DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement previously set forth between Species I-III (Claims 1-21) is hereby withdrawn. Upon further search and further consideration, all claims are found to be drawn to a single general inventive concept and will be examined together. Accordingly, all claims (1-21) have been examined together in this Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/26/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/10/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 13-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0206948 A1 (“US’948”).
As to Claim 1:
US’948 discloses a battery unit (see Figs. 1, 9–10; [0046]–[0049], [0054]–[0057]) comprising one or more pairs of oppositely disposed receptacles, where a first end plate 4A and a second end plate 4B are arranged opposite one another to enclose a plurality of cylindrical battery cells 1B ([0046]–[0049], Figs. 1, 9). The opposed end plates 4A and 4B define a chamber for accommodating the cylindrical battery cells ([0048], Fig. 9);
each cylindrical battery cell 1B is shown as having a first end positioned adjacent to the first end plate 4A and a second end positioned adjacent to the second end plate 4B ([0048], [0066]; Figs. 9, 27–28);
each cylindrical battery cell includes positive and negative electrodes, with voltage detection lines 12 (bond-wire equivalents) connected to the respective positive and negative terminals at the first end of each cell and extending through apertures (holes 13) provided in the first end plate 4A to a circuit board 60 located on the outer side of the first end plate ([0054]–[0057]; Figs. 9–10); and
the second end plate 4B is disposed at the opposite end of the chamber and is thermally connected to a cooling plate 7 through an insulating layer 18, whereby the second end wall forms part of a thermal conduction path for dissipating heat generated by the cylindrical cells during operation ([0066]–[0071]; Figs. 27–28).
As to Claim 2:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 1 (see Figs. 1, 9–10, 27–28; [0046]–[0049], [0054]–[0057], [0066]–[0071]) wherein each pair of receptacles—the opposed first end plate 4A and second end plate 4B—defines a chamber for accommodating a plurality of cylindrical battery cells 1B ([0048], [0050]; Figs. 1, 9).
US’948 further discloses that the plurality of cylindrical battery cells 1B are electrically connected together in parallel to form a battery block (battery group) ([0049]: “each battery block 50 includes a plurality of battery cells 1B connected in parallel, with several blocks connected in series”). The cells are housed within the same chamber defined by the opposed end plates 4A and 4B and corresponding side walls ([0048]–[0049]; Figs. 1, 9, 27).
As to Claim 3:
US’948 discloses a battery unit comprising a plurality of pairs of receptacles (opposed end plates 4A and 4B) each defining a chamber for accommodating a plurality of cylindrical battery cells 1B ([0048]–[0049]; Figs. 1, 9). Each chamber houses multiple cells 1B arranged between the opposed end plates 4A, 4B and separated laterally by partition walls 4C ([0049]; Figs. 16–18).
US’948 further teaches that the plurality of cylindrical cells 1B within each chamber are electrically connected together in parallel to form a battery block 50, and that a plurality of such battery blocks (groups) are connected in series or in parallel to achieve the desired output voltage and capacity ([0049]: “Each battery block 50 includes a plurality of battery cells 1B connected in parallel, and a plurality of such battery blocks are connected in series.”).
US’948 also discloses that partition walls 4C and side wall members of the receptacle assembly form electrical insulation between adjacent battery groups ([0049]; Figs. 16–18), thereby preventing electrical shorting between neighboring groups of parallel-connected cells.
As to Claim 4:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 1 (see Figs. 1, 16–18, 27–28; [0046]–[0049], [0066]–[0071]) wherein each chamber defined by opposed receptacles includes locating elements at at least one of said second walls to form an array of regularly spaced cylindrical battery cells.
Specifically, US’948 describes that partition plates 4C and end plates 4A, 4B include cylindrical through-holes or recessed portions that receive and position each cylindrical battery cell 1B ([0048]–[0049]; Figs. 16–18). These openings and recesses function as locating elements at the wall surfaces, ensuring each cylindrical battery cell 1B is held in a fixed position within the chamber.
US’948 further teaches that the cylindrical battery cells 1B are arranged in regular rows and columns, with uniform spacing maintained by the locating holes of the partition plates 4C ([0049]: “the battery cells are arranged in a predetermined regular pattern and supported by the partition plates 4C having through holes”). The partition or end-wall locating elements thereby form an array of regularly spaced cylindrical battery cells.
As to Claim 6:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 1 (see Figs. 9, 27–28; [0066]–[0071]) wherein the second end wall is formed of a material having a higher thermal conductivity than a material of the first end wall.
