CTNF 18/168,148 CTNF 101426 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-27 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022/021454 , filed on 02/15/2022 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1–4, 6–8, 10–12, 14–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mjuica-Fernaud et al. (US 2014/0361224 A1, hereafter “Mjuica”) . Regarding Claim 1, 3, 15, and 16 , Mjuica teaches compounds of Formula (1) wherein A-A is represented by Formula (2) [0008] – [0010], exemplified by Compound DAB4 [Table 3] (shown below). Additionally, Mjuica teaches the organic light-emitting device E8 which comprises Compound DAB4 in the light emitting layer [Table 1]. Compound DAB4 reads on Formula (1) and Formula (2), PNG media_image1.png 224 204 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 137 124 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 293 403 media_image3.png Greyscale wherein: Y is NR 2 L 1 is a 6-atom divalent aromatic ring system (phenylene), Ar 1 is a heteroaryl group having 6 aromatic ring atoms (pyrimidine), L 2 is a single bond, Ar 2 is an aryl group having 12 aromatic ring atoms (biphenyl), R 2 is a 6-atom aromatic ring system (phenyl), A-A is represented by Ar 3 wherein Ar 3 represents a 6-atom aryl group (benzene). However, Compound 41 does not read on Applicant’s Formula [1] because Ar 3 is represented by a benzene group instead of a benzothiophene group. Mjuica further teaches that Ar 3 is preferably a benzene, pyridine, pyrimidine, pyridazine, pyrazine, furan, thiophene, pyrrole, naphthalene, phenanthrene, quinoline, isoquinoline, quinoxaline, indole, benzofuran, or benzothiophene [0028]. Mjuica also teaches when compounds of present disclosure are used as matrix materials, the resulting organic light emitting device has significantly better efficiencies and lifetimes [0093] – [0096]. Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Mjuica, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute benzene for benzothiophene in Compound DAB4, because Mjuica teaches the variable may preferably be selected as benzene, pyridine, pyrimidine, pyridazine, pyrazine, furan, thiophene, pyrrole, naphthalene, phenanthrene, quinoline, isoquinoline, quinoxaline, indole, benzofuran, or benzothiophene. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as a matrix material in the emission layer of the organic light emitting diode of Mjuica and possess the benefits taught by Mjuica. See MPEP 2143.I.(B). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound DAB4 by substituting benzene for benzothiophene, because it would have been choosing between benzene, pyridine, pyrimidine, pyridazine, pyrazine, furan, thiophene, pyrrole, naphthalene, phenanthrene, quinoline, isoquinoline, quinoxaline, indole, benzofuran, or benzothiophene, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the matrix material in the emission layer of the organic light emitting device of Mjuica and possessing the benefits taught by Mjuica. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula (1) and additional devices comprising compounds of Formula (1) having the benefits taught by Mjuica in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E). Per Claim 1 , the modified version of Compound DAB4, hereafter “Compound 1”, wherein benzene is substituted for benzothiophene, as described above, reads on Applicant’s General Formula [1] (shown below), PNG media_image4.png 212 535 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image5.png 419 393 media_image5.png Greyscale wherein: R 1 to R 8 are each a hydrogen atom, Ar 1 and Ar 4 are each an aryl group (phenyl) substituted with a heteroaryl group (pyrimidine), Ar 2 and Ar 3 are each an aryl group (phenyl), L is an arylene group (biphenylene), X is a sulfur. Per Claim 3 , Compound 1 reads on Applicant’s General Formula [3-3] (shown below), wherein Y 1 , Y 2 , Y 4 , Y 6 , Y 7 , Y 10 , and Y 11 are each C(A) wherein A is a hydrogen atom. Per Claims 15 and 16 , the organic light emitting device of E8 comprising Compound 1, as described above, reads on Applicant’s limitation since the organic light emitting device comprises an anode, a hole transport layer, an interlayer, an electron-blocking layer, an emission layer, an electron-transport layer, and a cathode [0129]. The emission layer comprises Compound 1, as described above. Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 6 , Compound 1 does not read on Applicant’s General Formula [2-1] and General Formula [6] because it does not comprise a central benzene group. Mjuica also teaches Structure (1) [pg. 6] wherein Ar 2 is represented by a benzene. Mjuica further teaches Ar 2 is preferably a benzene , pyridine, pyrimidine, pyridazine, pyrazine, triazine, pyrrole, thiophene, furan, imidazole, indole, benzothiophene, benzofuran, benzoimidazole, carbazole, dibenzofuran, or dibenzothiophene [0035]. Mjuica also teaches when compounds of present disclosure are used as matrix materials, the resulting organic light emitting device has significantly better efficiencies and lifetimes [0093] – [0096]. PNG media_image1.png 224 204 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image6.png 373 210 media_image6.