DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments—set forth at pp. 8-11 in the Remarks with respect to independent claims 28, 38, and 48—have been fully considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection rely on one or more reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for some teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28, 33-35, 38, 43-45, 48, 53-55, and 57-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0058981 (hereinafter, “ASTERJADHI”) in view of US 2021/0168712 (hereinafter, “CHERIAN”).
Regarding claim 28, ASTERJADHI discloses:
A method comprising: (process 1000, 1400)
generating, by a first access point (AP) (AP 502), a management frame, (¶ 0081: [A]n AP or STA may include quiet elements, such as the quiet element 800, in management frames;
wherein the management frame comprises first indication information, the first indication information indicates at least one first reserved resource that first traffic is allowed to access on contention-basis, and
As an initial matter, the Examiner finds that the first wherein clause, i.e., wherein the management frame comprises first indication information, the first indication information indicates at least one first reserved resource that first traffic is allowed to access on contention-basis, amounts to nonfunctional descriptive material because the clause is not relied upon nor used by any step of the method claim.
“Claim limitations directed to printed matter are not entitled to patentable weight unless the printed matter is functionally related to the substrate on which the printed matter is applied." Praxair Distribution, Inc. v. Mallinckrodt Hosp. Prods. IP Ltd., 890 F.3d 1024, 1031 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (emphasis added). The Federal Circuit has also explained that the “printed matter doctrine” is not strictly limited to "printed" materials. Praxair, at 1032. More specifically, "a claim limitation is directed to printed matter 'if it claims the content of information.’” Id. (quoting In re DiStefano, 808 F.3d 845, 848 (Fed. Cir. 2015)).
In addition, the Federal Circuit has held that non-functional descriptive material cannot lend patentability to an invention that would have otherwise been unpatentable. See In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see also In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (when descriptive material is not functionally related to the substrate, the descriptive material will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability). The content of non-functional descriptive material is not entitled to weight in the patentability analysis.
In Ex parte Nehls, 88 USPQ2d 1883, 1888 (BPAI 2008) (precedential), the Board held that the nature of the information being manipulated by the computer should not be given patentable weight absent evidence that the information is functionally related to the process "by changing the efficiency or accuracy or any other characteristic" of the steps. See also Ex parte Curry, 84 USPQ2d 1272, 1274 (BPAI 2005) (non-precedential) (holding "wellness-related" data stored in a database and communicated over a network was non-functional descriptive material as claimed because the data "does not functionally change" the system).
In the first wherein clause of Applicant’s claim 28, the data—i.e., the contents of the management frame—is not functionally related to the process "by changing the efficiency or accuracy or any other characteristic" of the steps. Although the first wherein clause further refines details of the data, the details of the data do not further limit either of the two steps of the method, i.e., “generating” and “sending.” It is therefore the conclusion of the Examiner that the first wherein clause is not entitled to patentable weight.
