DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Response dated 1/26/2026. Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8-9 of 11, filed 1/26/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that Deaton does not teach an amount of time driving for the vehicle, to which the Examiner agrees. Deaton was only cited as broadly teaching the use of real-time sensors, whereas the specifics of an amount of time driving was taught by modifying reference Caldeira, including an adequate motivation to combine.
Applicant's arguments, see page 9 of 11, filed 1/26/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that neither Healy nor Caldeira teach the prediction of future driving patterns or travel patterns, and specifically that Caldeira does not teach past driving conditions, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Healy was not cited to teach either of these details, whereas Caldeira elaborates on the topic of past driving conditions that include an amount of time in [0078] and [0081] "…For instance, the control system 116 may monitor the time or distance driven by the vehicle 104 since the last charging cycle of the one or more storage batteries 110…", further detailed below.
A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-6, 9-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deaton et al. (US-2020/0276904; hereinafter Deaton; already of record) in view of Healy et al. (US-2018/0093655; hereinafter Healy; already of record) and Reuter et al. (US-2022/0194233; hereinafter Reuter; already of record), and further in view of Caldeira et al. (US-2013/0257145; hereinafter Caldeira; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Deaton discloses a system to control a trailer attached to a vehicle (see Deaton at least Abs) comprising:
a [component] configured to receive road information, vehicle information, and trailer information (see Deaton at least [0014] "Further, one or more elements of the main vehicle 200 can be communicatively linked to the trailer 300 and/or one or more elements of the trailer 300 through one or more communication networks. As used herein, the term “communicatively linked” can include direct or indirect connections through a communication channel or pathway or another component or system. A “communication network” means one or more components designed to transmit and/or receive information from one source to another. One or more of the elements of the main vehicle 200 and/or one or more elements of the trailer 300 can include and/or execute suitable communication software, which enables the various elements to communicate with each other through the communication network and perform the functions disclosed herein."); and
a processor communicatively coupled with the [component] (see Deaton at least [0019] “The main vehicle 200 can include one or more processors 210… Further examples of suitable processors include, but are not limited to, a central processing unit (CPU), an array processor, a vector processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), a programmable logic array (PLA), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), programmable logic circuitry, relay logic, and a controller. The processor(s) 210 can include at least one hardware circuit (e.g., an integrated circuit) configured to carry out instructions contained in program code. In arrangements in which there is a plurality of processors 210, such processors can work independently from each other or one or more processors can work in combination with each other.”), wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain, during a first time period, the road information (see Deaton at least [0021] “In one or more arrangements, the one or more data stores 220 can include map data 221. The map data 221 can include maps of one or more geographic areas. In some instances, the map data 221 can include information or data on roads, traffic control devices, road markings, road grade, structures, features, and/or landmarks in the one or more geographic areas. In one or more arrangement, the map data 221 include information about the ground, terrain, elevation, roads, surfaces, and/or other features of one or more geographic areas. The map data 221 can include measurements, dimensions, distances, and/or information for one or more items included in the map data 221. The map data 221 can include information or data on road geometry.” [0023] "...The sensor(s) 230 can detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify and/or sense in real-time. As used herein, the term “real-time” means a level of processing responsiveness that a user or system senses as sufficiently immediate for a particular process or determination to be made, or that enables a processor to process data at substantially the same rate as some external process or faster." and [0027] "The main vehicle 200 can include one or more environment sensors 234 configured to acquire, detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify, and/or sense data or information about the external environment in which a vehicle is located or one or more portions thereof…"), the vehicle information (see Deaton at least [0023] "...The sensor(s) 230 can detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify and/or sense in real-time. As used herein, the term “real-time” means a level of processing responsiveness that a user or system senses as sufficiently immediate for a particular process or determination to be made, or that enables a processor to process data at substantially the same rate as some external process or faster." and [0026] "The main vehicle 200 can include one or more vehicle sensors 232. The vehicle sensor(s) 232 can acquire, capture, detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify, and/or sense information or data about the main vehicle 200 itself (e.g., position, orientation, speed, pedal positions, etc.) and changes thereto…"), and the trailer information (see Deaton at least [0023] "...The sensor(s) 230 can detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify and/or sense in real-time. As used herein, the term “real-time” means a level of processing responsiveness that a user or system senses as sufficiently immediate for a particular process or determination to be made, or that enables a processor to process data at substantially the same rate as some external process or faster." and [0036] "The trailer 300 can include one or more processors 310, one or more data stores 320, and/or one or more sensors 330. The above discussion of...the sensor(s) 230...applies equally to...the sensor(s) 330 of the trailer 300… Further, the sensors 330 can include sensors that relate to the trailer 300."), wherein the road information comprises road grade information (see Deaton at least [0027] "The main vehicle 200 can include one or more environment sensors 234 configured to acquire, detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify, and/or sense data or information about the external environment in which a vehicle is located or one or more portions thereof. The environment sensor(s) 234 can be any sensor, now known or later developed. Non-limiting examples of environment sensors 234 include one or more radar sensors, one or more LIDAR sensors, one or more sonar sensors, and/or one or more cameras. The environment sensor(s) 234 can acquire, capture, detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify, and/or sense road geometry (e.g., whether the road is substantially horizontal, whether the road is inclined, etc.).");
determine, based on … the trailer information, that a first predefined condition is met (see Deaton at least [0042] "…For instance, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to detect one or more drive activation triggers for when to power one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300. Examples of such drive activation triggers include, for example, uphill travel or accelerating from a stop. Such drive activation triggers can be detected based on sensor data acquired by the sensor(s) 330, the sensor(s) 230, and/or map data..."); and
