DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 and 19 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art Kovalsky et al. U.S. Publication 2012/0053682 A1 discloses an artificial valve, comprising a top stent, a middle stent and a bottom stent, wherein the top stent, the middle stent and the bottom stent are connected in sequence; the top stent is circumferentially provided with at least three locking stents; the middle stent is provided with at least three valve leaflet fixing parts; in an compressed state of the locking end, a diameter of a circumference where an uppermost edges of the three valve leaflet fixing parts are located is Φ1, and in a expanded state, the diameter of the circumference where the uppermost edges of the the three valve leaflet fixing parts are located is Ф2; wherein Ф2 is larger than Ф1. However, Kovalsky et al. does not expressly disclose each of the locking stents has a locking end at a top and the diameter is based on the locked state and unlocked state of the locking end and the diameter of the circumference where the uppermost edges of the three-valve leaflet fixing parts are higher than or equal to 74% of Ф1.
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art Essinger et al. discloses an artificial valve, comprising a top stent, a middle stent and a bottom stent, wherein the top stent, the middle stent and the bottom stent are connected in sequence; the top stent is circumferentially provided with at least three locking stents (3 arches), which have locking ends at top ends (the arches are looped and capable of being having “locking ends”); the middle stent is provided with valve leaflet fixing parts and suture rods. However, Essinger et al. does not expressly disclose a maximum area of a cross section of the locking stent which is perpendicular to a central axis of the artificial valve is 20% to 50% of a minimum area of a cross section of the suture rod which is perpendicular to the central axis of the artificial valve. In addition, Essinger et al. does not expressly disclose the middle stent comprises three locking stent or six locking stents and structural stiffness of the locking end of each of the locking stents is 5% to 50% of the structural stiffness of each of the suture rods.
Claims 18 is allowed. Essinger et al. does not expressly disclose a maximum area of a cross section of the locking stent which is perpendicular to a central axis of the artificial valve is 20% to 50% of a minimum area of a cross section of the suture rod which is perpendicular to the central axis of the artificial valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Essinger et al. WO 2011/051043 A1 in view of Rabkin et al. U.S. Publication 2004/0111147 A1.
Regarding Claim 14, Essinger et al. discloses an artificial valve 100 as seen in Figures 1-3, comprising a top stent 1, a middle stent 3 and a bottom stent 4, wherein the top stent 1, the middle stent 3 and the bottom stent 4 are connected in sequence; the top stent 1 is circumferentially provided with at least three locking stents (3 arches), which have locking ends at top ends (the arches are looped and capable of being having “locking ends”); the middle stent 3 is provided with valve leaflet 102 fixing parts (paragraphs [0075-0079] and [0081] and as seen in Figures 1, 7-8). However, Essinger et al. does not expressly disclose the structural stiffness of the top stent is smaller than structural stiffness of the middle stent. Rabkin et al. teaches a stent in the same field of endeavor comprising a top stent 14 and a middle stent 12 (paragraph [0061]), wherein the top stent 12 having a plurality of crowns 22 (or locking stents) having three leaves (paragraph [0077]) that acts as a capturing hook forming a retrieval device to the catheter, wherein the crown is flexible so that it can move inward during retrieval or repositioning (paragraph [0079] and [0096]) and the middle stent 12 having a plurality of closed cell rings (paragraph [0062]) to impart greater radial strength and less flexibility (paragraph [0102-0103]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Essinger’s top stent to have a smaller stiffness than the middle stent as taught by Rabkin et al. for the purpose of imparting greater radial strength to the body of the stent and increased flexibility to the crown of the stent to allow the top stent to be flexible to form said “locking ends” that move inward during retrieval or repositioning.
Conclusion
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774