Nevertheless, for purposes of compact prosecution, ASTERJADHI discloses the features of the first wherein clause, for example, see ¶ 0082: [S]ynchronized APs may transmit management frames (for example, beacon frames or probe response frames) that include one or more quiet elements specifying respective quiet periods. In some implementations, the management frames containing the quiet elements may further include one or more quiet override elements each associated with a respective one of the quiet elements. A quiet override element indicates to the synchronized APs that the quiet period established by the respective quiet element is to be used for synchronized channel access, and as such, that the synchronized APs are permitted to contend for access during the respective contention period; ¶ 0094: [W]hile devices are generally not permitted to contend for access during quiet periods, a quiet override element indicates to the first set of wireless communication devices that a quiet period established by a respective quiet element is to be used for synchronized channel access, and as such, that the first set of wireless communication devices is permitted to contend for access during a respective contention period 904 of a respective synchronized channel access period 902. FIG. 11 shows an example quiet override element 1100 that may be used to signal an override for a respective quiet period)
wherein the management frame further comprises N quiet element fields, and the N quiet element fields indicate N quiet intervals that . . . correspond to the at least one first reserved resource, and wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and
For reasons similar to those set forth above, it is the conclusion of the Examiner that the second wherein clause is not entitled to patentable weight. Nevertheless, for purposes of compact prosecution, ASTERJADHI discloses the features of the first wherein clause, for example, see ¶ 0081: [Q]uiet element 800 includes multiple fields including an element identification (ID) 802, a length 804, a quiet count 806, a quiet period 808, a quiet duration 810 and a quiet offset 812. The element ID 802 may be a unique identifier of the quiet element 800. The length 804 may indicate the length of the quiet element 800)
sending, by the first AP, the management frame to a first device. (¶ 0195: The second wireless packet transmitted in block 1504 includes channel access information establishing one or more recurring synchronized coordinated access windows 1602)
ASTERJADHI does not explicitly disclose:
N quiet intervals that one-to-one correspond to the at least one first reserved resource,
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHERIAN teaches:
N quiet intervals that one-to-one correspond to the at least one first reserved resource (¶¶ 0115-0116: [T]he first wireless station receives a wireless packet such as the first wireless packet periodically. For example, each of the first wireless packet and the other periodic wireless packets may include a beacon frame such as one of the beacon frames 806. In some such implementations, each of the beacon frames includes one or more TWT IEs. As described with reference to the process 700 of FIG. 7, in some implementations, at least one of the TWT IEs includes the indication of the periodic reserved access windows 802. For example, the indication of the periodic reserved access windows 802 may include an indication that each of the wake periods in the respective schedule of wake periods is a reserved access window 802. [0116] In some implementations, the TWT IE indicating the periodic reserved access windows 802 includes one or more other parameters for the periodic reserved access windows 802. As described above, in some implementations, the one or more other parameters include a time slot schedule defining a series of time slots in the periodic reserved access windows 802. In some such implementations, the process 900 further includes receiving an indication that at least one of the time slots is allocated to the first wireless station, or a group of wireless stations in the first set of wireless stations that includes the first wireless station)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ASTERJADHI’s channel access information procedure to provide a time slot schedule defining a series of time slots in the periodic reserved access windows as taught by CHERIAN such that a quiet override element indicates to the synchronized access points, that the quiet period established by the respective quiet element is to be used for synchronized channel access, and that the synchronized APs are permitted to contend for access during the respective contention period, such that the wireless access points schedules reserved access windows within the coordinated access windows during which D2D-enabled wireless devices are permitted to transmit direct wireless communications to other D2D-enabled wireless devices. See CHERIAN, at ¶ 0191.
Regarding claims 33, 43, and 53, the combination of ASTERJADHI and CHERIAN, as applied herein, renders obvious the method of claim 28, the communication apparatus of claim 38, and the non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions of claim 48, respectively. ASTERJADHI further discloses:
wherein the management frame is a beacon frame, an association response frame, a probe response frame, or an action frame. (¶ 0081: [M]anagement frames including beacon frames and probe response frames)
Regarding claims 34, 44, and 54, the combination of ASTERJADHI and CHERIAN, as applied herein, renders obvious the method of claim 28, the communication apparatus of claim 38, and the non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions of claim 48, respectively. ASTERJADHI further discloses:
wherein the management frame [further] comprises a first element field. (¶ 0081: [Q]uiet element 800, in management frames including beacon frames and probe response frames [and] multiple fields including an element identification (ID) 802)
