DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 5 May 2026.
Claims 1-10 and 12-31 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12, 14-17, 20-24, 26, 28-30 are amended.
Claim 11 is canceled.
Claim 31 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Regarding Claims 1, 15, 23 and 30, the Applicant argues:
(1) Applicant respectfully submits that Noh does not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1. For example, NOH does not disclose at least “receiv[ing] a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource or the configuration indicates the SRS resource is configured with group hopping and sequence hopping, and wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number,” as recited in amended claim 1. The Office Action relies on paragraph [0096] of NOH for allegedly disclosing receiving the configuration of the SRS resource, as recite din previously present claim 1. See Office Action, page 4. However, Applicant respectfully submits that NOH does not disclose at least the above features of amended claim 1.
For example, paragraph [0096] of NOH recites that “[t]he base sequence index may be an SRS sequence index for generating a corresponding SRS.”
According to the above cited portion of NOH, NOH discloses that a base sequence index may be an SRS sequence index for generating a corresponding SRS. However, Applicant respectfully submits that NOH does not disclose at least “receiv[ing] a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource or the configuration indicates the SRS resource is configured with group hopping and sequence hopping, and wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number,” as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added). This because, for example, NOH does not disclose that the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that amended claim 1 is patentable over NOH.
Independent claims 15, 23, and 30, as amended, recite similar features. Therefore, independent claims 1, 15, 23, and 30, and the claims that depend thereon, are patentable over NOH.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner reconsider and withdraw the rejection of Claims 1-7, 15-21, 23-27, and 30 under 35 USC § 102 based on NOH [Remarks, pages 14-16].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument.
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Noh discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 81-82; a user equipment (UE)/UE 120) for wireless communication/wireless communication), comprising:
one or more memories comprising instructions (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82; one or more memories/(UE 120 contains a memory) comprising instructions/ UE 120 contains instructions); and
one or more processors (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82 and 282; one or more processors/control unit 3620), configured to execute the instructions to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; receive/receive a configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource/uplink SRS), wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for a base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
In other words, Figure 2 and paragraph 96 of Noh disclose UE 120 receives parameters for generation of an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS). The parameters for generation of the SRS indicates a base sequence index for the uplink SRs.
Therefore, Noh discloses “receive a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource”.
Liu is brought in to cure the deficiencies of Noh. Liu discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising:
wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number (see paragraphs 118-119; wherein the sequence index value/(sequence group number, nIDRS) for the SRS resource/(l0, l’, ns or R) is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence/(c(i) is the pseudo-random sequence defined by clause 7.2 of TS36.211) as a function of a slot number/ns).
In other words, paragraphs 118-119 of Liu discloses the sequence group number, nIDRS) for the SRS resource denoted in the equation as l0, l’, ns or R, is based on a c(i) is the pseudo-random sequence defined by clause 7.2 of TS36.211, as a function of a slot number and slot number in the equation as ns.
Therefore, Liu discloses the limitation “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 15-21, 23-27 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US 2013/0329660 A1), hereinafter Noh, in view of Liu et al (US 2020/0028638 A1), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 1, Noh discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 81-82; a user equipment (UE)/UE 120) for wireless communication/wireless communication), comprising:
one or more memories comprising instructions (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82; one or more memories/(UE 120 contains a memory) comprising instructions/ UE 120 contains instructions); and
one or more processors (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82 and 282; one or more processors/control unit 3620), configured to execute the instructions to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; receive/receive a configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource/uplink SRS), wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for a base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS); and
transmit an SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; transmit/transmit an SRS/SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Although Noh discloses receive a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource as set forth above,
Noh does not explicitly disclose “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number”.
However, Liu discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number (see paragraphs 118-119; wherein the sequence index value/(sequence group number, nIDRS) for the SRS resource/(l0, l’, ns or R) is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence/(c(i) is the pseudo-random sequence defined by clause 7.2 of TS36.211) as a function of a slot number/ns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number” as taught by Liu in the system of Noh to provide techniques to help alleviate the issue of dropping parts of SRS when returning/antenna switching by limiting the number of subband changes/antenna changes/power changes in consecutive SRS symbols (see paragraph 115, lines 1-5 of Liu).
Regarding Claim 2, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration includes an indication of the sequence index value (see paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) includes an indication/index of the sequence index value/base sequence index).
Regarding Claim 3, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration includes an indication of a sequence identity of the SRS resource (see Figure 4, step S410 and paragraph 107; wherein the configuration/(configuration information) includes an indication/indicating of a sequence identity/(SRS identity) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the sequence identity of the SRS resource indicates the sequence index value (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 96 and 107; and wherein the sequence identity/(sequence identity) of the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) indicates the sequence index value/base sequence index).
