DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The (6) information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2025, 06/11/2025, 11/25/2024, 08/15/2023, 04/17/2023, and 02/13/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1:
The limitation "the first and second encapsulation layer thermoplastic materials" in line 12 renders the claim indefinite because there is no previous instance of “first and second encapsulation layer thermoplastic materials" recited.
For the purpose of substantive examination, it is presumed that the "the first and second encapsulation layer thermoplastic materials" refers to the thermoplastic material of the first encapsulation layer and the thermoplastic material of the second encapsulation layer respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardman (US 20190322375) in view of Smith (US 20190248501)
Regarding Claim 1, Hardman discloses a multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10 with an integrated heating assembly; fig. 1) for controlling ice accumulation on a surface of an aircraft (ice protection systems for composite aerostructures) (para. 0034 and 0002), the structure comprising:
a heater (heating layer 30, first insulation layer 28, and second insulation layer 28) comprising:
a heating layer (heating layer 30);
a first encapsulation layer (first insulation layer 28; annotated fig. 1) disposed on a first side of the heating layer; and
a second encapsulation layer (second insulation layer 28; annotated fig. 1) disposed on a second side of the heating layer;
a fore composite structure (structural layer 26; annotated fig. 1) that includes a fore composite structure thermoplastic material (thermoplastic composites i.e. PAEK) disposed on the first side of heating heater (para. 0037); and
an aft composite structure (structural layer 25; annotated fig. 1) that includes an aft composite structure thermoplastic material (thermoplastic composites i.e. PAEK) disposed on the second side of CNT heater (para. 0037);
wherein the first and second encapsulation layer thermoplastic materials (thermoplastic of the insulation layers 28 made of PEEK, “the insulation layers are formed of PEEK/S2 fiberglass reinforced thermoplastic unidirectional tape”, para. 0052) have higher melting temperatures than the fore composite structure thermoplastic material (PAEK of structural layer 26) (according to para. 0043 of the instant application, the encapsulation layers 304, 306 can be formed of PEEK resin and the composite structure 402/404 may be formed of a PAEK resin. In this case, prior art teaches all the structure limitation of the claim already, and when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claim, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP 2112.01). Specifically, the PEEK of insulation layers 28 have higher melting temperature than the PAEK of the structural layers 26).
Hardman does not disclose the heater is a carbon nano-tube (CNT) heater comprising a CNT layer.
However, Smith discloses a heater (heater 108; fig. 1A/strip 300; fig. 3) is a carbon nano-tube (CNT) heater (carbon nanotube material) comprising a CNT layer (carbon nanomaterial layer 308) (para. 0024 and 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the heating layer 30 of Hardman with the carbon nanotube material layer 308 as taught by Smith in order to use the carbon nanotube material as the heater because it heats up quickly and suitable for deicing applications (para. 0024 of Smith).
Regarding Claim 2, Hardman discloses the multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10), wherein the fore and aft composite structure thermoplastic materials (thermoplastic composites i.e. PAEK of structural layers 25, 26) are the same thermoplastic material (para. 0037).
Regarding Claim 3, Hardman discloses the multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10), wherein the aft composite structure (structural layer 25) directly contacts the second encapsulation layer (second insulation layer 28) (fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, the modification discloses the multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10 of Hardman), wherein the CNT layer (carbon nanomaterial layer 308 of Smith) includes carbon nano-tubes (carbon nanotube material) (para. 0024 of Smith).
Regarding Claim 7, Hardman discloses a multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10 with an integrated heating assembly; fig. 1) for controlling ice accumulation on a surface of an aircraft (ice protection systems for composite aerostructures) (para. 0034 and 0002), the structure comprising:
a heater (heating layer 30) encased in a heater thermoplastic material (first and second insulation layer 28’s; annotated fig. 1. “the insulation layers are formed of PEEK/S2 fiberglass reinforced thermoplastic unidirectional tape”, para. 0052) (para. 0046. It is noted the layers 28, the heating layer 30, and layers 25, 26 are fused together to become the heating structure as a whole);
a fore composite structure (structural layer 26; annotated fig. 1) that includes a composite structure thermoplastic material (thermoplastic composites i.e. PAEK) disposed on the first side of the heater (para. 0037); and
an aft composite structure (structural layer 25; annotated fig. 1) that includes an aft composite structure thermoplastic material (thermoplastic composites i.e. PAEK) disposed on the second side of the heater (para. 0037);
wherein the heater thermoplastic material (“the insulation layers are formed of PEEK/S2 fiberglass reinforced thermoplastic unidirectional tape”, para. 0052) has a higher melting temperatures than the fore composite structure thermoplastic material (PAEK of structural layer 26) (according to para. 0043 of the instant application, the encapsulation layers 304, 306 can be formed of PEEK resin and the composite structure 402/404 may be formed of a PAEK resin. In this case, prior art teaches all the structure limitation of the claim already, and when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claim, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP 2112.01).
Hardman does not disclose the heater is a carbon nano-tube (CNT) heater comprising a CNT layer.
However, Smith discloses a heater (heater 108; fig. 1A/strip 300; fig. 3) is a carbon nano-tube (CNT) heater (carbon nanotube material) comprising a CNT layer (carbon nanomaterial layer 308) (para. 0024 and 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the heating layer 30 of Hardman with the carbon nanotube material layer 308 as taught by Smith in order to use the carbon nanotube material as the heater because it heats up quickly and suitable for deicing applications (para. 0024 of Smith).
