DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 16, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-30 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou (US 20220201726 A1) in view of Jung et al. (US 20240365339 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Papasakellariou teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (Paragraph 65, 68, 72, These passages disclose a UE including a processor and coupled memory storing executable instructions controlling wireless communication functions) to cause the apparatus to: receive a control message that activates the configuration for communications between a user equipment (UE) and the network entity, the control message scheduling multiple instances of the communications within each periodicity, wherein each of the multiple instances is within a slot having a slot number (Paragraph 120, 121, 84, These passages disclose a control message (DCI via PDCCH) that schedules multiple transmissions over multiple slots, each occurring within defined slots); and communicate, based at least in part on receiving the control message, the multiple instances in accordance with the configuration, each of the multiple instances including a different set of transport blocks (Paragraph 121, 122, 87, These passages disclose that each scheduled transmission carries a TB and separate NDI/RV fields per transmission indicate distinct TB instances), wherein the multiple instances share a same frequency domain resource assignment and a same modulation and coding scheme (Paragraph 121, 123, These passages expressly disclose that all scheduled transmissions share the same frequency resource allocation and same MCS), wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier associated with a first instance within each periodicity is determined based at least in part on a slot number (Paragraph 87, 84, 123, These passages disclose that each first scheduled transmission within the multi-slot scheduling has an indicated HARQ process number associated with its scheduled slot, teaching assignment of a HARQ process identifier for the first instance), and wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier of subsequent instances within the periodicity increments by 1 relative to a previous instance (Paragraph 123, 122, These passages expressly disclose that the HARQ process number for subsequent transmissions is incremented by one (modulo the maximum)).
Papasakellariou does not explicitly teach receive, from a network entity, a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity.
However, Jung et al. teaches receive, from a network entity, a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity (Paragraph 85, 103, These passages disclose receiving configured-grant configurations including scheduling periodicity and parameters defining multiple transmission opportunities within each configured grant period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive, from a network entity, a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity as taught by Jung et al. in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would enable the UE to use a predefined configured-grant structure defining periodic transmission opportunities that efficiently supports the multi-instance scheduled transmissions already performed in Papasakellariou while reducing control signaling overhead and improving scheduling efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Papasakellariou teaches identify a schedule for communicating the multiple instances of the communications, wherein the multiple instances are associated with a same configuration of one or more configurations and are scheduled within a same periodic communication occasion associated with the same configuration (Paragraph 120, 121, 123, 187, These passages teach identifying, via a single DCI format and corresponding TDRA entry, a schedule defining multiple transmission/reception instances that share the same configuration (same TDRA entry, FDRA, MCS, and DCI) and are arranged over defined slots within a common scheduled occasion tied to that configuration).
Regarding claim 3, Papasakellariou teaches identify a schedule for communicating the multiple instances of the communications, wherein the multiple instances are each associated with a respective different configuration of one or more configurations and are each scheduled within a respective different periodic communication occasion associated with the respective different configuration (Paragraph 120–123, 187, These passages teach identifying a schedule (via DCI and TDRA table selection) for multiple transmission instances, where different TDRA table entries constitute different configurations that define transmissions over different slot-based (periodic) communication occasions, and the DCI timing field further schedules corresponding feedback occasions for each set of transmissions).
Regarding claim 4, Papasakellariou teaches receive the control message indicating a plurality of pairs of a start and length indicator value and a corresponding slot offset value, wherein each pair of the plurality of pairs corresponds to an instance of the multiple instances (Paragraph 121, 123, 187, These passages collectively teach that a UE receives a DCI control message that includes fields (e.g., TDRA field and timing indicator field) selecting table entries that define multiple transmission/reception instances over specific slot positions (start/length in symbols across slots) and corresponding slot timing offsets for feedback).
Regarding claim 5, Papasakellariou teaches a slot offset value indicates a number of slots between a slot for receiving the control message and a slot for a periodic communication occasion of a plurality of periodic communication occasions and a start and length indicator value indicates a starting symbol and a number of consecutive symbols for communicating an instance of the multiple instances (Paragraph 91, 92, 121, 187, These passages collectively teach that a control message (DCI) includes (i) a slot timing indicator that specifies a slot offset relative to a reference slot for scheduling among multiple slot occasions, and (ii) a time-domain allocation field that defines symbol-level resources within a slot, including the starting symbol and number of consecutive symbols for each transmission instance).