Specifically, US’948 describes that the first end wall 4A is an insulating plate through which voltage detection lines 12 extend from the cell terminals to the external circuit board 60 ([0054]–[0057]; Fig. 9). The first end wall is designed primarily for electrical isolation and therefore comprises an electrically insulating material (e.g., resin).
In contrast, the second end wall 4B is positioned opposite the first wall and is thermally connected to a cooling plate 7 via an electrically insulating layer 18 ([0066]–[0071]; Figs. 27–28). US’948 explicitly states that the cooling plate 7 is metallic or otherwise thermally conductive to efficiently dissipate heat from the battery cells 1B through the second end wall 4B.
As to Claim 7:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 1 (see Figs. 16–18, 27–28; [0048]–[0049], [0066]–[0071]) wherein a plurality of pairs of receptacles are provided, and common wall elements are formed between directly adjacent groups of cylindrical battery cells, the wall elements functioning as electrical insulation between the respective groups.
Specifically, US’948 teaches that the battery structure includes a plurality of battery blocks 50, each block comprising a plurality of cylindrical battery cells 1B housed between opposed end plates 4A and 4B, which together form a pair of receptacles ([0048]; Figs. 9, 16–18).
Between adjacent battery blocks or cell groups, partition plates 4C and side wall members are provided ([0049]; Figs. 16–18). US’948 explains that these partition plates 4C are shared (common) between neighboring cell groups and serve to mechanically separate and electrically insulate one group of parallel-connected cells from another ([0049]: “the partition plates 4C maintain spacing and insulation between adjacent groups of cells, preventing electrical contact”).
As to Claim 8:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 1 (see Figs. 16–18, 27–28; [0048]–[0049], [0066]–[0071]) wherein means is provided in at least one of each pair of receptacles for positioning each cylindrical battery cell in the respective chamber in a predetermined orientation.
Specifically, US’948 describes that the partition plates 4C and end plates 4A, 4B have cylindrical openings or recesses that receive and hold each cylindrical battery cell 1B in a defined position ([0048]: “the partition plates 4C are formed with through holes for housing each battery cell 1B so that each battery cell is located and supported in a predetermined position”). These holes or recesses function as positioning means ensuring that each cell is aligned axially and oriented consistently within the chamber formed by the opposed receptacles.
Additionally, the end plates 4A and 4B are designed with apertures (holes 13) and terminal interfaces that correspond to the cell’s electrode ends, thereby also fixing each cell in a predetermined orientation relative to the electrical and thermal structures ([0054]–[0057]; Figs. 9–10, 16–18).
As to Claim 9:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 8 (see Figs. 9–10, 16–18, 27–28; [0048]–[0049], [0054]–[0057], [0066]–[0071]) wherein the means for positioning each cylindrical battery cell in a predetermined orientation are located at at least one of said first end wall and said second end wall.
Specifically, US’948 describes that the first end wall 4A and second end wall 4B are formed with apertures or holes 13 that correspond to the ends of the cylindrical battery cells 1B ([0054]–[0057]; Figs. 9–10). These apertures guide the voltage detection lines 12 from the cell terminals to the external circuit board 60 and also serve to position and align the cells relative to the chamber.
Further, the partition plates and end walls (4A, 4B, 4C) are configured with cylindrical through-holes that match the outer diameter of the battery cells, thereby securing each cell in place at the end walls ([0048]; Figs. 16–18). The holes act as locating means at the end-wall positions to fix the axial alignment and orientation of the cylindrical cells.
As to Claim 13:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 1 (see Figs. 9–10; [0054]–[0057]) wherein the positive and negative bond wires are connected to an electric circuit board provided at an outer side of the first end wall of the pairs of receptacles.
Specifically, US’948 teaches that each cylindrical battery cell 1B includes positive and negative electrodes, and voltage detection lines 12 are connected to the terminals of each battery cell ([0054]). The voltage detection lines (functionally equivalent to bond wires) extend through holes 13 formed in the first end plate 4A (the first end wall of the receptacle pair) and are connected to a circuit board 60 located on the outer side of the end plate 4A ([0055]–[0056]; Figs. 9–10).
US’948 further describes that the circuit board 60 is used for detecting the voltage of each battery cell and for controlling the pack operation, clearly identifying it as an electric circuit board that is positioned externally relative to the first end wall ([0056]).
As to Claim 14:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 1 (see Figs. 27–28; [0066]–[0071]) wherein a cooling plate is arranged at the second end wall of the chamber and forms a part of the thermal conduction path for dissipating heat from the second ends of the cylindrical battery cells.
