DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai (US 2017/0288890 A1) in view of Lai (US 2017/0230484 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chai discloses a method comprising: discovering by a first network router in a network of routers associated with a provider network a network address translation service available at one or more second network routers (paragraph [0015]; [0035]; [0083]-[0085]; and so on, illustrating finding network multicast group address for switching a default MDT to data MDT); and selecting the network address translation service at one of the one or more second network routers (paragraph [0024]; [0045]; [0113], describing the network multicast group address is selected from network multicast group addresses), the network address translation service allowing creation of a dynamic data Multicast Distribution Tree (MDT), wherein after creation of the dynamic data MDT, the first network router remains on a default while at least a number of the one or more second network routers receive data flows over a data MDT (paragraph [0014]-[0024]; [0026]-[0041]; [0045]-[0052]; [0086]-[0076]; [0078]-[0080]; [0084]-[0085]; [0089]-[0090]; [0101]; [0106]; [0108]-[0119]; [0122], explaining based on the network multicast group address, due to switching, the first PE router remains on default MDT while the other routers receive the dynamic data flows over a data MDT).
Chai doesn’t disclose the network address translation service is available at the one or more second network routers according to configuration, capability, or policy that may differ among the one or more second network routers.
Lai teaches the network address translation service is available at the one or more second network routers according to configuration, capability, or policy that may differ among the one or more second network routers (paragraph [0019]-[0020]; [0028]; [0035]; [0042]; [0048]; [0054]-[0056]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the network address translation service is available at the one or more second network routers according to configuration, capability, or policy that may differ among the one or more second network routers as taught by Lai into Chai in order to reduce communication failure and improve rate.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the claims include features identical to subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding a network device and a non-transitory computer-readable medium, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2, 9, and 16, Chai discloses wherein the discovering is based on a Protocol-Independent Multicast (PIM) flooding mechanism (paragraph [0016]; [0022]-[0024]; [0033]-[0034]; [0043]-[0048]; [0070]-[0071]; [0074]-[0075]; [0085]; and so on).
Regarding claim 7 and 14, Chai discloses wherein the first network router is in a path of a third network router, the third network router receiving data flows over the data MDT (fig. 1).
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Lai, and further in view of Kumar et al. (US 10,608,931 B1).
Regarding claim 3, 10, and 17, as applied above, Chai discloses wherein the network translation service is discovered. However, Chai doesn’t disclose the discovery is in response to one or more probes initiated by the first network router.
Kumar teaches the discovery is in response to one or more probes initiated by the first network router (col. 1, line 45-col. 2, line 29; col. 3, lines 29-50; col. 4, lines 48-67; col. 9, line 38-col. 10, line 21; col. 12, line 56-col. 13, line 33; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the discovery is in response to one or more probes initiated by the first network router as taught by Kumar into Chai in order to improve quality of service.
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Lai, and further in view of Dutta (US 2022/0060412 A1).
Regarding claim 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19, as applied above Chai one or the one or more second network routers. However, Chai doesn’t disclose further comprising: sending a request to the one or the one or more second network routers selected to install multicast network access translation entries, and wherein the request is sent in a Protocol-Independent Multicast (PIM) join message.
Dutta teaches further comprising: sending a request to the one or the one or more second network routers selected to install multicast network access translation entries, and wherein the request is sent in a Protocol-Independent Multicast (PIM) join message (paragraph [0063]-[0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use further comprising: sending a request to the one or the one or more second network routers selected to install multicast network access translation entries, and wherein the request is sent in a Protocol-Independent Multicast (PIM) join message as taught by Dutta into Chai in order to reduce interference and increase efficiency.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Lai, and further in view of Liu et (US 2014/0241357 A1).
Regarding claim 6, 13, and 20, Chai further discloses comprising: the first network router having a first component and a second component (figs. 4-5). Chai doesn’t disclose generating an entry at the first network router having a first component and a second component, the first component being an identification of the one of the one or more second network routers selected, the second component being a new group in Source-Specific Multicast (SSM) range to identify the entry.
Liu teaches generating an entry at the first network router having a first component and a second component, the first component being an identification of the one of the one or more second network routers selected, the second component being a new group in Source-Specific Multicast (SSM) range to identify the entry (paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use generating an entry at the first network router having a first component and a second component, the first component being an identification of the one of the one or more second network routers selected, the second component being a new group in Source-Specific Multicast (SSM) range to identify the entry as taught by Dutta into Chai in order to improve security.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461