DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of species C2 (figures 7 and 12; claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 02/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the embodiments are not independent or mutually exclusive species and therefore search and examination of both species could be carried out by the PTO without posing an undue burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because even though figure 12 is a narrower embodiment depending on figure 11 and figure 11 is a narrower embodiment dependent on figure 1, figures 1, 11-12 are directed to multiple species (such as the different arrangements of the correction optical systems). Therefore, search and examination of both species could not be carried out by the PTO without posing an undue burden on the Examiner. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 10-1589636).
Regarding claim 1, Lee (figure 2) discloses an optical device for a vehicle, comprising:
an optical sensor module (300, 410, 420) for detecting light that propagates through a light-transmissive member and toward the optical sensor module (The infrared optical system 300 receives the infrared light passing through the beam splitter 200 and senses or detects it; see at least paragraph 0028); and
a correction optical system (100) which includes at least one optical member to refract the light that propagates between the light-transmissive member and the optical sensor module in a direction different from a direction in which the light-transmissive member refracts the light (the first lens 121 has any one surface of the front surface (①) and the rear surface (②) is formed as a diffractive aspheric surface, and can maximize the aberration correction ability with the aspherical surface of the rear surface (②); see at least paragraph 0034).
The limitations “for detecting light that propagates through a light-transmissive member and toward the optical sensor module” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The limitation, “to refract the light that propagates between the light-transmissive member and the optical sensor module in a direction different from a direction in which the light-transmissive member refracts the light” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 2, Lee (figure 2) discloses wherein the optical sensor module includes at least one of a camera or a lidar (The present invention proposes a common optical system structure of a lens assembly capable of simultaneously performing image tracking and laser tracking; see at least paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 3, Lee (figure 2) discloses wherein the at least one optical member (100) is formed in an asymmetric configuration in at least one direction around an optical axis of the optical sensor module (300, 410, 420; figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Lee (figure 2) discloses wherein one of the correction optical system or the light-transmissive member (100 or 200) allows light that transmits therethrough to converge, while the other thereof allows light that transmits therethrough to diverge (figure 2).
The limitation, “wherein one of the correction optical system or the light-transmissive member allows light that transmits therethrough to converge, while the other thereof allows light that transmits therethrough to diverge” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 5, Lee (figure 2) discloses wherein the correction optical system refracts the light in a direction opposite to the direction in which the light-transmissive member refracts the light (100 and 200; figure 2).
The limitation, “the correction optical system refracts the light in a direction opposite to the direction in which the light-transmissive member refracts the light” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 11, Lee (figure 2) discloses wherein the optical sensor module further includes a light-emitting module for emitting light toward the light-transmissive member, and wherein the correction optical system refracts the light emitted from the light-emitting module in a direction different from a direction in which the light-transmissive member refracts the light emitted from the light-emitting module (100 and 200; figure 2; the first lens 121 has any one surface of the front surface (①) and the rear surface (②) is formed as a diffractive aspheric surface, and can maximize the aberration correction ability with the aspherical surface of the rear surface (②); see at least paragraph 0034).
The limitation, “wherein the correction optical system refracts the light emitted from the light-emitting module in a direction different from a direction in which the light-transmissive member refracts the light emitted from the light-emitting module” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 12, Lee (figure 2) discloses wherein the correction optical system refracts the light emitted from the light-emitting module in a direction opposite to the direction in which the light-transmissive member refracts the light emitted from the light-emitting module (100 and 200; figure 2).
The limitation, “wherein the correction optical system refracts the light emitted from the light-emitting module in a direction opposite to the direction in which the light-transmissive member refracts the light emitted from the light-emitting module” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 13, Lee (figure 2) discloses wherein the correction optical system comprises a first area for refracting light that transmits through the light-transmissive member (300) and propagates toward the optical sensor module, and a second area for refracting the light that is emitted from the light-emitting module and propagates toward the light-transmissive member (upper and lower areas of 100 and 200; figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Lee (figure 2) discloses wherein the at least one optical member includes at least one of a lens, a mirror, or a prism (lens 121-125).
Regarding claim 15, Lee (figure 2) discloses wherein the light-transmissive member and the correction optical system have opposite chromatic aberration patterns (The imaging lens group includes a first lens 14 having a positive refractive power and a second lens 15 having a negative refractive power, and the composite refractive power of the first and second lenses 14 and 15 is positive. It has the power of refraction and removes chromatic aberration while determining the image position of the image information source; see at least page 3, paragraph 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 10-1589636) in view of Kim et al. (KR 10-2007-0082108).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Lee is silent regarding wherein in response to the light-transmissive member being deformed due to an ambient temperature change such that a refractive power of the light-transmissive member is changed, the correction optical system compensates for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member. Kim et al. (figures 1-3) teaches wherein in response to the light-transmissive member being deformed due to an ambient temperature change such that a refractive power of the light-transmissive member is changed, the correction optical system compensates for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member (The third lens 16 is a lens formed of a free curved surface having rotational asymmetry, and may have different curvatures in the x direction and the y direction. This compensates for the trial change due to the curvature difference between the x- and y-axis directions of the windshield; see at least page 3, paragraph 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the correction optical system as taught by Kim et al. in order to achieve a vehicle head-up display that can secure safety.