Regarding Claim 4, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration of the SRS resource is included in a configuration of an SRS resource set including a plurality of SRS resources (see paragraphs 96 and 100; wherein the configuration/(configuration information) of the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) is included in a configuration/(configuration information) of an SRS resource set/(uplink SRS) including a plurality of SRS resources/uplink SRS), and wherein the configuration of the SRS resource set indicates a respective sequence index value for each SRS resource of the plurality of SRS resources (see paragraphs 96 and 100; and wherein the configuration/(configuration information) of the SRS resource set/(antenna configuration, a cyclic shift index, UE-specific SRS bandwidth) indicates a respective sequence index value/(base sequence index) for each SRS resource/(uplink SRS) of the plurality of SRS resources/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 5, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value and a group index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) and a group index value/(sequence group number) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the one or more processors (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82 and 282; and wherein the one or more processors/control unit 3620), to transmit the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; to transmit/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS), are configured to execute the instructions to cause the UE to:
transmit the SRS using a base sequence associated with the group index value and the sequence index value in all of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see paragraphs 96,136-137, 141-147 and 152-156 and 160; transmit/transmit the SRS/SRS using a base sequence/(base sequence) associated with the group index value/(sequence group number) and the sequence index value/(sequence index) in all of one or more symbols/symbols in which the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) is configured/configured).
Regarding Claim 6, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS) and the configuration indicates group hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 95-96 and 141; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that group hopping/(sequence-group hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the one or more processors (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82 and 282; and wherein the one or more processors/control unit 3620), to transmit the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; to transmit/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS), are configured to execute the instructions to cause the UE to:
transmit the SRS (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; transmit/transmitted the SRS/SRS), in each of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; in each of one or more symbols/symbol in which the SRS resource/SRS is configured), using a respective base sequence associated with the sequence index value and a group index value selected using group hopping over a plurality of base sequence groups (see paragraphs 96,136-137, 141-147 and 152-156 and 160; using a respective base sequence/(base sequence) associated with the sequence index value/(sequence index) and a group index value/(sequence group number) selected using group hopping/(sequence-group hopping) over a plurality of base sequence groups/base sequence group).
Regarding Claim 7, Noh discloses the UE, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/base sequence index) and the configuration indicates that sequence hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that sequence hopping/(sequence hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the one or more processors (see Figures 1 and 36 and paragraph 82 and 282; and wherein the one or more processors/control unit 3620), to transmit the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; to transmit/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in according with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS), are configured to execute the instructions to cause the UE to:
transmit the SRS (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; transmit/transmitted the SRS/SRS), in each of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; in each of one or more symbols/symbol in which the SRS resource/SRS is configured), in each of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; in each of one or more symbols/symbols in which the SRS resource/SRS is configured/configured), using a respective base sequence selected using sequence hopping based at least in part on the sequence index value (see paragraphs 96,147 and 152-156 and 160; using a respective base sequence/(base sequence) selected using sequence hopping/(sequence hopping) based at least in part on the sequence index value/sequence index).
Regarding Claim 15, Noh discloses a network entity for wireless communication (see Figures 1 and paragraph 83; a network entity/(eNB 110) for wireless communication), comprising:
one or more memories (see Figure 38 and paragraph 289; one or more memories/base station 3800 contains a memory) comprising instructions (see Figure 38 and paragraph 289; comprising instructions/base station 3800 contains instructions); and
one or more processors (see Figure 38 and paragraph 289; one or more processors/control unit 3810), configured to execute the instructions to cause the network entity to:
transmit a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; transmit/(UE 120 receives) a configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource/(uplink SRS) for a user equipment (UE)/UE 120), wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for a base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and
receive an SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; receive/(UE 120 transmits) an SRS/SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Although Noh discloses transmit a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource as set forth above,
Noh does not explicitly disclose “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number”.
However, Liu discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number (see paragraphs 118-119; wherein the sequence index value/(sequence group number, nIDRS) for the SRS resource/(l0, l’, ns or R) is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence/(c(i) is the pseudo-random sequence defined by clause 7.2 of TS36.211) as a function of a slot number/ns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number” as taught by Liu in the system of Noh to provide techniques to help alleviate the issue of dropping parts of SRS when returning/antenna switching by limiting the number of subband changes/antenna changes/power changes in consecutive SRS symbols (see paragraph 115, lines 1-5 of Liu).
Regarding Claim 16, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration includes an indication of the sequence index value (see paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) includes an indication/index of the sequence index value/base sequence index).
Regarding Claim 17, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration includes an indication of a sequence identity of the SRS resource (see Figure 4, step S410 and paragraph 107; wherein the configuration/(configuration information) includes an indication/indicating of a sequence identity/(SRS identity) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the sequence identity of the SRS resource indicates the sequence index value (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 96 and 107; and wherein the sequence identity/(sequence identity) of the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) indicates the sequence index value/base sequence index).
