DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 10 February 2023.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, 19, 21-23 and 26-30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6 recites the limitation “configuration indicates that the SRS resource”. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to remove the pronoun “that”. Please apply to claims 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, 19, 21-23 and 26-30 as well.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites, non-functional descriptive material limitations, “A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors...in lines 1 and 3.
“A user equipment for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors…” merely serves a support for data instructions, and the data instruction will not impart/convey a patentable distinction when no functional relationship exists. In particular, a processing means cannot process data instruction alone, and require enabling a computer processor/CPU to process the data instruction in order to impart/convey a patentable distinction of a claim.
Claim 15 recites, non-functional descriptive material limitations, “A network entity for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors...in lines 1 and 3.
“A network entity for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors…” merely serves a support for data instructions, and the data instruction will not impart/convey a patentable distinction when no functional relationship exists. In particular, a processing means cannot process data instruction alone, and require enabling a computer processor/CPU to process the data instruction in order to impart/convey a patentable distinction of a claim.
As such, the functional language, “executing/processing data instruction stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium by a CPU or a computer processor” adds functional relationship to the clamed invention. Appropriate correction is required. (see MPEP 2111.05)
Dependent claims 2-5, 9, 11, 14 and 24-25 are also objected to since they are dependent upon the objected claims set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 15-21, 23-27 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noh et al (US 2013/0329660 A1), hereinafter Noh [provided in the IDS dated 7/26/2023].
Regarding Claim 1, Noh discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 81-82; a user equipment (UE)/UE 120) for wireless communication/wireless communication), comprising:
a memory (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82; a memory/UE 120 contains a memory); and
one or more processors (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82 and 282; one or more processors/control unit 3620), coupled to the memory (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82; coupled to the memory/UE 120 contains a memory), configured to:
receive a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; receive/receive a configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource/uplink SRS), wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for a base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS); and
transmit an SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; transmit/transmit an SRS/SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 2, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration includes an indication of the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) includes an indication/index of the sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 3, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration includes an indication of a sequence identity of the SRS resource (see Figure 4, step S410 and paragraph 107; wherein the configuration/(configuration information) includes an indication/indicating of a sequence identity/(SRS identity) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the sequence identity of the SRS resource indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 96 and 107; and wherein the sequence identity/(sequence identity) of the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence for the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 4, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration of the SRS resource is included in a configuration of an SRS resource set including a plurality of SRS resources (see paragraphs 96 and 100; wherein the configuration/(configuration information) of the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) is included in a configuration/(configuration information) of an SRS resource set/(uplink SRS) including a plurality of SRS resources/uplink SRS), and wherein the configuration of the SRS resource set indicates a respective sequence index value for each SRS resource of the plurality of SRS resources (see paragraphs 96 and 100; and wherein the configuration/(configuration information) of the SRS resource set/(antenna configuration, a cyclic shift index, UE-specific SRS bandwidth) indicates a respective sequence index value/(base sequence index) for each SRS resource/(uplink SRS) of the plurality of SRS resources/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 5, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value and a group index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) and a group index value/(sequence group number) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the one or more processors (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82 and 282; and wherein the one or more processors/control unit 3620), to transmit the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; to transmit/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS), are configured to:
transmit the SRS using a base sequence associated with the group index value and the sequence index value in all of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see paragraphs 96,136-137, 141-147 and 152-156 and 160; transmit/transmit the SRS/SRS using a base sequence/(base sequence) associated with the group index value/(sequence group number) and the sequence index value/(sequence index) in all of one or more symbols/symbols in which the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) is configured/configured).
Regarding Claim 6, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS) and the configuration indicates that group hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 95-96 and 141; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that group hopping/(sequence-group hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the one or more processors (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82 and 282; and wherein the one or more processors/control unit 3620), to transmit the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; to transmit/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS), are configured to:
transmit the SRS (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; transmit/transmitted the SRS/SRS), in each of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; in each of one or more symbols/symbol in which the SRS resource/SRS is configured), using a respective base sequence associated with the sequence index value and a group index value selected using group hopping over a plurality of base sequence groups (see paragraphs 96,136-137, 141-147 and 152-156 and 160; using a respective base sequence/(base sequence) associated with the sequence index value/(sequence index) and a group index value/(sequence group number) selected using group hopping/(sequence-group hopping) over a plurality of base sequence groups/base sequence group).
Regarding Claim 7, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS) and the configuration indicates that sequence hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that sequence hopping/(sequence hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the one or more processors (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82 and 282; and wherein the one or more processors/control unit 3620), to transmit the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; to transmit/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in according with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS), are configured to:
transmit the SRS (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; transmit/transmitted the SRS/SRS), in each of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; in each of one or more symbols/symbol in which the SRS resource/SRS is configured), in each of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; in each of one or more symbols/symbols in which the SRS resource/SRS is configured/configured), using a respective base sequence selected using sequence hopping based at least in part on the sequence index value indicated by the configuration (see paragraphs 96,147 and 152-156 and 160; using a respective base sequence/(base sequence) selected using sequence hopping/(sequence hopping) based at least in part on the sequence index value/(sequence index) indicated by the configuration/configuration).
