DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed November 28, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al. (US 20230328596 A1) in view of Chandramouli et al. (US 20240057139 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Qiao et al. teaches a method performed by an E2 node in a mobile communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a core network entity, a configuration update message, wherein the core network entity is an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a mobility management entity (MME) (Paragraph 302, 303, These passages disclose that a CPF comprising an AMF receives a handover request (control/configuration update message) from another core control function); transmitting, to the core network entity, a configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 286, 307, These passages show the CPF transmitting a handover acknowledgement message back to the originating CPF); wherein the E2 node component configuration includes a request part corresponding to the configuration update message and a response part corresponding to the configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 286, 302, These passages disclose a paired handover request and handover acknowledgement exchanged between control entities, establishing a request part and a corresponding response/acknowledgement part within the configuration exchange), and wherein, in case of receiving the configuration update message from the AMF via a next generation (NG) interface, the request part includes an AMF configuration update message and the response part includes an AIF configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 185, 209, 218, These passages teach that over the N2/NG interface (AP over SCTP/IP), the AMF sends a configuration/session request message to the RAN and the RAN sends a corresponding N2 response/acknowledgement).
Qiao et al. does not explicitly teach transmitting, to a near-real time (RT) radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC), a first message including an E2 node component configuration; and receiving, from the near-RT RIC, a second message corresponding to the first message.
However, Chandramouli et al. teaches transmitting, to a near-real time (RT) radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC), a first message including an E2 node component configuration (Paragraph 46, 57, 73, These passages teach that the BS (RAN node/E2 node) transmits a message to the RIC containing structured report information, which constitutes component configuration/information of the E2 node); and receiving, from the near-RT RIC, a second message corresponding to the first message (Paragraph 50, 58, 73, These passages teach that after receiving the first message (report), the RIC processes it and transmits a responsive message (assistance information) back to the BS, corresponding to the original transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, to a near-real time (RT) radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC), a first message including an E2 node component configuration; and receiving, from the near-RT RIC, a second message corresponding to the first message as taught by Chandramouli et al. in the system of Qiao et al., so that the E2 node’s existing configuration update request/acknowledgement exchange is integrated with RIC-based control and feedback to enable coordinated near-real-time RAN optimization and management.
Regarding claim 2, Qiao et al. teaches the first message is an E2 node configuration update message, and wherein the second message is an E2 node configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 301, 302, 307, 308, These passages teach a first control entity sending a configuration-related request message to a second control entity and the second control entity sending a corresponding acknowledgement message in response).
Regarding claim 3, Qiao et al. teaches wherein the AMF configuration update message includes at least one of a globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) list, a public land mobile network (PLMN) support list, or an AMF transport network layer (TNL) association list, wherein the AMF configuration update acknowledge message includes an updated AMF TNL association list, and wherein the E2 node includes an open-RAN (O-RAN) distributed unit, an O-RAN central unit - control plane (O-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (O-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (O-eNB) (Paragraph 218, 283, 284, 303, These passages teach that control-plane messages include at least one of the recited items (e.g., Serving PLMN or TNL/tunnel information) and that corresponding response messages include updated TNL/tunnel address information, and further teach RAN nodes comprising DU, CU-CP, and CU-UP (including AMF functionality)).
Regarding claim 4, Qiao et al. teaches in case of receiving the configuration update message from the MME via an S1 interface, the request part includes an MME configuration update message and the response part includes an MME configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 250, 271, 302, 308, 309, These passages teach that a first control plane function (e.g., AMF/MME) sends a configuration-related update request message containing updated parameters to a second control plane function over a core interface, and the second control plane function responds with an acknowledgement message, corresponding to a configuration update message in the request part and a configuration update acknowledge message in the response part).
Regarding claim 5, Qiao et al. teaches the MME configuration update message includes a globally unique MME identifier (ID) (GUMMEI) list, public land mobile network (PLMN) information, MME code (MMEC) information, and dedicated core network (DCN) information (Paragraph 49, 59, 77, 93, 104, 106, 117, 131, 170, These passages collectively teach that core network signaling associated with registration and mobility procedures includes uniquely identifying core network entity identifiers (GUAMI/AMF ID corresponding to GUMMEI/MMEC), explicit PLMN identifiers, and slice-/AMF-set-based core network selection information corresponding to dedicated core network information).
