DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The status of the 08/07/2026 claims, is as follows: Claims 1, and 11 have been amended; Claims 7-10 have been canceled; and Claims 1-6 and 11-13 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1: the phrase “is infused” in line 11 should be read “are infused” to correct grammatical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The (1) information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardman (US 20190322375) in view of Hu (US 20180162077)
Regarding Claim 1, Hardman discloses a multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10 with an integrated heating assembly; fig. 1) for controlling ice accumulation on a surface of an aircraft (ice protection systems for composite aerostructures) (para. 0034 and “composite materials that incorporate an integrated heating assembly. The present invention finds particular application to the field of ice protection systems for composite aerostructures”, para. 0002), the structure comprising:
a heater (heating layer 30, first insulation layer 28, and second insulation layer 28; fig. 1) comprising:
a heating layer (heating layer 30; fig. 1) forming a heating layer (heating layer 30);
a first encapsulation layer (first insulation layer 28; annotated fig. 1) formed of a first encapsulation layer thermoplastic material (PEEK/S2) disposed on a first side of the heating layer (“the insulation layers are formed of PEEK/S2 fiberglass reinforced thermoplastic unidirectional tape”, para. 0052); and
a second encapsulation layer (second insulation layer 28; annotated fig. 1) formed of a second encapsulation layer thermoplastic material (PEEK/S2) disposed on a second side of the heating layer (“the insulation layers are formed of PEEK/S2 fiberglass reinforced thermoplastic unidirectional tape”, para. 0052);
a fore composite structure (structural layer 26; annotated fig. 1) that includes a fore composite structure thermoplastic material (thermoplastic composites i.e. TC1225) disposed on the first side of heating heater (“the structural layers 25, 26 are formed of one or more composite laminae, which may be carbon fiber reinforced thermoplastic composites….Several exemplary prepreg materials that may be used to form the structural elements 25, 26 include, but are not limited to, materials produced by TenCate Advanced Composites USA of Morgan Hill, Calif. and sold under the name CETEX, such as TC1200, TC1225 and TC1320.” , para. 0037); and
an aft composite structure (structural layer 25; annotated fig. 1) that includes an aft composite structure thermoplastic material (thermoplastic composites i.e. TC1225) disposed on the second side of CNT heater (“the structural layers 25, 26 are formed of one or more composite laminae, which may be carbon fiber reinforced thermoplastic composites….Several exemplary prepreg materials that may be used to form the structural elements 25, 26 include, but are not limited to, materials produced by TenCate Advanced Composites USA of Morgan Hill, Calif. and sold under the name CETEX, such as TC1200, TC1225 and TC1320.” , para. 0037);
wherein the first encapsulation layer thermoplastic material (PEEK/S2 of first insulation layer 28) and the second encapsulation layer thermoplastic material (PEEK/S2 of second insulation layer 28. According to attached non-patent literature to Trelleborg, “Continuous S-2 Glass/PEEK Composite”, the melting temperature of PEEK/S2 is 653° F) have higher melting temperatures than both the fore composite structure thermoplastic material (TC1225 of structural layer 26) and the aft composite structure thermoplastic material (TC1225 of structural layer 25) (it is noted according to attached non-patent literature to NCAMP, TC 1225 has melting temperature of 582° F).
Hardman does not disclose:
the heater is a carbon nano-tube (CNT) heater comprising a CNT layer;
wherein the thermoplastic material of the first encapsulation layer and the thermoplastic material of the second encapsulation layer is infused between the carbon nanotubes of the CNT layer forming the heating layer.
However, Hu discloses a heating element is a carbon nano-tube (CNT) heater comprising a CNT layer (CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10) (“By reducing the resistivity of CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10, film 10 becomes a suitable replacement for the alloy heating elements currently used for aircraft ice protection.”, para. 0009)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the heating layer 30 of Hardman with the CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10 as taught by Hu, because CNTs are known for their much lighter mass, thereby reduce the overall weight of the heating component significantly, which has applications in aerospace and aviation technologies (para. 0001 and “ film 10 becomes a suitable replacement for the alloy heating elements currently used for aircraft ice protection.”, para. 0009 of Hu)
Regarding the limitation “wherein the thermoplastic material of the first encapsulation layer and the thermoplastic material of the second encapsulation layer is infused between the carbon nanotubes of the CNT layer forming the heating layer.”, Hardman discloses the plurality of layers are integrally connected by fusing the layers. Specifically, the layers are heated to melt the thermoplastic matrix and apply the sufficient pressure to fuse the layers together. In this way, the heating layer 30 is embedded within the laminate between the layers 25, 26 (para. 0046 and 0017). Para. 0014 further states that the thermoplastic of each of the heater layer, the upper layer and the lower layer are fused with the thermoplastic in adjacent layers.