Specifically, US’948 teaches that each battery cell 1B is disposed between a first end wall 4A and a second end wall 4B, and that the second end wall 4B is thermally connected to a cooling plate 7 through an electrically insulating layer 18 ([0066]–[0068]; Figs. 27–28). The cooling plate 7 is described as being metallic and thermally conductive, and it serves to dissipate heat generated by the battery cells through the second end wall 4B ([0066]–[0071]: “The cooling plate 7 … efficiently removes heat from the batteries … heat generated in each battery cell 1B is conducted through the end plate 4B and the insulating layer 18 to the cooling plate 7.”).
As to Claim 15:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 14 (see Figs. 27–28; [0066]–[0071]) wherein the cooling plate comprises one or more coolant passages that are configured to conduct a coolant therethrough, each coolant passage being associated with one or more rows of the cylindrical battery cells.
Specifically, US’948 teaches that the cooling plate 7, arranged at the second end wall 4B, includes internal coolant flow paths for circulating a cooling medium ([0066]: “the cooling plate 7 has internal flow paths through which a cooling medium flows to remove heat generated by the battery cells”). The cooling plate is positioned beneath the array of cylindrical battery cells 1B, such that the coolant passages within the plate are thermally coupled to the rows of cells located above them ([0066]–[0068]; Fig. 27).
US’948 further specifies that the coolant passages are arranged so that the coolant flows directly beneath or adjacent to the rows of battery cells, thereby dissipating heat from each row of cells through the thermal conduction path of the second end wall and insulating layer ([0068]: “heat from the batteries is transferred to the cooling medium flowing through the passage in the cooling plate”).
As to Claim 16:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 14 (see Figs. 27–28; [0066]–[0071]) wherein the cooling plate is configured to serve as a mechanical support for the remaining battery unit.
Specifically, US’948 teaches that the cooling plate 7 is disposed at the bottom of the battery module and is thermally connected to the lower end plate 4B of the cell chamber through an electrically insulating layer 18 ([0066]–[0068]; Fig. 27). The reference explains that the cooling plate 7 not only dissipates heat but also structurally supports the battery cells and end plates mounted above it ([0067]: “the cooling plate 7 supports the lower side of the battery stack and serves as a base on which the battery cells and end plates are mounted”).
Because the cooling plate 7 bears the weight of the stacked cylindrical cells and the receptacle walls and is integrated as the bottom structure of the battery module, it functions as a mechanical support for the remaining battery unit components located above it.
As to Claim 17:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 1 (see Figs. 27–28; [0066]–[0071]) wherein the second end wall is either integrally formed with said second receptacle, is at least partly formed separately, or is formed by means of a thermally conducting wall bonded to the second receptacle.
Specifically, US’948 describes that the second end wall 4B of the battery chamber is thermally connected to a cooling plate 7 through an electrically insulating layer 18 ([0066]–[0068]; Fig. 27). The reference explains that the end plate 4B may be formed separately from the cooling plate 7 and joined via bonding or lamination using the insulating layer 18 ([0067]: “the end plate 4B is attached to the cooling plate 7 through the insulating layer 18 to provide both electrical insulation and thermal conductivity”).
This structure demonstrates: the second end wall (4B) may be separately formed from the rest of the receptacle (the upper structure 4A, 4C); it is bonded to a thermally conducting wall (the cooling plate 7); and the thermally conducting wall (7) is secured to the second receptacle assembly, thus functioning as a bonded thermal interface between the cell chamber and the cooling structure.
As to Claim 19:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 1 (see Figs. 9–10; [0054]–[0057]) wherein positive and negative potentials are made available at an electric circuit board provided at an outer side of the first end wall of the pairs of receptacles.
Specifically, US’948 teaches that each cylindrical battery cell 1B has positive and negative terminals, and that voltage detection lines 12 are connected to these terminals at the first end of each cell ([0054]). The voltage detection lines extend through holes 13 in the first end plate 4A and are connected to a circuit board 60 located on the outer side of the end plate 4A ([0055]–[0056]; Figs. 9–10).
The circuit board 60 functions as an electric circuit board that detects voltages and makes available the positive and negative potentials of the connected cells for monitoring or power management ([0056]: “the circuit board 60 is disposed outside the end plate 4A and detects the voltage of each battery cell”).
As to Claim 20:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 1 (see Figs. 9–10; [0054]–[0057]) wherein the positive and negative bond wires are connected to a battery management system.