Although Noh discloses receive a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource as set forth above,
Noh does not explicitly disclose “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number”.
However, Liu discloses a network entity for wireless communication, comprising:
wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number (see paragraphs 118-119; wherein the sequence index value/(sequence group number, nIDRS) for the SRS resource/(l0, l’, ns or R) is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence/(c(i) is the pseudo-random sequence defined by clause 7.2 of TS36.211) as a function of a slot number/ns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number” as taught by Liu in the system of Noh to provide techniques to help alleviate the issue of dropping parts of SRS when returning/antenna switching by limiting the number of subband changes/antenna changes/power changes in consecutive SRS symbols (see paragraph 115, lines 1-5 of Liu).
Regarding Claim 18, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration of the SRS resource is included in a configuration of an SRS resource set including a plurality of SRS resources (see paragraphs 96 and 100; wherein the configuration/(configuration information) of the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) is included in a configuration/(configuration information) of an SRS resource set/(uplink SRS) including a plurality of SRS resources/uplink SRS), and wherein the configuration of the SRS resource set indicates a respective sequence index value for each SRS resource of the plurality of SRS resources (see paragraphs 96 and 100; and wherein the configuration/(configuration information) of the SRS resource set/(antenna configuration, a cyclic shift index, UE-specific SRS bandwidth) indicates a respective sequence index value/(base sequence index) for each SRS resource/(uplink SRS) of the plurality of SRS resources/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 19, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value and a group index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(base sequence index) and a group index value/(sequence group number) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein the configuration indicates that neither group hopping, nor sequence hopping, is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 105; a sequence group number and a base sequence number for SRS generation is further included in the RRC configuration parameters).
Regarding Claim 20, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS) and the configuration indicates that group hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 95-96 and 141; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that group hopping/(sequence-group hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Regarding Claim 21, Noh discloses the network entity, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value (see paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates the sequence index value/base sequence index) and the configuration indicates that sequence hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see paragraphs 96,147 and 152-156 and 160; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that sequence hopping/(sequence hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/SRS uplink).
Regarding Claim 23, Noh discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; receiving/receive a configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource/uplink SRS), wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for a base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and
transmitting an SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; transmitting/transmit an SRS/(uplink SRS) in the SRS resource/SRS in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/SRS).
Although Noh discloses receiving a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource as set forth above,
Noh does not explicitly disclose “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number”.
However, Liu discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number (see paragraphs 118-119; wherein the sequence index value/(sequence group number, nIDRS) for the SRS resource/(l0, l’, ns or R) is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence/(c(i) is the pseudo-random sequence defined by clause 7.2 of TS36.211) as a function of a slot number/ns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number” as taught by Liu in the system of Noh to provide techniques to help alleviate the issue of dropping parts of SRS when returning/antenna switching by limiting the number of subband changes/antenna changes/power changes in consecutive SRS symbols (see paragraph 115, lines 1-5 of Liu).
Regarding Claim 24, Noh discloses the method, wherein the configuration includes an indication of the sequence index (see paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) includes an indication/index of the sequence index value/base sequence index),
and the sequence identity of the SRS resource indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see paragraph 96 and 107; and the sequence identity/(independently determined SRS identity) of the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(SRS sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence index) for the SRS resource/SRS).
Regarding Claim 25, Noh discloses the method, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value and a group index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(base sequence index) and a group index value/(sequence group number) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein transmitting the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; and wherein transmitting/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS) comprises:
transmitting the SRS using a base sequence associated with the group index value and the sequence index value in all of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see paragraphs 96,136-137, 141-147 and 152-156 and 160; transmitting/transmit the SRS/SRS using a base sequence/(base sequence) associated with the group index value/(sequence group number) and the sequence index value/(sequence index) in all of one or more symbols/symbols in which the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) is configured/configured).
Regarding Claim 26, Noh discloses the method wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/base sequence index) and the configuration indicates that group hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 95-96 and 141; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that group hopping/(sequence-group hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein transmitting the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; and wherein transmitting/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS) comprises:
transmitting the SRS (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; transmitting/transmitted the SRS/SRS), in each of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; in each of one or more symbols/symbol in which the SRS resource/SRS is configured), using a respective base sequence associated with the sequence index value and a group index value selected using group hopping over a plurality of base sequence groups (see paragraphs 96,136-137, 141-147 and 152-156 and 160; using a respective base sequence/(base sequence) associated with the sequence index value/(sequence index) and a group index value/(sequence group number) selected using group hopping/(sequence-group hopping) over a plurality of base sequence groups/base sequence group).
