DETAILED ACTION
The IDS’s filed 02/10/2023 and 06/18/2025 have been received and considered.
Claims 1 – 7, all of the claims pending in the application, have been rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) are:
“a data reception unit” in claim 1.
“a feature point extraction unit” in claims 1, 4, and 5.
“a conversion information derivation unit” in claim 1.
“a data fusing unit” in claim 1.
“a conversion information extraction unit” in claim 6.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2022/0055652 A1 to LEE et al. (hereinafter LEE).
Claim 1
Regarding claim 1, LEE teaches a system of calibrating a camera and a LiDAR sensor through high-resolution conversion of LiDAR data, the system comprising: a data reception unit for receiving each of at least one image data obtained by photographing a target object by the camera and at least one LiDAR data obtained by sensing distance and direction information on the target object by the LiDAR sensor (Fig. 1, #'s 110 and 120; "Referring to FIG. 1, a system for data fusion between heterogeneous sensors 100 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a first sensor 110, a second sensor 120 different from the first sensor 110, a marker board 130, and an apparatus for data fusion 140. As an example, the first sensor 110 and the second sensor 120 may be one of various sensors, such as a camera sensor, a LiDAR sensor, or a laser sensor.", Paragraph [0044]; "A communication device 141 in the apparatus for data fusion 140 may receive, from the first sensor 110 and the second sensor 120, data of the marker board 130 photographed by the first sensor 110 and the second sensor 120. To this end, the communication device 141 may be in wired or wireless connection with the first sensor 110 and the second sensor 120, and may receive data from both sensors 110 and 120.", Paragraph [0047]);
a feature point extraction unit for extracting feature points of each of the received image data and LiDAR data ("Based on a field of view (FOV) of the camera sensor, the processor 142 may segment the point cloud data collected by the LiDAR sensor. At this time, the field of view of the camera sensor may be extracted using the unique calibration parameters of the camera sensor. The segmented point cloud data may include the sensed marker board 130 as well as various objects around the marker board 130…"The processor 142 may identify a plane having the same normal and curvature by calculating normals and curvatures of all objects, and may thus extract only the marker board 130 based on the point cloud data corresponding to the field of view of the camera sensor. At this time, the identified plane may correspond to the marker board 130, and the processor 142 may extract only the identified plane, and remove the remaining parts.", Paragraphs [0060 - 0061]);
a conversion information derivation unit for deriving image conversion information for fusing the feature points of each image data with the extracted feature points of the image data ("First, when one of the heterogeneous sensors is the camera sensor, the processor 142 may estimate unique calibration parameters of the camera sensor using a checker board, wherein the unique calibration parameters correspond to intrinsic characteristics, such as focal length, a distortion, and an image center, of the camera sensor…As a result of performing calibration using the unique calibration parameters of the camera sensor, the processor 142 may obtain, for example, a camera matrix, a distortion coefficient, and a camera projection matrix. At this time, the camera projection matrix may be obtained from the product of an intrinsic matrix and an extrinsic matrix, as shown in Equation 1 and the intrinsic matrix I may be decomposed into a product of a 2D translation matrix, a 2D scaling matrix, and a 2D shear matrix, as shown in Equation 2.", Paragraphs [0056 - 0057],
and deriving LiDAR conversion information for fusing the feature points of each LiDAR data with the feature points of the image data and the derived image conversion information ( First, the apparatus for data fusion 140 may translate 3D point cloud data identified by the LiDAR sensor into 2D point cloud data, and may replace the intensity value of the 2D point cloud data with a color value for a pixel of 2D image data at the same position as the translated 2D point cloud data. At this time, an alignment score between the pixel and the point may be calculated based on a ratio of the number of pixels of the image data accurately mapped to points of the point cloud data translated into RGB.", Paragraph [0104]); and
a data fusing unit for fusing at least two or more feature points of the image data with the derived image conversion information ("wherein the processor may be configured to identify image data and point cloud data for a search area by each of the camera sensor and the LiDAR sensor that are calibrated using a marker board having a hole", Paragraph [0023), where this is a common step in the calibration process of a sensor,
and fusing at least two or more feature points of the LiDAR data with the derived LiDAR conversion information, ("wherein the processor may be configured to identify image data and point cloud data for a search area by each of the camera sensor and the LiDAR sensor that are calibrated using a marker board having a hole", Paragraph [0023), where this is a common step in the calibration process of a sensor,
to fuse the fused feature points of the image data and the fused feature points of the LiDAR data ("Then, the processor 142 may perform calibration between the heterogeneous sensors using the determined translation vector to enable matching between the coordinate system of the first sensor 110 and the coordinate system of the second sensor 120, and may thus fuse the identified data from the first sensor 110 and the identified data from the second sensor 120.", Paragraph [0050]; "At S570, the apparatus of data fusion 140 may perform calibration between the camera sensor and the LiDAR sensor by projecting the point cloud data of the LiDAR sensor onto the image data of the camera sensor using the determined translation vector, and thereby generate the fusion data. In addition, the apparatus of data fusion 140 may more accurately detect distant targets using the calibrated camera sensor and LiDAR sensor.", Paragraph [0089]).