Specifically, US’948 teaches that voltage detection lines 12 (which correspond functionally to bond wires) are connected to the positive and negative terminals of each cylindrical battery cell 1B ([0054]). These lines extend through holes 13 in the first end plate 4A to reach a circuit board 60 provided on the outer side of the end plate ([0055]–[0056]; Figs. 9–10).
US’948 further describes that the circuit board 60 is configured to detect voltages and control operation of the battery cells ([0056]: “the circuit board 60 detects the voltage of each battery cell and controls charging and discharging”). Such voltage monitoring and control functions are characteristic of a battery management system (BMS)—a control circuit that monitors the voltage, current, and temperature of the battery cells and manages charge/discharge operations.
As to Claim 21:
US’948 discloses the battery unit of claim 20 (see Figs. 9–10; [0054]–[0057]) wherein the battery management system is integrated in a printed circuit board configured to transport and distribute current made available via the cylindrical battery cells, and the battery management system is configured to monitor a voltage, a current, and a temperature of at least one of an individual battery cell, some of the battery cells arranged in one chamber, and all of the battery cells arranged in one chamber.
Specifically, US’948 teaches that voltage detection lines 12 (bond-wire equivalents) are connected to the terminals of each cylindrical battery cell 1B and extend through holes 13 in the first end plate 4A to a circuit board 60 located on the outer side of the end plate ([0054]–[0056]; Figs. 9–10).
US’948 further explains that the circuit board 60 is a printed circuit board incorporating voltage-detection and control circuitry to monitor and manage the battery pack operation ([0056]: “the circuit board 60 detects the voltage of each battery cell and controls the charge and discharge operation of the battery pack”). The board therefore serves both as an electrical distribution structure (carrying and distributing the current paths from the connected cells) and as the integration site for the control system—that is, a battery management system (BMS).
Additionally, US’948 teaches that the circuit board 60 is connected to temperature sensor 40 ([0057]: “temperature of each battery cell is detected by a temperature sensor 40, and the circuit board 60 controls the battery pack based on this information”), and that it monitors voltage, current, and temperature conditions of individual cells, groups of cells, or the entire battery pack ([0057]).Claim
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0206948 A1 (“US’948”), as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of US 2011/0052957 A1 (“US’957”).
As to Claim 5:
US’948 discloses a battery unit comprising one or more pairs of oppositely disposed receptacles defining a chamber for accommodating cylindrical battery cells (Figs. 1, 16–18; [0048]–[0049]). Each chamber includes locating elements in the form of partition plates 4C or end plates 4A, 4B having cylindrical openings that receive and position each cylindrical battery cell 1B in a regular array ([0048]: “partition plates 4C are formed with through holes for housing each battery cell 1B so that each battery cell is located and supported in a predetermined position”). The locating elements thus define an array of regularly spaced cylindrical battery cells within each chamber.
However, US’948 does not expressly disclose that at least some of the locating elements have tapered wall elements forming introduction aids for inserting the cylindrical battery cells. US’948 merely describes cylindrical openings or holes that fit the battery cells but is silent regarding any tapered or inclined wall surfaces designed to assist insertion.
In the same field of endeavor, US’957 relates to battery modules and holders for cylindrical cells, including structural features that facilitate cell insertion into receptacles (see [0028]–[0031]; Figs. 3–6). US’957 teaches insertion cavities 222 that each include an inner circumferential wall with a tapered face 226 inclined toward the cavity center in the direction of insertion. This taper functions as an introduction aid for inserting each cylindrical battery cell smoothly and accurately into the cavity ([0028]: “The insertion cavity 222 has a tapered face 226 that facilitates smooth insertion of the cylindrical cell”). The reference further notes that such design minimizes misalignment and insertion damage to the cell casing ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the locating elements (partition plates 4C) of US’948 to include the tapered wall configuration taught by US’957, thereby forming introduction aids for inserting each cylindrical battery cell into the receptacle. Such a modification would have been motivated by the desire to facilitate easier assembly, improve cell alignment, and reduce the risk of damage to the cells or receptacle openings, as expressly stated in US’957 [0028]–[0031]. The modification involves a predictable improvement of known cell-locating structures using well-known mechanical design principles, yielding no unexpected results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0206948 A1 (“US’948”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/205045 A1 (“US’045”).