Regarding claim 11, Qiao et al. teaches an E2 node in a mobile communication system, the E2 node comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive, from a core network entity, a configuration update message, wherein the core network entity is an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a mobility management entity (MME) (Paragraph 302, 303, These passages disclose that a CPF comprising an AMF receives a handover request (control/configuration update message) from another core control function); transmit, to the core network entity, a configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 286, 307, These passages show the CPF transmitting a handover acknowledgement message back to the originating CPF); wherein the E2 node component configuration includes a request part corresponding to the configuration update message and a response part corresponding to the configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 286, 302, These passages disclose a paired handover request and handover acknowledgement exchanged between control entities, establishing a request part and a corresponding response/acknowledgement part within the configuration exchange), and wherein, in case of receiving the configuration update message from the AMF via a next generation (NG) interface, the request part includes an AMF configuration update message and the response part includes an AIF configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 185, 209, 218, These passages teach that over the N2/NG interface (AP over SCTP/IP), the AMF sends a configuration/session request message to the RAN and the RAN sends a corresponding N2 response/acknowledgement).
Qiao et al. does not explicitly teach transmit, to a near-real time (RT) radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC), a first message including an E2 node component configuration; and receive, from the near-RT RIC, a second message corresponding to the first message.
However, Chandramouli et al. teaches transmit, to a near-real time (RT) radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC), a first message including an E2 node component configuration (Paragraph 46, 57, 73, These passages teach that the BS (RAN node/E2 node) transmits a message to the RIC containing structured report information, which constitutes component configuration/information of the E2 node); and receive, from the near-RT RIC, a second message corresponding to the first message (Paragraph 50, 58, 73, These passages teach that after receiving the first message (report), the RIC processes it and transmits a responsive message (assistance information) back to the BS, corresponding to the original transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit, to a near-real time (RT) radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC), a first message including an E2 node component configuration; and receive, from the near-RT RIC, a second message corresponding to the first message as taught by Chandramouli et al. in the system of Qiao et al., so that the E2 node’s existing configuration update request/acknowledgement exchange is integrated with RIC-based control and feedback to enable coordinated near-real-time RAN optimization and management.
Regarding claim 12, Qiao et al. teaches the first message is an E2 node configuration update message, and wherein the second message is an E2 node configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 301, 302, 307, 308, These passages teach a first control entity sending a configuration-related request message to a second control entity and the second control entity sending a corresponding acknowledgement message in response).
Regarding claim 13, Qiao et al. teaches wherein the AMF configuration update message includes at least one of a globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) list, a public land mobile network (PLMN) support list, or an AMF transport network layer (TNL) association list, wherein the AMF configuration update acknowledge message includes an updated AMF TNL association list, and wherein the E2 node includes an open-RAN (O-RAN) distributed unit, an O- RAN central unit - control plane (O-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (O-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (O-eNB) (Paragraph 218, 283, 284, 303, These passages teach that control-plane messages include at least one of the recited items (e.g., Serving PLMN or TNL/tunnel information) and that corresponding response messages include updated TNL/tunnel address information, and further teach RAN nodes comprising DU, CU-CP, and CU-UP (including AMF functionality)).
Regarding claim 14, Qiao et al. teaches in case of receiving the configuration update message from the MME via an S1 interface, the request part includes an MME configuration update message and the response part includes an MME configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 250, 271, 302, 308, 309, These passages teach that a first control plane function (e.g., AMF/MME) sends a configuration-related update request message containing updated parameters to a second control plane function over a core interface, and the second control plane function responds with an acknowledgement message, corresponding to a configuration update message in the request part and a configuration update acknowledge message in the response part).
Regarding claim 15, Qiao et al. teaches the MME configuration update message includes a globally unique MME identifier (ID) (GUMMEI) list, public land mobile network (PLMN) information, MME code (MMEC) information, and dedicated core network (DCN) information (Paragraph 49, 59, 77, 93, 104, 106, 117, 131, 170, These passages collectively teach that core network signaling associated with registration and mobility procedures includes uniquely identifying core network entity identifiers (GUAMI/AMF ID corresponding to GUMMEI/MMEC), explicit PLMN identifiers, and slice-/AMF-set-based core network selection information corresponding to dedicated core network information).