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 1 by changing the biphenylene to a phenylene, because it would have been choosing between the options listed for Ar 2 [0035], which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the matrix material in the emission layer of the organic light emitting device of Mjuica and possessing the benefits taught by Mjuica. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula (1) and additional devices comprising compounds of Formula (1) having the benefits taught by Mjuica in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E). Per Claim 1 , the modified version of Compound 1, as described above, hereafter “Compound 2”, reads on Applicant’s General Formula [1] (shown below), PNG media_image4.png 212 535 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image7.png 310 256 media_image7.png Greyscale wherein: R 1 to R 8 are each a hydrogen atom, Ar 1 and Ar 4 are each an aryl group (phenyl) substituted with a heteroaryl group (pyrimidine), Ar 2 and Ar 3 are each an aryl group (phenyl), L is an arylene group (phenylene), X is a sulfur. Per Claim 2 , Compound 2 reads on Applicant’s General Formula [2-1] (shown below), wherein Y 1 , Y 2 , Y 4 , and Y 5 are each C(A) wherein A is a hydrogen atom. PNG media_image8.png 161 326 media_image8.png Greyscale PNG media_image7.png 310 256 media_image7.png Greyscale Per Claim 6 , Compound 2 reads on Applicant’s General Formula [6] (shown below), wherein R 9 to R 12 are each a hydrogen atom. PNG media_image9.png 163 355 media_image9.png Greyscale PNG media_image7.png 310 256 media_image7.png Greyscale Regarding Claims 1 and 7 , Compound 2 does not read on Applicant’s General Formula [7] because Compound 2 comprises a benzothiophene instead of a benzofuran. However, Mjuica teaches that Ar 3 is preferably a benzene, pyridine, pyrimidine, pyridazine, pyrazine, furan, thiophene, pyrrole, naphthalene, phenanthrene, quinoline, isoquinoline, quinoxaline, indole, benzofuran , or benzothiophene [0028]. Mjuica also teaches when compounds of present disclosure are used as matrix materials, the resulting organic light emitting device has significantly better efficiencies and lifetimes [0093] – [0096]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 2 by changing Ar 3 from benzothiophene to benzofuran, because it would have been choosing between the options listed for Ar 3 [0028], which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the matrix material in the emission layer of the organic light emitting device of Mjuica and possessing the benefits taught by Mjuica. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula (1) and additional devices comprising compounds of Formula (1) having the benefits taught by Mjuica in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E). Per Claim 1 , the modified version of Compound 2, as described above, hereafter “Compound 3”, reads on Applicant’s General Formula [1] (shown below), PNG media_image4.png 212 535 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image10.png 441 375 media_image10.png Greyscale wherein: R 1 to R 8 are each a hydrogen atom, Ar 1 and Ar 4 are each an aryl group (phenyl) substituted with a heteroaryl group (pyrimidine), Ar 2 and Ar 3 are each an aryl group (phenyl), L is an arylene group (phenylene), X is an oxygen. Per Claim 7 , Compound 3 reads on Applicant’s General Formula [7] (shown below), wherein R 9 to R 12 are each a hydrogen atom. PNG media_image11.png 180 401 media_image11.png Greyscale PNG media_image12.png 441 375 media_image12.png Greyscale Regarding Claims 1 and 8 , Compound 2 does not read on Applicant’s General Formula [8] because Compound 2 comprises a benzothiophene instead of a indole. However, Mjuica teaches that Ar 3 is preferably a benzene, pyridine, pyrimidine, pyridazine, pyrazine, furan, thiophene, pyrrole, naphthalene, phenanthrene, quinoline, isoquinoline, quinoxaline, indole , benzofuran, or benzothiophene [0028]. Mjuica also teaches when compounds of present disclosure are used as matrix materials, the resulting organic light emitting device has significantly better efficiencies and lifetimes [0093] – [0096]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 2 by changing Ar 3 from benzothiophene to indole, because it would have been choosing between the options listed for Ar 3 [0028], which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the matrix material in the emission layer of the organic light emitting device of Mjuica and possessing the benefits taught by Mjuica. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula (1) and additional devices comprising compounds of Formula (1) having the benefits taught by Mjuica in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E). Per Claim 1 , the modified version of Compound 2, as described above, hereafter “Compound 4”, reads on Applicant’s General Formula [1] (shown below), PNG media_image4.png 212 535 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image13.png 446 375 media_image13.png Greyscale wherein: R 1 to R 8 are each a hydrogen atom, Ar 1 and Ar 4 are each an aryl group (phenyl) substituted with a heteroaryl group (pyrimidine), Ar 2 and Ar 3 are each an aryl group (phenyl), L is an arylene group (phenylene), X is an N(Z) wherein Z is a hydrogen atom. Per Claim 8 , Compound 4 reads on Applicant’s General Formula [8] (shown below), wherein R 9 to R 12 are each a hydrogen atom. PNG media_image14.png 173 399 media_image14.png Greyscale PNG media_image13.png 446 375 media_image13.png Greyscale Regarding Claims 1 and 10 , Compound 2 does not read on Applicant’s General Formula [10] because Compound 2 does not comprise a pyrazine. However, Mjuica teaches Structure (48) [pg. 15] wherein Ar 2 is represented by a pyrazine. Mjuica further teaches Ar 2 is preferably a benzene, pyridine, pyrimidine, pyridazine, pyrazine , triazine, pyrrole, thiophene, furan, imidazole, indole, benzothiophene, benzofuran, benzoimidazole, carbazole, dibenzofuran, or dibenzothiophene [0035]. Mjuica also teaches when compounds of present disclosure are used as matrix materials, the resulting organic light emitting device has significantly better efficiencies and lifetimes [0093] – [0096]. PNG media_image1.png 224 204 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image15.png 417 184 media_image15.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 2 by changing the benzene to a pyrazine, because it would have been choosing between the options listed for Ar 2 [0035], which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the matrix material in the emission layer of the organic light emitting device of Mjuica and possessing the benefits taught by Mjuica. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula (1) and additional devices comprising compounds of Formula (1) having the benefits taught by Mjuica in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E). Per Claim 1 , the modified version of Compound 2, as described above, hereafter “Compound 5”, reads on Applicant’s General Formula [1] (shown below), PNG media_image4.png 212 535 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image16.png 440 377 media_image16.png Greyscale wherein: R 1 to R 8 are each a hydrogen atom, Ar 1 and Ar 4 are each an aryl group (phenyl) substituted with a heteroaryl group (pyrimidine), Ar 2 and Ar 3 are each an aryl group (phenyl), L is a heteroarylene group (pyrazinylene), X is a sulfur. Per Claim 10 , Compound 5 reads on Applicant’s General Formula [10] (shown below), wherein R 13 to R 14 are each a hydrogen atom. PNG media_image17.png 182 405 media_image17.png Greyscale PNG media_image16.png 440 377 media_image16.png Greyscale Regarding Claims 1, 4, and 12, Compound 2 does not read on Applicant’s General Formula [12] because Compound 2 does not comprise a terphenyl. However, Mjuica teaches Structure (46) [pg. 15] wherein Ar 2 is represented by three benzene rings bonded together resulting in a terphenyl. Mjuica further teaches Ar 2 is preferably a benzene , pyridine, pyrimidine, pyridazine, pyrazine, triazine, pyrrole, thiophene, furan, imidazole, indole, benzothiophene, benzofuran, benzoimidazole, carbazole, dibenzofuran, or dibenzothiophene [0035]. Mjuica also teaches when compounds of present disclosure are used as matrix materials, the resulting organic light emitting device has significantly better efficiencies and lifetimes [0093] – [0096]. PNG media_image1.png 224 204 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image18.png 413 155 media_image18.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 2 by changing the benzene to a terphenyl, because it would have been choosing between the options listed for Ar 2 [0035], which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the matrix material in the emission layer of the organic light emitting device of Mjuica and possessing the benefits taught by Mjuica. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula (1) and additional devices comprising compounds of Formula (1) having the benefits taught by Mjuica in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E). Given the general formula and teachings of Mjuica, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of Compound 2 as modified above wherein all the benzene rings in the terphenyl are para to each other. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce additional positional isomers of the compound represented by Compound 2 as modified above in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as matrix material in the emission layer of the organic light emitting device of Mjuica and possess the properties taught by Mjuica. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II. Per Claim 1 , the modified version of Compound 2, hereafter “Compound 6”, as described above, reads on Applicant’s General Formula [1] (shown below), PNG media_image4.png 212 535 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image19.png 419 252 media_image19.png Greyscale wherein: R 1 to R 8 are each a hydrogen atom, Ar 1 and Ar 4 are each an aryl group (phenyl) substituted with a heteroaryl group (pyrimidine), Ar 2 and Ar 3 are each an aryl group (phenyl), L is an arylene group (terphenyl), X is a sulfur. Per Claim 4 , Compound 6 reads on Applicant’s General Formula [4-1] (shown below), wherein Y 1 , Y 2 , Y 4 , Y 5 , Y 6 , Y 7 , Y 10 , Y 11 , Y 13 , Y 14 , Y 16 , and Y 17 are each C(A) wherein A is a hydrogen atom. PNG media_image20.png 152 544 media_image20.png Greyscale PNG media_image19.png 419 252 media_image19.png Greyscale Per Claim 12 , Compound 6 reads on Applicant’s General Formula [12] (shown below), wherein R 23 to R 34 are each a hydrogen atom. PNG media_image21.png 174 546 media_image21.png Greyscale PNG media_image19.png 419 252 media_image19.png Greyscale Regarding Claims 1 and 14 , Compound 2 does not read on Applicant’s General Formula [14] because Compound 2 does not comprise a fluorene group. However, Mjuica teaches Structure (43) [pg. 14] wherein Ar 2 is represented by a fluorene group. Mjuica also teaches when compounds of present disclosure are used as matrix materials, the resulting organic light emitting device has significantly better efficiencies and lifetimes [0093] – [0096]. PNG media_image1.png 224 204 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image22.png 397 299 media_image22.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 2 by changing the benzene to a fluorene, because it would have been choosing between the options within the exemplified compounds taught by Mjuica [0061], which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the matrix material in the emission layer of the organic light emitting device of Mjuica and possessing the benefits taught by Mjuica. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula (1) and additional devices comprising compounds of Formula (1) having the benefits taught by Mjuica in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E). Per Claim 1 , the modified version of Compound 2, hereafter “Compound 7”, as described above, reads on Applicant’s General Formula [1] (shown below), PNG media_image4.png 212 535 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image23.png 472 326 media_image23.png Greyscale wherein: R 1 to R 8 are each a hydrogen atom, Ar 1 and Ar 4 are each an aryl group (phenyl) substituted with a heteroaryl group (pyrimidine), Ar 2 and Ar 3 are each an aryl group (phenyl), L is an arylene group (fluorene), X is a sulfur. Per Claim 14 , Compound 6 reads on Applicant’s General Formula [4-1] (shown below), wherein Y 4 , and Y 11 are each C(A) wherein A is a hydrogen atom. R 41 to R 44 are each a hydrogen. W 3 and W 4 are each an alkyl group (methyl). PNG media_image24.png 176 479 media_image24.png Greyscale PNG media_image23.png 472 326 media_image23.png Greyscale Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Compound 1 does not read on Applicant’s General Formula [11] because the benzenes in the biphenyl of Compound 1 are not para to each other. However, Mjuica teaches Structure (41) [pg. 14] wherein Ar 2 is represented by biphenyl wherein the benzene rings are bonded para to each other. Mjuica also teaches when compounds of present disclosure are used as matrix materials, the resulting organic light emitting device has significantly better efficiencies and lifetimes [0093] – [0096]. PNG media_image1.png 224 204 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image25.png 358 323 media_image25.png Greyscale Given the general formula and teachings of Mjuica, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of Compound 1 as modified above wherein all the benzene rings in the biphenyl are para to each other. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce additional positional isomers of the compound represented by Compound 1 as modified above in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as matrix material in the emission layer of the organic light emitting device of Mjuica and possess the properties taught by Mjuica. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II. Per Claim 1 , the modified version of Compound 1, as described above, hereafter “Compound 8”, reads on Applicant’s General Formula [1] (shown below), PNG media_image4.png 212 535 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image26.png 468 335 media_image26.png Greyscale wherein: R 1 to R 8 are each a hydrogen atom, Ar 1 and Ar 4 are each an aryl group (phenyl) substituted with a heteroaryl group (pyrimidine), Ar 2 and Ar 3 are each an aryl group (phenyl), L is an arylene group (biphenylene), X is a sulfur. Per Claim 11 , Compound 8 reads on Applicant’s General Formula [4-1] (shown below), wherein R 15 to R 22 are each a hydrogen atom . PNG media_image27.png 183 474 media_image27.png Greyscale PNG media_image26.png 468 335 media_image26.png Greyscale 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 15–23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mjuica-Fernaud et al. (US 2014/0361224 A1) as applied to claim s 1–4, 6–8, 10–12, 14–16 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. (JP 2019/192557 A, hereafter “Yamada”). An English translation of Yamada was provided within this Office Action . Regarding Claims 15, 16, and 17 , Mjuica teaches the organic light emitting device of E8 comprising an anode, a hole transport layer, an interlayer, an electron-blocking layer, an emission layer, an electron-transport layer, and a cathode [0129]. The emission layer comprises DAB4 [Table 1]. DAB4 may be modified from the teachings of Mjuica to produce Compound 1, as discussed above. Mjuica also teaches when compounds of present disclosure are used as matrix materials, the resulting organic light emitting device has significantly better efficiencies and lifetimes [0093] – [0096]. However, Mjuica does not teach multiple emission layers in an organic light emitting diode, wherein the emission layers are adjacent to each other and emit different colors of light. Yamada teaches an OLED element of Figure 1 (shown below) comprising a substrate 1 , an anode 2 , a hole transport layer 3 , a first light emitting layer 4-1 , a second light emitting layer 4-2 , a third light emitting layer 4-3 , an electron transport layer 5 , and a cathode 6 [0012] – [0018]. Note that the first light emitting layer ( 4-1 ) emits red light, the second light emitting layer ( 4-2 ) emits blue light, and the third light emitting layer ( 4-3 ) emits green light [0013]. Yamada further teaches by arranging the light emitting layer adjacent to each other, the drive voltage can be reduced [0026]. PNG media_image28.png 359 294 media_image28.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the emission layer taught by Mjuica comprising Compound 1 as the third light emitting layer ( 4-3 ) of the OLED element taught by Yamada, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Mjuica and Yamada according to known methods to yield predictable results of a organic light emitting device with a reduced drive voltage, as taught by Yamada, and high efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Mjuica. See MPEP 2143.I.(A). Per Claim 15 , the resulting organic light emitting device, hereafter “Device 1”, comprising Compound 1, as described above, reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises an anode ( 2 ), a cathode ( 6 ), and an organic compound layer comprising Compound 1 ( 4-3 ) which reads on Applicant’s General Formula [1], as described above. Per Claim 16 , Device 1 reads on Applicant’s limitation since the third light emitting layer ( 4-3 ) comprises Compound 1. Per Claim 17 , Device 1 reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises adjacent light emitting layers (first light emitting layer 4-1 , second light emitting layer 4-2 , and third light emitting layer 4-3 ) which emit light of different colors (red, blue, and green, respectively). Regarding Claim 18 , Mjuica does not teach a display apparatus comprising a plurality of pixels. Yamada teaches an OLED element may be used as a component of a display device [0132]. The display device comprises a plurality of pixels, wherein at least one pixel has the OLED element of present embodiment. The pixel has a switching element comprising transistors which are electrically connected to the OLED element [0133]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Device 1, as described above, in a pixel of the display device, taught by Yamada, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Mjuica and Yamada according to known methods to yield predictable results of a display device with a reduced drive voltage, as taught by Yamada, and high efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Mjuica. See MPEP 2143.I.