Regarding claim 35, 45, and 55, the combination of ASTERJADHI and CHERIAN, as applied herein, renders obvious the method of claim 34, the communication apparatus of claim 44, and the non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions of claim 54, respectively. ASTERJADHI further discloses:
wherein the first indication information is carried in the first element field. (¶ 0082: [T]he quiet elements may further include one or more quiet override elements each associated with a respective one of the quiet elements. A quiet override element indicates to the synchronized APs that the quiet period established by the respective quiet element is to be used for synchronized channel access, and as such, that the synchronized APs are permitted to contend for access during the respective contention period)
Regarding claim 38, ASTERJADHI discloses:
A communication apparatus, comprising: (AP 502)
a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions; and (memory 540)
one or more processors in communication with the memory, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to: (Application Processor 530)
generate a management frame, wherein the management frame comprises first indication information, the first indication information indicates at least one first reserved resource that first traffic is allowed to access on contention-basis, and (¶ 0081: [A]n AP or STA may include quiet elements, such as the quiet element 800, in management frames; ¶ 0082: [S]ynchronized APs may transmit management frames (for example, beacon frames or probe response frames) that include one or more quiet elements specifying respective quiet periods. In some implementations, the management frames containing the quiet elements may further include one or more quiet override elements each associated with a respective one of the quiet elements. A quiet override element indicates to the synchronized APs that the quiet period established by the respective quiet element is to be used for synchronized channel access, and as such, that the synchronized APs are permitted to contend for access during the respective contention period; ¶ 0094: [W]hile devices are generally not permitted to contend for access during quiet periods, a quiet override element indicates to the first set of wireless communication devices that a quiet period established by a respective quiet element is to be used for synchronized channel access, and as such, that the first set of wireless communication devices is permitted to contend for access during a respective contention period 904 of a respective synchronized channel access period 902. FIG. 11 shows an example quiet override element 1100 that may be used to signal an override for a respective quiet period)
wherein the management frame further comprises N quiet element fields, and the N quiet element fields indicate N quiet intervals that . . . correspond to the at least one first reserved resource, and wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and (¶ 0081: [Q]uiet element 800 includes multiple fields including an element identification (ID) 802, a length 804, a quiet count 806, a quiet period 808, a quiet duration 810 and a quiet offset 812. The element ID 802 may be a unique identifier of the quiet element 800. The length 804 may indicate the length of the quiet element 800)
send the management frame to a first device. (¶ 0195: The second wireless packet transmitted in block 1504 includes channel access information establishing one or more recurring synchronized coordinated access windows 1602)
ASTERJADHI does not explicitly disclose:
N quiet intervals that one-to-one correspond to the at least one first reserved resource,
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHERIAN teaches:
N quiet intervals that one-to-one correspond to the at least one first reserved resource (¶¶ 0115-0116: [T]he first wireless station receives a wireless packet such as the first wireless packet periodically. For example, each of the first wireless packet and the other periodic wireless packets may include a beacon frame such as one of the beacon frames 806. In some such implementations, each of the beacon frames includes one or more TWT IEs. As described with reference to the process 700 of FIG. 7, in some implementations, at least one of the TWT IEs includes the indication of the periodic reserved access windows 802. For example, the indication of the periodic reserved access windows 802 may include an indication that each of the wake periods in the respective schedule of wake periods is a reserved access window 802. [0116] In some implementations, the TWT IE indicating the periodic reserved access windows 802 includes one or more other parameters for the periodic reserved access windows 802. As described above, in some implementations, the one or more other parameters include a time slot schedule defining a series of time slots in the periodic reserved access windows 802. In some such implementations, the process 900 further includes receiving an indication that at least one of the time slots is allocated to the first wireless station, or a group of wireless stations in the first set of wireless stations that includes the first wireless station)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ASTERJADHI’s channel access information procedure to provide a time slot schedule defining a series of time slots in the periodic reserved access windows as taught by CHERIAN such that a quiet override element indicates to the synchronized access points, that the quiet period established by the respective quiet element is to be used for synchronized channel access, and that the synchronized APs are permitted to contend for access during the respective contention period, such that the wireless access points schedules reserved access windows within the coordinated access windows during which D2D-enabled wireless devices are permitted to transmit direct wireless communications to other D2D-enabled wireless devices. See CHERIAN, at ¶ 0191.