Regarding claim 6, Papasakellariou teaches communicate the instance of the multiple instances according to a corresponding pair of the plurality of pairs (Paragraph 174, 178–179, These passages teach that each HARQ-ACK information instance (feedback instance) is generated and transmitted based on a specific mapped pair of cell groups and HARQ process groups, such that communication of each instance is performed according to its corresponding pair from a plurality of defined pairs).
Regarding claim 7, Papasakellariou teaches a number of pairs corresponding to the plurality of pairs is equal to a number of configurations corresponding to at least one of one or more configurations (Paragraph 171, 174-175, These passages teach that the number of defined cell pairs (e.g., {cell#0, cell#1}, {cell#2, cell#3}, etc.) directly corresponds in a one-to-one manner to the number of configured cell groups (configurations)).
Regarding claim 8, Papasakellariou teaches a number of configurations corresponding to at least one of one or more configurations indicates a threshold, and the number of configurations corresponding to the at least one of the one or more configurations or a number of pairs corresponding to the plurality of pairs is equal to or above the threshold (Paragraph 151, 171, 174–175, 178, These passages teach that a configured number of cell groups/sub-codebooks (configurations) defines a corresponding bitmap size (threshold), and HARQ-ACK reporting is performed when the number of mapped groups or cell/HARQ process pairs equals the configured N value (i.e., meets or exceeds the configured count)).
Regarding claim 10, Papasakellariou teaches determine a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier for a first instance of the multiple instances (Paragraph 122-123, These disclosures teach determining a HARQ process identifier (HPN) for a first transmission instance among multiple scheduled transmission instances by indicating the HPN for the first instance and deriving subsequent instances sequentially therefrom).
Regarding claim 11, Papasakellariou teaches input a slot for communicating the first instance of the multiple instances into an algorithm, wherein an output of the algorithm is the hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier (Paragraph 87, 122–123, 187, These passages collectively teach that for multiple scheduled transmissions (instances), the first transmission is identified (e.g., first PUSCH/PDSCH in a slot sequence) and a HARQ process number is determined and applied—subsequent HARQ process identifiers are generated by a defined sequential rule).
Regarding claim 13, Papasakellariou teaches transmit a second message comprising feedback information for a first instance of the multiple instances (Paragraph 142, 150, 177-179, These passages collectively teach transmitting a subsequent uplink message (PUCCH/PUSCH) that carries HARQ-ACK feedback information corresponding to at least one earlier scheduled transmission instance).
Regarding claim 14, Papasakellariou teaches determine a slot for transmitting the second message based at least in part on a slot offset value, wherein the slot offset value indicates a number of slots between a slot for communicating the first instance of the multiple instances and a slot for transmitting the second message (Paragraph 92, 187, These passages teach that a slot for transmitting a PUCCH (second message) is determined using a timing indicator value (slot offset K₁) that specifies the slot position relative to the slot of a PDSCH reception).
Regarding claim 15, Papasakellariou teaches determine, based at least in part on the slot offset value, a slot for transmitting a third message comprising feedback information for a second instance of the multiple instances (Paragraph 92, 187, These passages teach that a timing indicator (slot offset value K1) is used to determine a specific future slot for transmitting HARQ-ACK feedback (third message) corresponding to one of multiple scheduled PDSCH instances, including later instances).
Regarding claim 16, Papasakellariou teaches the second message further comprises feedback information for a second instance of the multiple instances (Paragraph 91, 92, 123, 124, 179, These passages collectively teach that when multiple scheduled receptions (multiple instances) occur, the UE generates and transmits HARQ-ACK feedback information corresponding to those receptions, such that a subsequent uplink message (second message) includes feedback information for at least a second scheduled instance).
Regarding claim 17, Papasakellariou teaches receive the control message that activates a first configuration and a second configuration of one or more configurations for communications between the UE and the network entity during a plurality of periodic communication occasions (Paragraph 87, 104, 121, 123, 144, 146–148, 150, 171, 177, These passages collectively teach that the UE receives a control message (DCI via PDCCH) that activates multiple configured reporting/scheduling configurations (e.g., Type-1 and Type-2 codebooks or grouped cell configurations), and that such activation applies to multiple scheduled transmissions over multiple slots/occasions).
