pgs. 3, 5, 8-10, 12).
Claims 13-16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0093930 A1 (US'930), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2011/0206948 A1 (US'948).
As to Claim 13:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); and further discloses that the positive and negative bond wires (bond wire 401) are connected to an electric circuit board (discloses that the bus bar layer stack positioned at the first end of the cells may be formed using "layers of a circuit board" where potentials from battery terminals are made available to bus bars in the circuit board through bond wires (US'930 [0039]-[0043])). However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose the circuit board being provided at an outer side of the first end wall of the pairs of receptacles in the context of an integrated monitoring and power distribution assembly.
US'948 discloses an electric circuit board (block circuit board 60) provided at an outer side of the first end wall of the pairs of receptacles (discloses a block circuit board 60 held in a circuit board holder 61 and attached to a first endplate 4A, which functions as a first end wall, such that the board is disposed outside the endplate at the end-plane of the battery stack (US'948 [0008]-[0012], [0053]-[0057])).
US'948 and US'930 are analogous arts because both references are directed toward high-current power source apparatuses and battery pack systems for electric vehicles, specifically focusing on the internal electrical interconnection and housing of multiple battery cells (US'930 [0001]-[0006], [0033]-[0040]; US'948 [0002]-[0008], [0045]-[0052]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the end-face circuit board arrangement of US'948 into the battery unit of US'930. One would be motivated to provide the electric circuit board at the outer side of the first end wall as taught by US'948 to consolidate the battery management and monitoring electronics with the primary power bus bars shown in US'930, thereby eliminating the need for a special-purpose electrical component case and allowing the overall size of the battery pack outer case to be reduced (US'930 [0039]-[0043]; US'948 [0004]-[0008], [0054]-[0060]).
As to Claim 14:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein a cooling plate (cold plate 713) is arranged at the second end wall (heat sink segments 701-705) of the chamber and forms a part of the thermal conduction path for dissipating heat from the second ends (bottom end portions 240) of the cylindrical battery cells (discloses a cold plate 713 mounted beneath the heat sink segments that is thermally coupled to the batteries via a thermal interface material 717 to transfer heat out of the battery pack (US'930 [0038], [0049]-[0053])).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose the cooling plate forming a part of the structural mounting and thermal interface in a unitized assembly where the battery stacks are directly disposed upon the plate to establish the conduction path.
US'948 discloses a cooling plate (7) arranged at the second end wall of the chamber and forming a part of the thermal conduction path for dissipating heat from the second ends of the cylindrical battery cells (discloses that each battery stack is disposed on a cooling plate 7, with an electrically insulating layer 18 established between the cooling plate and the battery stack to efficiently transfer heat between the battery cells and the cooling plate (US'948 [0013]-[0014], [0051], [0061], [0066], [0074]-[0076], [0102])).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the unitized cooling plate arrangement of US'948 into the battery unit of US'930. One would be motivated to dispose the battery stack directly on the cooling plate as taught by US'948 in order to establish a more direct and effective thermal conduction path that achieves direct cooling of the battery cells while maintaining a compact and stable mechanical outline for the overall power source apparatus (US'930 [0049]-[0053]; US'948 [0013], [0051], [0060]-[0066], [0074]-[0076]).
As to Claim 15:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 14 (see the rejection of claim 14 above); wherein said cooling plate (cold plate 713) comprises one or more coolant passages (coolant conduits 715) that are configured to conduct a coolant therethrough (discloses that a cold plate 713 is thermally coupled to coolant conduits 715 which incorporate heat transfer liquid/coolant to withdraw heat from the assembly (US'930 [0009], [0050]-[0054])).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose that each coolant passage is associated with one or more rows of the cylindrical battery cells in a parallel row piping configuration.
US'948 discloses that the cooling plate (7) comprises one or more coolant passages (coolant plumbing 20/coolant pipe 21) that are configured to conduct a coolant therethrough, wherein each coolant passage is associated with one or more rows of the cylindrical battery cells (discloses a cooling plate 7 provided with coolant plumbing 20 where the coolant pipe 21 is plumbed to form four rows of parallel pipes 21A to circulate coolant and absorb heat from rows of battery cells (US'948 [0013], [0061], [0074]-[0076], [0102])).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the parallel coolant passage configuration of US'948 into the cooling plate of US'930. One would be motivated to associate individual coolant passages with specific rows of cells as taught by US'948 to provide uniform cooling across the entire battery stack and regulate the thermal energy absorbed from the battery cells, thereby reducing temperature differences between the cells and improving the overall reliability of the battery unit (US'930 [0050]-[0054]; US'948 [0067]-[0076]).