Regarding claim 48, ASTERJADHI discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions, that when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform: (¶ 0101: [P]ortions of one or more of the modules 1302, 1304 and 1306 can be implemented as non-transitory instructions (or “code”) executable by a processor (such as the processor 406) to perform the functions or operations of the respective module)
generate a management frame, wherein the management frame comprises first indication information, the first indication information indicates at least one first reserved resource that first traffic is allowed to access on contention-basis, and (¶ 0081: [A]n AP or STA may include quiet elements, such as the quiet element 800, in management frames; ¶ 0082: [S]ynchronized APs may transmit management frames (for example, beacon frames or probe response frames) that include one or more quiet elements specifying respective quiet periods. In some implementations, the management frames containing the quiet elements may further include one or more quiet override elements each associated with a respective one of the quiet elements. A quiet override element indicates to the synchronized APs that the quiet period established by the respective quiet element is to be used for synchronized channel access, and as such, that the synchronized APs are permitted to contend for access during the respective contention period; ¶ 0094: [W]hile devices are generally not permitted to contend for access during quiet periods, a quiet override element indicates to the first set of wireless communication devices that a quiet period established by a respective quiet element is to be used for synchronized channel access, and as such, that the first set of wireless communication devices is permitted to contend for access during a respective contention period 904 of a respective synchronized channel access period 902. FIG. 11 shows an example quiet override element 1100 that may be used to signal an override for a respective quiet period)
wherein the management frame further comprises N quiet element fields, and the N quiet element fields indicate N quiet intervals that . . . correspond to the at least one first reserved resource, and wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and (¶ 0081: [Q]uiet element 800 includes multiple fields including an element identification (ID) 802, a length 804, a quiet count 806, a quiet period 808, a quiet duration 810 and a quiet offset 812. The element ID 802 may be a unique identifier of the quiet element 800. The length 804 may indicate the length of the quiet element 800)
send the management frame to a first device. (¶ 0195: The second wireless packet transmitted in block 1504 includes channel access information establishing one or more recurring synchronized coordinated access windows 1602)
ASTERJADHI does not explicitly disclose:
N quiet intervals that one-to-one correspond to the at least one first reserved resource,
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHERIAN teaches:
N quiet intervals that one-to-one correspond to the at least one first reserved resource (¶¶ 0115-0116: [T]he first wireless station receives a wireless packet such as the first wireless packet periodically. For example, each of the first wireless packet and the other periodic wireless packets may include a beacon frame such as one of the beacon frames 806. In some such implementations, each of the beacon frames includes one or more TWT IEs. As described with reference to the process 700 of FIG. 7, in some implementations, at least one of the TWT IEs includes the indication of the periodic reserved access windows 802. For example, the indication of the periodic reserved access windows 802 may include an indication that each of the wake periods in the respective schedule of wake periods is a reserved access window 802. [0116] In some implementations, the TWT IE indicating the periodic reserved access windows 802 includes one or more other parameters for the periodic reserved access windows 802. As described above, in some implementations, the one or more other parameters include a time slot schedule defining a series of time slots in the periodic reserved access windows 802. In some such implementations, the process 900 further includes receiving an indication that at least one of the time slots is allocated to the first wireless station, or a group of wireless stations in the first set of wireless stations that includes the first wireless station)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ASTERJADHI’s channel access information procedure to provide a time slot schedule defining a series of time slots in the periodic reserved access windows as taught by CHERIAN such that a quiet override element indicates to the synchronized access points, that the quiet period established by the respective quiet element is to be used for synchronized channel access, and that the synchronized APs are permitted to contend for access during the respective contention period, such that the wireless access points schedules reserved access windows within the coordinated access windows during which D2D-enabled wireless devices are permitted to transmit direct wireless communications to other D2D-enabled wireless devices. See CHERIAN, at ¶ 0191.