Regarding claim 18, Papasakellariou teaches communicate a first set of transport blocks in accordance with the first configuration during a periodic communication occasion associated with the first configuration; and communicate a second set of transport blocks in accordance with the second configuration during a periodic communication occasion associated with the second configuration, wherein the first set of transport blocks is different from the second set of transport blocks (Paragraph 87, 121–123, These passages teach that distinct higher-layer/DCI configurations (e.g., different TDRA entries and associated fields) define repeated slot-based transmission occasions over which one or more TBs are communicated, and that separate scheduled transmissions with distinct HARQ/NDI/RV parameters correspond to different sets of TBs under different configurations).
Regarding claim 19, Papasakellariou teaches a hybrid automatic repeat request process number field included in the control message indicates the first configuration and the second configuration (Paragraph 87, 122–123, These passages teach that a HARQ process number field within a DCI control message explicitly identifies the HARQ process for a first transmission and, through defined incrementing behavior within the same DCI, also identifies the HARQ process(es) for subsequent transmissions).
Regarding claim 20, Papasakellariou teaches deactivate a third configuration of the one or more configurations for communications between the UE and the network entity during the plurality of periodic communication occasions based at least in part on receiving the control message (Paragraph 149, 158, 159, 165, These passages teach that upon receiving a control message (MAC CE or DCI), the UE deactivates or excludes a previously configured communication configuration (e.g., activated SCell or BWP, or HARQ-ACK sub-codebook group) for communications during subsequent transmission occasions).
Regarding claim 21, Papasakellariou does not explicitly teach deactivate the first configuration and the second configuration based at least in part on an expiration of a timer; and activate a third configuration for communications between the UE and the network entity during the plurality of periodic communication occasions based at least in part on the expiration of the timer.
However, Jung et al. teaches deactivate the first configuration and the second configuration based at least in part on an expiration of a timer; and activate a third configuration for communications between the UE and the network entity during the plurality of periodic communication occasions based at least in part on the expiration of the timer (Paragraph 103, 110, 132, 166, These passages teach that previously stored scheduling configurations are automatically cleared after a configured duration expires while another set of scheduling configurations is activated for that duration, during which the UE communicates with the network on periodic scheduling occasions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide deactivate the first configuration and the second configuration based at least in part on an expiration of a timer; and activate a third configuration for communications between the UE and the network entity during the plurality of periodic communication occasions based at least in part on the expiration of the timer as taught by Jung et al. in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would enable automatic transition between communication configurations after a configured duration expires and thereby support efficient scheduling and management of UE communications with the network during periodic communication opportunities.
Regarding claim 22, Papasakellariou teaches deactivate the first configuration and the second configuration for a duration based at least in part on receiving a second control message; and activate the first configuration and the second configuration based at least in part on expiration of a timer (Paragraph 156, 158–159, These passages teach that upon receiving a control message (MAC CE/DCI), the UE changes configuration states (activate/deactivate SCell or dormant/non-dormant BWP) and applies those state changes according to a predetermined timeline).
Regarding claim 23, Papasakellariou teaches receive the control message that activates a single configuration of one or more configurations for communications between the UE and the network entity during a plurality of periodic communication occasions; and communicate a first set of transport blocks and a second set of transport blocks in accordance with the single configuration during a periodic communication occasion associated with the single configuration, wherein the first set of transport blocks is different from the second set of transport blocks (Paragraph 87, 120–123, 126, These passages teach that the UE receives a single control message (DCI) that selects and activates one scheduling configuration governing multiple slot-based communication occasions and, under that configuration, communicates multiple TBs).
