DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 101 rejection, the rejection has been withdrawn since the abstract idea has been integrated into a practical application.
As to the arguments directed to the amended limitations; please note that configuring or assigning more than one resource reads mostly on the newly amended step, and the first device type can be a mobile device, a mobile device turned on, etc. Thereby, the admitted dividing paging occasion of Selvaganapathy when combined with Lindheimer’s slices reads on the argued limitation and the first device type can be interpreted as inherently required; therefore, the references of record do teach the configuring step. Additional context would be helpful to advance the prosecution of the application. The rest of the arguments they fall for the same reasons as shown above. The rejection of record stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvaganapathy 20210337507 in view of Lindheimer 20200288423.
As to claim 1, Selvaganapathy discloses a method comprising:
configuring, by a wireless communication node [ENB], a radio resource configuration for a plurality of device types and a plurality of network resources, wherein the radio resource configuration comprises a first radio resource configuration for a first device type and a second radio resource configuration for the first device type (see fig. 1, step S101; abstract; first subgroup of multiple PO subgroups are divided),
transmitting, by a wireless communication node, a signal to a plurality of wireless communication devices of different device types, wherein the signal comprises a plurality of associations between the plurality of device types and the plurality of network resources [such as paging occasion, drx cycles paging time window, subgroups, etc.], wherein a first association of the plurality of associations is indicative of a first radio resource configuration for implementation, within a first network resource of the plurality of network resources, by one or more first wireless communication devices of the plurality of wireless communication devices havingthe first device type of the plurality of device types and located within the first network resource (see fig. 1, step S101; abstract; first subgroup of multiple PO subgroups are broadcasted), and wherein a second association of the plurality of associations is indicative of a second radio resource configuration for implementation, within a second network resource of the plurality of network resources, by one or more second wireless communication devices of the plurality of wireless communication devices having the first device type and located within the second network resource [please note that the present claim is trying to differentiate a claim by describing associations; associations are a description of a relationship which does not require an actual modification to the claim language] (see fig. 1, step S101; abstract; second subgroup of multiple PO subgroups are broadcasted). Selvaganapathy fails to disclose network slices. In an analogous art, Lindheimer discloses a first and second network slice of the plurality of network slices, by one or more first and second wireless communication devices of the plurality of wireless communication devices having a first and second device type of the plurality of device types and located within the first and second network resource (see par. 0205). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use network slices to customize the network resources for each type of device and service, thereby, improving services and maximizing network resources.
As to claim 8, Selvaganapathy discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising:
configuring, by the wireless communication node, different paging cycles for the plurality of wireless communication devices based on at least one of the plurality of device types or the plurality of network types [the ENB determines a PO subgroup for GWUS within the at least one DRX cycles according to Paging configuration for GWUS capable UE, and determines another PO subgroup for WUS within the at least one DRX cycles according to Paging configuration for WUS] (see par. 0025-0026, 0050). Selvaganapathy fails to disclose network slices. In an analogous art, Lindheimer discloses network slices, (see par. 0205). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use network slices to customize the network resources for each type of device and service, thereby, improving services and maximizing network resources.
As to claim 9, Selvaganapathy discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
configuring, by the wireless communication node, different modification periods for a system information change (see par. 0034).
As to claim 10, Selvaganapathy discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
configuring, by the wireless communication node, different modification periods for different system information elements groups based on at least one of different network types, different network identifiers, different beams or the corresponding channel status information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, different slices, or device types (see par. 0044-0045),
wherein the different network types correspond to at least one of a cell access group (CAG), a standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN), or a standalone public land mobile network (PLMN),
wherein the different network identifiers correspond to at least one of a PLMN, a Tracking Area Code (TAC), a CAG identifier, or a SNPN identifier.
Although Selvaganapathy does not disclose the intended use of wherein the device types correspond to at least one of an industry sensor, a video surveillance, or a wearable device, it is noted that the system will work equally well since it has been held that the omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the device type to the desire type for the simple purpose of customizing the network resources for the need of the device; thereby, improving the communication.
As to claims 11, Selvaganapathy discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: configuring, by the wireless communication node, different modification periods for different system information elements groups (see fig. 1, step S101; abstract; multiple PO subgroups are broadcasted).
As to claim 13, Selvaganapathy discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
indicating, by the wireless communication node, modification period information in a paging message, wherein the modification period information indicative of one or more modification periods to adopt (see par. 0034).
As to claim 14, Selvaganapathy discloses the method of claim 13, wherein a wireless communication device of the plurality of wireless communication devices determines the modification period information based on a device type (see par. 0025, 0045).
As to claim 15, Selvaganapathy discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the wireless communication device of the plurality of wireless communication devices: receives the paging message comprising a bitmap indicative of affected device types; and determines the modification period information based on the affected device types (see par. 0032).
As to claim 16, Selvaganapathy discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
transmitting, by the wireless communication node, a paging message indicative of one or more modification periods (see par. 0025-0026, 0034, 0050).
As to claim 17, Selvaganapathy discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication device, a signal from a wireless communication node, wherein the signal comprises a radio resource configuration for a plurality of device types and a plurality of network slices, wherein the radio resource configuration comprises a first radio resource configuration for a first device type and a second radio resource configuration for the first device type (see fig. 1, step S101; abstract; multiple PO subgroups are broadcasted); and configuring, by the wireless communication device, a first paging cycle according to the first radio resource configuration based on the wireless communication device (i) having the first device type of the plurality of device types and (ii) corresponding to a first network resource within the plurality of network resource, wherein the signal includes at least one second paging cycle for the second radio resource configuration that is different than the first paging cycle and corresponds to one or more wireless communication devices having the first device type and corresponding to a second network resource within the plurality of network resource [please note that the present claim is trying to differentiate a claim by describing associations; associations are a description of a relationship which does not require an actual modification to the claim language] (see fig. 1, step S101; abstract; second subgroup of multiple PO subgroups are broadcasted). Selvaganapathy fails to disclose network slices. In an analogous art, Lindheimer discloses a first and second network slice of the plurality of network slices, by one or more first and second wireless communication devices of the plurality of wireless communication devices having a first and second device type of the plurality of device types and located within the first and second network resource (see par. 0205). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use network slices to customize the network resources for each type of device and service, thereby, improving services and maximizing network resources.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, they are the corresponding a wireless communication node and wireless communication device of claims 1 and 17. Therefore, claims 19 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647