transmit, based on the first predefined condition being met, a first command signal to a trailer wheel control unit to activate a trailer wheel drive motor (see Deaton at least [0042]-[0043] “…Such drive activation triggers can be detected based on sensor data acquired by the sensor(s) 330, the sensor(s) 230, and/or map data. Another example of a drive activation trigger is a user command. A user can provide a command on the input interface(s) 240, which can be located, for example, within the cabin of the main vehicle 200. The command can indicate that drive assistance should be provided to one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300. When a drive activation trigger is detected, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to cause one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300 to be powered...”);
store data relating to first driving patterns and first travel patterns of the vehicle during the first time period as historical data (see Deaton at least [0022]-[0024] "In some instances, at least a portion of the map data 221 can be located in one or more data stores 220 located onboard the main vehicle 200… The sensor(s) 230 can detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify and/or sense in real-time... The sensor(s) 230 can be operatively connected to the processor(s) 210, the data store(s) 220, and/or other element of the main vehicle 200 (including any of the elements shown in FIG. 2)." and [0036] "The trailer 300 can include one or more processors 310, one or more data stores 320, and/or one or more sensors 330..."), wherein the first driving patterns and first travel patterns indicate how the vehicle was used during the first time period (see Deaton at least [0023] "...The sensor(s) 230 can detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify and/or sense in real-time. As used herein, the term “real-time” means a level of processing responsiveness that a user or system senses as sufficiently immediate for a particular process or determination to be made, or that enables a processor to process data at substantially the same rate as some external process or faster." and [0026] "The main vehicle 200 can include one or more vehicle sensors 232. The vehicle sensor(s) 232 can acquire, capture, detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify, and/or sense information or data about the main vehicle 200 itself (e.g., position, orientation, speed, pedal positions, etc.) and changes thereto…") and …
…
transmit … a second command signal to the trailer wheel control unit to activate the trailer wheel drive motor (see Deaton at least [0042]-[0043] “…Such drive activation triggers can be detected based on sensor data acquired by the sensor(s) 330, the sensor(s) 230, and/or map data. Another example of a drive activation trigger is a user command. A user can provide a command on the input interface(s) 240, which can be located, for example, within the cabin of the main vehicle 200. The command can indicate that drive assistance should be provided to one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300. When a drive activation trigger is detected, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to cause one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300 to be powered...”).
However, while Deaton describes the use of processors and components which form a “communication network”, Deaton does not explicitly disclose the following:
…a transceiver configured to receive [information]…
…a processor communicatively coupled with the transceiver…
…determine, based on the road grade information indicating a level road, the vehicle information indicating that a battery state of charge (SoC) of the vehicle is less than a SoC threshold of the vehicle, wherein the SoC threshold is a value below 100% SoC … that a first predefined condition is met…
…an amount of driving time…
…predict, during a second time period, based on the historical data, second driving patterns and second travel patterns of the vehicle, wherein the second driving patterns and second travel patterns indicate a prediction of how the vehicle will be used and include at least an estimated amount of time driving…
…based on predicting the second driving patterns and second travel patterns...
Healy, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…a transceiver configured to receive [information] (see Healy at least [0081] "Referring now to the method 500, the method 500 begins at block 502 where trailer data is received from one or more on-board sensors. As used herein, the term “on-board sensors” may be used to describe sensors that are coupled to or part of the hybrid suspension system 100, sensors that are coupled to or part of a trailer to which the hybrid suspension system 100 is attached, as well as remote sensors that may communicate (e.g., by way of cellular, wireless, RF, satellite, or other such communication) data to a receiver or transceiver that is coupled to or part of the hybrid suspension system 100 or the trailer...")…
…a processor communicatively coupled with the transceiver (see Healy at least [0074] "...In addition, the master control unit 228 may include a microprocessor and/or microcontroller operable to execute one or more sequences of instructions contained in the memory storage device, for example, to perform the various methods described herein..." and [0081] "...In various embodiments, the sensed trailer data is sent to the master control unit 228 for further processing...")…
…determine, based on the road grade information indicating a level road … that a first predefined condition is met (see Healy at least [0057] "...In accordance with some embodiments of the present invention(s), the hybrid suspension system 100 can be configured to provide, in a first mode of operation, a motive rotational force (e.g., by an electric motor-generator coupled to a drive axle) to propel the hybrid suspension system 100, and thus the trailer under which is attached, thereby providing an assistive motive force to the powered towing vehicle. Thus, in some examples, the first mode of operation may be referred to as a “power assist mode.” ..." and [0101] "In some embodiments, the predictive road ability discussed herein provides knowledge of the upcoming extended downhill portion of roadway. As such, the hybrid suspension system 100 may autonomously engage the power assist mode while traveling along the substantially flat terrain, such that about 10% SOC of the battery array 140 is used prior to reaching the extended downhill portion of roadway, thereby improving fuel efficiency of the HTVS (e.g., while on the substantially flat terrain), while still regenerating about 30% SOC while traveling along the extended downhill portion...")…
…
…predict, during a second time period, based on the historical data, second driving patterns and second travel patterns of the vehicle (see Healy at least [0099] "With respect to optimal application of power as discussed above, there are scenarios in which battery power could be used most effectively at a given time, for example, knowing that battery power may be (i) regenerated in the near future (e.g., based on an upcoming downhill roadway grade) or (ii) needed in the near future (e.g., based on an upcoming uphill roadway grade). Such information (e.g., regarding the upcoming roadway) may be gathered from GPS data, inclinometer data, and/or other sensor data as described above…" – real-time sensor data as disclosed by Deaton used as historical data for the vehicle of Healy to predict future information)…
…based on predicting the second driving patterns and second travel patterns (see Healy at least [0099])…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor configured to control an assist motor as disclosed by Deaton according to specific information pertaining to road grade information such as taught by Healy with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of controlling the motor according to communicable data such as historical stored data and to provide detailed conditions pertaining to the vehicle during travel, and thus planning for when to appropriately and safely activate an assist motor such that there is sufficient charge in the vehicle’s battery for safe travel (see Healy at least [0008] and [0023]).