Regarding Claim 27, Noh discloses the method, wherein the configuration indicates the sequence index value for the base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates the sequence index value/(base sequence index) for the base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS) and the configuration indicates that sequence hopping is configured for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; and the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates that sequence hopping/(sequence hopping) is configured for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and wherein transmitting the SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; and wherein transmitting/transmit the SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS) comprises:
transmitting the SRS (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; transmitting/transmit the SRS/SRS), in each of one or more symbols in which the SRS resource is configured (see Figure 21 and paragraphs 164-167; in each of one or more symbols/symbol in which the SRS resource/SRS is configured), using a respective base sequence selected using sequence hopping based at least in part on the sequence index value indicated by the configuration (see paragraphs 96,147 and 152-156 and 160; using a respective base sequence/(base sequence) selected using sequence hopping/(sequence hopping) based at least in part on the sequence index value/(sequence index) indicated by the configuration/configuration).
Regarding Claim 30, Noh discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising:
transmitting a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; transmitting/(UE 120 receives) a configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource/(uplink SRS) for a user equipment (UE)/UE 120), wherein the configuration indicates a sequence index value for a base sequence for the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; wherein the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) indicates a sequence index value/(base sequence index) for a base sequence/(base sequence) for the SRS resource/uplink SRS), and
receiving an SRS in the SRS resource in accordance with the configuration of the SRS resource (see Figure 2 and paragraph 96; receiving/(UE 120 transmits) an SRS/SRS in the SRS resource/(uplink SRS) in accordance with the configuration/(parameters for generation of the SRS) of the SRS resource/uplink SRS).
Although Noh discloses transmitting a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource as set forth above,
Noh does not explicitly disclose “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number”.
However, Liu discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising:
wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number (see paragraphs 118-119; wherein the sequence index value/(sequence group number, nIDRS) for the SRS resource/(l0, l’, ns or R) is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence/(c(i) is the pseudo-random sequence defined by clause 7.2 of TS36.211) as a function of a slot number/ns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the sequence index value for the SRS resource is based at least in part on a pseudo-random sequence as a function of a slot number or symbol number” as taught by Liu in the system of Noh to provide techniques to help alleviate the issue of dropping parts of SRS when returning/antenna switching by limiting the number of subband changes/antenna changes/power changes in consecutive SRS symbols (see paragraph 115, lines 1-5 of Liu).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh in view of Liu, and further in view of Chen et al (US 9,374,131 B2), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding Claim 31, Although Noh discloses transmitting a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource as set forth above,
Noh does not explicitly disclose “wherein the configuration indicates that the SRS resource is configured with group hopping and sequence hopping, wherein the sequence index value is selected using sequence hopping in accordance with the pseudo-random sequence”.
However, Liu discloses the method, wherein the configuration indicates that the SRS resource is configured with group hopping and sequence hopping (see paragraphs 119-120; wherein the configuration/(configuration is indicated by enabling or disabling) indicates/indicate that the SRS resource/(SRS or ns) is configured with group hopping/(group hopping is enabled) and sequence hopping/sequence-hopping is enabled), wherein the sequence index value is selected using sequence hopping in accordance with the pseudo-random sequence (see paragraph 120; wherein the sequence index value/(sequence group number, nIDRS) is selected using sequence hopping/(sequence hoping) in accordance with the pseudo-random sequence/c(i) is the pseudo-random sequence defined by clause 7.2 of TS36.211).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the configuration indicates that the SRS resource is configured with group hopping and sequence hopping, wherein the sequence index value is selected using sequence hopping in accordance with the pseudo-random sequence” as taught by Liu in the system of Noh to provide techniques to help alleviate the issue of dropping parts of SRS when returning/antenna switching by limiting the number of subband changes/antenna changes/power changes in consecutive SRS symbols (see paragraph 115, lines 1-5 of Liu).
Although the combination of Noh and Liu discloses the pseudo-random sequence as set forth above,
The combination of Noh and Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the pseudo-random sequence “is initialized every N radio frames, and wherein N is greater than 1”.
However, Chen discloses the method, wherein the pseudo-random function is initialized every N radio frames (see column 6, lines 51-54 and column 9, lines 18-29; wherein the pseudo-random function/(pseudo random number (PN) sequence) is initialized every N radio frames/a periodicity of K radio frames, where K may be any suitable value), and wherein N is greater than 1 (column 8, lines 47-48 and column 9, lines 18-29; and wherein N is greater than 1/K≥1 is the desired periodicity in number of radio frames, e.g., K=4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the configuration indicates that the SRS resource is configured with group hopping and sequence hopping, wherein the sequence index value is selected using sequence hopping in accordance with the pseudo-random sequence” as taught by Chen in the combined system of Noh and Liu to effectively extend the periodicity of the hopping function (see column 1, lines 47-48 of Chen).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14, 22, 28 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al (US 2022/0140966 A1) discloses Method for Transmitting and Receiving Sounding Reference Signal in Wireless Communication System and Apparatus Therefor. Specifically, see paragraphs 146-264.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469