DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the response filed on November 20, 2025. In that response, claims 1 and 3-6 were amended and claim 2was cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-6 are treated on the merits in this action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Bian (CN 113827682A; see attached machine translation by Google Patents, herein after “GP translation”).
Bian teaches a “green and healthy medicine combination for preventing and treating inflammatory bowel disease, characterized in that it comprises 15-25g of Codonopsis pilosula, 5-15g of fried Atractylodes Rhizoma, 15-25g of Poria cocos, 1-10g of glutinous rice, 1-10g of Rhizoma Coptidis, 1-10g of Turmeric ‑10g, 5‑15g of Chia vine, 5‑15g of Bletilla striata, 1‑10g of licorice” (GP translation, title; abstract). The “glutinous rice” is correctly translated as “Cornus officinalis” in other parts (p.3 sixth-tenth paras.). The “fried Atractylodes Rhizoma” is different than the “Atractylodes macrocephala Koidz.” in the claims here as Applicant point out. However given that the present application attempted to claim priority to Bian, the current claims appear to contain a translation error, rather than a genuine difference in the composition. Nonetheless a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is issued below with prior art on “Atractylodes macrocephala Koidz.”, i.e., the non-fried, medicine.
Regarding the wt% in claims 1 and 3-6, these are argued as finding written description support in the Table on page 5 of the Specification. (Remarks, 5, November 20, 2025). The identical table appears in Bian (Description para.[0028]; see also GP translation p.4/7), wherein each of the First through the Fourth Preferred Embodiments contain the same components in the same weight concentrations, and hence the same wt% concentration ranges in claims 3-6. Claim 1 here recites simply the minimum and the maximum wt.% ranges of each medicine taken from the First through the Fourth Preferred Embodiments. For example for the roots of Codonopsis comprise 12.8 wt% of the First Preferred Embodiment and the 22.2 wt% of the Third Preferred Embodiment, which in claim 1 is taken as a range of “12.83-22.22 wt%”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that wt.% ranges of each component” further distinguishes the claims from Bian, which recites grams. (Remarks, 7, November 20, 2025.)
In response it is noted above that the identical table appears in Bian, therefore to the extent they are different concepts the present claims will raise written description issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Applicant further argues that Bian teaches the wrong preparations of Atractylodes macrocephala, Cornus officinalis, and Glycyrrhiza uralensis. (Remarks, 7, November 20, 2025.)
However Applicant attempted to claim priority to Bian and therefore cannot now argue the present claims comprise different herbs. As noted above in the rejection the differences appear to be translation discrepancies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (CN 113827682A; see attached machine translation by Google Patents, herein after “GP translation”) in view of Han (Han, K.-Y., et al., Heme Oxygenase-1 Induction and Anti-inflammatory Actions of Atractylodes macrocephala and Taraxacum herba Extracts Prevented Colitis and Was More Effective than Sulfasalazine in Preventing Relapse, Gut and Liver, Vol. 11 (September 2017) 655-666).
Bian teaches a “green and healthy medicine combination for preventing and treating inflammatory bowel disease, characterized in that it comprises 15-25g of Codonopsis pilosula, 5-15g of fried Atractylodes Rhizoma, 15-25g of Poria cocos, 1-10g of glutinous rice, 1-10g of Rhizoma Coptidis, 1-10g of Turmeric -10g, 5-15g of Chia vine, 5-15g of Bletilla striata, 1-10g of licorice” (GP translation, title; abstract). The “glutinous rice” is correctly translated as “Cornus officinalis” in other parts (p.3 sixth-tenth paras.). Regarding the wt% in claims 1 and 3-6, these are argued as finding written description support in the Table on page 5 of the Specification. (Remarks, 5, November 20, 2025). The identical table appears in Bian (Description para.[0028]; see also GP translation p.4/7), wherein each of the First through the Fourth Preferred Embodiments contain the same components in the same weight concentrations, and hence the same wt% concentration ranges in claims 3-6. Claim 1 here recites simply the minimum and the maximum wt.% ranges of each medicine taken from the First through the Fourth Preferred Embodiments. For example for the roots of Codonopsis comprise 12.8 wt% of the First Preferred Embodiment and the 22.2 wt% of the Third Preferred Embodiment, which in claim 1 is taken as a range of “12.83-22.22 wt%”.
Bian does not teach “Atractylodes macrocephala Koidz.”, i.e., the non-fried Atractylodes macrocephala.
Han studied effects of Atractylodes macrocephala (AM) extract on murine intestinal epithelial IEC-6 cells with acute colitis induced from 7 days of dextran sulfate sodium (DSS) (title; abstract; pp.658-65). Anti-inflammatory activities occurred via inhibition of macrophage and T lymphocyte infiltrations (Figs.2-4 and accompanying text). Han concluded “AM or TH extracts were far superior in preventing DSS-induced colitis than sulfasalazine, AM or TH extracts can be considered natural agents that can prevent IBD relapse” and “promote additional regeneration” (abstract; see ).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bian and Han and use Atractylodes macrocephala in place of the fried Atractylodes macrocephala as recited in the instant claim(s). Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose, where the equivalency has been recognized in the prior art, presents strong evidence of obviousness; an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. MPEP §2144.06 (II) (citations omitted). Here Bian also uses the prepared fried Atractylodes macrocephala, and Han teaches that non-fried Atractylodes macrocephala can be considered a natural agent that can prevent IBD relapse and “promote additional intestinal cell regeneration.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614