However, neither Deaton nor Healy explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…determine, based on … the vehicle information indicating that a battery state of charge (SoC) of the vehicle is less than a SoC threshold of the vehicle, wherein the SoC threshold is a value below 100% SoC … that a first predefined condition is met…
…an amount of driving time…
…the second driving patterns and second travel patterns indicate a prediction of how the vehicle will be used and include at least an estimated amount of time driving…
Reuter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…determine, based on … the vehicle information indicating that a battery state of charge (SoC) of the vehicle is less than a SoC threshold of the vehicle, wherein the SoC threshold is a value below 100% SoC … that a first predefined condition is met (see Reuter at least [0051] "...If the accessory load variable indicates the vehicle device(s) 160 are running and/or consuming power, the vehicle control unit 150 may cause the motor 140 to apply a torque to the wheel hub 116 to generate power to meet the power consumption of the vehicle device(s) 162 so the battery 160 remains fully charged." and [0063] "As another example, the vehicle control unit 150 may determine that the battery 160 has dropped below a threshold charge level and that more power needs to be generated by the motor 140 to charge the battery 160. The vehicle control unit 150 may increase the torque applied via the motor 140 to the wheel hub 116 to increase the amount of power generated by the motor 140 to recharge the battery 160.")…
…
…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control of the assist motor as disclosed by Deaton according to specific information pertaining to battery charge such as taught by Reuter with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of maintaining a fully charged battery (see Reuter at least [0051]).
However, neither Deaton nor Healy nor Reuter explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…an amount of driving time…
…the second driving patterns and second travel patterns indicate a prediction of how the vehicle will be used and include at least an estimated amount of time driving…
Caldeira, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…an amount of driving time (see Caldeira at least [0078] "...In another example, the charge transfer may be initiated by the control system 116 in response to a metric-based (e.g., time-based or distance-based) determination by the control system 116 indicative of a depletion of the charge stored in the one or more auxiliary batteries 106 below a preselected level. For instance, the control system 116 may monitor the time or distance driven by the vehicle 104 since the last charging cycle of the one or more storage batteries 110. Then, utilizing stored historical data, the control system 116 may estimate the amount of discharge experienced by the one or more the auxiliary batteries 106. Upon determining a critical time or distance (i.e., the time or distance corresponding to the preselected charge level), the control system 116 may transmit a signal to the coupling circuitry 118 directing the coupling circuitry 118 to close the switch between the auxiliary batteries 106 and the storage batteries 110.")…
…the second driving patterns and second travel patterns indicate a prediction of how the vehicle will be used (see Caldeira at least [0081] "...For instance, the one or more external parameters may include, but are not limited to, current driving conditions, future driving conditions (i.e., anticipated driving conditions), or past driving conditions. Further, the driving conditions may include, but are not limited to, road conditions, weather conditions, location information, and the like...") and include at least an estimated amount of time driving (see Caldeira at least [0078] "... For instance, the control system 116 may monitor the time or distance driven by the vehicle 104 since the last charging cycle of the one or more storage batteries 110…”)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the utilized data as disclosed by Deaton with predicted conditions corresponding to a future point in time such as taught by Caldeira with a reasonable expectation of success so as to adapt preemptively prepare for upcoming conditions (see Caldeira at least [0082]).
Regarding claim 2, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 1, wherein the transceiver (see Healy) receives the road information from the vehicle or the trailer (see Deaton at least [0027] "The main vehicle 200 can include one or more environment sensors 234 configured to acquire, detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify, and/or sense data or information about the external environment in which a vehicle is located or one or more portions thereof..."), the vehicle information from the vehicle (see Deaton at least [0026] "The main vehicle 200 can include one or more vehicle sensors 232. The vehicle sensor(s) 232 can acquire, capture, detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify, and/or sense information or data about the main vehicle 200 itself (e.g., position, orientation, speed, pedal positions, etc.) and changes thereto..."), and the trailer information from the trailer (see Deaton at least [0036] "The trailer 300 can include ... one or more sensors 330. The above discussion of the processor(s) 210, data store(s) 220 (including map data 221), and the sensor(s) 230 made in connection with the main vehicle 200 applies equally to the processor(s) 310, the data store(s) 320, and the sensor(s) 330 of the trailer 300. It will be appreciated that the data store(s) 320 can include map data (as described above with map data 221) and/or different data, such as data relating to the trailer 300. Further, the sensors 330 can include sensors that relate to the trailer 300.").
