DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watkins (GB2051846).
Regarding claim 1, Watkins teaches a method comprising: identifying a crack or joint in an asphalt cement or concrete cement (page 1, Line 14), wherein said crack or joint comprises a bottom and two sides (the joint inherently has a bottom); and applying an adhesion promoter (page 1, line 51) to the sides of the crack or joint (page 1, lines 48-61, claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Watkins teaches filling the crack or joint with a sealing material (page 1, Lines 57-58).
Regarding claim 4, Watkins teaches the adhesion promoter comprises a vinyl polymer (page 1, lines 50-54).
Regarding claim 8, Watkins teaches the adhesion promoter comprises an aqueous composition (water; page 2, line 8).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Denso (EP3081615)
Regarding claim 1, Denso teaches a method comprising: identifying a crack or joint in an asphalt cement or concrete cement (page 1, Line 14), wherein said crack or joint comprises a bottom and two sides; and applying an adhesion promoter (page 1, line 51) to the sides of the crack or joint (page 1, lines 48-61, claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Denso teaches the sealing material (34) comprises a bituminous material (paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 6, Denso teaches the sealing material (34) comprises a bituminous binder (paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 7, Denso teaches the sealing material further comprises at least one component selected from an asphalt material, an elastomeric polymer, or a wax (paragraph [0062, 0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins (GB2051846).
Regarding claim 5, Watkins teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the vinyl polymer is selected from polyvinyl alcohol and polyvinyl acetate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the vinyl polymer of Watkins a polyvinyl alcohol or polyvinyl acetate, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 9, Watkins teaches the adhesion promoter comprises a vinyl polymer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the adhesion promotor of Watkins a vinyl polymer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 10, Watkins teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach the vinyl polymer comprises about 0.1 to about 10 wt. % of the composition. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the vinyl polymer about 0.1 to about 10 wt. % of the composition, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 167 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 11, Watkins teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach the vinyl polymer comprises about 0.5 to about 5 wt. % of the composition. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the vinyl polymer about 0.5 to about 5 wt. % of the composition, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 167 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 12, Watkins teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach the composition is applied at a rate of about 0.001 to about 0.20 gallons/yard2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the composition of Watkins at a rate of about 0.001 to about 0.20 gallons/yard2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 13, Watkins teaches the invention as described above but fails to teach the vinyl polymer is modified with boric acid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the vinyl polymer of Wakins modified with boric acid, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the attached PTO-892. Terry teaches a method for sealing a crack with a bituminous sealant.
/ABIGAIL A RISIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 October 28, 2025