DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-14 and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: 80oC should be 80 oC. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chien (US 10,514,479).
Regarding claims 1-2, 9, 11: Chien (US ‘479) discloses ophthalmic lenses [abstract; 1:14-22], wherein Example 2 [Ex. 2; 7:16-37] prepares a lens from a composition comprising HEMA (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate [2:46]), NVP (N-vinylpyrrolidone [2:48]), MAA (methacrylic acid [2:47-48]), Irgacure 1173 (photoinitiator [2:59-63]), EGDMA (ethyleneglycol dimethacrylate [2:53-54]), ethanol, C.I. Reactive Red 11, and C.I. Reactive Yellow 15 [Ex. 2; 7:16-37].
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [See MPEP 2113].
Chien (US ‘479) discloses ophthalmic lenses and intraocular lenses [1:19-22]. While Chien (US ‘479) does not specifically disclose a contact lens, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim [see MPEP 2111.02].
Regarding claim 10: Chien (US ‘479) discloses C.I. Reactive Red 11 (sodium (Z)-4-(2-(8-((4,6-dichloro-1,3,5-triazin-2-yl)amino)-1-oxo-3,6-disulfonatonaphthalen-2(1H)-ylidene)hydrazineyl)benzoate) {contains sulfonate group} [Ex. 2; 7:16-37].
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2017/0227790).
Regarding claims 15-17: Lin et al. (US ‘790) discloses contact lenses [abstract], wherein the lens composition can contain 4-(phenyldiazenyl) phenyl methacrylate or reactive yellow 15 as short-wavelength light absorbing agents [0038]. Lin et al. (US ‘790) discloses Example 8 [Ex. 8; 0140-0145; Table 31A] prepares a hydrogel lens from a composition containing 44 wt% 2-hydroxy methacrylate, 42 wt% glycerol monomethacrylate, 0.5 wt% ethylene glycol dimethacrylate, 0.3 wt% 1,1,1-trimethylol propane trimethacrylate, 0.6 wt% 2-hydroxy-2-methyl-propiophenone, 10.6 wt% glycerol and 2 wt% Reactive Yellow 15 (note: Reactive Yellow 15 exchanged for 4-(phenyldiazenyl) phenyl methacrylate as the short-wavelength light absorbing agent [0038]; see MPEP 2131.02) [Ex. 8; 0140-0145; Table 31A].
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong (US 2005/0251929).
Regarding claims 15, 17 and 19-20: Hong (US ‘929) discloses contact lenses containing reactive tinting compounds prepared from a reactive dye and a hydrophilic monomer [abstract], wherein Hong (US ‘929) discloses 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (HEMA) and glycerol methacrylate as hydrophilic monomers [0024]. Hong (US ‘929) discloses Example 4 [Ex. 4; 0044] prepares a tinting compound by reacting a mixture of Reactive Yellow 15, sodium carbonate, glycerol methacrylate (note: glycerol methacrylate exchanged for HEMA as the hydrophilic monomer [0024]; see MPEP 2131.02), and hydroquinone at 30 oC for 24 hours. Hong (US ‘929) discloses Example 6 [Ex. 6; 0046-0047; Table 1, tinting compound of Ex. 4] prepares a lens by UV curing a lens composition containing HEMA, N-vinyl pyrrolidone, methacrylic acid, ethyleneglycol dimethacrylate, 2-chlorothixanthone, and the tinting compound of Ex. 4 [Ex. 6; 0046-0047; Table 1, tinting compound of Ex. 4].
Regarding claim 16: Hong (US ‘929) discloses ~0.02 wt% of the tinting compound [Ex. 6; 0046-0047; Table 1, tinting compound of Ex. 4].
Regarding claim 18: Hong (US ‘929) discloses a weight ratio of Reactive Yellow 15 to glycerol methacrylate of 1:0.32 (25:8) [Ex. 4; 0044].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 10,514,479) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 3-4: Chien (US ‘479) discloses the basic clamed lens [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Chien (US ‘479) discloses at least one hydrophilic monomer, such as DMA (N,N-dimethylacrylamide [2:42-52]), and at least on red pigment, such as Reactive Red 180 [2:20-22].
Chien (US ‘479) does not specifically disclose Ex. 2 containing DMA and Reactive Red 180. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included DMA and Reactive Red 180 based on the invention of Chien (US ‘479), and would have been motivated to do so since Chien (US ‘479) suggests that the composition can contain at least one hydrophilic monomer, such as DMA [2:42-52], and at least on red pigment, such as Reactive Red 180 [2:20-22]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claims 5-6: Chien (US ‘479) discloses the basic clamed lens [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Chien (US ‘479) discloses a combined total of 0.32 mass% of C.I. Reactive Red 11 and C.I. Reactive Yellow 15 [corresponding to a total of 0.32 parts by mass] [Ex. 2; 7:16-37].
Chien (US ‘479) does not specifically disclose 0.16 mass% of C.I. Reactive Yellow 15 and 0.16 mass% of Reactive Red 11 [instant claim 5]; 0.16 parts by weight of C.I. Reactive Yellow 15 and 0.16 parts by weight of Reactive Red 11 [instant claim 6]. However, when faced with a mixture, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by common sense to select a 1:1 ratio, a ratio that falls within the presently claimed amount, absent evidence of unexpected or surprising results. Case law holds that "[h]aving established that this knowledge was in the art, the examiner could then properly rely... on a conclusion of obviousness, 'from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art within any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference." (see In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969)) [MPEP 2143].