Regarding claim 3, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 1, wherein the trailer wheel drive motor is located on the trailer, and wherein the trailer wheel drive motor is configured to drive a trailer wheel (see Deaton at least [0038] "The wheels 304 of the trailer 300 can be allowed to passively rotate in response to being pulled by the main vehicle 200. However, for the wheels that are selectively powered, the trailer 300 can include any suitable system for powering such wheels, now known or later developed. For example, the trailer 300 can include one or more motors 360, which can be electric motors. The motor(s) 360 can be operatively connected to the wheels 304 in any suitable manner, now known or later developed. Thus, the power generated by the motor(s) 360 can be transferred to the wheels 304 to cause them to rotate.").
Regarding claim 4, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 1, wherein the road information further comprises road condition information (see Healy at least [0085] "...In some examples, at least some of the factors used to estimate and/or predict the applied torque may further include traffic data, weather data, road data, or other similar data. Similarly, if the upcoming roadway includes heavy traffic, poor road conditions (e.g., pot holes, unpaved sections, etc.), or if weather has caused hazardous driving conditions (e.g., rain, flooding, strong crosswinds, etc.), the driver may in some embodiments be expected to apply the brakes. Thus, in accordance with some embodiments, knowledge of an upcoming roadway grade, combined with a plurality of other data (e.g., traffic, weather, road data) and the driver's current and/or past behavior may be used to estimate and/or predict the driver-applied torque. It will be understood that the driver behaviors discussed above, with respect to roadway grade and road/weather conditions, are merely exemplary. Various other behaviors (e.g., apply throttle during a negative grade or apply brakes during a positive grade) are possible as well, without departing from the scope of the present disclosure.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensors as disclosed in Deaton with detection capabilities such as taught by Healy with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide detailed conditions to be expected during travel on a specific road, and thus planning for when to appropriately and safely activate an assist motor (see Healy at least [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 4, wherein the first predefined condition is met when the road grade information indicates an upgraded road (see Deaton at least [0042] "In one or more arrangements, the trailer 300 can include one or more trailer modules 370. The trailer module(s) 370 can be configured for various purposes relating to the trailer 300. For instance, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to detect one or more drive activation triggers for when to power one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300. Examples of such drive activation triggers include, for example, uphill travel or accelerating from a stop. Such drive activation triggers can be detected based on sensor data acquired by the sensor(s) 330, the sensor(s) 230, and/or map data. Another example of a drive activation trigger is a user command. A user can provide a command on the input interface(s) 240, which can be located, for example, within the cabin of the main vehicle 200. The command can indicate that drive assistance should be provided to one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300.").
Regarding claim 6, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 4, wherein the vehicle information comprises information associated with vehicle weight (see Deaton at least [0026] “...In one or more arrangements, the vehicle sensor(s) 232 can include one or more accelerometers, one or more gyroscopes, one or more inertial measurement units (IMU), one or more global navigation satellite systems (GNSS), one or more global positioning systems (GPS), one or more speedometers, one or more yaw rate sensors, one or more attitude angle sensors, one or more RPM sensors, one or more weight sensors, one or more load sensors, one or more tire pressure sensors, one or more accelerator pedal position or pressure sensors, one or more brake pedal position or pressure sensors, and/or other suitable sensors...”), vehicle wheel design (see Deaton at least [0032] “In one or more arrangements, the main vehicle 200 can include any suitable braking system, now know or later developed. For instance, the main vehicle 200 can be configured for regenerative braking. Generally, regenerative braking allows some of the kinetic energy of the main vehicle 200 to be recaptured and converted into electrical energy. This electrical energy can be used to recharge one or more batteries 260 of the main vehicle 200. One or more wheels 290 of the main vehicle 200 can be driven by one or more electric motors 280. The electric motor(s) 280 can be operated in reverse to be used as a generator when using regenerative braking, and its output can be supplied to the batteries 260. The transfer of energy to the batteries 260 can provide a braking effect.”), vehicle design (see Deaton at least [0016]-[0017] "Referring to FIG. 2, an example the main vehicle 200 is shown. As used herein, “main vehicle” means any form of motorized transport. The main vehicle 200 can be a land-based vehicle. In one or more implementations, the main vehicle 200 can be an automobile, a semi-trailer truck, a tractor-trailer, a truck, a pick-up truck, a sports utility vehicle, a minivan, a car, or another other vehicle that can tow, pull, or haul a trailer. In one or more arrangements, the main vehicle 200 can be an autonomous vehicle in which one or more computing systems are used to navigate and/or maneuver the vehicle along a travel route with minimal or no input from a human driver. In one or more arrangements, the main vehicle 200 can be highly automated or completely automated. The main vehicle 200 can be semi-autonomous vehicle in which a portion of the navigation and/or maneuvering of the vehicle along a travel route is performed by one or more computing systems, and a portion of the navigation and/or maneuvering of the vehicle along a travel route is performed by a human driver. The main vehicle 200 can be a manual vehicle in which all of or a majority of the navigation and/or maneuvering of the vehicle is performed by a human driver. In some arrangements, the main vehicle 200 may operate in only one of these operational modes. In some arrangements, the main vehicle 200 can be configured to be switched between the various operational modes, including any of those mentioned above."), vehicle battery state of charge (SoC) (see Healy at least [0110] "In at least some embodiments, a control interface is provided in the powered towing vehicle. By way of example, the control interface may be coupled to the battery management system of the hybrid suspension system 100 and/or the TTR hybrid system 101. In various embodiments, the control interface may provide an in-towing-vehicle (e.g., within a cab of the powered vehicle) display of state of charge for ... the TTR hybrid system 101, a switch or control of a switch to enable and disable supply of electrical power to the powered towing vehicle, and/or mode control