DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election Requirement
The Office acknowledges the Applicant’s election of Group 2 (M comprising a tetradentate ligand) in the Response filed 06/16/26.
The election reads on Claims 1-20.
Claims 1-20 are pending. No claims have been withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Specification filed 02/13/23 recites the following structures:
(page 54) which are not clearly drawn due to their low resolutions. They all need to be replaced by structures with clear and legible bonds and atoms (i.e., with solid lines).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim recites the following structures:
which are not clearly drawn due to their low resolutions. They all need to be replaced by structures with clear and legible bonds and atoms (i.e., with solid lines).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 17, and 20, which the other claims are dependent upon, and Claims 4, 10, and 15 recite “B” and “C” within Formulae I, IIA, III, and Pt(LA’)(Ly) which are nowhere defined. The Office has interpreted the moieties to be the 6-membered structures as depicted in the formulae (and have thus ignored the “B” and “C” labels).
Correction is required.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9, which is dependent on Claim 1, recites that “LB is selected from . . .”; however, “LB” is nowhere found in the parent claim. The Office has interpreted that the claim is instead dependent on Claim 8 for the purpose of this Examination.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yi et al. (US 2022/0059781 A1).
Yi et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 84) such that ring A =
(where R1 = combination of aryl and alkyl (t-butyl-substituted biphenyl) and RAs = joined or fused to form a ring (fused benzene) of Applicant’s Formula II), Y = O, ᴋ = O, RB = RC = hydrogen, X1-4 = C, Z1 = N, and Z2 = C of Applicant’s Formula 1; RCC = no substitution; LA and LB = connected to form a tetradentate ligand; Ra = alkyl (t-butyl), Rb = aryl (phenyl), ᴋ1’ = direct bond, and Y1-8 = C in the structure for LB as recited in Claim 9; L2-3 = direct bond, L1 = is not present, ᴋ1 = ᴋ2 = direct bond, moiety F = monocyclic ring structure comprising 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), moiety E = monocyclic ring structure comprising 6-membered heterocyclic ring (pyridine), RF = alkyl (t-butyl), and RE = aryl (phenyl) of Applicant’s Formula III.
Yi et al. further discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device for the construction of displays (and the like) comprising the following layers: anode, hole-injecting layer, hole-transporting layer, electron-blocking layer, buffer layer, light-emitting layer, hole-blocking layer, electron-transporting layer, electron-injecting layer, and cathode (Figure; [0381], [0435]). The light-emitting layer comprises its inventive metal complexes as dopant (emitting material) which is combined with (excess) host material such as ADN and CBP ([0061], [0413]-[0417]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (US 2022/0059781 A1) in view of Jarikov (US 2006/0008672 A1).
Yi et al. discloses the organic electroluminescent (EL) device (OLED) of Claim 18 as shown above. Yi et al. discloses an organic EL device comprising a light-emitting layer comprises its inventive metal complexes as dopant (emitting material) which is combined with (excess) host material such as ADN and CBP, among others ([0061], [0413]-[0417]). However, Yi et al. does not explicitly disclose any of the host materials as recited in the claim.
Jarikov discloses a class of materials comprising an anthracene moiety which are disclosed to serve as “useful” host materials for an organic EL device of the following form ([0183]):
(page 8); specific embodiments include ADN and 9,10-bis(1-naphthalenyl)anthracene ([0187], [0190]). It would have been obvious to incorporate any of the materials as disclosed by Jarikov (including 9,10-bis(1-naphthalenyl)anthracene) into the light-emitting layer of the organic EL device as disclosed by Yi et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Jarikov which is directed to known and viable materials taught to be useful host materials in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786