As to Claim 16:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 14 (see the rejection of claim 14 above); and further discloses a cold plate (713) mounted beneath heat sink segments and interposed between the heat sink segments and a battery pack enclosure lower panel (711) (US'930 [0049]-[0053]).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose the cooling plate being configured to serve as the primary mechanical support for the remaining battery unit in a unitized, modular configuration.
US'948 discloses that the cooling plate (7) is configured to serve as a mechanical support for the remaining battery unit (discloses that each battery stack is disposed on a cooling plate 7, and further teaches that this arrangement allows mechanical strength to be maintained while achieving a compact outline (US'948 [0011]-[0013], [0051], [0060]-[0061], [0066])).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the cooling plate of US'930 as a mechanical support for the remaining battery unit as taught by US'948. One would be motivated to utilize the cooling plate as the structural foundation upon which the battery stack and receptacles are disposed to simplify the assembly process and ensure direct, consistent thermal contact between the battery cells and the cooling medium, thereby achieving a compact, high-strength power source apparatus suitable for the high-current demands and vibration environments of electric vehicles (US'930 [0049]-[0053]; US'948 [0011]-[0013], [0051], [0060]-[0066]).
As to Claim 20:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above); and further discloses positive and negative bond wires (bond wire 401) connected to respective positive and negative terminals (US'930 [0035], [0039]-[0043]).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose the positive and negative bond wires being connected to a battery management system (BMS) within a unitized modular assembly.
US'948 discloses a battery management system (discloses a block circuit board 60 that controls and monitors battery cells 1 in a stack to make up protection circuitry that protects the battery cells from over-charging and over-discharging (US'948 [0004], [0008], [0054]-[0056])). US'948 further teaches that the battery blocks can be made modular, where monitor, control, and protection circuitry (BMS) are modularized along with the battery blocks (US'948 [0055]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to connect the bond wires of US'930 to a battery management system as taught by US'948. One would be motivated to terminate the primary electrical connections (bond wires) of the battery unit at a centralized management and protection board as taught by US'948 to provide modularized safety monitoring and ensure the battery cells operate within preferred ranges, thereby reducing the need for an external, over-sized electrical component case and improving the space utilization efficiency of the high-current power source apparatus (US'930 [0039]-[0043]; US'948 [0004]-[0012], [0054]-[0060]).
As to Claim 21:
US'930 discloses the battery unit in accordance with claim 20 (see the rejection of claim 20 above); and further discloses that the assembly at the first end portion of the batteries may be formed using "layers of a circuit board" (US'930 [0042]); which is configured to transport and distribute current made available via the cylindrical battery cells using a bus bar layer stack (US'930 [0039]-[0043], [0047]); and mentions utilizing monitors that detect battery malfunctions or thermal runaway events (US'930 [0003]-[0005]).
However, US'930 does not explicitly disclose the battery management system being configured to monitor a voltage, a current and a temperature of at least one of an individual battery cell, some of the battery cells arranged in one chamber and all of the battery cells arranged in one chamber.
US'948 discloses that the battery management system (BMS) is integrated in a printed circuit board (block circuit board 60) (US'948 [0008], [0054]-[0056]); and is configured to monitor a voltage and a temperature of "each battery cell" in the battery stack (US'948 [0055]-[0057]); and further discloses that the board is connected to electrical components such as "shunt resistors" and "current sensors" to monitor and limit charging and discharging current (US'948 [0004], [0058]); and that the board manages the battery block (chamber), thereby monitoring an individual cell, a subset of cells, or all cells arranged in that modular unit (US'948 [0055]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to integrate the specific cell monitoring capabilities (V, I, T) of US'948 into the circuit board layer stack of US'930. One would be motivated to configure the integrated PCB to monitor individual and group cell parameters as taught by US'948 to provide granular safety protection and modularize the monitor and control circuitry within the same structural unit used for power distribution, thereby improving the space utilization efficiency and maintenance of the battery unit (US'930 [0039]-[0043]; US'948 [0004]-[0012], [0054]-[0060]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references in the prior rejection of record for any teaching.
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723