for selectively controlling an operating mode of the battery management system..."), wheel torque for a vehicle wheel (see Healy at least [0105] "In some examples, the system may further be used to monitor one or more pneumatic brake lines, such that embodiments of the present disclosure provide a ‘fail safe’ mode where the hybrid suspension system 100 and/or the TTR hybrid system 101 will not accelerate (e.g., operate in a power assist mode) while a driver (e.g. of the powered vehicle) is actuating a brake system. In various embodiments, by monitoring feedback pressure of each wheel's brake lines, as well as their respective wheel speeds, the present system can determine how each brake for a particular wheel is performing. Thus, in various examples, embodiments of the present disclosure may provide for braking and/or powering of different wheels independently from one another for increased trailer stability. In some cases, this may be referred to as “torque vectoring”. By way of example, such torque vectoring embodiments may be particularly useful when there are differences in roadway surfaces upon which each of a plurality of wheels of the HTVS is traveling (e.g., when roadway conditions are inconsistent, slippery, rough, etc.)."), wheel rotation angle for the vehicle wheel (see Healy at least [0105] "In some examples, the system may further be used to monitor one or more pneumatic brake lines, such that embodiments of the present disclosure provide a ‘fail safe’ mode where the hybrid suspension system 100 and/or the TTR hybrid system 101 will not accelerate (e.g., operate in a power assist mode) while a driver (e.g. of the powered vehicle) is actuating a brake system. In various embodiments, by monitoring feedback pressure of each wheel's brake lines, as well as their respective wheel speeds, the present system can determine how each brake for a particular wheel is performing. Thus, in various examples, embodiments of the present disclosure may provide for braking and/or powering of different wheels independently from one another for increased trailer stability. In some cases, this may be referred to as “torque vectoring”. By way of example, such torque vectoring embodiments may be particularly useful when there are differences in roadway surfaces upon which each of a plurality of wheels of the HTVS is traveling (e.g., when roadway conditions are inconsistent, slippery, rough, etc.)."), and wheel movement direction of the vehicle wheel (see Deaton at least [0026] “...In one or more arrangements, the vehicle sensor(s) 232 can include one or more accelerometers, one or more gyroscopes, one or more inertial measurement units (IMU), one or more global navigation satellite systems (GNSS), one or more global positioning systems (GPS), one or more speedometers, one or more yaw rate sensors, one or more attitude angle sensors, one or more RPM sensors, one or more weight sensors, one or more load sensors, one or more tire pressure sensors, one or more accelerator pedal position or pressure sensors, one or more brake pedal position or pressure sensors, and/or other suitable sensors...”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle information collected by sensors such as disclosed by Deaton with specific information pertaining to battery state of charge and torque vectoring such as taught by Healy with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide detailed conditions pertaining to the vehicle during travel, and thus planning for when to appropriately and safely activate an assist motor (see Healy at least [0023]).
Regarding claim 9, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 4, wherein the first predefined condition is met when the road condition information indicates a presence of mud, snow, or liquid on a road (see Healy at least [0085] "...In some examples, at least some of the factors used to estimate and/or predict the applied torque may further include traffic data, weather data, road data, or other similar data. Similarly, if the upcoming roadway includes heavy traffic, poor road conditions (e.g., pot holes, unpaved sections, etc.), or if weather has caused hazardous driving conditions (e.g., rain, flooding, strong crosswinds, etc.), the driver may in some embodiments be expected to apply the brakes. Thus, in accordance with some embodiments, knowledge of an upcoming roadway grade, combined with a plurality of other data (e.g., traffic, weather, road data) and the driver's current and/or past behavior may be used to estimate and/or predict the driver-applied torque. It will be understood that the driver behaviors discussed above, with respect to roadway grade and road/weather conditions, are merely exemplary. Various other behaviors (e.g., apply throttle during a negative grade or apply brakes during a positive grade) are possible as well, without departing from the scope of the present disclosure."), and wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a third command signal to the trailer wheel control unit to control torque and rotation angle of the trailer wheel when the road condition information indicates the presence of mud, snow, or liquid on the road (see Healy at least [0105] "...Thus, in various examples, embodiments of the present disclosure may provide for braking and/or powering of different wheels independently from one another for increased trailer stability. In some cases, this may be referred to as “torque vectoring”. By way of example, such torque vectoring embodiments may be particularly useful when there are differences in roadway surfaces upon which each of a plurality of wheels of the HTVS is traveling (e.g., when roadway conditions are inconsistent, slippery, rough, etc.).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the criteria for activating an assist motor as disclosed in Deaton with road conditions including liquid on the road such as taught by Healy with a reasonable expectation of success so as to safely control the trailer according to various criteria detected by sensors (see Healy at least [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 10, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 4, wherein the trailer information comprises information associated with trailer weight (see Healy at least [0072] "...In accordance with various embodiments, at least some of the sensors, actuators, and other electronic components which are not included (e.g., shown in FIG. 3) as CAN bus nodes, may themselves be coupled to the CAN bus 300 by way of one or more of the CAN bus nodes. For example, a voltage meter (sensor), a current meter (sensor), and one or more electrical contactors (actuators) may be coupled to the CAN bus 300 by way of the BMS 242. Similarly, the water pump 206 (actuator), the water fan 208 (actuator), the oil pump 210 (actuator), the oil fan 212 (actuator), the GFD 234 (sensor), an inverter, the brake pressure sensor 232, a trailer weight sensor, as well as other actuators, sensors, and/or electronic components may be coupled to the CAN bus 300 by way of the master control unit 228..."), trailer wheel design (see Deaton at least [0045] "When an energy recovery trigger is detected, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to cause the motor(s) 360 to be deactivated and cause the wheels 304 to turn into an energy recovery system. For instance, the motor(s) 360 can be caused to run in reverse, such as by using the