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, dependent on claim 1, LEE teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
LEE further teaches wherein the image conversion information is a conversion matrix between each image data (Rejected as applied to claim 1), where the conversion matrix between image data would be generally required to perform the camera calibration, and
the LiDAR conversion information is a conversion matrix between each LiDAR data (Rejected as applied to claim 1), where the conversion matrix between point cloud data would be generally required to perform the LiDAR sensor calibration.
Claim 5
Regarding claim 5, dependent on claim 1, LEE teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
LEE further teaches wherein the feature point extraction unit extracts feature points from the fused LiDAR data (Rejected as applied to claim 1).
Claim 7, an independent method claim, is rejected for the same reasons as applied to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2022/0055652 A1 to LEE et al. (hereinafter LEE) in view of Non-Patent Literature "An Effective Camera-to-Lidar Spatiotemporal Calibration Based on a Simple Calibration Target" to Grammatikopoulos et al. (hereinafter Grammatikopoulos).
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, dependent on claim 1, LEE teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
LEE, although captures images by a camera and LiDAR sensor of a marker board for the purpose of sensor calibration, he does not explicitly teach wherein any one of the image data and the LiDAR data is identified by projecting the target object onto a marker board.
However, Grammatikopoulos teaches wherein any one of the image data and the LiDAR data is identified by projecting the target object onto a marker board (Figure 9; "The calibration was performed following the Matlab implementation of this method [15]. In Figure 9, four such frames of the chessboard are presented, along with the corresponding Lidar points projected on top (point stripes in red) and after the determination of the camera’s exterior orientation.", Section 4. Evaluation and Further Results).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of LEE to incorporate projecting the LiDAR points onto the chessboard, as disclosed by Grammatikopoulos. LEE generally teaches using the camera and the LiDAR sensors to capture an image of the same marker board for calibration purposes, as shown in figure 1; Grammatikopoulos shows, using Figure 9, a more accurate methodology for calibrating a sensor by projecting onto a chessboard. It would have been obvious to select the more accurate methodology to implement in the calibration process of LEE.
Claim 4
Regarding claim 4, dependent on claim 2, LEE, in view of Grammatikopoulos, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2.
LEE does not teach wherein the feature point extraction unit derives a plurality of edge information of which the edges are boundaries of the marker board, and connects the plurality of derived edge information with straight lines, thereby deriving intersection points at which the edge information and the straight lines intersect.
However, Grammatikopoulos further teaches wherein the feature point extraction unit derives a plurality of edge information of which the edges are boundaries of the marker board, and connects the plurality of derived edge information with straight lines, thereby deriving intersection points at which the edge information and the straight lines intersect (Figure 9; "According to Zhou et al.’s method, the common observations of the 3D chessboard edges extracted automatically in both the camera and the Lidar system allow the accurate estimation of the external parameters. The calibration was performed following the Matlab implementation of this method [15]. ", Section 4. Evaluation and Further Results).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of LEE, in view Grammatikopoulos, to incorporate the use of a method that automatically extracts the chessboard edges by both the Camera and LiDAR sensors, as disclosed by Grammatikopoulos. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow the system to align features based on real-world objects in the scene by comparing edges or for sensor fusion calibration purposes.
Claim 6
Regarding claim 6, dependent on claim 1, LEE teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
LEE, although teaches the use of the translation information, does not explicitly teach wherein the conversion information extraction unit derives rotation information and translation information of any one of the image data and the LiDAR data in a three-dimensional space.
However, Grammatikopoulos teaches wherein the conversion information extraction unit derives rotation information and translation information of any one of the image data and the LiDAR data in a three-dimensional space ("Finally, the calibrated relative rotations and translations between the four cameras (camera rig) and the Lidar sensor of our mobile mapping system were assessed during a SLAM and a texture mapping procedure.", Section 4. Evaluation and Further Results).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of LEE to incorporate the use of both the rotation and translation information, as disclosed by Grammatikopoulos. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to obtain more information on the sensors to further increase the accuracy of extracted data for the generation of a 3D map.
Conclusion
/RONDE LEE MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2663
/GREGORY A MORSE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2698