(A). The resulting display device, hereafter “Display Device 1”, reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises a pixel which includes Device 1 wherein a transistor is electrically connected to Device 1. Regarding Claim 19 , Mjuica does not teach a photoelectric conversion apparatus. Yamada teaches the display device of present embodiment may be used as the display part of an imaging device, wherein the optical part has a plurality of lenses, and an image sensor receives light passing through the optical part. The display device displays information acquired by the image sensor [0149]. Yamada teaches a diagram of an example imaging device on Figure 5 (shown below). PNG media_image29.png 354 495 media_image29.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Display Device 1 in an imaging device, wherein the optical part has a plurality of lenses, and an image sensor receives light passing through the optical part, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Yamada and Mjuica according to known methods to yield predictable results of a imaging device with a reduced drive voltage, as taught by Yamada, and high efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Mjuica. See MPEP 2143.I.(A). The imaging device, as described above, reads on Applicant’s limitation as it comprises an optical unit with a plurality of lenses, an imaging element configured to receive light passing through the optical part, and a display unit of Display Device 1, which displays information acquired by the image sensor. Regarding Claim 20 , Mjuica does not teach electronic equipment. Yamada teaches a portable device 1200 , comprising a display unit 1201 , a housing 1203 , and a communication section (shown below on Figure 6). Yamada notes that the electronic device with a communication part may also be called a communication device [0155]. Yamada further teaches the communication unit communicates with the outside world [Claim 15]. PNG media_image30.png 430 383 media_image30.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Display Device 1, as described above, in the communication device, taught by Yamada, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Mjuica and Yamada according to known methods to yield predictable results of a communication device with a reduced drive voltage, as taught by Yamada, and high efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Mjuica. See MPEP 2143.I.(A). The resulting communication device, as described above, reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises Display Device 1, a housing, and a communication unit which may communicate with the outside world. Regarding Claim 21 , Mjuica does not teach a lighting device. Yamada teaches the lighting device 1400 of Figure 8 (shown below) comprising a light source 1402 , an optical film 1404 , and a light diffusion unit 1405 . Yamada further teaches the light source may have an OLED element pertaining to present embodiment [0160]. PNG media_image31.png 643 498 media_image31.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Device 1 in the light source of the lighting device taught by Yamada, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Mjuica and Yamada according to known methods to yield predictable results of a lighting device with a reduced drive voltage, as taught by Yamada, and high efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Mjuica. See MPEP 2143.I.(A). The lighting device, as described above, reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises a light source including Device 1, a light diffusing unit, and an optical film. Regarding Claim 22 , Mjuica does not teach a moving body. Yamada teaches the automobile 1500 of Figure 9 (shown below) comprising a body 1503 , and a tail lamp 1501 , which may comprise an OLED element of present embodiment [0163] – [0165]. Note that Applicant recites an automobile as an example of a moving body within the instant specification [00166]. PNG media_image32.png 504 437 media_image32.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Device 1 in the tail lamp of the automobile taught by Yamada, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Mjuica and Yamada according to known methods to yield predictable results of an automobile with a reduced drive voltage, as taught by Yamada, and high efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Mjuica. See MPEP 2143.I.(A). The resulting automobile, as described above, reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises a body and a tail lamp including Device 1. Regarding Claim 23 , Mjuica does not teach an exposure light source. Yamada teaches an OLED element may be used as an exposure light source to expose the photoreceptors of electrophotographic image forming devices [0134]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Device 1 in the exposure light source of an electrophotographic image forming device, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Mjuica and Yamada according to known methods to yield predictable results of a electrophotographic image forming device with a reduced drive voltage, as taught by Yamada, and high efficiency and lifetime, as taught by Mjuica. See MPEP 2143.I.