DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
All outstanding rejections, except for those set forth below, are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment filed on 5/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 30-36, 38, 41-46, 48, and 51-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uhlmann (US 4,011,168).
With respect to claims 1, 35, 45, Uhlmann discloses an electrical coating composition (i.e., one coated onto an electronic device) comprising a siloxane fluid and filler (abstract). In Example 1 includes polydimethylsiloxane fluid, siloxane resin functionalized with CH3 groups, and silica as thixotropic agent (i.e., provides non-Newtonian properties) (col. 4, lines 5-31).
While Example 1 does not disclose adding a solvent, Uhlmann teaches that it suitable to add solvent when the coating composition is sprayed such as trichloroethylene (i.e., halogenated hydrocarbon) and methylethyl ketone (col. 2, line 65 to col. 3, line 10).
Given that Uhlmann teaches that when spraying the coating composition, a solvent such as halogenated hydrocarbons or ketones is added, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add solvent like claimed to the coating composition exemplified by Uhlmann.
With respect to claims 2, 44, and 54, claimed functional language “able to deform when a force is applied” is met by Uhlmann because the composition is not cured and would be expected to be able to deform at least when first applied to the substrate.
With respect to claim 4, Uhlmann discloses that the filler can be clay (col. 2, lines 19-25).
With respect to claims 5, 36, 46, Example 1 discloses a second trimethylsilyl endblocked polydimethylsiloxane fluid which adjusts viscosity, i.e., rheological modifier (col. 4, lines 5-12).
With respect to claims 31, 32, 41, 42, 51, 52, Uhlmann teaches that the surface is hydrophobic (col. 2, lines 48-51).
With respect to claims 8, 30, 38, 48, Uhlmann teaches that Example 1 has electrical insulating properties (col. 4, lines 32-39).
With respect to claim 33, 43, 53, Example 1 discloses a second trimethylsilyl endblocked polydimethylsiloxane fluid (col. 4, lines 5-12) and two particulate filler including silica and alumina (col. 4, lines 23-25). Because the particulate fillers are in a hydrophobic system, the surfaces of the filler become hydrophobic, making hydrophobic particles.
With respect to claim 34, this claim which further limits the hygroscopic material does not exclude the alternative embodiment of rheological modifier. Because the latter is disclosed by Uhlmann, it is proper to include claim 34 in this rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
/VICKEY NERANGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
vn