vehicle's momentum as the mechanical energy to do so. As a result, the motor(s) 360 are effectively turned into generators. The energy generated by the motor(s) 360 can be fed back into the batteries 351, supercapacitors 352, and/or other power source(s) 350. Thus, the trailer module(s) 370 can allow the batteries 351, supercapacitors 352, and/or other power source(s) 350 to be recharged by the energy generated by the motor(s) 360. This recovered energy can be stored for future use to provide drive assistance to the trailer 300 on the next hill or when accelerating from a stop. The transfer of energy to the batteries 351, supercapacitors 352, and/or other power source(s) 350 can provide a braking effect. The energy recovery process can also reduce the load on the brakes of the main vehicle 200 and/or the trailer 300. Thus, the trailer 300 can operate like a regenerative braking system."), trailer design (see Deaton at least [0033] "Referring to FIG. 3, an example of a trailer 300 is shown. A “trailer” includes an apparatus that is configured to be towed, pulled, and/or hauled by another powered vehicle. The trailer 300 can be used for various purposes, such as to store and/or transport various items, goods, materials, and/or things. Non-limiting examples of the trailer 300 include a full-trailer, a semi-trailer, a horse trailer, a livestock trailer, a flatbed trailer, a travel trailer, and a boat trailer. The trailer 300 can be any type of trailer, now known or later developed. The trailer 300 can be a semi-passive form of transport in that the trailer 300 may include components or groups of components that can facilitate it being towed, pulled, and/or hauled by another powered vehicle, but the trailer 300 may not be independently operated as a vehicle." and [0035] "The trailer 300 can include a body 302, which can have any suitable configuration. For example, the body 302 can be enclosed, open, or partially open. The trailer 300 can include a plurality of wheels 304. The wheels 304 can be provided in pairs. While FIG. 3 shows the trailer 300 as having two wheels 304, it will be appreciated that the trailer 300 can have more than two wheels 304. The plurality of wheels 304 can be distributed on the trailer 300 in any suitable manner. In some arrangements, the wheels 304 can be non-powered. The wheels 304 can facilitate the movement of the trailer 300 while being towed by the main vehicle 200. However, according to arrangements herein, one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300 can be configured to be selectively powered to support the towing, pulling, and/or hauling by the main vehicle 200, as will be explained in greater detail herein. As an example, a rearmost pair of wheels 304 of the trailer 300 can be configured to be selectively powered. As another example, a non-rearmost pair of wheels 304 of the trailer 300 can be configured to be selectively powered. In some arrangements, a plurality of pairs of wheels 304 of the trailer 300 can be configured to be selectively powered."), trailer battery state of charge (SoC) (see Deaton at least [0046] "The trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to parasitically charge the batteries 351, supercapacitors 352, and/or other power source(s) 350 of the trailer 300 using power from the main vehicle 200. For instance, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to detect various parasitic charging triggers. Examples of such parasitic charging triggers include, for example, when the main vehicle 200 is on a substantially horizontal surface. In such case, there is generally more than enough power for the main vehicle 200 to pull the load. Therefore, by tapping a portion of that pulling power and using it to “top off” the batteries 351, supercapacitors 352, and/or other power source(s) 350 of the trailer 300, the trailer 300 will be ready to assist in pushing in the future (e.g., when the next hill is encountered). In some arrangements, the batteries 351, supercapacitors 352, and/or other power source(s) 350 of the trailer 300 can be parasitically charged using the battery 260 and/or other power sources of the main vehicle 200. In some arrangements, the batteries 351, supercapacitors 352, and/or other power source(s) 350 of the trailer 300 can be operatively connected to receive electrical energy from the battery 260 and/or other power sources of the main vehicle 200."), wheel torque for the trailer wheel (see Deaton at least [0043] "When a drive activation trigger is detected, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to cause one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300 to be powered. For instance, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to allow the batteries 351, supercapacitors 352, and/or other power source(s) 350 to supply electrical energy to the motor(s) 360. By activating the motor(s) 360, extra pushing power (torque) is provided to the wheels 304 of the trailer 300 to assist the trailer 300 and, thus, the main vehicle 200 in getting up and over a hill or with accelerating from a stop. In some arrangements, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to cause a predetermined amount of power to be supplied to the wheels 304 of the trailer 300. Alternatively, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to determine an appropriate amount of power to be supplied to the wheels 304 based on real-time conditions. The trailer module(s) 370 can make such a determination in any suitable manner, such as by taking into account a current road incline, a current load of the trailer 300, a detectable amount of tension or compression from the main vehicle 200 applied to the trailer 300, and/or one or more performance parameters of the main vehicle 200, just to name a few possibilities."), and wheel rotation angle for the trailer wheel (see Healy at least [0105] "In some examples, the system may further be used to monitor one or more pneumatic brake lines, such that embodiments of the present disclosure provide a ‘fail safe’ mode where the hybrid suspension system 100 and/or the TTR hybrid system 101 will not accelerate (e.g., operate in a power assist mode) while a driver (e.g. of the powered vehicle) is actuating a brake system. In various embodiments, by monitoring feedback pressure of each wheel's brake lines, as well as their respective wheel speeds, the present system can determine how each brake for a particular wheel is performing. Thus, in various examples, embodiments of the present disclosure may provide for braking and/or powering of different wheels independently from one another for increased trailer stability. In some cases, this may be referred to as “torque vectoring”. By way of example, such torque vectoring embodiments may be particularly useful when there are differences in roadway surfaces upon which each of a plurality of wheels of the HTVS is traveling (e.g., when roadway conditions are inconsistent, slippery, rough, etc.).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trailer information collected by sensors such as disclosed by Deaton with specific information pertaining to trailer weight and torque vectoring such as taught by Healy with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide detailed conditions pertaining to the trailer during travel, and thus planning for when to appropriately and safely activate an assist motor (see Healy at least [0023]).
