DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the applicant argument that the prior art does not teach the limitation:
The PBP film stack including a first PBP film configured with a positive twist angle and a second PBP film configured with a negative twist angle.
The examiner respectfully disagrees,
Figure 11 shows an optical stack with not 1, not 2, but 3 PBP films and as such teaches more than one PBP film in the stack. As for the twist angle, as stated by the applicant the twist is taught in (Col. 6, Ln. 61-62) by the prior art, which goes on further to clearly state (Col. 8, Ln. 29-32 and Col. 8, Ln. 36-41) opposite directions for the films. As positive and negative are binary opposites, “opposite” twist angles would, due to its binary nature, include a twist in the positive direction opposed by a twist in the negative direction.
As such the rejection is believed to be proper and has been included below including any and all amendments to the prior art for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lam (US 11327306) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a device, in at least (fig. 11 and 12); comprising: a Pancharatnam-Berry phase (“PBP”) (Col. 2, Ln. 61-Col. 3, Ln. 5) film stack (1100, 1200) configured to diffract an input beam (1145, and 1280, 1255) as a first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and a second polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) having opposite handednesses (Col. 14, Ln. 37-45), a combined diffraction efficiency of the PBP film stack (1100, 1200) for the first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the second polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) being greater than a predetermined value (Col. 17, Ln. 20-33; light leakage, diffraction order), the PBP film stack (fig. 11) including a first PBP film (1120) configured with a positive (Col. 8, Ln. 29-32 and Col. 8, Ln. 36-41) twist angle (Col. 6, Ln. 61-62) and a second PBP film (1130) configured with a negative (Col. 8, Ln. 29-32 and Col. 8, Ln. 36-41) twist angle (Col. 6, Ln. 61-62); and a compensation film stack (1100, 1200) coupled with the PBP film stack (1100, 1200), and configured to respectively convert the first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the second polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) into a third polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and a fourth polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58)having the opposite handednesses (Col. 14, Ln. 37-45), wherein the first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the second polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) include at least one elliptically polarized beam (Col. 3, Ln. 6-18), and the third polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the fourth polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) are two circularly polarized beams (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58), and wherein the compensation film stack (1100, 1200) is configured to convert the at least one elliptically polarized beam (Col. 3, Ln. 6-18) into at least one of the two circularly polarized beams (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein an absolute value of a Stokes parameter S3 (Col. 14, Ln. 37-Col. 15, Ln. 11) of the third polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) is greater than an absolute value of the Stokes parameter S3 (Col. 14, Ln. 37-Col. 15, Ln. 11) of the first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58), and an absolute value of the Stokes parameter S3 (Col. 14, Ln. 37-Col. 15, Ln. 11) of the fourth polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) is greater than an absolute value of the Stokes parameter S3 (Col. 14, Ln. 37-Col. 15, Ln. 11) of the third polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the PBP film stack (1100, 1200) includes a plurality of PBP films (1100, 1200), each of which being configured to operate in a non-paraxial domain (Col. 14, Ln. 46- Col. 15, Ln. 11) for a predetermined operation wavelength range (Col. 14, Ln. 46- Col. 15, Ln. 11) of the device.
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the predetermined value (Col. 17, Ln. 20-33; light leakage, diffraction order) is 99%.
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the compensation film stack (1100, 1200) includes at least one of a uniaxial plate or a biaxial plate (Col. 1, Ln. 54-Ln. 65).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the uniaxial plate includes an A-plate, a C-plate (Col. 1, Ln. 54-Ln. 65), or an oblique compensation plate (“O-plate”).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the compensation film stack (1100, 1200) includes three A-plates (Col. 3, Ln. 6-Ln. 18), or two O-plates (Col. 3, Ln. 6-Ln. 18).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the second polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) include a +1.sup.st order diffracted beam and a −1.sup.st order diffracted beam having the opposite handednesses (Col. 14, Ln. 37-45).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the third polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the fourth polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) are configured to interfere with one another to generate a polarization interference pattern (Col. 19, Ln. 32.-Ln. 67) in a spatial zone.
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the polarization interference pattern (Col. 19, Ln. 32.-Ln. 67) is able into a polarization sensitive recording medium (Col. 19, Ln. 32.-Ln. 67).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches A method, comprising: directing an input beam (1145, and 1280, 1255) to a mask including a PBP film stack (1100, 1200) and a compensation film stack (1100, 1200); forwardly diffracting, by the PBP film stack (1100, 1200), the input beam (1145, and 1280, 1255) as a first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and a second polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) having opposite handednesses (Col. 14, Ln. 37-45), a combined diffraction efficiency of the PBP film stack (1100, 1200) for the first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the second polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) being greater than a predetermined value (Col. 17, Ln. 20-33; light leakage, diffraction order); and converting, by the compensation film stack (1100, 1200), the first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the second polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) into a third polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58)and a fourth polarized beam, respectively, wherein the first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the second polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) include at least one elliptically polarized beam (Col. 3, Ln. 6-18), and the third polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58)and the fourth polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58)are two circularly polarized beams (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58), and wherein converting, by the compensation film stack (1100, 1200), the first polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the second polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) into the third polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58)and the fourth polarized beam, respectively, includes converting, by the compensation film stack (1100, 1200), the at least one elliptically polarized beam (Col. 3, Ln. 6-18) into at least one of the two circularly polarized beams (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the PBP film stack (1100, 1200) includes a plurality of PBP films (1100, 1200), each of which being configured to operate in a non-paraxial domain for a predetermined operation wavelength range (Col. 14, Ln. 46- Col. 15, Ln. 11) of the device.
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the predetermined value (Col. 17, Ln. 20-33; light leakage, diffraction order) is 99%.
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the compensation film stack (1100, 1200) includes at least one of a uniaxial plate or a biaxial plate (Col. 1, Ln. 54-Ln. 65).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the uniaxial plate includes an A-plate (Col. 3, Ln. 6-Ln. 18), a C-plate (Col. 1, Ln. 54-Ln. 65), or an oblique compensation plate (“O-plate”) (Col. 3, Ln. 6-Ln. 18).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); wherein the compensation film stack (1100, 1200) includes three A-plates (Col. 3, Ln. 6-Ln. 18) or two O-plates (Col. 3, Ln. 6-Ln. 18).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); further comprising generating a polarization interference pattern (Col. 19, Ln. 32.-Ln. 67) in a spatial zone by the third polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) and the fourth polarized beam (Col. 15, Ln. 49-58) interfering with one another.
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); further comprising exposing a polarization sensitive recording medium (Col. 27, Ln. 25-Ln. 53) disposed in the spatial zone to the polarization interference pattern (Col. 19, Ln. 32.-Ln. 67) to record the polarization interference pattern (Col. 19, Ln. 32.-Ln. 67) in the polarization sensitive recording medium (Col. 19, Ln. 32.-Ln. 67).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 19, wherein D1 further teaches a polarization device, in at least (Figs. 11 and 12); further comprising forming an optically anisotropic film (Col. 7, Ln. 53-Col. 8, Ln. 3) on the polarization sensitive recording medium (Col. 19, Ln. 32.-Ln. 67) that has been exposed to the polarization interference pattern (Col. 19, Ln. 32.-Ln. 67).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872