Regarding Claim 8, Hardman discloses the multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10), wherein the fore and aft composite structure thermoplastic materials (thermoplastic composites i.e. PAEK of structural layers 25, 26) are the same thermoplastic material (para. 0037).
Regarding Claim 9, the modification discloses the multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10 of Hardman), wherein the CNT layer (carbon nanomaterial layer 308 of Smith) includes carbon nano-tubes (carbon nanotube material) (para. 0024 of Smith).
Regarding Claim 11, Hardman discloses a method of forming a multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10 with an integrated heating assembly; fig. 1) for controlling ice accumulation on a surface of an aircraft (ice protection systems for composite aerostructures) (para. 0034 and 0002), the structure comprising:
receiving a heater (heating layer 30, first insulation layer 28, and second insulation layer 28) comprising: a heating layer (heating layer 30), a first encapsulation layer (first insulation layer 28; annotated fig. 1) disposed on a first side of the heating layer formed of a first encapsulation layer thermoplastic material (PEEK/S2, “the insulation layers are formed of PEEK/S2 fiberglass reinforced thermoplastic unidirectional tape”, para. 0052) a second encapsulation layer (second insulation layer 28; annotated fig. 1) disposed on a second side of the heating layer formed of a second encapsulation layer thermoplastic material (PEEK/S2, “the insulation layers are formed of PEEK/S2 fiberglass reinforced thermoplastic unidirectional tape”, para. 0052);
receiving a fore composite structure (structural layer 26; annotated fig. 1) that includes a fore composite structure thermoplastic material (thermoplastic composites i.e. PAEK) (para. 0037);
disposing the fore composite structure on the first side of heater (annotated fig. 1);
receiving an aft composite structure (structural layer 25; annotated fig. 1) that includes an aft composite structure thermoplastic material (thermoplastic composites i.e. PAEK) (para. 0037);
disposing the aft composite structure disposed on the second side of heater (annotated fig. 1) to form an assembly (laminate 20) that includes the heater (heating layer 30, first insulation layer 28, and second insulation layer 28), the fore composite structure (structural layer 26) and the aft composite structure (structural layer 25) (fig. 1); and
heating the assembly (laminate 20) to at least partially melt the fore and aft composite structure thermoplastics and the first and second encapsulation layer thermoplastic bond to them assembly together (para. 0046 and 0053);
wherein the first and second encapsulation layer thermoplastic materials (“the insulation layers are formed of PEEK/S2 fiberglass reinforced thermoplastic unidirectional tape”, para. 0052) have higher melting temperatures that the fore composite structure thermoplastic material (PAEK of structural layer 26) (according to para. 0043 of the instant application, the encapsulation layers 304, 306 can be formed of PEEK resin and the composite structure 402/404 may be formed of a PAEK resin. In this case, prior art teaches all the structure limitation of the claim already, and when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claim, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (see MPEP 2112.01).
Hardman does not disclose the heater is a carbon nano-tube (CNT) heater comprising a CNT layer.
However, Smith discloses a heater (heater 108; fig. 1A/strip 300; fig. 3) is a carbon nano-tube (CNT) heater (carbon nanotube material) comprising a CNT layer (carbon nanomaterial layer 308) (para. 0024 and 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the heating layer 30 of Hardman with the carbon nanotube material layer 308 as taught by Smith in order to use the carbon nanotube material as the heater because it heats up quickly and suitable for deicing applications (para. 0024 of Smith).
Regarding Claim 12, the modification discloses the method, wherein heating includes providing heat with the CNT heater (carbon nanotube material layer 308 of Smith) (para. 0034 of Hardman).
Regarding Claim 13, Hardman discloses the method, the multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10), wherein the fore and aft composite structure thermoplastic materials (thermoplastic composites i.e. PAEK of structural layers 25, 26) are the same thermoplastic material (para. 0037).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Hardman (US 20190322375) and Smith (US 20190248501) as applied to claim 2 and 9 respectively, further in view of Park (US 20220074898)
Regarding Claim 6, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the CNT layer further include one or more metal layers.
However, Park discloses a CNT layer (heat generating layer 500 comprising carbon nanotubes) include one or more metal layers (metal electrode 600) (para. 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CNT layer of Hardman in view of Smith to include the one or more metal layers as taught by Park, in order to apply electric energy to the metal layer and the electric energy is converted into thermal energy with high efficiency in the CNT layer (para. 0053 of Park).
Regarding Claim 10, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the CNT layer further include one or more metal layers.
However, Park discloses a CNT layer (heat generating layer 500 comprising carbon nanotubes) include one or more metal layers (metal electrode 600) (para. 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CNT layer of Hardman in view of Smith to include the one or more metal layers as taught by Park, in order to apply electric energy to the metal layer and the electric energy is converted into thermal energy with high efficiency in the CNT layer (para. 0053 of Park).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Hardman (US 20190322375) and Smith (US 20190248501) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Jacob (US 20200189751)
Regarding Claim 4, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the aft composite structure does not directly contact the second encapsulation layer. It is noted that Hardman discloses the aft composite structure (structural layer 25) directly contacts the second encapsulation layer (second insulation layer 28) (fig. 1).
However, Jacob discloses a multilayer heating structure (multilayer structure 10), wherein an adhesive layer 22 is utilized to bond adjacent layers together (para. 0020; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multilayer heating structure of Hardman in view of Smith to include the adhesive layer 22 as taught by Jacob sandwiched between the structural layer 25 and the second insulation layer 28, in order to bond the adjacent layers together such that the layers would not flap around during flight. The modification would result in the structure shown below:
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/ Supervisory Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 3761