DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species I, claims 1-5 and 9-13, in the reply filed on 11/28/2025 was acknowledged. Group I, Species 2, claims 6-8 and Group II, claims 14-15 was withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/28/2025.
Applicant included new claims 16-19 in the reply filed on 05/20/2026. Claims 16-17 are dependent on withdrawn claim 14 and claims 18-19 are dependent on claim 1. For the sake of expedient examination claims 16-17 have been grouped with Group II and withdrawn from consideration. Claims 18-19 have been grouped with Group I, Species I and have been examined below.
Status of Claims
This is a final office action for application 18/167,885 in response to the amendment(s) filed on 05/20/2026. Claims 1-8, 10 and 12-19 are under examination. Claims 6-8 and 14-17 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed on 05/20/2026 have been fully considered and were found persuasive over the previous U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of record in view of Nakayama et al (US-20200127247-A1). This rejection has thus been withdrawn. However, in light of the amendments a new search was conducted and new prior art identified that renders the previous arguments moot. See claims 1-5, 10, 12-13 and 18-19 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10, 12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al. (US-20170229700-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Matsumoto discloses a battery (see e.g. "a prismatic secondary battery 100A" in paragraph [0055] and part number 100A in FIG. 1), comprising a terminal (see e.g. "external terminal 151" in paragraph [0056] and part number 151 in FIG. 6B), wherein the terminal includes
a first conductive member having a plate shape (see e.g. "a metal body 152" in paragraph [0057] and part number 152 in FIG. 4C),
a second conductive member (see e.g. "a connection terminal 153" in paragraph [0057] and part number 153 in FIG. 4C) including a flange (see e.g. " proximal end portion 153 a" in paragraph [0074] and part number 153a in FIG. 5) electrically connected to the first conductive member (see e.g. " metal body 152 and the connection terminal 153 are electrically connected to each other" in paragraph [0074]),
a fastener (see e.g. the portion where the threads of part number 153 meet the screw hole 152d in FIG. 5A) mechanically securing the first conductive member and the flange of the second conductive member to each other (see e.g. "screw hole 152 d" and "the connection terminal 153 and the metal body 152 are mechanically bound with each other by screwing the proximal end portion 153 a of the connection terminal 153 into the screw hole 152 d of the metal body 152 as illustrated in FIG. 5(a)" in paragraph [0074] and FIG. 5A), and
a welded connection where the first conductive member and the flange of the second conductive member are welded to each other at a location away from the fastener (see e.g. "a welding portion 151 a, obtained by metal binding, is formed between the proximal end portion 153 a of the connection terminal 153 and the welding surface 152 a of the metal body 152" in paragraph [0074] and part number 151a in FIG. 4C),
the first conductive member includes a recess in which at least a portion of the flange of the second conductive member is housed (see e.g. "screw hole 152 d" in paragraph [0073] and part number 152d in FIG. 5A),
the fastener is formed by securing an inner wall of the recess of the first conductive member with the portion of the flange of the second conductive member housed in the recess (see e.g. "a male screw to be screwed to the screw hole 152 d is threaded in a proximal end portion 153 a thereof" in paragraph [0073] and FIG. 5B),
the welded connection (see e.g. " a welding portion 151 a" in paragraph [0074] and part number 151a in FIGs. 4B and 4C) includes a first connection region and a second connection region, the second connection region being located closer to a center of the flange than the first connection region in a plan view (see e.g. part number 151a in FIG. 4B and annotated figure below), and
the welded connection is disposed closer to the center of the flange than the fastener in the plan view (see e.g. part number 151a in FIG. 4C).
Regarding Claim 2, Matsumoto discloses the battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Matsumoto further discloses that the first conductive member is made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy (see e.g. "a metal body 152 made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy" in paragraph [0057]), and
the second conductive member is made of copper or a copper alloy (see e.g. "connection terminal 153 made of copper or a copper alloy" in paragraph [0057]). Regarding Claim 3, Matsumoto discloses the battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Matsumoto further discloses that the welded connection includes a fused and solidified portion in which the first conductive member and the second conductive member are fused together (see e.g. "a welding portion 151 a, obtained by metal binding, is formed between the proximal end portion 153 a of the connection terminal 153 and the welding surface 152 a of the metal body 152, and the metal body 152 and the connection terminal 153 are electrically connected to each other" in paragraph [0074]), and when viewed in cross section, a fusion depth of the fused and solidified portion in the first connection region is smaller than a fusion depth of the fused and solidified portion in the second connection region (see e.g. part 151a in FIG. 4C and annotated figure below).
