This is in response to the election/restriction response filed on 12/21/2025. Claims 1-17 are pending. Claims 1 and 16 are independent. Claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D (Figures 3A-3D) in the reply filed on 12/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/21/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2, “at at least” should be amended to --at least--.
Claim 5, line 2, “at at least” should be amended to --at least--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arts et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0231315).
Regarding claims 1-9 and 11-15, Arts discloses [claim 1] an arrangement, comprising: a plurality of mesh tubes (54a-54d, Figs. 2A and 2B) arranged in parallel and extending along an axial direction (Figs. 2A and 2B), each mesh tube of the plurality of mesh tubes having a mesh tube length in the axial direction (Fig. 2B); and a first mesh sheet (58, Figs. 2A and 2B) having a first surface (top surface 67 with the surface around the holes 74), wherein the plurality of mesh tubes is disposed on the first surface (Figs. 2A and 2B);
[claim 2] wherein each mesh tube is affixed to at least one adjacent mesh tube at least one respective connection point (each mesh tube is affixed to at least one adjacent mesh tube at least one respective connection point, such as the through the angled fasteners / connection members 80, such as 80a1, 80a2 on 60, Fig. 2B and Para. [0077]);
[claim 3] at least one connecting thread passing through one or more of the connection points (Para. [0020], stitches);
[claim 4] wherein each connection point comprises a suture (stitches, Para. [0020]);
[claim 5] wherein the plurality of mesh tubes is affixed to the first surface at least one anchor point (the plurality of mesh tubes is indirectly affixed to the first surface at least one anchor point through the angled fasteners / connection members 80, such as 80a1, 80a2 on 60, Fig. 2B and Para. [0077]);
[claim 6] wherein the at least one anchor point comprises a suture or a connecting thread ((stitches, Para. [0020]);
[claim 7] wherein each mesh tube comprises a rolled mesh sheet (Fig. 2B and Para. [0098], the overlapped regions of the rolled mesh are fixed to each other);
[claim 8] wherein, for each rolled mesh sheet, two edges thereof are joined together, at least partially, to form the mesh tube (Fig. 2B and Para. [0098]);
[claim 9] wherein the first mesh sheet has an approximately rectangular shape having a first mesh sheet length extending in the axial direction and a first mesh sheet width extending in a radial direction (Fig. 2B);
[claim 11] each mesh tube length is approximately equal (Fig. 2A and 2B);
[claim 12] wherein each mesh tube has one of a generally circular cross-section along the mesh tube length (Figs. 2A and 2B);
[claim 13] wherein the plurality of mesh tubes is co-planar with the first surface (the plurality of mesh tubes is co-planar with the first surface along the surface of the mesh around the holes 74);
[claim 14] a second mesh sheet (60, Fig. 2B and Para. [0090]) having a second surface (bottom surface with the surface surrounding holes 78, Fig. 2B) which is disposed on the plurality of mesh tubes such that the second surface contacts the plurality of mesh tubes at least in part (Figs. 2A an 2B);
[claim 15] wherein the second surface is co-planar with the first surface (Figs. 2A and 2B).
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caballero (US Pub. No.: 2013/0282033).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 10, 11, and 13, Caballero discloses [claim 1] an arrangement, comprising: a plurality of mesh tubes (the folds of the mesh sheet around 26 and 28 forms the mesh tube, Figs. 1E and 1I) arranged in parallel and extending along an axial direction (Figs. 1E and 1I), each mesh tube of the plurality of mesh tubes having a mesh tube length in the axial direction (Figs. 1E and 1I); and a first mesh sheet (the flat portion of 22 is the mesh sheet, Fig. 1) having a first surface (the surface with the mesh folds/tubes), wherein the plurality of mesh tubes is disposed on the first surface (Fig. 1);
[claim 9] wherein the first mesh sheet has an approximately rectangular shape having a first mesh sheet length extending in the axial direction and a first mesh sheet width extending in a radial direction (Fig. 1I);
[claim 10] wherein each mesh tube length is approximately equal to the first mesh sheet length (Figs. 1E and 1I);
[claim 11] each mesh tube length is approximately equal (Figs. 1E and 1I);
[claim 13] wherein the plurality of mesh tubes is co-planar with the first surface (Figs. 1E and 1I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20020116070 A1 Amara, Ryan A. et al. discloses a pile mesh prosthesis.
US 20030181988 A1 Rousseau, Robert A. discloses a layered hernial repair device.
US 20140350579 A1 Nagy; Attila discloses a hernia repair device comprising a tube and two mesh sheets.
US 4854316 A Davis; Emsley A. discloses a hernia repair device comprising a tube and two mesh sheets.
/JING RUI OU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771