Hu discloses the CNT filled-thermoplastic film 10 is made of carbon nanotubes 14 (para. 0009).
The modification would result in the thermoplastic material of the first encapsulation layer and the thermoplastic material of the second encapsulation layer is infused between the carbon nanotubes of the CNT layer forming the heating layer because the thermoplastic of the layer 28 of Hardman disposed above the CNT filled-thermoplastic film 10 of Hu would fuse with the underlying thermoplastic matrix 12 of the CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10 of Hu that would result in the pliable thermoplastic of layer 28 penetrates into the gaps between the nanotubes of the CNT thermoplastic film 10. Similarly, the thermoplastic of the layer 28 of Hardman disposed below the CNT filled-thermoplastic film 10 of Hu would fuse with the overlying thermoplastic matrix 12 of the CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10 of Hu that would result in the pliable thermoplastic of layer 28 penetrates the gaps between the nanotubes of the CNT thermoplastic film 10.
Regarding Claim 2, Hardman discloses the multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10), wherein the fore and aft composite structure thermoplastic materials (thermoplastic composites i.e. TC1225 of structural layers 25, 26) are the same thermoplastic material (para. 0037).
Regarding Claim 3, Hardman discloses the multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10), wherein the aft composite structure (structural layer 25) directly contacts the second encapsulation layer (second insulation layer 28) (fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, the modification discloses the multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10 of Hardman), wherein the CNT layer (CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10 of Hu) includes carbon nano-tubes (carbon nanotubes) (para. 0009; fig. 2 of Hu).
Regarding Claim 11, Hardman discloses a method of forming a multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10 with an integrated heating assembly; fig. 1) for controlling ice accumulation on a surface of an aircraft (ice protection systems for composite aerostructures) (para. 0034 and “composite materials that incorporate an integrated heating assembly. The present invention finds particular application to the field of ice protection systems for composite aerostructures”, para. 0002), the structure comprising:
receiving a heater (heating layer 30, first insulation layer 28, and second insulation layer 28) comprising:
a heating layer (heating layer 30) forming a heating layer (heating layer 30),
a first encapsulation layer (first insulation layer 28; annotated fig. 1) disposed on a first side of the heating layer formed of a first encapsulation layer thermoplastic material (PEEK/S2, “the insulation layers are formed of PEEK/S2 fiberglass reinforced thermoplastic unidirectional tape”, para. 0052)
a second encapsulation layer (second insulation layer 28; annotated fig. 1) disposed on a second side of the heating layer formed of a second encapsulation layer thermoplastic material (PEEK/S2, “the insulation layers are formed of PEEK/S2 fiberglass reinforced thermoplastic unidirectional tape”, para. 0052);
receiving a fore composite structure (structural layer 26; annotated fig. 1) that includes a fore composite structure thermoplastic material (thermoplastic composites i.e. TC1225) (para. 0037);
disposing the fore composite structure on the first side of heater (annotated fig. 1);
receiving an aft composite structure (structural layer 25; annotated fig. 1) that includes an aft composite structure thermoplastic material (thermoplastic composites i.e. TC1225) (para. 0037);
disposing the aft composite structure disposed on the second side of heater (annotated fig. 1) to form an assembly (laminate 20) that includes the heater (heating layer 30, first insulation layer 28, and second insulation layer 28), the fore composite structure (structural layer 26) and the aft composite structure (structural layer 25) (fig. 1); and
heating the assembly (laminate 20) to at least partially melt the fore and aft composite structure thermoplastics and the first and second encapsulation layer thermoplastic bond to them assembly together (para. 0046 and 0053);
wherein the first encapsulation layer thermoplastic material (PEEK/S2 of first insulation layer 28) and the second encapsulation layer thermoplastic material (PEEK/S2 of second insulation layer 28. According to attached non-patent literature to Trelleborg, “Continuous S-2 Glass/PEEK Composite”, the melting temperature of PEEK/S2 is 653° F) have higher melting temperatures than both the fore composite structure thermoplastic material (TC1225 of structural layer 26) and the aft composite structure thermoplastic material (TC1225 of structural layer 25) (it is noted according to attached non-patent literature to NCAMP, TC 1225 has melting temperature of 582° F).