Regarding claim 57, the combination of ASTERJADHI and CHERIAN, as applied herein, renders obvious the communication apparatus of claim 38. ASTERJADHI further discloses:
wherein the communication apparatus is an access point. (¶ 0062: [W]ireless communication device 400 can be an example of a device for use in an AP such as the AP 102)
Regarding claim 58, the combination of ASTERJADHI and CHERIAN, as applied herein, renders obvious the non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 48. ASTERJADHI further discloses:
wherein the non-transitory computer-readable media is comprised in an access point. (¶ 0068: [M]emory 404 also can store non-transitory processor- or computer-executable software (SW) code containing instructions that, when executed by the processor 406, cause the processor to perform various operations described herein for wireless communication, including the generation, transmission, reception and interpretation of MPDUs, frames or packets)
Regarding claim 59, the combination of ASTERJADHI and CHERIAN, as applied herein, renders obvious the method of claim 28. ASTERJADHI further discloses:
wherein N is greater than 1. (¶ 0006: The wireless packet includes one or more quiet elements, each quiet element indicating to a second set of wireless communication devices that they are not permitted to transmit on a wireless channel during a quiet period defined by the quiet element)
Claims 29, 32, 39, 42, 49, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over ASTERJADHI in view of CHERIAN, and further in view of US 2015/0181620 (hereinafter, “SEOK ‘620”).
Regarding claim 29, claim 39, and claim 49, the combination of ASTERJADHI and CHERIAN, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 28, the communication apparatus of claim 38, and the non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions of claim 48, respectively. ASTERJADHI does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one first reserved resource comprises partial time domain resources between target beacon transmission times (TBTTs)
In the same field of endeavor, however, SEOK ‘620 teaches:
wherein the at least one first reserved resource comprises partial time domain resources between target beacon transmission times (TBTTs) (¶ 0216: In the example of FIG. 18, assume that the NAV set by the RTS overlaps the TBTT of the AP. Accordingly, the AP may set the value of the duration field of the CTS frame to a value indicating a time obtained by modifying the duration of the TXOP of STA1 in consideration of the TBTT (or a truncation time of the TXOP), when transmitting the CTS. Other STAs, which have received the CTS frame, may set that the NAV ends at the TBTT. That is, the duration of the TXOP of STA1 is truncated at the TBTT. The length of the NAV newly set by the CTS is equal to the modified TXOP duration allocated to STA1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ASTERJADHI’s channel access information procedure to provide modifying the duration of the TXOP of STA in consideration of the TBTT (or a truncation time of the TXOP), when transmitting the CTS as taught by SEOK ‘620, such that the duration of the TXOP of STA is truncated at the TBTT, so that STA1 may perform uplink data transmission during the modified TXOP duration and receive an ACK frame. See SEOK ‘620, at ¶ 0216.
Regarding claim 32, claim 42, and claim 52, the combination of ASTERJADHI and CHERIAN, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 28, the communication apparatus of claim 38, and the non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions of claim 48, respectively. ASTERJADHI does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first indication information further indicates that the first traffic is allowed to access, on the contention-basis, partial frequency domain resources in the at least one first reserved resource,
or
the first indication information further indicates that the partial frequency domain resources in the at least one first reserved resource are used to schedule or transmit the first traffic.
In the same field of endeavor, however, SEOK ‘620 teaches:
the first indication information further indicates that the partial frequency domain resources in the at least one first reserved resource are used to schedule or transmit the first traffic. (¶ 0216: STA1 may perform uplink data transmission during the modified TXOP duration and receive an ACK frame)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ASTERJADHI’s channel access information procedure to provide modifying the duration of the TXOP of STA in consideration of the TBTT (or a truncation time of the TXOP), when transmitting the CTS as taught by SEOK ‘620, such that the duration of the TXOP of STA is truncated at the TBTT, so that STA1 may perform uplink data transmission during the modified TXOP duration and receive an ACK frame. See SEOK ‘620, at ¶ 0216.
Claims 30, 31, 40, 41, 50, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over ASTERJADHI in view of CHERIAN, and further in view of US 2021/0029750 (hereinafter, “XIN”) and US 2021/0136744 (hereinafter, “LU”).
Regarding claim 30, claim 40, and claim 50, the combination of ASTERJADHI and CHERIAN, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 28, the communication apparatus of claim 38, and the non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions of claim 48, respectively. ASTERJADHI does not explicitly disclose:
duration occupied by each first reserved resource of the at least one first reserved resources is determined based on a traffic volume of the first traffic.