The limitations “wherein in response to the light-transmissive member being deformed due to an ambient temperature change such that a refractive power of the light-transmissive member is changed, the correction optical system compensates for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The limitation, “wherein one of the correction optical system or the light-transmissive member allows light that transmits therethrough to converge, while the other thereof allows light that transmits therethrough to diverge” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. (figures 1-3) teaches wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member (The third lens 16 is a lens formed of a free curved surface having rotational asymmetry, and may have different curvatures in the x direction and the y direction. This compensates for the trial change due to the curvature difference between the x- and y-axis directions of the windshield; see at least page 3, paragraph 11).
The limitations “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The limitation, “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. (figures 1-3) teaches wherein the correction optical system is configured such that a position of the at least one optical member is adjusted based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member (The third lens 16 is a lens formed of a free curved surface having rotational asymmetry, and may have different curvatures in the x direction and the y direction. This compensates for the trial change due to the curvature difference between the x- and y-axis directions of the windshield; see at least page 3, paragraph 11).
The limitations “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that a position of the at least one optical member is adjusted based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The limitation, “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that a position of the at least one optical member is adjusted based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. (figures 1-3) teaches wherein the position of the at least one optical member is adjusted linearly, rotationally, or by any combination thereof (An additional driving source including a motor is connected to the first mirror (12) or the second mirror (13) to adjust the angle of an optical axis; see at least abstract).
The limitations “wherein the position of the at least one optical member is adjusted linearly, rotationally, or by any combination thereof” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The limitation, “wherein the position of the at least one optical member is adjusted linearly, rotationally, or by any combination thereof” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. (figures 1-3) teaches wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is fixed to a fixing member that is deformable based on the ambient temperature change (the optical member is fixed to the vehicle and therefore the windshield; figure 1), and wherein in response to the fixing member being deformed, a position of the at least one optical member is adjusted to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member (An additional driving source including a motor is connected to the first mirror (12) or the second mirror (13) to adjust the angle of an optical axis; see at least abstract; The third lens 16 is a lens formed of a free curved surface having rotational asymmetry, and may have different curvatures in the x direction and the y direction. This compensates for the trial change due to the curvature difference between the x- and y-axis directions of the windshield; see at least page 3, paragraph 11).
“Wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is fixed to a fixing member that is deformable based on the ambient temperature change, and wherein in response to the fixing member being deformed, a position of the at least one optical member is adjusted to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
The limitations “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is fixed to a fixing member that is deformable based on the ambient temperature change, and wherein in response to the fixing member being deformed, a position of the at least one optical member is adjusted to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The limitation, “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is fixed to a fixing member that is deformable based on the ambient temperature change, and wherein in response to the fixing member being deformed, a position of the at least one optical member is adjusted to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. (figures 1-3) teaches wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member (The third lens 16 is a lens formed of a free curved surface having rotational asymmetry, and may have different curvatures in the x direction and the y direction. This compensates for the trial change due to the curvature difference between the x- and y-axis directions of the windshield; see at least page 3, paragraph 11).
The limitations “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The limitation, “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. (figures 1-3) teaches wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member (The third lens 16 is a lens formed of a free curved surface having rotational asymmetry, and may have different curvatures in the x direction and the y direction. This compensates for the trial change due to the curvature difference between the x- and y-axis directions of the windshield; see at least page 3, paragraph 11).
The limitations “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The limitation, “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. (figures 1-3) teaches wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member (The third lens 16 is a lens formed of a free curved surface having rotational asymmetry, and may have different curvatures in the x direction and the y direction. This compensates for the trial change due to the curvature difference between the x- and y-axis directions of the windshield; see at least page 3, paragraph 11).
The limitations “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The limitation, “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. (figures 1-3) teaches wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member (The third lens 16 is a lens formed of a free curved surface having rotational asymmetry, and may have different curvatures in the x direction and the y direction. This compensates for the trial change due to the curvature difference between the x- and y-axis directions of the windshield; see at least page 3, paragraph 11).
The limitations “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The limitation, “wherein the correction optical system is configured such that the at least one optical member is deformed based on the ambient temperature change so as to compensate for the changed refractive power of the light-transmissive member” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 10-1589636).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Lee is silent regarding the transmittance of the correction optical system. Lee (figure 2) discloses wherein the correction optical system has a transmittance of at least 50% for a light beam of a wavelength required to be detected by the optical sensor module among light beams incident thereto from an exterior of the vehicle and/or a transmittance of at least 50% for a light beam of a wavelength required to be irradiated to the exterior of the vehicle among light beams emitted from the optical sensor module (A common optical system that transmits light in an infrared band and laser light through the same optical path and has a plurality of lenses; see at least claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the correction optical system as taught by Lee in order to achieve broadband optical device capable of simultaneously detecting an infrared image and a laser beam.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
The limitation, “wherein the correction optical system has a transmittance of at least 50% for a light beam of a wavelength required to be detected by the optical sensor module among light beams incident thereto from an exterior of the vehicle and/or a transmittance of at least 50% for a light beam of a wavelength required to be irradiated to the exterior of the vehicle among light beams emitted from the optical sensor module” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871