Claims 6-10, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandramouli et al. (US 20240057139 A1) in view of Qiao et al. (US 20230328596 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Chandramouli et al. teaches a method performed by a near-real time (RT) radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) in a mobile communication system (Paragraph 29, 31, 73, These passages disclose a near-real time RIC within a mobile RAN architecture performing defined operations).
Chandramouli et al. does not explicitly teach the method comprising: receiving, from an E2 node via an E2 interface, a first message including an E2 node component configuration; and transmitting, to an E2 node via the E2 interface, a second message corresponding to the first message, wherein the E2 node component configuration includes a request part corresponding to a configuration update message received at the E2 node for a core network entity and a response part corresponding to a configuration update acknowledge message transmitted from the E2 node to the core network entity, the core network entity being an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a mobility management entity (MME), and wherein, in case of the configuration update message received at the E2 node from the AMF via a next generation (NG) interface, the request part includes an AMF configuration update message and the response part includes an AMF configuration update acknowledge message.
However, Qiao et al. teaches the method comprising: receiving, from an E2 node via an E2 interface, a first message including an E2 node component configuration (Paragraph 302, 303, 304, These passages disclose a control-plane function receiving a message from another node, where the message includes configuration information (e.g., SDAP/PDCP configuration)); and transmitting, to an E2 node via the E2 interface, a second message corresponding to the first message (Paragraph 306, 307, 308, These passages teach that after receiving a request message, the control-plane function transmits a corresponding acknowledgement or response message to the originating node), wherein the E2 node component configuration includes a request part corresponding to a configuration update message received at the E2 node for a core network entity and a response part corresponding to a configuration update acknowledge message transmitted from the E2 node to the core network entity (Paragraph 241, 245, 250, These passages disclose a request message sent to another network entity and a corresponding response/acknowledgement message returned, corresponding to configuration update and configuration update acknowledge message parts), the core network entity being an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a mobility management entity (MME) (Paragraph 34, 37, These passages explicitly identify AMF and MME as core network entities responsible for mobility and access management functions), and wherein, in case of the configuration update message received at the E2 node from the AMF via a next generation (NG) interface, the request part includes an AMF configuration update message and the response part includes an AMF configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 208, 209, These passages disclose bidirectional AMF–RAN signaling over the NG/N2 interface with a request and corresponding response message, corresponding to an AMF configuration update message and an AMF configuration update acknowledge message exchanged via NG interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method comprising: receiving, from an E2 node via an E2 interface, a first message including an E2 node component configuration; and transmitting, to an E2 node via the E2 interface, a second message corresponding to the first message, wherein the E2 node component configuration includes a request part corresponding to a configuration update message received at the E2 node for a core network entity and a response part corresponding to a configuration update acknowledge message transmitted from the E2 node to the core network entity, the core network entity being an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a mobility management entity (MME), and wherein, in case of the configuration update message received at the E2 node from the AMF via a next generation (NG) interface, the request part includes an AMF configuration update message and the response part includes an AMF configuration update acknowledge message as taught by Qiao et al. in the system of Chandramouli et al., so that it would enable the RIC to consistently manage and reflect core network configuration updates through standardized E2 messaging to improve coordination, interoperability, and reliability between the RAN and core network entities.
Regarding claim 7, Chandramouli et al. does not explicitly teach the first message is an E2 node configuration update message, and wherein the second message is an E2 node configuration update acknowledge message.
However, Qiao et al. teaches the first message is an E2 node configuration update message, and wherein the second message is an E2 node configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 301, 302, 307, 308, These passages teach a first control entity sending a configuration-related request message to a second control entity and the second control entity sending a corresponding acknowledgement message in response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first message is an E2 node configuration update message, and wherein the second message is an E2 node configuration update acknowledge message as taught by Qiao et al. in the system of Chandramouli et al., so that it would enable standardized configuration signaling with explicit acknowledgement between E2 control entities to ensure reliable application of configuration updates.
Regarding claim 8, Chandramouli et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the AMF configuration update message includes at least one of a globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) list, a public land mobile network (PLMN) support list, or an AMF transport network layer (TNL) association list, wherein the AMF configuration update acknowledge message includes an updated AMF TNL association list, and wherein an E2 node includes an open-RAN (O-RAN) distributed unit, an O- RAN central unit - control plane (O-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (O-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (O-eNB).
