DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species claims [25+26] in the reply filed on December 10, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 21-24 and 27-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 10, 2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in India on February 18, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN 202241008702 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17, 19, 20, 25, 26, and 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herchen et al (US 2013/0129557).
Regarding claims 15 and 34, Herchen teaches a fuel cell interconnect (title) comprising an interconnect comprised of a chromium iron alloy preferably containing 94-96 wt% chromium (par. 20). Regarding claims 25 and further regarding claim 15, Herchen teaches embodiment wherein the Cr/Fe interconnect body includes Mn, Co, Cu, and Ni (par. 42). The interconnect 9 has an air side and a fuel side, including ribs 10 and flow channels 8 (par. 19 and Fig. 1). Herchen teaches that a combination of Mn and Co may aid in promoting the in situ formation of a protective barrier layer over at least one surface of the interconnect (par. 42). This is considered to encompass the air side of the interconnect. As such, the formation of such a protective layer upon at least the air side of the interconnect is considered to be prima facie obvious. Herchen further teaches that the protective barrier layer may include one or more chromium-transition metal oxide containing spinels (par. 42).
Regarding claims 16 and 26, Herchen teaches that the spinels may contain Mn, Co, Cr, Cu, and/or Ni (par. 42).
Regarding claims 17 and 31-33, Herchen teaches the presence of an (Mn, Co3)O4 spinel or lanthanum strontium manganite (LSM) coating upon the air side of the interconnect (par. 40).
Regarding claim 19, Herchen does not require the protective coating to be present on the fuel side of the interconnect. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine optimal amounts of protective material, including the claimed amounts, to be contained on either side of the interconnect in order to achieve the desired or required level of protection.
Regarding claim 20, Herchen teaches that the interconnect 9 is part of a solid oxide fuel cell stack (par. 20, Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/Colin W. Slifka/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732