Regarding claims 7-8: Chien (US ‘479) discloses the basic clamed lens [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Chien (US ‘479) discloses a total of 0.32 mass% of C.I. Reactive Red 11 and C.I. Reactive Yellow 15 [corresponding to a total of 0.32 parts by mass] [Ex. 2; 7:16-37]. Chien (US ‘479) discloses 0.004 to about 5 mass% of pigments to afford a lens having a vermeil, dark red, reddish orange, rust, red, pink or other red color [2:13-19].
Chien (US ‘479) does not specifically disclose a 1:0.1 to 1:10 weight ratio of C.I. Reactive Yellow 15 to HEMA [instant claim 7]; 1:0.1 to 1:10 weight ratio of Reactive Red 11 to NVP [instant claim 8]. However, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject mat-ter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [see MPEP 2144.05].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2017/0227790) as applied to claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 18: Lin et al. (US ‘790) discloses the basic clamed lens [as set forth above with respect to claim 15]; wherein Lin et al. (US ‘790) discloses 5 wt% to 60 wt% glycerol monomethacrylate [0058], and 0.01 wt% to 10 wt% of the short-wavelength light absorbing agent (ex. Reactive Yellow 15 [0038]) [0063].
Lin et al. (US ‘790) does not specifically disclose a weight ratio of Reactive Yellow 15 to glycerol monomethacrylate of 1:0.1 to 1:10. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2005/0251929).
Regarding claims 1-2, 9 and 11-14: Hong (US ‘929) discloses contact lenses containing reactive tinting compounds prepared from a reactive dye and a hydrophilic monomer [abstract]. Hong (US ‘929) discloses Example 4 [Ex. 4; 0044] prepares a tinting compound by reacting a mixture of Reactive Yellow 15, sodium carbonate, HEMA (2-hydoxyethyl methacrylate [0024]), and hydroquinone at 30 oC for 24 hours. Hong (US ‘929) discloses Example 2 [Ex. 2; 0042] prepares a tinting compound by reacting a mixture of Reactive Blue 19, sodium hydroxide, HEMA, and hydroquinone at 30 oC for 24 hours [Ex. 2; 0042]. Hong (US ‘929) discloses Example 6 [Ex. 6; 0046-0047; Table 1, tinting compound of Ex. 4] prepares a lens by UV curing a lens composition containing HEMA, N-vinyl pyrrolidone, methacrylic acid, ethyleneglycol dimethacrylate, 2-chlorothixanthone, and the tinting compound of Ex. 4 [Ex. 6; 0046-0047; Table 1, tinting compound of Ex. 4].
Hong (US ‘929) does not specifically disclose Ex. 6 (containing the tinting compound of Ex. 4 derived from Reactive Yellow 15) further comprising the tinting compound of Ex. 2 (derived from Reactive Blue 19). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the tinting compound of Ex. 2 with the tinting compound of Ex. 4 based on the invention of Hong (US ‘929), and would have been motivated to do so since Hong (US ‘929) suggests tinting compounds added the lens formulation to achieve a desired tone and color [0039]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claims 3-4: Hong (US ‘929) discloses the basic claimed contact lens [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Hong (US ‘929) discloses Example 5 [Ex. 5; 0045] prepares a tinting compound by reacting a mixture of Reactive Red 180, sodium carbonate, HEMA, and hydroquinone at 30 oC for 24 hours [Ex. 5; 0045].
Hong (US ‘929) does not specifically disclose Ex. 6 further comprising the tinting compound of Ex. 5 (derived from Reactive Red 180). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the tinting compound of Ex. 5 based on the invention of Hong (US ‘929), and would have been motivated to do so since Hong (US ‘929) suggests tinting compounds added the lens formulation to achieve a desired tone and color [0039]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claims 5-6: Hong (US ‘929) discloses the basic claimed contact lens [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Hong (US ‘929) disclose ~0.02 wt% (0.04 part) of the tinting compound of Ex. 4 [Ex. 6; 0046-0047; Table 1, tinting compound of Ex. 4]. Hong (US ‘929) discloses tinting compounds added the lens formulation to achieve a desired tone and color, in an amount of 0.01% to 0.25%, based on the weight of lens forming monomers [0039].
Hong (US ‘929) does not specifically disclose Ex. 6 (containing tinting compound of Ex. 4) further comprising the tinting compound of Ex. 2 in an amount of 0.01 wt% to 0.25 wt% (~ 0.01 part to ~0.29 part). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 7: Hong (US ‘929) discloses a weight ratio of Reactive Yellow 15 to HEMA of 1:0.32 (25:8) [Ex. 4; 0044].
Regarding claim 8: Hong (US ‘929) discloses a weight ratio of Reactive Blue 19 to HEMA of 1:0.32 (25:8) [Ex. 2; 0042].
Regarding claim 10: Hong (US ‘929) discloses Reactive Blue 19 (disodium;1-amino-9,10-dioxo-4-[3-(2-sulfonatooxyethylsulfonyl)anilino]anthracene-2-sulfonate) {contains sulfonate group} [Ex. 2; 0026; 0042].
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767