(A). The resulting electrophotographic image forming device, as described above, reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises an exposure light source including Device 1 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5, 9, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 5 recites an organic compound according to Claim 1, represented by Applicant’s General Formula [5-1] or [5-2] (shown below). However, Mjuica does not list naphthalene as an option for Ar 2 in Mjuica Formula (1) [0035]. Mjuica further does not teach any exemplified compounds wherein Ar 2 has a fusion of two six-membered rings. In fact, Mjuica teaches away the fusion of two six-membered rings as Ar 2 . Mjuica recites that Ar 2 preferably contains no aryl or heteroaryl groups having more than two six-membered rings condensed directly onto one another and particularly preferably contains absolutely no six-membered rings condensed directly onto one another [0035]. PNG media_image33.png 279 457 media_image33.png Greyscale PNG media_image1.png 224 204 media_image1.png Greyscale As such there is no prior art, either alone or in combination, which teach or suggest an organic compound of Applicant’s General Formula [5-1] and General Formula [5-2] of dependent claim 5. Claim 13 recites an organic compound according to Claim 1, represented by Applicant’s General Formula [13] (shown below). Note that General Formula [13] is a species of General Formula [5-1] and would therefore be allowable if General Formula [5-1] is allowable. PNG media_image34.png 136 452 media_image34.png Greyscale As such there is no prior art, either alone or in combination, which teach or suggest an organic compound of Applicant’s General Formula [13] of dependent claim 13. Claim 9 recites an organic compound according to Claim 1, represented by Applicant’s General Formula [9] (shown below). However, Mjuica does not list indene as an option for Ar 3 in Mjuica Formula (1) [0028]. Therefore, the substitution of a benzene for an indene with respect to Ar 3 is not within the scope of Mjuica’s teachings. PNG media_image35.png 128 398 media_image35.png Greyscale As such there is no prior art, either alone or in combination, which teach or suggest an organic compound of Applicant’s General Formula [9] of dependent claim 9. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Numata et al. (WO 2014/006913 A1, hereafter “Numata”) teaches compounds of Formula (I-7) which are similar to Applicant’s compounds of General Formula [1]. The main difference is that there is an extra benzene ring attached to the diazabolol ring. Applicant’s compounds of General Formula [1] do not include that extra benzene ring and are therefore distinguished. An English translation of Numata was provided within this Office Action PNG media_image36.png 278 411 media_image36.png Greyscale PNG media_image37.png 192 491 media_image37.png Greyscale Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMES RICHARD FORTWENGLER whose telephone number is (571)272-5433. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8 am - 5 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Marla McConnell can be reached at (571) 270-7692. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1789 /MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 2 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 3 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 4 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 5 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 6 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 7 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 8 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 9 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 10 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 11 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 12 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 13 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 14 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 15 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 16 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 17 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 18 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 19 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 20 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 21 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 22 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 23 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 24 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 25 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 27 Art Unit: 1789 Application/Control Number: 18/168,148 Page 28 Art Unit: 1789