Regarding Claim 15, Noh discloses a network entity for wireless communication (see Figures 1 and paragraph 83; a network entity/(eNB 110) for wireless communication), comprising:
a memory (see Figure 38 and paragraph 289; a memory/base station 3800 contains a memory); and
one or more processors (see Figure 38 and paragraph 289; one or more processors/control unit 3810), coupled to the memory (see Figure 38 and paragraph 289; coupled to the memory/base station 3800 contains a memory), configured to:
transmit a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; transmit/(UE 120 receives) a configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource/(uplink SRS) for a user equipment (UE)/UE 120), wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for a base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS); and
receive an SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; receive/(UE 120 transmits) an SRS/SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 16, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration includes an indication of the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) includes an indication/index of the sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 17, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration includes an indication of a sequence identity of the SRS resource (see Figure 4, step S410 and paragraph 107; wherein the configuration/(configuration information) includes an indication/indicating of a sequence identity/(SRS identity) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the sequence identity of the SRS resource indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 96 and 107; and wherein the sequence identity/(sequence identity) of the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence for the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 18, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration of the SRS resource is included in a configuration of an SRS resource set including a plurality of SRS resources (see paragraphs 96 and 100; wherein the configuration/(configuration information) of the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) is included in a configuration/(configuration information) of an SRS resource set/(uplink SRS) including a plurality of SRS resources/uplink SRS), and wherein the configuration of the SRS resource set indicates a respective sequence index value for each SRS resource of the plurality of SRS resources (see paragraphs 96 and 100; and wherein the configuration/(configuration information) of the SRS resource set/(antenna configuration, a cyclic shift index, UE-specific SRS bandwidth) indicates a respective sequence index value/(base sequence index) for each SRS resource/(uplink SRS) of the plurality of SRS resources/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 19, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value and a group index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(base sequence index) and a group index value/(sequence group number) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the configuration indicates that neither group hopping, nor sequence hopping, is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 105; a sequence group number and a base sequence number for SRS generation is further included in the RRC configuration parameters).
Regarding Claim 20, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS) and the configuration indicates that group hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 95-96 and 141; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that group hopping/(sequence-group hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 21, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/SRS uplink) and the configuration indicates that sequence hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see paragraphs 96,147 and 152-156 and 160; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that sequence hopping/(sequence hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/SRS uplink).
Regarding Claim 23, Noh discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; receiving/receive a configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource/uplink SRS), wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for a base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS); and
transmitting an SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; transmitting/transmit an SRS/(uplink SRS) in the SRS resource/SRS in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/SRS).
Regarding Claim 24, Noh discloses the method, wherein the configuration includes an indication of the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) includes an indication/index of the sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS),
and the sequence identity of the SRS resource indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see paragraph 96 and 107; and the sequence identity/(independently determined SRS identity) of the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(SRS sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence index) for the SRS resource/SRS).
Regarding Claim 25, Noh discloses the method, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value and a group index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(base sequence index) and a group index value/(sequence group number) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein transmitting the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; and wherein transmitting/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS) comprises:
transmitting the SRS using a base sequence associated with the group index value and the sequence index value in all of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see paragraphs 96,136-137, 141-147 and 152-156 and 160; transmitting/transmit the SRS/SRS using a base sequence/(base sequence) associated with the group index value/(sequence group number) and the sequence index value/(sequence index) in all of one or more symbols/symbols in which the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) is configured/configured).
Regarding Claim 26, Noh discloses the method wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS) and the configuration indicates that group hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 95-96 and 141; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that group hopping/(sequence-group hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein transmitting the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; and wherein transmitting/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS) comprises:
transmitting the SRS (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; transmitting/transmitted the SRS/SRS), in each of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; in each of one or more symbols/symbol in which the SRS resource/SRS is configured), using a respective base sequence associated with the sequence index value and a group index value selected using group hopping over a plurality of base sequence groups (see paragraphs 96,136-137, 141-147 and 152-156 and 160; using a respective base sequence/(base sequence) associated with the sequence index value/(sequence index) and a group index value/(sequence group number) selected using group hopping/(sequence-group hopping) over a plurality of base sequence groups/base sequence group).
Regarding Claim 27, Noh discloses the method, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS) and the configuration indicates that sequence hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that sequence hopping/(sequence hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein transmitting the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; and wherein transmitting/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS) comprises:
transmitting the SRS (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; transmitting/transmit the SRS/SRS), in each of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; in each of one or more symbols/symbol in which the SRS resource/SRS is configured), using a respective base sequence selected using sequence hopping based at least in part on the sequence index value indicated by the configuration (see paragraphs 96,147 and 152-156 and 160; using a respective base sequence/(base sequence) selected using sequence hopping/(sequence hopping) based at least in part on the sequence index value/(sequence index) indicated by the configuration/configuration).
Regarding Claim 30, Noh discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising:
transmitting a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; transmitting/(UE 120 receives) a configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource/(uplink SRS) for a user equipment (UE)/UE 120), wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for a base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS); and
receiving an SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; receiving/(UE 120 transmits) an SRS/SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14, 22, 28 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumura et al (US 2024/0422036 A1) discloses Terminal, Radio Communication Method, and Base Station. Specifically, see paragraphs 30-52, 78-120 and 148-193.
/L.A.M/ Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469