Priority
This application is a DIV of 17/719,870 (04/13/2022 ABN)
17/719,870 is a CON of PCT/US2021/042956 (07/23/2021)
PCT/US2021/042956 has PRO 63/056,210 (07/24/2020).
The scope of the claims, including claim 1 formula, do not find support in the provisional application, in particular at least the hydrazineyl group. As a result, the earliest priority date of the claims is determined to be 7/23/2021.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - The incorporation by reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.834(c)(1), 1.835(a)(2), or 1.835(b)(2) is missing, defective or incomplete. The incorporation by reference paragraph refers to the file in kilobytes, not bytes.
Required response - Applicant must:
• Provide a substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency - This application contains sequence disclosures in accordance with the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.831(a) and 1.831(b). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834. The examiner has noted that the disclosure includes nucleotide and peptide sequences that fall within the rule on at least pages 115 and 116.
Required response - Applicant must provide:
• A replacement “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2., as well as
• A statement that identifies the location of all additions, deletions, or replacements of sequence information in the “Sequence Listing XML” as required by 1.835(b)(3);
• A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(b)(4);
• A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter in accordance with 1.835(b)(5); and
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(b)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 11/11/25 is acknowledged.
Applicant also elected the following species in a call with Eric Williams on 12/18/2025:
benzyl ((2S,3R)-1-(((S)-1-(2-(3-amino-3-oxopropyl)-2-(2-chloroacetyl)hydrazineyl)-3- cyclohexyl-1-oxopropan-2-yl)amino)-3-(tert-butoxy)-1-oxobutan-2-yl)carbamate
p. 10 claims, compound 10:
having the following structure:
determined to read on the formula of claim 1 when
W is -C(O)C1-alkyl substituted by Cl;
R6 is C2-alkyl substituted by C(O)NRaRb; Ra and Rb are H;
R2, R3, R5 are H
p is 2
R4 (1) is C1 alkyl substituted by Rb of C6 cycloalkyl;
R4 (2) is C2 alkyl substituted by C4 alkoxy
R1 is C1alkoxy substituted by Ra of C6 aryl.
Thus, the elected species reads on claims 1-6, 16-17.
As detailed in the following rejections, the generic claim encompassing the elected species was not found patentable. Therefore, the provisional election of species is given effect, the examination is restricted to the elected species only, and claims not reading on the elected species are held withdrawn. MPEP 803.02; Ex parte Ohsaka, 2 USPQ2d 1460, 1461 (Bd. Pat. App. lnt. 1987). Accordingly, claims 7-15 are hereby withdrawn.
Should applicant, in response to this rejection of the Markush-type claim, overcome the rejection through amendment, the amended Markush-type claim will be reexamined to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. See MPEP 803.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant filed a 2/13/2023 preliminary amendment to claim 1 which has amended language such as in claim 1:
With the explanation of support as:
The Examiner has reviewed the specification and original disclosure and could not locate support for the claim as amended, in particular with respect to changing SO4 to SO3. The examiner could not locate support for such a new limitation, nor does there appear to be a written description of the limitation in the application as filed. See Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1370, 83 USPQ2d 1373, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (holding that "[MPEP] § 2163.04 (I)(B) as written is a lawful formulation of the prima facie standard for a lack of written description rejection."). There is no literal support for the added limitation and one of skill in the art would not recognize that Applicant possessed the claim scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kati et al. (Archives of Biochemistry and Biophysics (1999), 362(2), 363-375).
Kali teaches compounds including the following compound in Table 3, compound “18”, (Boc-Ile-Phe-AzaGln-CH2-Br) having the following structure:
And reading on claim 1’s formula
when
W is -C(O)C1-alkyl substituted by Br;
R6 is C2-alkyl substituted by C(O)NRaRb; Ra and Rb are H;
R2, R3, R5 are H
p is 2
R4 (1) is C1 alkyl substituted by Rb of C6 aryl;
R4 (2) is C4 alkyl;
R1 is C4 alkoxy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US20050143320) in view of Kati et al. (Archives of Biochemistry and Biophysics (1999), 362(2), 363-375) and Akaji (Amino Acids, Pept. Proteins, 2018, 42, 228–279).
Yang teaches protease inhibitors of “coronaviral 3CL proteases” and “rhinoviral 3C protease” with compound 134 (claimed):
Yang’s compound differs from the elected species by the right-hand side of the compound.
Kati teaches structurally similar protease inhibitors compounds such as in Table 3 with the acetyl bromide warhead having significant impact at the P1 site:
and was successful in the same context. Kati teaches success with the modification to a bormomethylketonehydrazide.
Akaji teaches the successful approach of utilizing warhead approach on coronavirus 3CL protease (p. 248-251). Akaji teaches success with the inhibitor 17 (same compound as Yang):
As well as modifications that implemented the halomethyl ketone warhead (Tables 5 and 6), including specifically the chloro-, and bromo-methylketones shown in Table 6.
One of ordinary skill in the art of protease inhibitors following the teaching of Yang would have considered modifications of compound 134 in view of the success of Kati and Akaji in utilizing the reactive warhead group to create a more effective protease inhibitor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because of the similarities in structure of the prior art compounds as well as the common protease targets. As evidenced by Kati and Akaji, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art including modifying the structure to incorporate a warhead element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626