However, Qiao et al. teaches wherein the AMF configuration update message includes at least one of a globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) list, a public land mobile network (PLMN) support list, or an AMF transport network layer (TNL) association list, wherein the AMF configuration update acknowledge message includes an updated AMF TNL association list, and wherein an E2 node includes an open-RAN (O-RAN) distributed unit, an O- RAN central unit - control plane (O-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (O-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (O-eNB) (Paragraph 218, 283, 284, 303, These passages teach that control-plane messages include at least one of the recited items (e.g., Serving PLMN or TNL/tunnel information) and that corresponding response messages include updated TNL/tunnel address information, and further teach RAN nodes comprising DU, CU-CP, and CU-UP (including AMF functionality)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the AMF configuration update message includes at least one of a globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) list, a public land mobile network (PLMN) support list, or an AMF transport network layer (TNL) association list, wherein the AMF configuration update acknowledge message includes an updated AMF TNL association list, and wherein an E2 node includes an open-RAN (O-RAN) distributed unit, an O- RAN central unit - control plane (O-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (O-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (O-eNB) as taught by Qiao et al. in the system of Chandramouli et al., so that it would enable standardized and interoperable AMF configuration exchange and acknowledgment within an O-RAN-based architecture to ensure accurate and updated control-plane connectivity information across network functions.
Regarding claim 9, Chandramouli et al. does not explicitly teach in case of an S1 interface, the request part includes an MME configuration update message and the response part includes an MME configuration update acknowledge message.
However, Qiao et al. teaches in case of an S1 interface, the request part includes an MME configuration update message and the response part includes an MME configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 250, 271, 302, 308, 309, These passages teach that a first control plane function (e.g., AMF/MME) sends a configuration-related update request message containing updated parameters to a second control plane function over a core interface, and the second control plane function responds with an acknowledgement message, corresponding to a configuration update message in the request part and a configuration update acknowledge message in the response part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in case of an S1 interface, the request part includes an MME configuration update message and the response part includes an MME configuration update acknowledge message as taught by Qiao et al. in the system of Chandramouli et al., so that it would ensure standardized bidirectional configuration update signaling over the S1 interface and improve interoperability and reliability between control plane network functions.
Regarding claim 10, Chandramouli et al. does not explicitly teach the MME configuration update message includes a globally unique MME identifier (ID) (GUMMEI) list, public land mobile network (PLMN) information, MME code (MMEC) information, and dedicated core network (DCN) information.
However, Qiao et al. teaches the MME configuration update message includes a globally unique MME identifier (ID) (GUMMEI) list, public land mobile network (PLMN) information, MME code (MMEC) information, and dedicated core network (DCN) information (Paragraph 49, 59, 77, 93, 104, 106, 117, 131, 170, These passages collectively teach that core network signaling associated with registration and mobility procedures includes uniquely identifying core network entity identifiers (GUAMI/AMF ID corresponding to GUMMEI/MMEC), explicit PLMN identifiers, and slice-/AMF-set-based core network selection information corresponding to dedicated core network information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the MME configuration update message includes a globally unique MME identifier (ID) (GUMMEI) list, public land mobile network (PLMN) information, MME code (MMEC) information, and dedicated core network (DCN) information as taught by Qiao et al. in the system of Chandramouli et al., so that it would enable consistent and interoperable identification, selection, and management of core network entities and dedicated core networks during registration and mobility procedures.
Regarding claim 16, Chandramouli et al. teaches a near-real time (RT) radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) in a mobile communication system (Paragraph 29, 31, 73, These passages disclose a near-real time RIC within a mobile RAN architecture performing defined operations).
Chandramouli et al. does not explicitly teach the near-RT RIC comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive, from an E2 node via an E2 interface, a first message including an E2 node component configuration; and transmit, to an E2 node via the E2 interface, a second message corresponding to the first message, wherein the E2 node component configuration includes a request part corresponding to a configuration update message received at the E2 node for a core network entity and a response part corresponding to a configuration update acknowledge message transmitted from the E2 node to the core network entity, the core network entity being an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a mobility management entity (MME), and wherein, in case of the configuration update message received at the E2 node from the AMF via a next generation (NG) interface, the request part includes an AMF configuration update message and the response part includes an AMF configuration update acknowledge message.