As to Claim 10:
US’948 discloses a battery unit comprising pairs of receptacles (end plates 4A and 4B) defining chambers for accommodating cylindrical battery cells ([0048]–[0049]; Figs. 9, 27–28). Each cylindrical battery cell 1B is positioned between a first end wall 4A and a second end wall 4B, with the cells oriented along an axial direction ([0048], [0066]). The first and second receptacles are oppositely disposed, enclosing the chamber.
However, US’948 does not disclose that the end of the first receptacle remote from the first wall is spaced apart in the axial direction of the cylindrical cells from the end of the second receptacle remote from the second wall. In US’948, both receptacles (end plates 4A, 4B) are substantially symmetric along the cell axis and terminate at the same axial plane, forming a balanced enclosure.
In the same field of endeavor, US’045 pertains to battery module housings and walls for prismatic or cylindrical cells that are positioned and clamped between intermediate and end walls ([0072]–[0075], [0083]–[0101]; Figs. 2a–6d). US’045 teaches that certain intermediate or end walls of the module—such as the closing wall 70, outer wall 71, and intermediate wall 13—may have different heights or thicknesses, and that the outer wall 71 and closing wall 70 are axially offset relative to the intermediate walls to improve sealing, cooling, and mechanical stability ([0042]–[0043], [0085]–[0087]). This arrangement results in the outer ends of one wall being axially displaced from the outer ends of the opposing wall, similar to the spacing relationship recited in the claim.
US’045 further shows that such offset configuration provides structural and assembly advantages—allowing the outer wall to form a separate mounting surface for cooling interfaces or couplings, while the inner wall supports the cells ([0042], [0043], [0085]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the opposed receptacles (4A, 4B) of US’948 such that the ends of the receptacles are axially offset in accordance with the structure taught by US’045. The motivation would have been to facilitate improved assembly clearance, accommodate cooling components or sealing structures, and reduce overall module stress or tolerance stacking—all predictable results identified in US’045. Implementing such a relative offset would merely involve rearranging known end-plate geometries to achieve an expected mechanical fit without altering the fundamental operation of the battery unit.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0206948 A1 (“US’948”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of KR 2017 0000125 U (“KR’125”).
As to Claim 11:
US’948 discloses a battery unit comprising pairs of oppositely disposed receptacles defining chambers for accommodating cylindrical battery cells 1B (Figs. 1, 9, 27–28; [0046]–[0049], [0066]–[0071]). Each pair of receptacles includes a first end plate 4A and a second end plate 4B, which enclose the battery cells and define the chamber ([0048]). The second end plate 4B is thermally connected to a cooling plate 7 through an insulating layer 18, thereby forming a thermal conduction path for dissipating heat from the cells ([0066]–[0071]; Fig. 27). The end plates 4A, 4B may be formed of materials such as metal or resin, depending on whether electrical insulation or thermal conductivity is desired ([0054]–[0056], [0066]).
However, US’948 does not expressly disclose that the receptacles or their structural components include thermally conductive and flame-retardant feature elements. While US’948 discusses thermal conduction and insulation through materials such as metal and resin, it is silent regarding the inclusion of flame-retardant materials or coatings that serve dual functions of thermal conduction and flame resistance.
In the same field of endeavor, KR’125 relates to battery module housings and cooling systems for cylindrical and prismatic lithium-ion cells, specifically directed to improving thermal conductivity and fire resistance ([0007], [0011]–[0014], [0025], [0043]–[0051]; Figs. 1–30). KR’125 discloses heat sinks and protective plates made of graphite sheets, graphite foam, or graphite composite materials that exhibit both high thermal conductivity (150–1500 W/m·K) and inherent flame-retardant properties ([0011]–[0013], [0046]). KR’125 further teaches that such graphite-based flame-retardant elements can be disposed adjacent to or in contact with the battery receptacle ends or housings, forming heat-dissipating and fire-suppressing barriers ([0046], [0049]; Figs. 23–28).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the receptacle structure of US’948 to incorporate thermally conductive and flame-retardant graphite-based feature elements as taught by KR’125, particularly disposed at one or both receptacles (4A, 4B). The motivation for such modification would have been to enhance heat dissipation, prevent propagation of thermal runaway, and increase fire resistance, all predictable improvements recognized as desirable in lithium-ion battery pack design. The modification represents the application of a known material (graphite composite) to a known structure (battery receptacle) to obtain expected performance benefits without changing the basic operation of the device.