Matsumoto, figure 4C, annotated for illustration
Regarding Claim 4, Matsumoto discloses the battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Matsumoto further discloses that the welded connection includes a fused and solidified portion in which the first conductive member and the second conductive member are fused together (see e.g. "a welding portion 151 a, obtained by metal binding, is formed between the proximal end portion 153 a of the connection terminal 153 and the welding surface 152 a of the metal body 152, and the metal body 152 and the connection terminal 153 are electrically connected to each other" in paragraph [0074]), and when viewed in cross section, a fusion depth of the fused and solidified portion in the first connection region is smaller than a thickness of a portion of the first conductive member adjacent to the first connection region (see e.g. part numbers 151a and 152a in FIG. 4C and annotated figure below).
Matsumoto, figure 4C, annotated for illustration
Regarding Claim 5, Matsumoto discloses the battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Matsumoto further discloses that the welded connection has a spiral shape in the plan view (see e.g. part number 451a in FIG. 9B).
Regarding Claim 10, Matsumoto discloses the battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Matsumoto further discloses that the flange of the second conductive member includes a constricted portion (see e.g. top portion of part number 153a in FIG. 5A) fitted to the first conductive member (see e.g. top portion of the recess of part number 152d in FIG. 5A), and the fastener is a fitted portion in which the constricted portion of the second conductive member and the first conductive member are fitted to each other (see e.g. "a male screw to be screwed to the screw hole 152 d is threaded in a proximal end portion 153 a thereof" in paragraph [0073] and FIG. 5B; the fastener is where the constricted portion (outside edge) of the second conductive member meets the recess of the first conductive member and fitted to each other).
Regarding Claim 12, Matsumoto discloses the battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Matsumoto further discloses that a portion of the first conductive member located radially inward of the welded connection in the plan view is provided with a through hole (see e.g. "through-hole 452 e" in paragraph [0098] and part number 452e in FIG. 9C).
Regarding Claim 18, Matsumoto discloses the battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Matsumoto further discloses that the first conductive member is positioned above the second conductive member (see e.g. part number 152 above part number 153 in FIG. 4C), and the welded connection extends through the first conductive member and into the second conductive member (see e.g. part number 151a in FIG. 4C). Regarding Claim 19, Matsumoto discloses the battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Matsumoto further discloses that the welded connection extends into both the first and second conductive members (see e.g. part number 151a in FIG. 4C) where the first conductive member is disposed on the second conductive member (see e.g. part number 152 disposed on part number 153 in FIG. 4C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US-20170229700-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakayama et al. (US-20200127247-A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Matsumoto discloses the battery of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Matsumoto further discloses that the first conductive member has a substantially rectangular shape (see e.g. part number 152 in FIGs. 4B and 4C).
Matsumoto does not discloses that the center of the flange of the second conductive member and a center of the first conductive member are located at different positions in a longitudinal direction of the first conductive member.
Nakayama, however, in the same field of endeavor, battery terminal fastening and connection methods, discloses a center of a flange of a second conductive member (see e.g. part number 15c1 in FIG. 2 of Nakayama which is the center of the flange 50 of the second conductive member 15) and a center of a first conductive member (see e.g. part number 14 in FIG. 2 of Nakayama) being located at different positions in a longitudinal direction of the first conductive member (see e.g. part number 15c1 and part number 14 in FIG. 2 of Nakayama; the center of the first conductive member 14 would be in a different position in a longitudinal direction of the first conductive member).
Nakayama also teaches that this configuration allows for a separate location for external electrical connection without having to move the internal electrical connection of the battery (see e.g. paragraphs [0033] - [0035] of Nakayama). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first conductive member of Matsumoto et al. such that it is extended in a direction such that the center of the flange of the second conductive member and a center of the first conductive member are located at different positions in a longitudinal direction of the first conductive member as taught by Nakayama et al. in order to provide a separate external electrical connection as suggested by Nakayama.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ito (US-20120148908-A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723