Regarding claim 12, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 4, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a fourth command signal to the trailer wheel control unit to deactivate the trailer wheel drive motor when a second predefined condition is met (see Deaton at least [0044]-[0045] "The trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to recover energy from the trailer 300. For instance, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to detect various energy recovery triggers for when to selectively cause energy to be recovered from the wheels 304 of the trailer 300. Examples of such energy recovery triggers include downhill travel of the trailer 300 and/or during stopping. Such energy recovery triggers can be detected based on, for example, sensor data acquired by the sensor(s) 330 and/or the sensor(s) 230. Another example of an energy recovery trigger is a user command. A user can provide a command on the input interface(s) 240, which can be located, for example, within the cabin of the main vehicle 200. The command can indicate that energy of the wheels 304 of the trailer 300 should be recovered. When an energy recovery trigger is detected, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to cause the motor(s) 360 to be deactivated and cause the wheels 304 to turn into an energy recovery system...").
Regarding claim 13, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 12, wherein the second predefined condition is met when the road grade information indicates a downgraded road (see Deaton at least [0044]-[0045] "The trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to recover energy from the trailer 300. For instance, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to detect various energy recovery triggers for when to selectively cause energy to be recovered from the wheels 304 of the trailer 300. Examples of such energy recovery triggers include downhill travel of the trailer 300 and/or during stopping. Such energy recovery triggers can be detected based on, for example, sensor data acquired by the sensor(s) 330 and/or the sensor(s) 230. Another example of an energy recovery trigger is a user command. A user can provide a command on the input interface(s) 240, which can be located, for example, within the cabin of the main vehicle 200. The command can indicate that energy of the wheels 304 of the trailer 300 should be recovered. When an energy recovery trigger is detected, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to cause the motor(s) 360 to be deactivated and cause the wheels 304 to turn into an energy recovery system...").
Regarding claim 14, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the analogous material of that in claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 15, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the analogous material of that in claim 2 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 16, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the analogous material of that in claim 3 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 17, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the analogous material of that in claim 4 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 18, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the analogous material of that in claim 5 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 19, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the analogous material of that in claim 6 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 20, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the analogous material of that in claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Bucknor et al. (US-2022/0126714; hereinafter Bucknor; already of record from IDS).
Regarding claim 8, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 6, wherein … the processor is further configured to transmit a second command signal to the trailer wheel control unit to control torque and rotation angle of the trailer wheel when the wheel movement direction of the vehicle wheel indicates the vehicle backing operation (see Deaton at least [0026] "The main vehicle 200 can include one or more vehicle sensors 232. The vehicle sensor(s) 232 can acquire, capture, detect, determine, assess, monitor, measure, quantify, and/or sense information or data about the main vehicle 200 itself (e.g., position, orientation, speed, pedal positions, etc.) and changes thereto. The vehicle sensor(s) 232 can be any sensor, now known or later developed. In one or more arrangements, the vehicle sensor(s) 232 can include one or more accelerometers, one or more gyroscopes, one or more inertial measurement units (IMU), one or more global navigation satellite systems (GNSS), one or more global positioning systems (GPS), one or more speedometers, one or more yaw rate sensors, one or more attitude angle sensors, one or more RPM sensors, one or more weight sensors, one or more load sensors, one or more tire pressure sensors, one or more accelerator pedal position or pressure sensors, one or more brake pedal position or pressure sensors, and/or other suitable sensors..." and [0042]-[0043] "In one or more arrangements, the trailer 300 can include one or more trailer modules 370. The trailer module(s) 370 can be configured for various purposes relating to the trailer 300. For instance, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to detect one or more drive activation triggers for when to power one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300. Examples of such drive activation triggers include, for example, uphill travel or accelerating from a stop. Such drive activation triggers can be detected based on sensor data acquired by the sensor(s) 330, the sensor(s) 230, and/or map data... When a drive activation trigger is detected, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to cause one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300 to be powered...").
However, while the sensors described in Deaton pertain to vehicle position, orientation, and changes thereto, neither Deaton nor Healy nor Reuter nor Caldeira explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…the first predefined condition is met when the wheel movement direction of the vehicle wheel indicates a vehicle backing operation...