As to Claim 12:
US’948 discloses a battery unit comprising pairs of oppositely disposed receptacles (end plates 4A and 4B) defining chambers for accommodating cylindrical battery cells 1B (Figs. 1, 9, 27–28; [0046]–[0049], [0066]–[0071]). Each chamber has a first end wall (4A) and a second end wall (4B). The second end wall 4B is thermally connected to a cooling plate 7 through an electrically insulating layer 18, which allows for heat dissipation from the battery cells ([0066]–[0068]; Fig. 27). The first end wall 4A is described as being formed of insulating resin, while the second end wall 4B and cooling plate 7 are metallic and thermally conductive ([0054], [0066]).
However, US’948 does not expressly disclose that the receptacles or end walls incorporate thermally conductive and flame-retardant feature elements forming part of the receptacle itself. While the reference teaches thermal conduction for cooling and insulation between electrical components, it lacks the specific teaching of flame-retardant materials or of such materials forming the receptacle walls themselves.
KR’125 discloses thermally conductive and flame-retardant feature elements formed of graphite sheets, graphite foams, or composite materials with phase-change layers that serve to dissipate heat and prevent flame propagation ([0011]–[0013], [0046]). These materials are described as being disposed adjacent to or integrally formed with the battery receptacle walls or end caps, functioning as heat sinks and protective housings ([0046], [0049]; Figs. 23–28). KR’125 explicitly states that the heat sink may be attached or integrally formed with the housing wall on one or both ends of the battery cells, thereby forming part of the receptacle structure ([0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the receptacle walls (4A, 4B) of US’948 to include or form at least a portion of those walls from graphite-based, thermally conductive, and flame-retardant materials as taught by KR’125. The motivation for such modification would have been to enhance heat dissipation and improve flame resistance, two well-known goals in the design of lithium-ion battery enclosures. Incorporating graphite-based materials into the receptacle or wall structure would have been a predictable and routine optimization of known components to achieve improved performance in the same function.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0206948 A1 (“US’948”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 9,059,445 B1 (“US’445”).
As to Claim 18:
US’948 discloses a battery unit comprising pairs of oppositely disposed receptacles (end plates 4A and 4B) defining a chamber for accommodating cylindrical battery cells 1B (Figs. 1, 9, 27–28; [0046]–[0049], [0066]–[0071]). The battery cells are located between a first end wall (4A) and a second end wall (4B), each wall corresponding to one of the pair of receptacles. The second end wall 4B is thermally connected to a metallic cooling plate 7 through an insulating layer 18, forming a thermal conduction path for dissipating heat ([0066]–[0068]; Fig. 27).
US’948 further discloses that the second end wall 4B is relatively thin compared to the overall housing height and primarily functions as a heat-dissipating boundary, whereas the first end wall 4A houses electrical connections and is comparatively thicker ([0054], [0066]). Thus, US’948 teaches that the second receptacle is reduced in height compared to the first receptacle and may comprise only the second end wall that interfaces with the cooling plate.
However, US’948 does not explicitly disclose a “second limiting case” where the second receptacle is replaced by open ends of the first receptacle.” The structure in US’948 always includes both end walls (4A, 4B) enclosing the chamber, with no embodiment where the second receptacle is omitted or replaced by an open-ended configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, US’445 relates to battery holders for cylindrical cells, specifically an open-ended holder that permits easy insertion and removal of cylindrical batteries (col. 1, lines 5–10; Abstract; Figs. 1A–3). US’445 discloses a one-piece, unitary holder having first and second sheaths (24, 62) projecting from opposite sides of a central panel 30, each defining open-ended cylindrical receptacles 40, 64 that are open at both ends (col. 3, lines 15–45). The specification explains that “each sheath defines at least two cylindrical battery receptacles that are open at both ends... the holder permits easier access and insertion of batteries from either end” (col. 3, lines 25–45). This structure explicitly teaches a receptacle replaced by open ends instead of a closed end wall.
US’445 therefore discloses the second limiting case of Claim 18 — that is, the configuration in which one receptacle is omitted or replaced by an open-ended structure for improved accessibility and thermal exposure.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lower receptacle (second end wall 4B) of US’948 in view of US’445 by omitting or opening the lower receptacle wall as taught by US’445, thereby forming open ends of the first receptacle. The motivation for such modification would have been to simplify assembly, reduce material use, and improve heat dissipation by allowing the cell ends to directly contact the cooling plate—advantages explicitly recognized in the open-ended design of US’445 (col. 3, lines 25–45). The modification involves a predictable structural variation (removing one end wall) that yields expected improvements in manufacturability and cooling efficiency without altering the battery’s functional configuration.
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723