In the same field of endeavor, however, XIN teaches:
duration occupied by each first reserved resource of the at least one first reserved resources is determined based on a traffic volume of the first traffic. (¶ 0148: A Periodic time indicates the duration of time that RTA session generates RTA traffic once; ¶ 0160: [W]hen RTA-SP is allocated a period of channel time to transmit RTA packets every periodic time, the duration of the allocated channel time should not be any longer than the lifetime of the RTA packet to ensure validity of the delivered packet)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ASTERJADHI’s channel access information procedure to provide a periodic time that indicates the duration of time that RTA session generates RTA traffic once as taught by XIN, so that the duration of the allocated channel time should not be any longer than the lifetime of the RTA packet to ensure validity of the delivered packet, such that handling of RTA packets significantly reduces packet latency. See XIN, at ¶ 0010.
ASTERJADHI also does not explicitly disclose:
wherein an interval Tr between two adjacent first reserved resources of the at least one first reserved resource in a time domain is determined based on a delay requirement of the first traffic,
In the same field of endeavor, however, LU teaches:
wherein an interval Tr between two adjacent first reserved resources of the at least one first reserved resource in a time domain is determined based on a delay requirement of the first traffic, (¶ 0124: [T]he terminal device has reserved multiple candidate resources, and a time interval between adjacent candidate resources in these multiple candidate resources in the time domain is less than or equal to a delay requirement of data of the first terminal device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ASTERJADHI’s channel access information procedure to provide a time interval between adjacent candidate resources in multiple candidate resources in a time domain as taught by LU, which is based on a delay requirement of data of the terminal device, such that no matter when data of the terminal device arrives, there are resources which can be used for transmitting the data and satisfy a delay requirement of the data. See LU, at ¶ 0124.
Regarding claim 31, claim 41, and claim 51, the combination of ASTERJADHI, CHERIAN, XIN, and LU, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 30, the communication apparatus of claim 40, and the non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer instructions of claim 50, respectively. ASTERJADHI does not explicitly disclose:
wherein Tr satisfies Tr ≤ tdelay/2, and tdelay is a maximum delay allowed by the first traffic.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LU teaches:
wherein Tr satisfies Tr ≤ tdelay, and tdelay is a maximum delay allowed by the first traffic. (¶ 0124: [T]he terminal device has reserved multiple candidate resources, and a time interval between adjacent candidate resources in these multiple candidate resources in the time domain is less than or equal to a delay requirement of data of the first terminal device [The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the Application was filed to modify the required length of the interval between two adjacent first reserved resources to be half or less of the maximum delay allowed by the traffic—as an obvious expedient)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ASTERJADHI’s channel access information procedure to provide a time interval between adjacent candidate resources in multiple candidate resources in a time domain as taught by LU, which is less than or equal to a delay requirement of data of the first terminal device—e.g., half of the delay requirement), such that no matter when data of the terminal device arrives, there are resources which can be used for transmitting the data and satisfy a delay requirement of the data. See LU, at ¶ 0124.
Claims 37 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over ASTERJADHI in view of CHERIAN, and further in view of US 2015/0327046 (hereinafter, “LEE”).
Regarding claim 37 and claim 47, the combination of ASTERJADHI and CHERIAN, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 28 and the communication apparatus of claim 38, respectively. ASTERJADHI does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one first reserved resource comprises only time domain resource(s).
In the same field of endeavor, however, LEE teaches:
wherein the at least one first reserved resource comprises only time domain resource(s). (¶ 0006: [R]eceiving a downlink control channel carrying an indication field, wherein the indication field is used for indicating a time domain resource; ¶ 0009: The indication field is only used for indicating the time domain resource of the target transmission; ¶ 0008: [T]ransmitting data on the time domain resource)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ASTERJADHI’s channel access information procedure to provide resources including only time domain resources as taught by LEE, so as to realize transmission in a variable slot structure. See LEE, at ¶ 0004.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644