However, Qiao et al. teaches the near-RT RIC comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive, from an E2 node via an E2 interface, a first message including an E2 node component configuration (Paragraph 302, 303, 304, These passages disclose a control-plane function receiving a message from another node, where the message includes configuration information (e.g., SDAP/PDCP configuration)); and transmit, to an E2 node via the E2 interface, a second message corresponding to the first message (Paragraph 306, 307, 308, These passages teach that after receiving a request message, the control-plane function transmits a corresponding acknowledgement or response message to the originating node), wherein the E2 node component configuration includes a request part corresponding to a configuration update message received at the E2 node for a core network entity and a response part corresponding to a configuration update acknowledge message transmitted from the E2 node to the core network entity (Paragraph 241, 245, 250, These passages disclose a request message sent to another network entity and a corresponding response/acknowledgement message returned, corresponding to configuration update and configuration update acknowledge message parts), the core network entity being an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a mobility management entity (MME) (Paragraph 34, 37, These passages explicitly identify AMF and MME as core network entities responsible for mobility and access management functions), and wherein, in case of the configuration update message received at the E2 node from the AMF via a next generation (NG) interface, the request part includes an AMF configuration update message and the response part includes an AMF configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 208, 209, These passages disclose bidirectional AMF–RAN signaling over the NG/N2 interface with a request and corresponding response message, corresponding to an AMF configuration update message and an AMF configuration update acknowledge message exchanged via NG interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the near-RT RIC comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive, from an E2 node via an E2 interface, a first message including an E2 node component configuration; and transmit, to an E2 node via the E2 interface, a second message corresponding to the first message, wherein the E2 node component configuration includes a request part corresponding to a configuration update message received at the E2 node for a core network entity and a response part corresponding to a configuration update acknowledge message transmitted from the E2 node to the core network entity, the core network entity being an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a mobility management entity (MME), and wherein, in case of the configuration update message received at the E2 node from the AMF via a next generation (NG) interface, the request part includes an AMF configuration update message and the response part includes an AMF configuration update acknowledge message as taught by Qiao et al. in the system of Chandramouli et al., so that it would enable the RIC to consistently manage and reflect core network configuration updates through standardized E2 messaging to improve coordination, interoperability, and reliability between the RAN and core network entities.
Regarding claim 17, Chandramouli et al. does not explicitly teach the first message is an E2 node configuration update message, and wherein the second message is an E2 node configuration update acknowledge message.
However, Qiao et al. teaches the first message is an E2 node configuration update message, and wherein the second message is an E2 node configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 301, 302, 307, 308, These passages teach a first control entity sending a configuration-related request message to a second control entity and the second control entity sending a corresponding acknowledgement message in response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first message is an E2 node configuration update message, and wherein the second message is an E2 node configuration update acknowledge message as taught by Qiao et al. in the system of Chandramouli et al., so that it would enable standardized configuration signaling with explicit acknowledgement between E2 control entities to ensure reliable application of configuration updates.
Regarding claim 18, Chandramouli et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the AMF configuration update message includes at least one of a globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) list, a public land mobile network (PLMN) support list, or an AMF transport network layer (TNL) association list, wherein the AMF configuration update acknowledge message includes an updated AMF TNL association list, and wherein an E2 node includes an open-RAN (O-RAN) distributed unit, an O-RAN central unit - control plane (O-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (O-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (O-eNB).
However, Qiao et al. teaches wherein the AMF configuration update message includes at least one of a globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) list, a public land mobile network (PLMN) support list, or an AMF transport network layer (TNL) association list, wherein the AMF configuration update acknowledge message includes an updated AMF TNL association list, and wherein an E2 node includes an open-RAN (O-RAN) distributed unit, an O-RAN central unit - control plane (O-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (O-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (O-eNB) (Paragraph 218, 283, 284, 303, These passages teach that control-plane messages include at least one of the recited items (e.g., Serving PLMN or TNL/tunnel information) and that corresponding response messages include updated TNL/tunnel address information, and further teach RAN nodes comprising DU, CU-CP, and CU-UP (including AMF functionality)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the AMF configuration update message includes at least one of a globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) list, a public land mobile network (PLMN) support list, or an AMF transport network layer (TNL) association list, wherein the AMF configuration update acknowledge message includes an updated AMF TNL association list, and wherein an E2 node includes an open-RAN (O-RAN) distributed unit, an O- RAN central unit - control plane (O-CU-CP), an O-RAN central unit - user plane (O-CU-UP), or an O-RAN eNodeB (O-eNB) as taught by Qiao et al. in the system of Chandramouli et al., so that it would enable standardized and interoperable AMF configuration exchange and acknowledgment within an O-RAN-based architecture to ensure accurate and updated control-plane connectivity information across network functions.