Regarding claim 24, Papasakellariou teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (Paragraph 56, 59–60, These passages teach a base station apparatus including a processor, coupled memory, and executable instructions for performing scheduling and transmission functions): transmit a control message that activates the configuration for communications between the UE and a network entity, the control message scheduling multiple instances of the communications within each periodicity, wherein each of the multiple instances is within a slot having a slot number (Paragraph 84, 120–121, These passages teach a control message (DCI via PDCCH) that activates scheduling and schedules multiple transmission instances occurring in respective slots identified by slot structure); and communicate, based at least in part on transmitting the control message, the multiple instances in accordance with the configuration, each of the multiple instances including a different set of transport blocks, wherein the multiple instances share a same frequency domain resource assignment and a same modulation and coding scheme (Paragraph 87, 121, 123, These passages expressly disclose that all scheduled transmissions share the same frequency resource allocation and same MCS), wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier associated with a first instance within each periodicity is determined based at least in part on a slot number (Paragraph 87, 84, 123, These passages disclose that each first scheduled transmission within the multi-slot scheduling has an indicated HARQ process number associated with its scheduled slot, teaching assignment of a HARQ process identifier for the first instance), and wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier of subsequent instances within the periodicity increments by 1 relative to a previous instance (Paragraph 123, 122, These passages expressly disclose that the HARQ process number for subsequent transmissions is incremented by one (modulo the maximum)).
Papasakellariou does not explicitly teach transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity.
However, Jung et al. teaches transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity (Paragraph 85, 103, These passages disclose providing a configured-grant configuration including periodicity parameters and multiple transmission opportunities within the configured grant period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity as taught by Jung et al. in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would enable the network to efficiently schedule multiple periodic transmission instances using configured-grant parameters that define periodicity and transmission opportunities while maintaining predictable HARQ process management and reducing scheduling overhead for repeated transmissions.
Regarding claim 25, Papasakellariou teaches transmit a schedule for communicating the multiple instances of the communications, wherein the multiple instances are associated with a same configuration of one or more configurations and are scheduled within a same periodic communication occasion associated with the same configuration (Paragraph 120, 121, 123, 187, These passages teach transmitting (via a single DCI/PDCCH) a schedule that defines multiple transmission instances determined from a common TDRA configuration, using the same FDRA/MCS configuration, and occurring over specified slots within the same configured scheduling structure).
Regarding claim 26, Papasakellariou teaches transmit a schedule for communicating the multiple instances of the communications, wherein the multiple instances are each associated with a respective different configuration of one or more configurations and are each scheduled within a respective different periodic communication occasion associated with the respective different configuration (Paragraph 120, 121, 123, 187, The DCI transmission schedules multiple transmission instances (PDSCH/PUSCH) by selecting different TDRA table entries (different configurations) that define corresponding numbers of transmissions over respective slots (periodic communication occasions)).
Regarding claim 27, Papasakellariou teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a control message that activates the configuration for communications between a user equipment (UE) and the network entity, the control message scheduling multiple instances of the communications within each periodicity, wherein each of the multiple instances is within a slot having a slot number (Paragraph 120, 121, 84, These passages disclose a control message (DCI via PDCCH) that schedules multiple transmissions over multiple slots, each occurring within defined slots); and communicating, based at least in part on receiving the control message, the multiple instances in accordance with the configuration, each of the multiple instances including a different set of transport blocks (Paragraph 121, 122, 87, These passages disclose that each scheduled transmission carries a TB and separate NDI/RV fields per transmission indicate distinct TB instances), wherein the multiple instances share a same frequency domain resource assignment and a same modulation and coding scheme (Paragraph 121, 123, These passages expressly disclose that all scheduled transmissions share the same frequency resource allocation and same MCS), wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier associated with a first instance within each periodicity is determined based at least in part on a slot number (Paragraph 87, 84, 123, These passages disclose that each first scheduled transmission within the multi-slot scheduling has an indicated HARQ process number associated with its scheduled slot, teaching assignment of a HARQ process identifier for the first instance), and wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier of subsequent instances within the periodicity increments by 1 relative to a previous instance (Paragraph 123, 122, These passages expressly disclose that the HARQ process number for subsequent transmissions is incremented by one (modulo the maximum)).
Papasakellariou does not explicitly teach receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity.
However, Jung et al. teaches receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity (Paragraph 85, 103, These passages disclose receiving configured-grant configurations including scheduling periodicity and parameters defining multiple transmission opportunities within each configured grant period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity as taught by Jung et al. in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would enable the UE to use a predefined configured-grant structure defining periodic transmission opportunities that efficiently supports the multi-instance scheduled transmissions already performed in Papasakellariou while reducing control signaling overhead and improving scheduling efficiency.