Bucknor, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the first predefined condition is met when the wheel movement direction of the vehicle wheel indicates a vehicle backing operation (see Bucknor at least [0037] "Providing direct propulsion of any of the at least two wheels 24 of the powered trailer 14 using one or more of the at least one motor 34 allows the powered trailer 14 to provide acceleration capability for the powered trailer 14 and for the BEV 12. Operation of the at least one motor 34, either individually or in tandem also increases maneuverability of the powered trailer 14 and the BEV 12 in a forward or drive direction as well as in a backward or reverse direction." and [0039] "According to several aspects and with continued reference to FIGS. 1 and 2 the at least one motor 34 defines a first electric motor 40 positioned in a first wheel hub 42 of the powered trailer 14 and a second electric motor 44 positioned in a second wheel hub 46 of the powered trailer 14. The first electric motor 40 and the first wheel hub 42 are positioned oppositely from the second electric motor 44 and the second wheel hub 46 to balance propulsion power delivered to the powered trailer 14. According to further aspects the at least one motor 34 described above is not limited by connection to the wheel hub 36 and may instead be connected to and rotate at least one axle 48 of the towed trailer 14, for example using a differential as is known. During forward operation and particularly during reverse operation of the powered trailer 14 selective operation of the at least one motor 34, particularly by operation of the first electric motor 40 at a different speed than the second electric motor 44 improves a powered trailer maneuverability.")...
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the activation of an assist motor such as disclosed by Deaton with a specific vehicle condition such as reverse movement such as taught by Bucknor with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide an acceleration assist to the trailer (see Bucknor at least [0021]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Imamura (US-2022/0041156; already of record).
Regarding claim 11, Deaton in view of Healy and Reuter and Caldeira teach the system of claim 10, wherein the first predefined condition is met … when the trailer weight is greater than a trailer weight threshold (see Deaton at least [0042]-[0043] "In one or more arrangements, the trailer 300 can include one or more trailer modules 370. The trailer module(s) 370 can be configured for various purposes relating to the trailer 300. For instance, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to detect one or more drive activation triggers for when to power one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300. Examples of such drive activation triggers include, for example, uphill travel or accelerating from a stop. Such drive activation triggers can be detected based on sensor data acquired by the sensor(s) 330, the sensor(s) 230, and/or map data... When a drive activation trigger is detected, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to cause one or more wheels 304 of the trailer 300 to be powered... Alternatively, the trailer module(s) 370 can be configured to determine an appropriate amount of power to be supplied to the wheels 304 based on real-time conditions. The trailer module(s) 370 can make such a determination in any suitable manner, such as by taking into account a current road incline, a current load of the trailer 300, a detectable amount of tension or compression from the main vehicle 200 applied to the trailer 300, and/or one or more performance parameters of the main vehicle 200, just to name a few possibilities.").
However, while the activation triggers described in Deaton pertain to a load, neither Deaton nor Healy nor Reuter nor Caldeira explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…the first predefined condition is met when the road grade information indicates a level road, and when the trailer weight is greater than a trailer weight threshold…
Imamura, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the first predefined condition is met when the road grade information indicates a level road, and when the trailer weight is greater than a trailer weight threshold (see Imamura at least [0079] "As described, the operating mode of the vehicle Ve is shifted among the above-mentioned modes based on a required drive force governed by a position of the accelerator pedal. For example, when the vehicle Ve is propelled under high load conditions, the HV mode is selected to propel the vehicle Ve not only by the drive torque generated by the engine 3 but also by the drive torque (i.e., the assist torque) generated by the second motor 5... For example, if the vehicle Ve travels on a flat road and hence the load on the vehicle Ve is light, the battery 30 may be charged by an excess power of the engine 3, or by electricity regenerated by the first motor 4 or the second motor 5. However, if the vehicle Ve is propelled under high load continuously or repeatedly, the battery 30 is subjected to a high load continuously or repeatedly, and as a result, the SOC level of the battery 30 will fall and the assist torque generated by the second motor 5 will disappear. In this case, the drive force to propel the vehicle Ve and the speed of the vehicle Ve will be reduced suddenly even if a position of the accelerator pedal is maintained. In order to avoid such sudden reduction in the drive force and the vehicle speed, according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, the control system executes a routine shown in FIG. 12." [0081] "For example, such determination at step S1 may be made based on the following facts: ...that a total weight of freight is equal to or heavier than a threshold weight..." [0083] "In addition, even if the vehicle Ve does not currently travels on a road equal to or higher than the threshold level but the altitude above sea level of the road is predicted to be or exceed the threshold level, the answer of step S1 will be YES… Thus, at step S1, it is determined whether the load on the vehicle Ve is currently equal to or greater than the predetermined load value, or whether the load on the vehicle Ve is predicted to reach or exceed the predetermined load value." [0084] "If the load on the vehicle Ve is greater than the predetermined load value, or if the load on the vehicle Ve is expected to exceed the predetermined load value so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the routine progresses to step S2 to restrict the upper limit of the output power of the battery 30 to be smaller than the normal upper limit value. Consequently, the electric power supplied from the battery 30 to the second motor 5 is restricted compared to a case of propelling the vehicle Ve under low load conditions.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive activation trigger such as disclosed by Deaton with a trailer weight above a threshold on flat terrain such as taught by Imamura with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of limiting an amount of assist power to provide prolonged usage of the assist motor (see Imamura at least [0018]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Viele et al. (US-11,420,695) teaches a vehicle and trailer, the trailer being configured to assist in movement by way of providing a motive force at the trailer’s wheels.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663