Regarding claim 19, Chandramouli et al. does not explicitly teach in case of an S1 interface, the request part includes a mobility management entity (MME) configuration update message and the response part includes an MME configuration update acknowledge message.
However, Qiao et al. teaches in case of an S1 interface, the request part includes a mobility management entity (MME) configuration update message and the response part includes an MME configuration update acknowledge message (Paragraph 250, 271, 302, 308, 309, These passages teach that a first control plane function (e.g., AMF/MME) sends a configuration-related update request message containing updated parameters to a second control plane function over a core interface, and the second control plane function responds with an acknowledgement message, corresponding to a configuration update message in the request part and a configuration update acknowledge message in the response part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in case of an S1 interface, the request part includes a mobility management entity (MME) configuration update message and the response part includes an MME configuration update acknowledge message as taught by Qiao et al. in the system of Chandramouli et al., so that it would ensure standardized bidirectional configuration update signaling over the S1 interface and improve interoperability and reliability between control plane network functions.
Regarding claim 20, Chandramouli et al. does not explicitly teach the MME configuration update message includes a globally unique MME identifier (ID) (GUMMEI) list, public land mobile network (PLMN) information, MME code (MMEC) information, and dedicated core network (DCN) information.
However, Qiao et al. teaches the MME configuration update message includes a globally unique MME identifier (ID) (GUMMEI) list, public land mobile network (PLMN) information, MME code (MMEC) information, and dedicated core network (DCN) information (Paragraph 49, 59, 77, 93, 104, 106, 117, 131, 170, These passages collectively teach that core network signaling associated with registration and mobility procedures includes uniquely identifying core network entity identifiers (GUAMI/AMF ID corresponding to GUMMEI/MMEC), explicit PLMN identifiers, and slice-/AMF-set-based core network selection information corresponding to dedicated core network information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the MME configuration update message includes a globally unique MME identifier (ID) (GUMMEI) list, public land mobile network (PLMN) information, MME code (MMEC) information, and dedicated core network (DCN) information as taught by Qiao et al. in the system of Chandramouli et al., so that it would enable consistent and interoperable identification, selection, and management of core network entities and dedicated core networks during registration and mobility procedures.
Allowable Subject Matter
Based on the specification, the applicant could further emphasize the novelty by adding concepts directed to aggregating and encapsulating multiple core-network-related request and response message pairs (e.g., NG SETUP, S1AP SETUP, AMF/MME CONFIGURATION UPDATE, RAN CONFIGURATION UPDATE, X2/XN SETUP) into a single E2 SETUP message or E2 NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE message transmitted to the near-RT RIC, including explicitly supporting transmission of a plurality of response messages corresponding to a single transmitted request message. The claim could additionally recite that the E2 node transmits request messages to a plurality of network entities (e.g., AMF, MME, or other core/RAN entities), collects corresponding response messages, and packages both the original request and multiple associated responses into a unified E2 message for centralized processing at the RIC. Further concepts that could be incorporated include delivering detailed RAN configuration information—such as serving cell information, neighbor cell information, GUAMI information, supported PLMN information, and slice information—concurrently with E2 setup or configuration update procedures to enable near-real-time call processing and radio resource management functions at the RIC. The applicant could also clarify that the E2 message supplements or extends standard O-RAN E2 SETUP and E2 CONFIGURATION UPDATE procedures to efficiently transmit response messages corresponding to prior core-network signaling, thereby reducing signaling exchanges and improving control centralization. Finally, the claim could incorporate the concept that the near-RT RIC generates subscription request messages and configures call processing events based on the aggregated configuration information received from the E2 node, thereby highlighting coordinated RIC-driven control enabled by the enhanced E2 messaging framework.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eklöf et al. (US 20230388830 A1)
Teyeb et al. (US 20230328604 A1)
Kumar et al. (US 20240121596 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464