DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant (US 3108064 A) in view of Rutt et al. (US 5427573 A).
Regarding claim 1, Grant discloses a cleaning system (system of Fig. 1) for use in an agricultural combine harvester (see Col. 1, lines 10-13) that moves in a forward direction of travel to harvest crop material from a field (moves forward to harvest; see Col. 1, lines 14-17), the cleaning system comprising:
a crop-processing platform (see Fig. 1) arranged to receive crop material thereon and reciprocate in a fore-aft manner to process crop material (see Col. 2, lines 10-18 and 35-40), and a rotatable auger [29] extending laterally in proximity to the crop-processing platform (see Fig. 4) and comprising flightings ([30 and 31]; helical sections of the auger) arranged to convey crop material laterally upon rotation of the auger (see Col. 3, lines 16-23),
wherein the auger comprises a rotatable shaft [32].
But Grant fails to disclose the flightings having fingers wherein the fingers are coupled directly to and extend radially relative to the shaft.
Rutt et al. discloses a similar cleaning system (see Col. 1, lines 6-9) for use in an agricultural harvester [10] comprising of a rotatable finger auger [40] comprising of a flighting of fingers ([42]; forms a helix around the shaft, therefore is a flighting of fingers, see Fig. 2) wherein the fingers are coupled directly to and extend radially relative to the shaft ([41]; see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the flightings of Grant with the flighting of fingers of Rutt et al. since both are flightings used to convey material through the agricultural machine, yielding the same predictable result; therefore, when the flighting of fingers of Rutt et al. replace the flightings of Grant, the fingers are coupled directly to the shaft of Grant as taught by Rutt et al. (see fingers [42] directly attached to the shaft [41] in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Grant, of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the finger auger [29] is mounted (mounted through [34 and 35], see Col. 2, lines 61-64) to the crop-processing platform (see Fig. 1) to reciprocate therewith.
Regarding claim 5, Grant, of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the crop-processing platform (see Fig. 1) comprises a chaffer [16], and the finger auger [29] is positioned in proximity (see Fig. 1) to the chaffer.
Regarding claim 6, Grant, of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the finger auger [29] is positioned at an exit (see below; either end of chaffer the material can exit) of the chaffer [16].
Regarding claim 7, Grant, of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the finger auger [29] is positioned above (see Fig. 1) a floor (floor of [16]) of the chaffer [16].
Regarding claim 10, Grant, of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the crop-processing platform (see Fig. 1) is partitioned laterally into bays (see below) and there are two sets of flightings ([30 and 31]; helical sections of the auger) positioned respectively into the bays (a portion of each flighting is positioned into each bay, see Fig. 3), but fails to disclose the flighting of fingers comprise sets of fingers positioned respectively into the bays.
However, Rutt et al. discloses a flighting of fingers ([42]; forms a helix around the shaft, therefore is a flighting of fingers, see Fig. 2).
It can be seen then that when Rutt et al.’s flighting of fingers replaces the flightings of Grant that the flighting of fingers of Rutt et al. are comprised of two sets of flightings as taught by Grant (see [30 and 31]; helical sections of the auger); therefore, when the flighting of fingers of Rutt et al. are applied as the flightings of Grant, the sets of fingers of Rutt et al. are positioned respectively in the bays of Grant.
Regarding claim 12, Grant, of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein each flighting ([30 and 31]; helical sections of the auger) of the finger auger [29] extends laterally only partially across the respective bay (each set of flightings ends in the middle bay; therefore, extends laterally only partially across the bays in which the set is positioned within, see Fig. 2), but fails to disclose the sets of flightings having fingers.
However, Rutt et al. discloses a flighting of fingers ([42]; forms a helix around the shaft, therefore is a flighting of fingers, see Fig. 2).
It can be seen then that when Rutt et al.’s flighting of fingers replaces the flightings of Grant that the flighting of fingers of Rutt et al. extend laterally only partially across the respective bay as disclosed by Grant (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Grant, of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the bays (see above) comprise a first bay (see below) and a second bay (see below), the first and second bays are positioned on laterally opposite sides of a fore-aft centerline (see below) of the crop-processing platform (see Fig. 1), the flightings ([30 and 31]; helical sections of the auger) comprises a first flighting [30] positioned in the first bay and a second flighting [31] positioned in the second bay, and the first and second sets of flightings are positioned respectively on laterally opposite sides (one flighting is positioned within each bay, with the bays being opposite of each other in relation to the fore-aft centerline, see below) of the first and second bays.
But Grant fails to disclose the flightings having fingers.
However, Rutt et al. discloses a flighting of fingers ([42]; forms a helix around the shaft, therefore is a flighting of fingers, see Fig. 2).
It can be seen then that when Rutt et al.’s flighting of fingers replaces the flightings of Grant that each set of fingers of Rutt et al. are positioned on laterally opposite sides of the first and second bays as disclosed by Grant (see above).
Regarding claim 16, Grant, of the above resultant combination, discloses wherein the sets of flightings ([30 and 31]; helical sections of the auger) comprise a first flighting [30] having a first helical sense (see helix of flighting [30] in Fig. 3) and a second flighting [31] having an identical second helical sense (see helix of flighting [31] in Fig. 3).
But Grant fails to disclose the flightings having fingers.
However, Rutt et al. discloses a flighting of fingers ([42]; forms a helix around the shaft, therefore is a flighting of fingers, see Fig. 2).
It can be seen then that when Rutt et al.’s flighting of fingers replaces the flightings of Grant that each flighting of fingers of Rutt et al. have an identical helical sense as disclosed by Grant (see helixes in Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant (US 3108064 A) and Rutt et al. (US 5427573 A) as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12-13 and 16 above, and further in view of Louks (US 3581746 A).