Regarding claim 28, Papasakellariou teaches identifying a schedule for communicating the multiple instances of the communications, wherein the multiple instances are associated with a same configuration of one or more configurations and are scheduled within a same periodic communication occasion associated with the same configuration (Paragraph 120, 121, 123, 187, These passages teach identifying, via a single DCI format and corresponding TDRA entry, a schedule defining multiple transmission/reception instances that share the same configuration (same TDRA entry, FDRA, MCS, and DCI) and are arranged over defined slots within a common scheduled occasion tied to that configuration).
Regarding claim 29, Papasakellariou teaches a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: transmitting a control message that activates the configuration for communications between the UE and a network entity, the control message scheduling multiple instances of the communications within each periodicity, wherein each of the multiple instances is within a slot having a slot number (Paragraph 84, 120–121, These passages teach a control message (DCI via PDCCH) that activates scheduling and schedules multiple transmission instances occurring in respective slots identified by slot structure); and communicating, based at least in part on transmitting the control message, the multiple instances in accordance with the configuration, each of the multiple instances including a different set of transport blocks, wherein the multiple instances share a same frequency domain resource assignment and a same modulation and coding scheme (Paragraph 121, 123, These passages expressly disclose that all scheduled transmissions share the same frequency resource allocation and same MCS), wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier associated with a first instance within each periodicity is determined based at least in part on a slot number (Paragraph 87, 84, 123, These passages disclose that each first scheduled transmission within the multi-slot scheduling has an indicated HARQ process number associated with its scheduled slot, teaching assignment of a HARQ process identifier for the first instance), and wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier of subsequent instances within the periodicity increments by 1 relative to a previous instance (Paragraph 123, 122, These passages expressly disclose that the HARQ process number for subsequent transmissions is incremented by one (modulo the maximum)).
Papasakellariou does not explicitly teach transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity.
However, Jung et al. teaches transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity (Paragraph 85, 103, These passages disclose providing a configured-grant configuration including periodicity parameters and multiple transmission opportunities within the configured grant period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for at least one configured grant, wherein the configuration indicates a periodicity for the at least one configured grant, and a number of transmission occasions within the periodicity as taught by Jung et al. in the system of Papasakellariou, so that it would enable the network to efficiently schedule multiple periodic transmission instances using configured-grant parameters that define periodicity and transmission opportunities while maintaining predictable HARQ process management and reducing scheduling overhead for repeated transmissions.
Regarding claim 30, Papasakellariou teaches transmitting a schedule for communicating the multiple instances of the communications, wherein the multiple instances are associated with a same configuration of one or more configurations and are scheduled within a same periodic communication occasion associated with the same configuration (Paragraph 120, 121, 123, 187, These passages teach transmitting (via a single DCI/PDCCH) a schedule that defines multiple transmission instances determined from a common TDRA configuration, using the same FDRA/MCS configuration, and occurring over specified slots within the same configured scheduling structure).
Allowable Subject Matter
To more fully reflect the novel improvements described in the specification, the applicant could add concepts such as: receiving one or more first messages that collectively indicate multiple distinct configurations, each configuration having a respective periodicity for a set of periodic communication occasions; activating multiple configurations simultaneously via a single control message and scheduling instances associated with different configurations in different periodic communication occasions; including in the control message a set of multiple start-and-length indicator values (SLIVs) and corresponding slot offset values, each pair corresponding to a respective transmission instance, where the slot offset indicates a distance in slots from the control message to a periodic occasion and the SLIV defines a starting symbol and consecutive symbol length for that instance; determining a HARQ process identifier by inputting a slot number into an algorithm and mapping different configurations via a HARQ process number field carried in the control message; transmitting feedback information for respective instances in slots determined based on corresponding slot offset values, including multiplexing feedback for multiple instances in a single message; dynamically deactivating one or more active configurations and activating another configuration based on expiration of a timer or based on receipt of a second control message; supporting both configured grant (CG) and semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configurations within the same framework; and enforcing relationships between a number of configurations, a number of SLIV/slot-offset pairs, and a threshold value such that multiple unique transport block sets are coordinated across configurations within defined periodic communication occasions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiao et al. (US 20240205919 A1)
Ly et al. (US 20230397199 A1)
Wang (US 20230353433 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464