Hardman does not disclose:
the heater is a carbon nano-tube (CNT) heater comprising a CNT layer, wherein the CNT layer includes carbon nano-tubes;
melting the first encapsulation layer thermoplastic material and the second encapsulation layer thermoplastic material so that the material infuses between the carbon nanotubes of the CNT layer forming the heating layer.
However, Hu discloses a heating element is a carbon nano-tube (CNT) heater comprising a CNT layer (CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10) (“By reducing the resistivity of CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10, film 10 becomes a suitable replacement for the alloy heating elements currently used for aircraft ice protection.”, para. 0009)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the heating layer 30 of Hardman with the CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10 as taught by Hu, because CNTs are known for their much lighter mass, thereby reduce the overall weight of the heating component significantly, which has applications in aerospace and aviation technologies (para. 0001 and “ film 10 becomes a suitable replacement for the alloy heating elements currently used for aircraft ice protection.”, para. 0009 of Hu)
Regarding the limitation “melting the first encapsulation layer thermoplastic material and the second encapsulation layer thermoplastic material so that the material infuses between the carbon nanotubes of the CNT layer forming the heating layer.”, Hardman discloses the plurality of layers are integrally connected by fusing the layers. Specifically, the layers are heated to melt the thermoplastic matrix and apply the sufficient pressure to fuse the layers together. In this way, the heating layer 30 is embedded within the laminate between the layers 25, 26 (para. 0046 and 0017). Para. 0014 further states that the thermoplastic of each of the heater layer, the upper layer and the lower layer are fused with the thermoplastic in adjacent layers.
Hu discloses the CNT filled-thermoplastic film 10 is made of carbon nanotubes 14 (para. 0009).
The modification would result the method comprising melting the first encapsulation layer thermoplastic material and the second encapsulation layer thermoplastic material so that the material infuses between the carbon nanotubes of the CNT layer forming the heating layer because the thermoplastic of the layer 28 of Hardman disposed above the CNT filled-thermoplastic film 10 of Hu would fuse with the underlying thermoplastic matrix 12 of the CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10 of Hu that would result in the pliable thermoplastic of layer 28 penetrates into the gaps between the nanotubes of the CNT thermoplastic film 10. Similarly, the thermoplastic of the layer 28 of Hardman disposed below the CNT filled-thermoplastic film 10 of Hu would fuse with the overlying thermoplastic matrix 12 of the CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10 of Hu that would result in the pliable thermoplastic of layer 28 penetrates the gaps between the nanotubes of the CNT thermoplastic film 10.
Regarding Claim 12, the modification discloses the method, wherein heating includes providing heat with the CNT heater (CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10 of Hu) (“By reducing the resistivity of CNT-filled thermoplastic film 10, film 10 becomes a suitable replacement for the alloy heating elements currently used for aircraft ice protection.”, para. 0009 of Hu).
Regarding Claim 13, Hardman discloses the method, the multilayer heating structure (composite structure 10), wherein the fore and aft composite structure thermoplastic materials (thermoplastic composites i.e. TC1225 of structural layers 25, 26) are the same thermoplastic material (para. 0037).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Hardman (US 20190322375) and Hu (US 20180162077) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Jacob (US 20200189751)
Regarding Claim 4, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the aft composite structure does not directly contact the second encapsulation layer. It is noted that Hardman discloses the aft composite structure (structural layer 25) directly contacts the second encapsulation layer (second insulation layer 28) (fig. 1).
However, Jacob discloses a multilayer heating structure (multilayer structure 10), wherein an adhesive layer 22 is utilized to bond adjacent layers together (para. 0020; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multilayer heating structure of Hardman to include the adhesive layer 22 as taught by Jacob sandwiched between the structural layer 25 and the second insulation layer 28, in order to secure a strong bond using the adhesive layer 22 between the adjacent layers. The modification would result in the structure shown below:
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Hardman (US 20190322375) and Hu (US 20180162077) as applied to claim 2, further in view of Park (US 20220074898)
Regarding Claim 6, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the CNT layer further include one or more metal layers.
However, Park discloses a CNT layer (heat generating layer 500 comprising carbon nanotubes) include one or more metal layers (metal electrode 600) (para. 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CNT layer of Hardman in view of Hu to include the one or more metal layers as taught by Park, in order to apply electric energy to the metal layer and the electric energy is converted into thermal energy with high efficiency in the CNT layer (para. 0053 of Park).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but are respectfully considered moot in view of new ground of rejections.
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761