Regarding claim 4, the cleaning system is disclosed as applied above, but the combination fails to disclose wherein the finger auger is mounted to a support structure of the agricultural combine harvester against reciprocation with the crop-processing platform.
Louks discloses a similar cleaning system (see Fig. 2) wherein the finger auger [48] is mounted to a support structure [64 and 66] of the agricultural combine harvester [22] against reciprocation (adjustably secured to sides of the combine; therefore, not reciprocating, see Col. 3, lines 37-41) with the crop-processing platform [36, 37, and 42].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the support structure of Louks on the finger auger of Grant and Rutt et al. in order to support the auger and adjust the vertical distance between the auger and the chaffer (see Louks Col. 3, lines 37-41 and 51-55).
Regarding claim 17, Grant, of the above resultant combination, further discloses a belt [39] and pulley [39a] to drive the shaft [32] of the finger auger [29], but fails to disclose an actuator operable to laterally side-shift the finger auger.
Louks discloses a similar cleaning system (see Fig. 2) comprising an actuator [52] operable to rotate the finger auger [48].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the belt and pulley of Grant and Rutt et al. with the actuator of Louks in order to rotate the auger in either direction in response to the lateral inclination of the combine (see Louks Col. 3, lines 18-23).
But Louks fails to disclose the actuator is operable to laterally side-shift the finger auger.
However, an actuator operable to "laterally side-shift" the finger auger is broad as the claim limitations merely state an operation without claiming elements and their relative movement in relationship to one another; therefore, in a reasonably broad limitation, the actuator of Louks rotating the finger auger is considered to be "laterally side-shifting" the auger during operation as the auger is designed to be side-shifting in nature during rotation.
Regarding claim 18, Louks, of the above resultant combination, further discloses comprising an actuator [52] operable to rotate the finger auger [48] in opposite directions (see Col. 3, lines 18-23).
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant (US 3108064 A) and Rutt et al. (US 5427573 A) as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12-13 and 16 above, and further in view of Vandike (US 11013175 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Grant, of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the chaffer [16] is a first chaffer ([16] is a first chaffer), the crop-processing platform (see Fig. 1) comprises a second chaffer [17] positioned in proximity to the first chaffer to receive crop material therefrom, and the finger auger [29] is positioned above (see Fig. 1) a floor (floor of [17]) of the second chaffer, but fails to disclose the second chaffer extending rearwardly away from the first chaffer.
Vandike et al. discloses a similar cleaning system (see Fig. 2) comprising of a first chaffer ([120]; can be a chaffer or a sieve, see Col. 2, lines 36-39) and a second chaffer ([122]; can be a chaffer or a sieve, see Col. 2, lines 36-39) positioned in proximity to the first chaffer to receive crop material therefrom (see Fig. 2) and extending rearwardly away (see below) from the first chaffer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first and second chaffer of Grant and Rutt et al. with the first and second chaffer of Vandike et al. in order for the chaffers to oscillate via a drive apparatus to move the material along the length of the chaffer to separate the grain (see Vandike et al. Col. 3, lines 12-15 and 20-23).
Regarding claim 9, Grant, of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the finger auger [29] is positioned at an exit (see above; either end of chaffer the material can exit) of the first chaffer [16].
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant (US 3108064 A) and Rutt et al. (US 5427573 A) as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12-13 and 16 above, and further in view of Puryk et al. (US 107971677 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Grant, of the above resultant combination, discloses wherein the sets of flightings ([30 and 31]; helical sections of the auger) comprise a first flighting [30] having a first helical sense (see helix of flighting [30] in Fig. 3) and a second flighting [31] having a second helical sense (see helix of flighting [31] in Fig. 3), but fails to disclose the flightings are composed of sets of fingers with the second flighting having an opposite second helical sense.
However, Rutt et al. discloses a flighting of fingers ([42]; forms a helix around the shaft, therefore is a flighting of fingers, see Fig. 2).
It can be seen then that when the flighting of fingers of Rutt et al. replace the flightings of Grant that the flighting of fingers of Rutt et al. have a first and second helical sense as taught by Grant (see helix’s of flightings [30 and 31] in Fig. 3).
But Rutt et al. fails to disclose the second flighting has an opposite second helical sense.
Puryk et al. disclose a similar cleaning system [100] of an agricultural combine harvester (see Col. 3, lines 33-34) wherein an auger ([146 and 148], each side of the same auger, see Fig. 2) has a set of flightings ([166 and 168]; helical sections of the auger) comprises a first flighting [166] having a first helical sense (see helix of flighting [166] in Fig. 2) and a second flighting [168] having an opposite second helical sense (see helix of flighting [168] in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the helical senses of the first and second flighting of fingers of Grant and Rutt et al. with the helical senses of Puryk et al.'s first and second flightings since both are ways to form the flighting for conveying crop material through the cleaning system; therefore, yielding the same predictable result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Please see updated art rejections above in response to applicant’s claim amendments, now including Rutt et al. (US 5427573 A).
Applicant’s remarks in pages 1-2 set forth that previously applied art Wilshusen (US 3613691 A) in the non-final rejection dated 1/27/26 fails to disclose the fingers are attached directly to the rotatable shaft.
Examiner agrees with this argument. However, newly applied art Rutt et al. discloses similar fingers attached directly to the rotatable shaft; therefore, the claims remained rejected. Further, while Rutt et al. discloses the fingers as bristles, see Col. 4, lines 29-36, they still preform the function of moving crop material from one point to another throughout the harvester and therefore are analogous art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNNY D WEBB/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671